Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives

Rated at 57 Rockwell hardness, the CR 17 stainless steel blade holds a razor-sharp edge while the Nickel, Vanadium and Tungsten in the alloy increase its ability to take an edge quickly. Each blade is laser-cut with the Outfitter Series logo. The handles have laminated wood scales for a look that's as sharp as the finely honed blade. Full-tang construction for superior balance. Leather scabbard included. Available:Traditional Hunter: 4-3/4" blade. 9-1/2" overallGuthook: 4-1/2" serrated blade. 9-1/8" overall Trigger Skinner: 4-1/2" cutting surface, gut hook with oversized 3/8" gap, and trigger-style grip. 8-1/2" overall.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
60 out of 65(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Review 1 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milmay, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Outfitters Series Guthook Knife

Date:November 20, 2006
I purchased this knife as much for it's reasonable price as it's good looks and I could not be happier. Not only is it a good looking knife, it is extemely well made and holds a nice edge. The only thing I would change is the sheath, but that is just personal preference. Overall I'm very satisfied and would not hesitate to order another style if need be.
Thanks Again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Portland, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good feel, good value

Date:November 20, 2006
The knife is classic in design and construction, with full-tang steel running through the wood laminate handle and an ample hollow-ground blade with enough spine to cut accurately and also take hard hits. Result: hefty, with fine balance. The fit and finish are less than classic, if not slipshod; and the black leather case doesn't bear up as well, being on the flimsy side -- I wouldn't want my kid carrying it or falling on it. The balancing act here is price point vs. craftsmanship, however, and I give high marks overall for a very tough, good-handling field knife costing half the going rate. It's in my camp kit, and I won't fuss over it. -- Len30
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Eielson AFB Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabela's Outfitter Series Hunting Knives

Date:November 30, 2006
The knife is nice, feels good in my hand, but it has a factory defect crack in the blade. The crack is on the non cutting edge, about 1/2 an inch long, right behind the gut hook. It apears to run into the the blade towards the cutting edge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Parker, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:May 15, 2007
I bought this hunting knife based on the description in the catalog. It has a very good blade, but workmanship on the handle is a little sloppy as the rivets are higher than the wood. I plan to use a dremel tool to file down the rivets and smooth out the handle. I like the size and shape of the traditional, but I haven't actually used it yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Memphis, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Traditional Hunter

Date:August 5, 2007
It's a very strong knife, and beautiful materials. However, I hate to pay that much for a knife and have to work so hard to get an edge on it. As it came from the factory it wouldn't cut sandwich spread. It was the dullest knife I have ever seen. The only reason it got 3 stars was because it looked so darn good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: NW, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Knife

Date:October 4, 2007
It fits nicely in your hand. It has a good wieght. It has a lifetime warranty which is nice. The knife is nice and sharp, but the gut hook is a little dull. Its a really nice looking knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The good knife with a bad sheath.

Date:October 28, 2007
The knife is solid and well made, holds an edge well too. The sheath on the other hand is pure junk so I had my local tack shop make me a new one. With the cost of the new sheath I feel I am still money ahead considering the cost of comparable blades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Laramie, Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good knife

Date:November 6, 2007
The Cabela's Outfitter/guthook skinner knife is a good knife! It feels good in your hand, and performs well on Elk . It arrived nice and sharp. I would highly recomend this knife to all large game hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Missoula, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice knife

Date:November 12, 2007
This is an excellent knife for hunting tasks - a good size, shape, and weight for gutting and skinning, and sturdy enough for cutting through cartilage, ribs, and neck. The grip and blade worked well for the variety of work that goes along with hunting.
One suggestion - Cabela's would do well to sharpen knives before shipping them out. I had to stop to sharpen this one before it would cut through deer hide - should have checked before I went out! Still a great knife; I'd buy one for a friend or relative.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting Knifes

Date:January 16, 2008
The Cabela's Outfitter Series are my favorite hunting knives. I have purchased many knives from this series. The skinng knife makes your life easy. It can run a little large for smaller game like antelope if you attempt to use it to de-bone the meat. When it comes to skinning notheing compares. The caping knife is a small but useful tool. great for skinng around the face or you may use it de-bone meat it tight areas. Then there is the original hunting knife. Long blade, there is nothing extra on this knife. It is a practical knife for the seasoned hunter or the novice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Erie, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Outfitter Knife

Date:January 24, 2008
This is a very good knife - very sharp; very well made. I haven't had an occasion to use it a whole lot, but am impressed with the quality.
However, the sheath that came with it wasn't much. The knife actually cut through it. I used it as a pattern to make a heavy leather sheath.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Galena, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

watch out for that edge!

Date:April 7, 2008
This is the first knife I've seen that has a similar shape as an "ulu" that we use for just about everything here in Ak. Got it for the spring bear hunt but got to use it for dehiding some moose meat. What an edge! Wish I would of found this one sooner. I had trouble figuring out which knife I was receiving, the catalog was very confusing as to what model was what.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

knife

Date:April 7, 2008
Satisfied with the knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Quality for a Great Price

Date:June 10, 2008
The Outfitter knives come out of the box extremely sharp and ready for heavy use. The knife is well made, especially for the price. It is well balanced and fits nicely in the hand. The only criticism I have is that the scales are not smooth with the spine of the knife, but again for the price I would not hesitate to recommend this knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: kingsland, ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

broken snap

Date:July 16, 2008
i got the gut hook knife free with a muzzle loader i bought, even though i was sent the wrong knife. i was supposed to the get the traditional hunter, but i am not complaining about that. the gut hook has real nice feel to it and is a very good looking knife. it is also very sharp. i'm looking forward to next season to try it out. i really don't have any issues with it. the scabbard on the other hand, the snap broke off the first time i opened it. right out of the box as i was unpacking it. i am going to call and see if i can get it replaced. i don't think it should be a problem. cabela's has great customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Mission Viejo, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cheap Sheath

Date:July 21, 2008
Although the knife is of superior quality, the sheath is poorly made with cheap materials.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hunting knife

Date:July 22, 2008
Excellent knife, worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice Solid Knife

Date:July 28, 2008
I purchased both the skinner and hunter models in this knife. Both knives are very well built and good looking. Blades were very sharp when received. The only reason I give these knives 4 stars is the sheaths. The sheaths are very flimsy and dont match the quality of the blades. I got my knives during a sale and will make new sheaths for the knives. Not a big deal because of the price I paid for them. Overall a nice solid knife that feels well balanced in the hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Caping knife

Date:August 21, 2008
Bought this knife on a whim when it appeared on sale; best buy to date from Cabella's!!! Need to purchase others from this series. And it matches my laminated Remington!!! Great product I'd recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: New Brunswick Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outfitter Skinner

Date:September 19, 2008
I bought this knife on sale at a very good price and was overall satisfied with it. It was hair shaving sharp right out of the box and appears very sturdy and almost overbuilt for it's intended use. The only issues I had with this knife was a slightly loose handle (I glued it solid after) and a sheath that is cheap looking.
Overall I would recommend this knife because in spite of some minor issues you get a lot of knife for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 65