Customer Reviews for THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

If citronella candles and other old-fashioned methods for keeping mosquitoes away just aren’t working for you, fire up the ThermaCELL Portable repellent and enjoy your next outing in bug-free peace. A butane cartridge heats a chemically treated repellent mat that keeps mosquitoes out of a 225-sq.-ft. area for up to 12 hours. Fully cordless and portable and requires no messy wax. Includes three repellent mats and one butane cartridge. Imported. This ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent is not designed to run at altitudes above 4,500 feet. The manufacturer states that units become difficult to start and run at altitudes above 4,500 feet above sea level.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.57 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(632 Reviews) 632
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 632 reviews
5 Stars
474
4 Stars
106
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Star
27
594 out of 632(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Review 1 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too good to be true...

Date:August 19, 2014
My wife and I heard many good things about this product so we decided to try one. We bought it before our trip and didn't have the chance to test it before we needed it. I know... my fault! We arrived at our campsite and instantly became thanksgiving dinner for the entire population of northern Minnesota super mosquitos. We went to the big guns right away, I opened the package with a big smile on my face knowing that all the pain would soon stop. I wrestled the machine out, locked and loaded a cartridge, and lit the fire. Still being devoured, I could see the light on and the smoke wafting out from the hole, but it didn't seem to slow those diving kamikazes from delivering their death blows. We ran for cover in our van where they still found there way to us. We read the box to see if we were using this defensive shield properly. It informed us NOT to use it in an inclosed area, so we abandoned ship and sought cover and relief in our tent with the screens up. Yep, you guessed it, I'm writing this review in my own blood in my deathbed(sleeping bag) fully zippered!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Doesn't work in Mosquito Country

Date:July 6, 2013
I live in Maine and am willing to try anything to repel Mosquitos and black flies. This product DOES NOT work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

this thing stinks - literally

Date:August 29, 2012
Sorry, but if I can smell it - so can deer. The claim of odorless is inaccurate. Its not. I gave mine away for free and the refill kit I also purchased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

waste of money

Date:June 15, 2012
To be effective it needs to run for 12 minuets in calm conditions before it becomes effective. If the mosquitoes are bad that is enough time to get eaten up. It will not protect you while walking, because the trail of repellent is behind you. It will not protect you in any wind. I tried carrying it with me while pulling weeds in the garden. It failed miserably. A total waste of my money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: pa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

keeps everything away

Date:October 22, 2011
used it once no bugs and it keep the deer away to. had two doe 50 yards and they busted me with the earth scent repellent in it. another deer busted me about a hour later and it was over 50 yards away i have never been busted like that before maybe i'll take it when i go fishing and hope the fish can't smell it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: ABQ, NM
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worked Once

Date:October 19, 2011
Used for the first time on an early season Teal hunt, worked well in the blind. However, since then I have tried to used it several times and it will not lite. I have a spark, I can hear the gas but no flame.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Need to return item

Date:August 29, 2011
I have not been able to use this product. The concept is great - a bug free environment in your camping or picnic spot, but I have not been able to get it to work.
There is something wrong with the charge. I do not live close to Cabellas so I am planning on returning it next time I am there. It may be that just my product was damaged and normally they work great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Central Point OR
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed

Date:August 9, 2010
Another product that is more hype than substance,tried it once and it seemed to work.Next time, a very tiny flame, no effect on mosquitos,pads still blue not white ,butane cartridge near empty.E-mailed Thermacell and they said to ship it back,they would repair or replace.NOT GOING TO PAY TO SHIP IT BACK,TOSS INTO FILE 13.Disappointed,to say the least.POOR PEFORMANCE,EXPENSIVE TO OPERATE=BACK TO DEET PRODUCTS THAT WORK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Chigago suburbs
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Does not do much

Date:July 19, 2010
We had this cooking on our porch swing next to us for 45 minutes while the mosquitos landed on us. I can't see any deterrent action.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worthless

Date:July 11, 2010
I purchased the ThermaCELL to use on my annual fishing trip to Ontario where the skeeters don't give you any quarter. My brother-in-law and I like to cast for bass and pike along the river shore at dusk. Unfortunately this is also the time the mosquitos arrive hungry. On three successive evenings I lit the ThermaCELL about 30 minutes prior to expecting the pests and on the three evenings we got swarmed and bitten many times over. If there would have been a breeze or if we were trolling, I could have understood why the device didn't work. But the air was calm and we were just drifting slowly along the river bank.
As far as I can tell, the device did absolutely nothing and I will not be using it again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: North Hero vermont
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible product

Date:July 6, 2010
This product does not work at all. I ran it for 20 min. went and sat next to it and was swarmed by mosquitoes. It did not even make a dent in them. I am severely disapionted in the thermacell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Garden City, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mosquitos landed on it while it was running.

Date:September 26, 2009
I was really hoping that this product would work, but while hunting yesterday evening 9-25 it did not seem to work. I had a brand new mat in and the mosquitos were thick as ever. I saw several land on the unit. There was hardly any wind so I don't believe this is why I was still getting bit. When I got home I had 27 bites. Either the mosquitos in Kansas are on steriods or this thing is a piece of junk. I would have to say the latter is probably true. I will be returning it to Cabelas for a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

do not buy this item

Date:August 19, 2009
I purchased this item over the web site, when i tried to use it it did not work. I thought maybe i just got a bad one so i returned it to the store and got a new one that one worked for about half an hour, and has not worked since. don't waste your time or money on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Northern Ontario
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

15' zone of B.S.

Date:April 25, 2009
I bought one of these last spring after reading all the overwhelmingly positive reviews (much like the ones you've sifted through to get to this one) and was cautiously optistic that it would be even half as effective as these folks seemed to think it was.
It wasn't long before I was able to give it a try as we pretty much live outdoors up here and I have to tell you that I was very dissapointed. Now you might say that I'm just being overly critical as I believe many folks are in their review of some products but I will guarantee that if any of you were with me on that trip you would absolutely agree that this product not only failed to live up to the high expectations you've been led to expect, it simply didn't work - at all.
Now, I should clarify that I am not in any way suggesting that the folks who have reported positive experiences with this product are lying to you (that's clearly not the case as they would have nothing to gain by doing so). I simply wanted to describe the limitations of this device to others who may intend to use it under similar conditions and hopefully prevent them from experiencing the same dissapointment.
Those conditions - northern Ontario (Canada) (no, not Barrie, Muskoka or even North Bay - I mean real northern Ontario) in June. Those that have spent any time in the bush in this part of the world at this time of year will know what I'm talking about. I don't mean to belittle those in other locals who have found this product to be bordering on "magical" but I would have to suggest from my experienct that you really didn't NEED bug protection (i.e. anything less than 25 mosquitos per square foot on the tent mesh). At numbers above this a person does NEED protection from the bugs in order to enjoy time outside - and this product is not it. I won't tell you how many mozzys per square foot we were dealing with -as we do need your tourism dollars - but it was a healthy number. I spent hours playing with it (reluctant to give into the fact that I'd wasted my money) and while I would go so far as to say that the smoke coming directly off the unit (within a foot or so) did irritate the mosquitos it certainly wasnt enough to deter them in any way from attacking you. I have lovely pictures of the hand I'm holding the unit in covered in mosquitos all bathed in white smoke but happily sucking away none the less.
So, for back yard BBQs, weekend warriors, or for peace of mind for those who need it - absolutely! But, if you intend to actually go somewhere where bugs ARE a problem - save your money for DEET, a bug jacket (not the mesh kind) or a bug tent. You really only NEED them for a couple hours at dark anyway.
Reported in my humble opinion only.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Shawano Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:July 28, 2008
I had heard from my brother that this product worked for turkey hunting. I recently sat on my bear stand with my own. I waited untill the mosquitos started to bite but the black flies and horse flies were really bad too. I started the thermacell and in 5 minutes the mosquitos and the flies were gone. I was surprised that it also kept the horse flies and black flies away. I sat for 4 hours and when i was ready to walk out i shut it off and waited for a few minutes untill the thermacell cooled before putting it in my backpack. it didn't take a few minutes and the misquitos were back which prooved to me just how well this product works.
It would be nice if the pads would last a little longer because i often sit all day and don't like to fiddle with changing the pads mid day, but it is a small price to pay for this wonderful product.
(your overall rating bar is not working but i give this product a 5 star rating)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Denison Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thema Cell Mosquito Repellent

Date:July 28, 2008
Hey there!! We took two of these units to Canada with us and had poor results with them!! We set them out on the patio like they said and the mosquitos were not affected by this unit at all!! Yes it was calm!! We used a spray repellent and had a lot better results keeping them away!! Jim
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Thermacell Mosquito Repellent Lantern

Date:July 21, 2008
The lantern did not repell mosquitoes effectively. The lantern was placed on an outdoor table under a covered patio. While
sitting at a distance of no more that three feet from the lantern, mosquitoes continued to fly around the area landing on us.
We allowed the device to warm up for over an hour and still it did not keep the mosquitoes away.
We returned the lantern after one use of a two hour duration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent

Date:June 20, 2008
In the add they show the flame as much higher. It was like putting a lighter on the table..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: West Seneca, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Save your money

Date:June 1, 2008
Mine failed the third time in the woods. No spark, no ignition. Bug spray works better and this product will not help you with black flies. The black flies seemed to enjoy the smoke.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: La Crosse WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This product doesnt work! Do not buy!

Date:October 24, 2007
if your intent is to keep the mosquitoes away from u then this product works great, if you plan on using this product for keeping the mosquitoes off you when ur out hunting think again. ive used this product several times they say it works great for hunting yeah right i can even smell the stuff that is supposidly keeping the mosquitoes away and if i can smell it i sure know the deer can to, everytime i use this product i get busted. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT WITH THE INTENT ON USING WHEN YOU GO OUT HUNTING!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 632