Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives

CABELA'S Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives

Rated at 57 Rockwell hardness, the CR 17 stainless steel blade holds a razor-sharp edge while the Nickel, Vanadium and Tungsten in the alloy increase its ability to take an edge quickly. Each blade is laser-cut with the Outfitter Series logo. The handles have laminated wood scales for a look that's as sharp as the finely honed blade. Full-tang construction for superior balance. Leather scabbard included. Available: Traditional Hunter: 4-3/4" blade. 9-1/2" overall Guthook: 4-1/2" serrated blade. 9-1/8" overall Trigger Skinner: 4-1/2" cutting surface, gut hook with oversized 3/8" gap, and trigger-style grip. 8-1/2" overall.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(65 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 65 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
60 out of 65(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Review 1 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Cabelas Outfitters Series Guthook Knife

By
Location: Milmay, NJ
I purchased this knife as much for it's reasonable price as it's good looks and I could not be happier. Not only is it a good looking knife, it is extemely well made and holds a nice edge. The only thing I would change is the sheath, but that is just personal preference. Overall I'm very satisfied and would not hesitate to order another style if need be.
Thanks Again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

Good feel, good value

By
Location: Portland, OR
The knife is classic in design and construction, with full-tang steel running through the wood laminate handle and an ample hollow-ground blade with enough spine to cut accurately and also take hard hits. Result: hefty, with fine balance. The fit and finish are less than classic, if not slipshod; and the black leather case doesn't bear up as well, being on the flimsy side -- I wouldn't want my kid carrying it or falling on it. The balancing act here is price point vs. craftsmanship, however, and I give high marks overall for a very tough, good-handling field knife costing half the going rate. It's in my camp kit, and I won't fuss over it. -- Len30
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2006

Cabela's Outfitter Series Hunting Knives

By
Location: Eielson AFB Alaska
The knife is nice, feels good in my hand, but it has a factory defect crack in the blade. The crack is on the non cutting edge, about 1/2 an inch long, right behind the gut hook. It apears to run into the the blade towards the cutting edge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 15, 2007

Good Value

By
Location: Parker, CO
I bought this hunting knife based on the description in the catalog. It has a very good blade, but workmanship on the handle is a little sloppy as the rivets are higher than the wood. I plan to use a dremel tool to file down the rivets and smooth out the handle. I like the size and shape of the traditional, but I haven't actually used it yet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:August 5, 2007

Traditional Hunter

By
Location: Memphis, TN
It's a very strong knife, and beautiful materials. However, I hate to pay that much for a knife and have to work so hard to get an edge on it. As it came from the factory it wouldn't cut sandwich spread. It was the dullest knife I have ever seen. The only reason it got 3 stars was because it looked so darn good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 4, 2007

Knife

By
Location: NW, MN
It fits nicely in your hand. It has a good wieght. It has a lifetime warranty which is nice. The knife is nice and sharp, but the gut hook is a little dull. Its a really nice looking knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 28, 2007

The good knife with a bad sheath.

By
Location: Kansas
The knife is solid and well made, holds an edge well too. The sheath on the other hand is pure junk so I had my local tack shop make me a new one. With the cost of the new sheath I feel I am still money ahead considering the cost of comparable blades.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2007

Good knife

By
Location: Laramie, Wyoming
The Cabela's Outfitter/guthook skinner knife is a good knife! It feels good in your hand, and performs well on Elk . It arrived nice and sharp. I would highly recomend this knife to all large game hunters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2007

Nice knife

By
Location: Missoula, MT
This is an excellent knife for hunting tasks - a good size, shape, and weight for gutting and skinning, and sturdy enough for cutting through cartilage, ribs, and neck. The grip and blade worked well for the variety of work that goes along with hunting.
One suggestion - Cabela's would do well to sharpen knives before shipping them out. I had to stop to sharpen this one before it would cut through deer hide - should have checked before I went out! Still a great knife; I'd buy one for a friend or relative.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2008

Hunting Knifes

By
Location: California
The Cabela's Outfitter Series are my favorite hunting knives. I have purchased many knives from this series. The skinng knife makes your life easy. It can run a little large for smaller game like antelope if you attempt to use it to de-bone the meat. When it comes to skinning notheing compares. The caping knife is a small but useful tool. great for skinng around the face or you may use it de-bone meat it tight areas. Then there is the original hunting knife. Long blade, there is nothing extra on this knife. It is a practical knife for the seasoned hunter or the novice.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2008

Cabelas Outfitter Knife

By
Location: Erie, Colorado
This is a very good knife - very sharp; very well made. I haven't had an occasion to use it a whole lot, but am impressed with the quality.
However, the sheath that came with it wasn't much. The knife actually cut through it. I used it as a pattern to make a heavy leather sheath.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

watch out for that edge!

By
Location: Galena, Alaska
This is the first knife I've seen that has a similar shape as an "ulu" that we use for just about everything here in Ak. Got it for the spring bear hunt but got to use it for dehiding some moose meat. What an edge! Wish I would of found this one sooner. I had trouble figuring out which knife I was receiving, the catalog was very confusing as to what model was what.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

knife

By
Satisfied with the knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2008

Good Quality for a Great Price

By
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
The Outfitter knives come out of the box extremely sharp and ready for heavy use. The knife is well made, especially for the price. It is well balanced and fits nicely in the hand. The only criticism I have is that the scales are not smooth with the spine of the knife, but again for the price I would not hesitate to recommend this knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2008

broken snap

By
Location: kingsland, ga.
i got the gut hook knife free with a muzzle loader i bought, even though i was sent the wrong knife. i was supposed to the get the traditional hunter, but i am not complaining about that. the gut hook has real nice feel to it and is a very good looking knife. it is also very sharp. i'm looking forward to next season to try it out. i really don't have any issues with it. the scabbard on the other hand, the snap broke off the first time i opened it. right out of the box as i was unpacking it. i am going to call and see if i can get it replaced. i don't think it should be a problem. cabela's has great customer service.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2008

Cheap Sheath

By
Location: Mission Viejo, Ca
Although the knife is of superior quality, the sheath is poorly made with cheap materials.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 22, 2008

Hunting knife

By
Location: Iowa
Excellent knife, worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 28, 2008

Nice Solid Knife

By
Location: Georgia
I purchased both the skinner and hunter models in this knife. Both knives are very well built and good looking. Blades were very sharp when received. The only reason I give these knives 4 stars is the sheaths. The sheaths are very flimsy and dont match the quality of the blades. I got my knives during a sale and will make new sheaths for the knives. Not a big deal because of the price I paid for them. Overall a nice solid knife that feels well balanced in the hand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2008

Caping knife

By
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Bought this knife on a whim when it appeared on sale; best buy to date from Cabella's!!! Need to purchase others from this series. And it matches my laminated Remington!!! Great product I'd recommend it to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Outfitter Series™ Hunting Knives
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2008

Outfitter Skinner

By
Location: New Brunswick Canada
I bought this knife on sale at a very good price and was overall satisfied with it. It was hair shaving sharp right out of the box and appears very sturdy and almost overbuilt for it's intended use. The only issues I had with this knife was a slightly loose handle (I glued it solid after) and a sheath that is cheap looking.
Overall I would recommend this knife because in spite of some minor issues you get a lot of knife for the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 65