Customer Reviews for INVISA Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

INVISA Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife

Tuck it away in your pack or fanny pack and you have three sharp tools for all your field-dressing tasks. With Kershaw's exclusive Quick-Lock mechanism, attaching a blade to the non-slip polymer handle takes only seconds. The 4-3/8" gut-hook blade easily zips through the body cavities of big-game animals and is made of durable AUS6A stainless steel. The standard drop-point hunting blade is 3-1/2" long and crafted of 420 stainless steel for the utmost in edge retention. And you can make quick work of bone, tree limbs and other tough cutting chores with the 6" saw blade. The handle has a contoured, ergonomic shape for fatigue-free cutting. All blades and the handle store in the harness-leather sheath. Weight: 11.6 ounces.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.446 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
1
50 out of 56(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Review 1 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Knife review

Date:November 27, 2006
I purchased the set last year. I have always been a fan of the manufacterer. I have been very disappointed with the product
because while the various blades are interchangable the handle will not stay locked allowing the blades to come loose and possibly harm the user. I have also noticed what appears to be oxidation or discoloration of the saw blade. If I had it to do over I would not purchase this product from this company.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good Idea / Poor Execution

Date:February 7, 2010
I received this knife set in February of '09 and finally got to use it this past hunting season. My initial thought on this knife was that it was a great idea and a useful tool in a small package. The handle is comfortable and the blades are extremely sharp. Opening my deer was a breeze.
Where the problem lies with this knife is the collar that secures the blades to the handle. The more you change blades the looser it gets, but that is only the small problem. Any side pressure applied to the handle during cutting (which can happen very easily during quartering or using the saw blade) will bend the flimsey collar and allow the blade to fall off the handle.
Fortunately for me when I encountered my issues with this knife I was butchering at home and didn't end up knifeless in the field. Needless to say I don't trust carrying this, it will be fixed blades only in my future.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, Ak
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Sharp blades/Poor Design

Date:September 14, 2009
I bought the Kershaw Alaskan Blade Trader here at the base exchange store at Eielson AFB, AK before going on a Caribou hunt this past Aug. I shot a nice bull and decided to use the Alaskan Blade Trader to field dress this animal. Wow what a miserable expereince. The rubber locking mechanism on the handle that keeps the blade in place over the butteryfly shaped metal insert kept opening up, causing the blade to constantly fall inside the animal. Fortunately, I had my old standby knives with me to finishe the job, or it would have been a much longer process dressing out that bou on a wind swept, raining, sleeting mountain top.
I called Kershaw about the horrible expereince with the knife and they first wanted me to pay to ship the knife to them, but after consulting with the supervisor, they agreed to send me a new handle. They also suggested using a set of pliers to squeeze the handle locking mechanism together to tighten the blade to the handle. I tried it again on the moose I shot last Friday, and to their credit, it did work better. Not perfect, but better. I still used my other knives, but it was not coming loose as much. The blades are sharp and do hold an edge well.
I have the Gerber field dressing kit that comes with a T-handle skinning/gut blade and a separate T-handle bone saw and a carrying sheath for both ($34.99). Combine that with your standard Gerber Gator II folding knife ($32.99) or a standard Buck Knife ($49.99) for a caping/general boning knife and you're set. A much better and effective set-up than the Kershaw.
STAY AWAY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: HUNTING THE CALIFORNIA DESERT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

kershaw blade trader

Date:March 5, 2009
i used this knife on a white tail deer, the saw is to weak it would bend and stop cutting. the last thing i want is a wild saw blade on a deer trip. the gut hook blade was great sharp and preformed the task the best, except i left it under a tree in Wisconsin...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Butte, MT
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

3 Blade System Kershaw

Date:December 4, 2008
I was only dissapointed with the latch that holds in the blades. I had to squeeze the latch to tighten up the blades because it became loose. I don't recall if it was from using the saw on my Elk or not. I would give it a 5 if the latch was better. But also, great buy for the money, everything was very sharp, and the saw worked great, after I figured out you have to squeeze the latch back together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blade Trader

Date:March 31, 2009
When I received this knife, I immediately opened it and checked it out. It appears to be very functional, blades are extremely sharp. Only problem I have found so far is I am not real satisfied with the way the blades connect to the handle. Feels a little awkard and doesn't look real secure. Haven't had a chance to use it in the field yet but have tried it on some steaks at home cuts nice and trims easy. This winter in the woods will tell the true story.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kershaw Alaska Blade Trader

Date:December 14, 2008
Main skinner and knife balde were very sharp and durable the saw has a bit to be desired it is very light weight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Rocky Mtn. House, Alberta - transplant from CT.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cutting and gutting

Date:January 7, 2008
Got for hunting ... not quite up to my standard so I have returned for refund....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the Money great Deal

Date:February 5, 2013
Worth the Money all you need to clean a deer the only reason I give 4 stars is because the knife is hard to change blade the after putting the skinner blade on otherwise great knife
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Personal favorite

Date:December 11, 2012
A versatile tool that has what you need when you need it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: bancroft mi
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:December 16, 2009
The only thing I had a problem with was the locking mechanism on the handle. I sent a e mail to kershaw about it and receieved a response back in a couple minutes real happy with there customer service. They sent me a new handle for the blad right away. All three blades work great and stay sharp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Blade Trader

Date:November 30, 2009
Good value, did the job on 4 whitetail then the blade keeper on the handle became loose. As others have said, this can be a problem easilly fixed with pliers. The leather sheath is worthless but the tool is worth the price and a good all purpose set to carry. Compromise, yes. Great for small deer. Tough enough for several elk?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Asheville, N.C.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kershaw Alaskan Blade Trader Knife

Date:September 30, 2009
An innovative design that enables a hunter to carry one tool to do skinning, gutting, and bone sawing all in one sheath. Beats the heck out of carrying a bone saw, Wyoming knife, and hunting knife separately. Easy to trade out blades, good steel. An all round good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah mountains
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kershaw Blade Trader

Date:November 6, 2008
Used it on an elk this season and it felt as sharp at the finish as at the start. I like the weight because I backpack in. The feel is light but balanced and the grip is secure. The skinner was very efficient. The gut hook had to be at the right angle to perform well; this may have been me because I hadn't used a hook before.
Warning- I twisted the knife while separating the hip joint and the handle "loosened" creating a bad condition. Cabelas is exchanging it-still great customer service-. They would exchange it but I think this knife is worth another try.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Kershaw Blade Changer

Date:July 16, 2008
Got one for my brother and son for Christmas and got one in return for my birthday. All three have been used to skin deer, elk, and black bear. The point on the drop point blade has broken off on all three of them. Extremely sharp, but also thin and brittle. Simple grind job made them good as new and stronger. The gut hook is awesome. Not only does it do a fantastic job on the skin and stomach muscle, but it will open the rib cage on a medium sized bear or deer like a zipper and with very little pressure. Great product. The gut hook is just as sharp as the skinning side of the blade, so keep your fingers out. I was wearing heavy rubber gloves while skinning a bear and pushed my finger (unthinkingly) into the gut hook for more leverage and, you guessed it, I ruined the rubber glove and had a very sore finger for quite a while. Not the knife's fault. Buy one. You won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Craig, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Knife

Date:February 29, 2008
I have been very pleased with this knife, and this is the second one I have purchased. You must remember to clean the saw and oil it as soon as possible after use. It has held up well after many field dressings, and it holds an edge after sharpening.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boise, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great kit

Date:November 1, 2007
This is a great kit for backcountry hunters. Its lightweight and its everything you need. The set I have has a 5 inch boning/filet blade instead of the gut hook blade. I use the hunting blade to gut and skin the animal and the boning blade to quarter and bone out for easy packing. The only drawback is the saw blade rusts and tarnishes really easy. I would like to buy another set (just in case I lose mine someday) if I can find the kit with the boning/filet rather than the gut hook blade.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Perfect blade

Date:November 20, 2012
Handy little kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Glendale, AZ
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great knife combo for the field

Date:January 10, 2012
Bought this knife set for a hunt i had planned in Texas. When i arrived all of the other guys in my camp said I was unprepared because of how lite my pack was. When it came time to clean the days harvest all were impressed with my knife set and with its performance. All-in-all I am very impressed with this product and highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kershaw® Alaskan Blade Trader Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southern, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Minor problems but a excellent knife

Date:December 5, 2011
I have had this knife for 2 seasons now and cleaned 5 deer with it. I just had to sharping my drop point blade for the first time. This is more due to me using on things is should not have. The knives are very sharp right out of the package. I have a scare to prove it. Only real problems are the holder and the locking mechanism for the knife. The knife holder has been cut up returning the knife to the holder and the locking mechanism needs a firm squeeze everytime you change blades. Minor problems for what you get out of this knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 56