Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

If you are a do-it-yourself kind of person, you prefer making your own jerky. Fortunately, we've made the seasoning part easy. A generous 4.5 ounces of top-notch seasoning is packed in super-protective mylar bags that lock in freshness and block all damaging light and moisture. We've added the bonus convenience of a shaker bottle complete with sifter and lid for a simple, even seasoning distribution. One seasoning packet makes an impressive 10 pounds of world-class Cabela's jerky. Two packets included in each flavor (makes 20 pounds total). Available: Hot, Mesquite, Hickory (not shown).
Overall Customer Rating:
3.756 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
30 out of 41(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Review 1 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

By
The seasoning was not good at all. When I opened the package the spice packet was a solid brick and mushed when I tried to break it up. DO NOT BUY!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 8, 2008

Jerky seasoning

By
Location: W.V.
Wasted my beef, jerky cure was too saltly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

salty

By
Location: michigan
not as good as I was thinking it was going to be. just really salty.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2007

not very good

By
Location: chicora,pa
Tried the sweet and hot flavoring. Any sweet and hot flavor was drowned out by the salty taste. Would not recommend this flavor at all. Also bought the teriyaki flavoring, hope it turns out better than the sweet & hot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 30, 2007

Cabelas Jerky Seasoning

By
Location: Denver, CO
Extremely salty and gets even worse as it rests a few days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2007

2 Thumbs Down

By
Location: South Eastern, CT
I just tried the Cabela's Cracked Pepper Jerky seasoning and I am very disappointed with it. If you like that processed meat log that takes like rotten bologna that is sold at holiday time then this stuff is perfect for you. Another note not everyone makes 10 pounds of jerky at a time and it is a pain in the neck to remeasure the seasoning and cure for small batches. Even though it costs more I am going back to the my old Brand of seasoning mixes. My old brand of seasoning taste more like jerky and has a lot more flavor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2008

Cabelas Hot Jerky seasoning

By
This product is to be avoided. First, it results in jerky that is too salty, and second, it isn't hot. I added 1/4 cup of hot sauce to my mix before making, and it still wasn't hot. I would try another brand. Cableas needs to go back to their sub contractor on this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:July 9, 2007

Disappointing and bland

By
Location: Montana City, MT
I just made 20 pounds of jerky from ground mule deer meat. I did 10 pounds using the original flavor and cooked it in a smoker. Then I also did 10 pounds using the teriyaki flavor, stuffed in snack stick casing and cooked in the oven. The jerky was very weak on flavor even coming from the smoker. The snack sticks didn't have even a hint of teriyaki flavor. I'll be sticking with the Hi-Mountain brand of spices in the future. However I have to say that the jerky shooter I used to make the sticks and jerky works incredibly well!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 2, 2007

OK Jerky

By
Location: Reno, NV
Not as good as the Uncle Abe's Venison Jerky Seasoning that Cabela's used to sell. This Cabela's jerky seasoning is OK, but nothing special. Also the Uncle Abe's Jerky was easier to make and use for smaller portions of meat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2006

too salty

By
Location: alaska
not enough flavor
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 23, 2008

Jerky Seasonings

By
Location: Camarillo, Southern California
I ordered two varities - Hot & Mesquite. On a scale of 1 to 10, the Hot was a disappointing 3. The Mesquite was hadly tasteable if at all. I was in short, very disappointed with the purchase. Having said that, the package arrived quickly and was well padded for shipment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:April 7, 2008

Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

By
Location: Southern Wisconsin
The seasoning has a really good flavor.
My only complaint wuld be the cure makes the meat very salty. I only marinated the meat for 18 hours and the salt was overpowering the flavor.
I am sure it is more of a safety issue and they in no way would want the meat to turn on you.
I am just going to use much less of the recomended cure from now on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 22, 2006

Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

By
Location: Allen, Texas
I make jerky all the time but got burned out on my own marinade recipe. The flavor of the jerky seasonings are good and marinade is easy to make; however, the seasoning comes in 2 pouches; each pouch to be used for 10 pounds of meat. I don't know about you, but 5 pounds of meat is the maximum I will make at any time. I had to weigh the entire package of the seasoning and the cure, and then figure out half the weight of each to make enough for 5 pounds. It qould be much easier if the directions told you how many TBSP of seasoning and cure per pound so you could use only the amount needed."
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2008

Jersey Seasonings

By
Location: Texas
Very rich spices. Very good blend. I want more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2008

Cabela's Jerky Seasonings

By
Location: Ravenswood, West Virginia
I would say that Cabela's Jerky Seasonings are just as good as or better than practically any of the other brands I've tried. I bought 'em when they were on sale, so I saved several dollars compared to the others. Until I find a brand that stands out from the rest, I'll continue to buy Cabela's Seasonings.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 17, 2008

Jerky Seasoning

By
Location: NW Oklahoma
Didn't quite season 10 lbs. of meat but a sensational flavor. I would recommend it but you may have to add a little of your own marinade to do 10 lbs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2008

Jerky Seasoning

By
Location: North East Kentucky
My wife and grandkids love the seasoning. Good stuff!
Only problem is the batch measure instuctions are for larger amounts of jerky. You must redo measurements manually for small runs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 6, 2007

Cabela's Jerky Seasoning

By
Location: Penna.
The seasoning was spicy but not too spicy. It compliments the jerky slicer!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 23, 2007

Hickory jerky seasoning

By
Location: NW Oregon
I used this to make jerky with very lean ground meat. It has a very good flavor, just a little too salty for my taste but overall makes a delicious product. A food dehydrator makes a very easy way to cure it. It would be nice to provide the spice in a smaller amount as 10 #s of jerky is too much( I split it in 1/2)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Jerky Seasonings
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 18, 2007

Question

By
Location: Medford, OR
The packets of jerky seasoning had a shaker bottle with it. The receipe called for the ingredients to be mixed with water and then the meat marinated in the solution.
What are the bottle shakers for?
I have only used the original receipe and it is very good.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 41