Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder

Although Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder was designed with hunters in mind, it is a great investment for the do-it-yourselfer wanting to make hamburger, sausage and other meat products at home. Doing so not only can save money, but it also gives you greater control over the quality and content of the meat products that you consume. You’ll find Cabela's grinders to be reliable, durable and easy to clean when the work is done. Because we use top-notch components in the construction of our grinders, you can count on years of service with proper care of the equipment. Though this grinder is great for use at home, all of Cabela's electric grinders are UL Sanitation Certified for both household and commercial use in the United States and Canada. Heavy-duty air-cooled motors are housed in stainless steel and sit atop stainless steel bases for corrosion-free use and easy cleanup. Our motors include internal circuit breakers that are independently tested to ensure their performance exceeds expectations for the highest quality and safety standards. Motors are permanently lubricated for trouble-free use. Oval meat trays eliminate hard-to-reach corners for trouble-free loading. Our 1-3/4hp Grinder is the ultimate powerhouse on the market! The extra horsepower allows it to grind an amazing 18-22 pounds-per-minute. Larger cuts of meat slide easily through the massive stainless steel No. 42 neck (nearly 40% larger than the No. 32). Extra-large 545 cu.-in. hopper volume. Forward and reverse switch. 18-1/8" x 11-3/8" x 2-3/8" tray. Includes medium (7mm) and course (10mm) grinding plates, four sausage-stuffing funnels and a meat-pushing stomper. Compatable with our optional grinder attachments. Imported. Wt: 78 lbs.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(1070 Reviews) 1070
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 1,070 reviews
5 Stars
946
4 Stars
89
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
8
1 Star
14
1,038 out of 1,070(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 177 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 14, 2012

Best Grinder Ever

By
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
By far the best grinder out there for the price. I have used all different kinds of grinders but none of them can match the durability and power that the Cabela's grinder has to offer. This will be the last grinder that I will ever have to buy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Meat Hound

By
Location: Browerville Mn
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
For the home meat shop or Pro, it's the best bang for the buck. I have worked in a meat market for 15 years and I am very happy. I highly recommend the foot feed too. It's very helpfull when stuffing sausage. Meat Hound
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2016

1/2hp grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Grinder works fine for the limited processing we do. Appreciate the lifetime warrantee. Had problem with first one but returned it to store and it was replaced with no issues.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2016

1/2 hp Cabella's meat grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Works great with semi-frozen meat. We look forward to using it every year for deer and produce from the garden. We would recommend this for some who is self sufficient. Does a great job!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

1hp meat grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Got the 1hp. Grinding you can not feed it to fast. Gave it 3 stars because of the stuffing system. Made snack sticks with the high speed auger and snack stick funnel. Did not sound good at all and do not like the stuffing Star, their is no support for the auger. Got a stuffing plate to replace the star. Bad thing is you cant us a stuffing plate when you are using the high speed auger, so I suggest you try and line up the funnel in the nut and may be hold it a little high when you tighten the wing nut to support the main auger.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

Meat Grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Purchased the 1 horsepower last year.So far have ground up 4 deer.It does the job and fast.Easy to set up and take down.Only thing to remember is you need to grind the meat twice( once with course blade and then with the fine)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Grinder Works Well

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The grinder works very well, cleans easily, assembles and disassembles in a snap. Nice unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Outstanding Product

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this to replace a defective Pro Series grinder and let me tell you, this thing gets it done. I can churn through 5 pounds of whatever I am grinding in less time than it takes to set it all up. Easy to clean, very quiet running yet powerful. Highly recommend for the home sausage maker or anyone who would like to grind their own meats.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2016

Wow, This Bad Boy Moves Meat!

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
After breaking my cheap grinder last year, I decided to buy the Cabela's Commercial Grade 1/2 horse grinder. A couple gift cards helped with the decision. My expectations were more than exceeded. I thawed 12 lb. of venison trim enough to cut it into cubes and added13 lb. of fresh pork trim from my local butcher shop for some brats. My wife didn't think the first grind was fine enough so I ran it through the coarse sieve a second time. Very quickly I might add, and a nice grind for the brats. With help from my wife, stuffing went well too, once I figured out I had the tube installed incorrectly - the picture in the manual was a different style. One thing to watch for when cleaning up is the meat tray has a spot welded feed tube, which has a gap that collects meat. I cleaned out the gap with a tooth pick and rewashed. Wish it was solid welded. Overall, I am very happy with the machine and glad I bought it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Cabela's Commercial Grade 3/4 hp Electric Grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This grinder is a tank. More than enough power for deer meat. Love this thing. Quality product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 19, 2015

Not as perfect as advertised

By
Country: United States
State: Hawaii
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Very powerful machine, two grinding plates provided 7mm and 10 mm, too small for coarse grinding needs a 12 mm plate, is not available through Cabelas and they will not special order for their customers, further does not do a when filling sausage casings.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 10, 2015

bad design on stuffing tubes

By
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The interchangeable tubes do not lock very well on the plastic collar and meat can ooze out during stuffing. The worst part of this design is that you cannot grind directly into the stuffing tube because the tube/collar goes where the grinding plate would be. So if you are making hamburger and want to grind directly into the plastic bags, you can't. I have borrowed a LEM brand the same size and wish I had bought that one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2015

Good Grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Bought this for a friend. He used it and said it worked great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2015

Fantastic product

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the 3/4 hp commercial grade meat grinder. Did all the prep and started it up. My wife and I were amazed at how quickly we ground 20 lbs of venison. My wife was impressed with not only the speed but also how quite it was. Both of us are very happy with this purchase
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2015

Worth every penny

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After finding out I was shorted an entire Antelope back strap by a meat processor last year, I decided to make the investment of purchasing my own meat grinder. This was a decision I have nt regreted! I went with the Cabela's 1/2 horse #8 meat grinder, which has worked flawlessly.
If you are considering a meat grinder, do yourself a favor and do it. The model #8 will not disappoint. Thank you meat processor. I now know the game I, myself, stalked, killed, dragged, and cleaned is in MY freezer!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

Definitely worth it

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
I bought this grinder (3/4 hp version) back in 2010 to replace a much cheaper, much more plastic-y department store one that I wrecked on some particularly tough venison. Since then, I have put the trim from 2-3 deer a year through it, stuffed sausage from the same, and also done some miscellaneous grinding of other things. It has handled everything I've thrown at it like a champ. I've never had a need to freeze meat beforehand or even trim it that well (though if it is partially frozen, it flies through there even faster). The grinder barely slows down with whatever I put through it and often I can barely keep up with feeding it by hand. I just put another deer through it about an hour ago and it didn't even blink, even on the tough foreleg/shank stuff that I had just hacked off in chunks. As long as whatever I put in fits down the throat of it, it seems to have no trouble. Also, this is often without coarse grinding first - I simply run it through fine on the first pass, and have never had an issue!
Definitely a worthwhile purchase, and even if something were to happen to it down the line, I would never go back to a cheap one after using one like this.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 17, 2015

Be sure where this is made

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
We purchased a pro-series grinder form Cabelas about 2 years ago. It worked well for us until we tried to use it 2 weeks ago. The gears sheared off when we started it. Thing do break so we contacted Cabelas to get replacement parts This is the kicker.. It as made in China and they can't get replacement parts. We now have a worthless piece. Make sure if you buy one. They want us to another. WHY?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2015

Upgrade

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
My small grinder has been over used for some 8 years and I am so happy with my new 1 3/4 grinder. Chews it up and spits it out. Love it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 7, 2015

Great Grinder

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
I process 3-6 deer a year for myself and this grinder is the best. About 90% of my meat is ground.
I have had it for almost 2 years and have never had any troubles with the unit. I have used it to stuff sausage ( recommend you get a sausage stuffer instead), make hamburgers with the attachment, and to grind well over 100lbs of meat.
The grinder I had before this was a small kitchen job with a #8 neck. It was cheap and I got what I paid for, spending hours to grind a few pounds. This cabelas grinder was bought and even though it is larger then my last the power it produces is amazing, have yet to hear it strain because I fed to much into it. Meat goes in and comes out no hesitation and a few seconds latter, I actually have a hard time keeping it loaded it goes faster then I can load.
I am very pleased with it. Only thing you should get with it is the foot peddle (so its not running all the time), and a 2nd blade (so you have one for each cutting plate, and they always stay together). But these are optional, it is ready to go out of the box
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial-Grade 1-3/4 hp Electric Grinder
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 2, 2015

Amazing Grinder

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I did a ton of research before purchasing this grinder and I was a bit skeptical about the performance of the machine but after reading a lot of reviews I figured I'd give it a try.
Man oh man am I impressed with this grinder. I ground up over 200 lbs of moose meat in as little as 25 minutes. That's not doing it justice because I probably wasted 5 minutes or better running around finding our cleaning tubs to use for catching the fresh ground meat.
Originally I was concerned that the silver skin would clog up the plate but that was in no way shape or form an issue. I never had to clean or unplug it once.
This is a great machine, it's easy to take apart for cleaning, it's quiet, and it grins meat as fast as you can feed it. I'm very impressed and glad I didn't buy the big model. This grinder is a beast!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 1,070