Customer Reviews for THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

If citronella candles and other old-fashioned methods for keeping mosquitoes away just aren’t working for you, fire up the ThermaCELL Portable repellent and enjoy your next outing in bug-free peace. A butane cartridge heats a chemically treated repellent mat that keeps mosquitoes out of a 225-sq.-ft. area for up to 12 hours. Fully cordless and portable and requires no messy wax. Includes three repellent mats and one butane cartridge. Imported. This ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent is not designed to run at altitudes above 4,500 feet. The manufacturer states that units become difficult to start and run at altitudes above 4,500 feet above sea level.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(626 Reviews) 626
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 626 reviews
5 Stars
470
4 Stars
104
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Star
27
588 out of 626(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Review 1 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South East Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

it works

Date:October 12, 2006
i live and hunt in the marshes of south louisiana. THis is the breeding grounds of insects. I think this is the wrost year for mosquitos that i can remember and i went hunting. The insects were unbearable until i lit my thermacell. It did take a few minutes but once it got going i could have been hunting nude with out a bite.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Saint Augustine, Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

WOW

Date:October 23, 2006
I live in Florida and hunt in South GA swamps. I hated to hunt early in the season due to the mosquites. I tried my new Thermacell out opening day of blackpowder 06 and was AMAZED, no bugs. I hunted in a short sleeve shirt all week. What a great product!
Do not use in a closed box stand or leave it in the cab of your truck, it will make your throat sore.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Louisiana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Magic Thermacell

Date:November 3, 2006
The other morning the mosquitos were murder. I lit up the thermacell and placed it at the bottom of my stand and two minutes later I didnt have one mosquito bothering me. I started out a sceptic, but now I am a believer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:November 13, 2006
I was very skeptical when buying this, but for $20+ I figured I'd give it a shot. I tried it for the very first time this past weekend while hunting in South Georgia. This weekend was hot and I was hunting down in a ladder stand that backs up to a big swamp. The gnats and sqeeters were out and were driving me nuts after 5 minutes, so I reached in my pack and tried this little unit. After about 5 minutes, I was much more comfortable and noticed there weren't any bugs bothering me anymore. You can still see them trying to get to you from a few feet out but this thing acts like a forcefield. Any hunter should add this to their arsenal of gear because for the money I would recommend it to anyone hunting in these conditions. Nothing can ruin a hunt more or annoy you more by having gnats and mosquitos hum around your ear. This works just like it says and is great. The only con and reason I don't give it 5 stars is that it is NOT odorless. You can and will smell the butane and matte burning. It also generates a little smoke about like that of a cigeratte. Is it enough to spook game like deer? Possibly. If it is windy and you are on the ground, I probably wouldn't use it..because if I can smell it...the deer sure can. If I can see smoke, the deer can. I guess the tradeoff for me is either take your chances having them smell burnt cheap perfume from this or chance having them see you swat bugs for a few hours. Me, I'll take this and come out with zero bites and a more enjoyable hunt. Hopefully being up high off the ground will help carry the scent above their detection. Would I buy again, absolutely. Don't let the cost deter you and you settle for bug spray or a head net. This is simple to use, out of the way and you don't smell like a bottle of bug spray all afternoon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: West Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thermacell

Date:November 14, 2006
I used this product on a Canadian black bear hunt and was extremely impressed with how effective it was and the ease of use. It is very simple to install the butane cartridge and the repellent pad. I had mosquitos around me when I started the Thermacell and they immediately left the area and I did not have any more problems with bugs. There was no problem with odor as a black bear came in to within 10 yards with the thermacell running. I will always take the Thermacell with me on hunts where bugs might be a problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Winter Haven, Fl.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Do not go in the woods without ThermaCELL

Date:November 15, 2006
Hunting season in the South runs from August to December. All type of BUGS also have open season on hunters. Now with ThermaCELL, I no longer have to cover every inch of my body with a toxic chemical which caused irregular heart beat ( I am a cardiologist) or hot clothing. Finally, I can now fully enjoy the hunting experience and not spend my time whacking insects.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCell

Date:November 20, 2006
When I first saw this thing, I figured it was just another gimmick. Yet, someone told me it worked and because we had a record year in mosquito hatchings, I figured I'd bite (no pun intended).
The unit comes with a butane cartridge and 3 "pads" that are heated. Each pad lasts several hours. The refills are not expensive either so this is a great buy.
One big problem is that we live right in the woods and we also have a pretty good sized strawberry patch. My wife, being a good wife, likes to pick the berries all by herself. Problem is, the mosquitoes are so bad there was no way to keep them off.
When we got the ThermaCell, we immediately put it to good use. We lit it (by pushing a button) and walked to the garden area. Stopping to open the gate, I noticed that I was not getting eaten on by those nasty things. So the wife starts picking strawberries and would just lay the unit down in front of her and pick away. After moving perhaps 5 or 6 feet, she then would move the ThermaCell in front of her again. Wow! From then on, she could pick those strawberries wearing a short sleeved shirt.
This sounds too good to be true so I had to really try it. I had a large stack of firewood that still had not been piled up so decided to get busy. The temperature was around 80 degrees and, of course, piling wood makes me sweat a lot. I wanted to see just how good this thing was so worked with just a t-shirt on top. I just laid the unit by the pile of wood and started working. In 3 hours of work, I think I got bit one time, and that was when I first started.
Needless to say, I will highly recommend this for everybody. As stated, last summer was a record year for mosquitoes in our area as we had some record rains and we live in the woods where they are normally thick anyway. Yes, we also purchased a second unit and several refills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:November 20, 2006
I got the camo one and I like it. It works. I don't know how well in the wind But I don't think that the bugs like wind either. Follow instructions on not puting it in certin places. It will melt some stuff. I recomend getting the holster. Means my camo might be usless, oh well. Also you can use it with the therma scent replacement stuff, turning your therma cell into a therma scent, when bugs arn't around. Heck, you might be able to use them togeter at the same time on one device.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thermacell is a great product

Date:November 20, 2006
After having to deal with bugs for years in early hunting season. It is great to have a product that really stands up to what it was made for. The ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent
when used with the Theracell unit keeps the Mosquitos away but not the deer. I was afraid to use it because I did not want it to scare the deer. But I figured it was worth a try. I am glad I did and will use it all the time when bugs are out. Thanks Thermacell for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvaina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent

Date:November 20, 2006
This Product performed better than I had expected. Ihave used it in my backyard and early archery season, with great
results. This item is very easy to use, and I have had no problems with the butane cartridge's or with ignition. This is
a nice product to add to your outdoor gear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What else - its a ThermaCELL

Date:November 20, 2006
This review is easy. Anyone who has a ThermaCELL knows that it simply works. My deer archery season starts in WI in September, a time which many of my stands are in the dry marsh bogs where the mosquitos thrive. I have tried everything, and prior to the ThermaCELL, there where times I would have enough mosquito bites that I would actually get ill as a result. With the risk of serious illness from these bites, this isn't a light matter. This device is odorless, works for several hours with each charge, and is a must-have if you hunt fall or spring bears, spring turkey, or early fall season deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: coshocton,ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:November 20, 2006
i was skeptical about this product at first, but when i got it i went right out in the field to test it!!! OMG!! i couldn't believe how well it worked!! amazing! odorless! this product is a winner!!! can't wait for turkey season (spring) no more buzzing mosquitos!! yahooooo!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakdale, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL a 5 star product

Date:November 20, 2006
I encountered walls of misquitos during a May 2006 Canadian bear hunt. To occupy my stand was impossible without a full set of bug proof clothing and head net. My guide could see the frustration I was enduring so after the hunt he drove an hour to his home to get a ThermaCELL he had just purchased from Cabelas. Within twenty minutes, after igniting the ThermaCell place between my feet, the following morning there was not a bug of any sort within arms length. I removed all bug protection and enjoyed every minute of my sucessful hunt thereafter.
Seeing my delight with the protection the ThermaCELL provided my fellow hunters held a lottery to determine who would be the next lucky possessor of the unit.
We had a mess tent that was twenty feet by ten feet, a major gathering place for both hunters and misquitos, which was rendered bug free within a half hour of igniting the ThermaCELL.
For hunting compfort you simply can't beat a ThermaCELL!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best Mosquito Repellent

Date:November 20, 2006
I climbed up in my tree stand turned on the thermacell and set it on the platform. With in 5 minutes I was no longer swatting the mosquito's. It was a great experiences, as I sat there I could see the mosquitoes all around but it was like there was a 10 foot force field around me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mosquitoes, Minges, Black Flies, Oh My!!

Date:November 21, 2006
This product if CRAZY. I live in Maine and we have multiple little flying terrors. Things that suck you blood, other things that bite and then lap up your life fluids. As it has gotten warmer the last few years and extended our rain season what use to be an annoying number of bugs has turned into swarms seen only in horror movies. But, like having Buffy in in the room, the ThermaCell keeps those blood suckers away.
Simply click the butane over to start and hit the button and sphere of happiness slowly expands out to 10-15' or so. It is so amazing to see hoardes of mosquitoes and black flies literally circling around you but either repelled or unable to find you. I've used this during Spring turkey season on the edge of some swamps and was able to sit the whole morning calling in turkeys trying for a bow shot.
The only mistake I made was not getting the holster. I made the foolish mistake of turning mine off to walk back to the vehicle. It reminded me of what I was NOT missing, bug bites on every exposed surface.
The only issue I ended up having was that I accidentally clicked the start over button trying to get gear in and out of the same pocket. That let the butane out and the next time I went, I cursed the hunting Gods and the mosquitoes and Black Flies.
I immediately came back to Cabelas and bought the Holster.
Ahh.... sweet, sweet ThermaCELL. You are my new best hunting buddy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, OH.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCellmosquito repellant

Date:November 21, 2006
A friend from S.Carolina told me about this product while we were talking about deer hunting in hot weather. He said that this was his one must have item in the deer stand down south.
Knowing my friend as I do, I ordered one from Cabela's, tongue in cheek.
Wife and I are sitting out on the back patio one afternoon and the bugs associated with summer heat arrived with a vengence. Out came the THERMACELL. I fired it up and placed it on the ground under our patio table. Almost instantly the bugs, mosquitos, no seeums, GONE. A pleasant afternoon was then the order.
I have used my THERMACELL on the patio, our pontoon boat, my bass boat, when I'm night fishing, and in my deer stand. Skepticism has been with replaced with solid believability in this product.
Buy one you won't be sorry!!!!!!!!!
As a side note, this product runs on batteries but produces no noise or odors, during operation. A real plus in a deer stand. Too, it is relatively compact for easy carry. BUY ONE!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:November 21, 2006
field tested in south Arkansas river bottoms, it definitely works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No more mosquitos!

Date:November 21, 2006
I have been using this product for the past two years. It is the best invention ever in my opinion. I'm an avid bowhunter, and the season starts early here in SC. So besides the heat, (which I can deal with) we have those pesky mosquitos everywhere. I put it underneath my stand, and not one single mosquito will bother me. I have actually hunted in shorts, and a t-shirt. But above all, it doesn't bother the deer. I shot an 8 pointer last year, and a 6 pointer this year, both times having the Thermacell underneath my stand. Thank you Thermacell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL

Date:November 21, 2006
We like to sit outside on our porch swing, and this has really made those times more enjoyable. We live in the south where we have lots of mosquitoes for most of the year, and not much really helps to combat mosquitoes. This does; I've already bought refills for it once, and will continue using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THERMACELL

Date:November 21, 2006
I HAVE ONLY USED THIS ONCE BUT IT DID A GREAT JOB IN THE DUCK BOAT.ONCE I GOT IT STARTED THE MOSQUITOS WERE GONE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 626