Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers

All Cabela's stuffers are precision crafted to exacting tolerances. So, in addition to producing great-tasting sausage, they're guaranteed to stand up to years of frequent use. The upright canister holds as much meat as a traditional horizontal stuffer, but it takes up substantially less space on your workstation. And with two capacities available - 20-lb. and 30-lb. - there's a stuffer to accommodate the volume of your processing. Dual-speed gears let you crank the stuffer down slowly and then switch to a higher gear to quickly crank it back up again. Both the base and cylinder are constructed of heavy-duty stainless steel. Comes with four stuffing tubes (10mm, 20mm, 30mm and 40mm) for stuffing any size sausage casing, from small snack sticks to large summer sausage.Available: 11-lb. Capacity, Weight: 40 lbs.20-lb. Capacity, Weight: 37 lbs.30-lb. Capacity, Weight: 40 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.598 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(112 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 112 reviews
5 Stars
57
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
6
1 Star
28
76 out of 112(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Creston,BC, Canada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst purchase EVER

Date:April 6, 2012
I bought the small stuffer and it broke first time used, I paid to upgrade to next size, it broke on secound use! Cabelas sent me a new ram, it is made of aluminium! No wonder it broke. In my opinion, these units are NOT worth buying. Sorry I wasted my money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Worth the Money

Date:January 29, 2012
After just recently pucrhasing the 30 Pound Commercial Stuffer (New Refurbished Model, Black not Green, we took it out yesterday in an attempt to make 300 punds worth of deer sausage. Right off the get go, we noticed there were multiple problems with the stuffer. The stuffer did not hold up, as the gears started to strip, follwed by the schaft, creating multiple metal shavings in the gear box. The product is not made of enough hardened steel to be durable, wearing out after the first days use. Also, the stuffer did not pack the casings tight enough and believe sausage wil shrivel when smoked. Would not recommend! We are returning the stuffer back to Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

The old sausage stuffers are bad (pre-2012)

Date:December 10, 2011
I tried to different stuffers, the second largest size, and both had problems with the gears. Even with the gears lubed, tight away on both of the stuffers the gears shafted metal shavings and chunks off of the gears and vertical rod shaft resulting in metal shavings falling into the vertical container. Very disappointing for the price they charge for these things.
Cabela's says they've upgraded this product for 2012, hopefully they did for the price they charge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:November 23, 2011
Bought this unit a couple of years ago with the electric motor after using an antique manual machine for many years. After the first time i used it, the keyway in the gears broke. Replaced that, then the gears striped, then the shaft. Replaced both, now the gears have striped again. Now I'm searching for a machinist to remake the gears using metal, or a completely different stuffer.
Would rather use the antique.
Tried using the hand crank, the back lash was too severe.
DON'T buy this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Gears are of poor quality

Date:November 18, 2011
We went through two of the green color stuffers by knocking the gears out of them ( we had an electric motor on them) now we have one of the new black stuffers and we don't have an electric motor on it and we are still getting shavings coming off the gears
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

JUNK!!!

Date:August 10, 2011
I bought the 11lb stuffer to replace my "water-stuffer" thinking it looked like a good quality and simple tool. Wrong! This stuffer will not fill 22mm slim-jim type casings without destroying the unit. During my first batch I found pieces of metal shaving off of the gears and shaft. The gear parts are not hardened steel. The gears wore out the first day I used it. Also, I found out the hard way if your wet or greasy hand slips off the crank handle, it springs back with enough force to bruise you. Don't buy this unit!!! Overpriced Junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not Impressed with the 20 lb stuffer

Date:June 18, 2011
This product is not built of heavy enough steel to be durable. When trying to use it to stuff peppersticks it blew the gasket, not once, but each and every time. The overall design is not well balanced and is a clumsy appliance to work with. Before purchasing this we had used a cast iron lard press and though it held smaller amounts, it worked very well, no complaints. We're back to the lard press and returned the stuffer from Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Menno, SD
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

commercial stuffer not even close,,,,,

Date:April 17, 2011
I recently purchased the 20 pound stuffer, read reviews good and bad should have listened to the bad reviews....I used to cut meat for a living and have made tons of sausage. The stuffer worked fairly well with bologna, and summer sausage, but did not work well with the smaller casings...noticed metal filings after the first 100 pounds of sausage on top of the stuffer plunger after 800 pounds it was far worse....sides of the stuffer also bent...gears should be steel not aluminum...THIS IS FAR FROM A COMMERCIAL STUFFER.......Would not recommend this stuffer spend the extra money for a better built stuffer....Cabelas has always had good products but this is not one of them,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: central wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

did they make different stuffers??????

Date:March 15, 2011
How can anybody say these are good??? Did they make mine different?? I bought one last year and the gears stripped out Right away!! Cabela's was good and sent me a new one, this years we made sausage, 600 pounds and it already has two broken teeth off the aluminum vertical shaft! All the gears inside are aluminum. i will see if a local machine shop will make me all the gears in steel, then it may be an ok stuffer. I do have the electric motor, which is to weak for the stuffer(I have the 30 pound) And yes with the two broken teeth it now leaves 4 pounds of meat in the bottom!! Please don't buy one, save yourself the trouble!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

20 # stuffer

Date:February 19, 2011
I stuffed 2 feet of hot stix and the gears stripped out. That was with the recommended amount of water to meat ratio stated in the directions. I like the design it just needs bigger stronger gears.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Bismarck ND
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:January 27, 2011
Bad, just plain bad. I have had to rebuild this many times, they dont stand behind the problems. I would have thrown this away if I didn't have equipment to rebuild it. They replaced one shaft, after that I added more teeth to get plunger to bottom and not have ratchet action eat the teeth off. The sides are weak, they only have a "leg" bent on one side to strengthen the thin side panels. I made new ones from stainless and put legs on both sides. If done right this could have been a good one, but it is not. Bad, just plain bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Quality Steel used

Date:August 31, 2010
The stuffer worked great until the cogs started to break from the vertical stuffing shaft, now over half of the cogs are broken. At closer inspection, it is obvious that the gear that contacts the vertical shaft are also twisted out of shape and beggining to break. It is obvious that a very poor quality of metal was used in both the vertical stuffing shaft and the gear that contacts the shaft.
The stuffer is now completely worthless.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Poor Design

Date:May 13, 2010
I purchased this stuffer because it had metal gears. Unfortunately the design of this stuffer does not allow the user to know when the stuffer is cranked down all the way. If you do not stop turning the handle at the optimal time, the gear teeth chip. Stuffer design also allows 1-2 pounds of meat, at least, to remain in the bottom of the stuffer which must be removed by hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mid west
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

20 pound Suasage stuffer

Date:April 2, 2010
I would not recommend this item t be bought. Has several problems with it. 1. the rubber o ring lets meat get by. 2. the threaded rod that pushes the plunger down does not go far enough down, leaves about 2 pounds of meat when on the way down. Other stuffers do a much better job. 3. the metal canister tips forward and needs to be held in proper place.
do not recommend to buy this abject.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

gears break

Date:March 22, 2010
Gears in upper housing break if to much pressure is put against the meat as you push down.
they are not making replacement gears so you can no longer replace them after this year.
Wait for new model or dont buy it.
My gears have broken twice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hot Springs, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't buy

Date:February 24, 2010
I purchased the 20 lb vertical stuffer 2 years ago. The very first time I used it for summer sausage (large stuffing tube) one of the gears sheared a tooth completely off. Cabela's sent me a new gear immediately and it worked great until my second season. I have done about 300 lbs of various sausages with no problems. A friend wanted to do some snack sticks, well that was the beginning of the end. The pressure actually caused the canister to deform and meat would leak up around the seal. Two gears lost teeth and I am done. Bought another companies stuffer for about twice the money and is built about 10 times better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Winner, SD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

30 lb stuffer

Date:February 21, 2010
I purchased a 30 lb stuffer and ran 250 lbs of sausage thru before stipping 2 gears out of it. After replacing them I ran about 100 lbs thru it before 2 other gears went out. Very disappointed in the unit. Had to finish with the old 60 years old stuffer that worked great. Cabelas stuffer is in the junk yard after only 350 lbs of meat thru it. I hope I can find another stuffer that is reliable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

15lb stuffer

Date:January 24, 2010
I bought a stuffer to do deer meat .Using it to make sticks,sausage.When using it to make 21mm sticks,32mm sausage took all the teeth off the main shaft.So i returned it and gave me another one.Then i bought a motor for it put it on tried it again motor gears broke.Then again returned it and got new one.So in 5 months went through 2 stuffers,2 motors.Now on number 3 it broke.Aluminum gears no good,bad setup .Now looking for new one,with metal gears now.Would not recommend it,and priced to much money for such little use.But easy to clean.And lost money in business cause of it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: hoven sd
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

no good

Date:December 8, 2009
does not work on small casings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade Vertical Stuffers
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dont buy

Date:November 28, 2009
I bought the 11# model and it is junk. The rubber gasket went bad first after a couple of uses and cabelas wouldn't stand be hind it had to buy a new one. The gears are junk they strip out easily. It takes a man and a boy to turn the crank when you try to make sticks.Would not recomend if you plan on doing any amount of meat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 112