Customer Reviews for THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

THERMACELL ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance

If citronella candles and other old-fashioned methods for keeping mosquitoes away just aren’t working for you, fire up the ThermaCELL Portable repellent and enjoy your next outing in bug-free peace. A butane cartridge heats a chemically treated repellent mat that keeps mosquitoes out of a 225-sq.-ft. area for up to 12 hours. Fully cordless and portable and requires no messy wax. Includes three repellent mats and one butane cartridge. Imported. This ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent is not designed to run at altitudes above 4,500 feet. The manufacturer states that units become difficult to start and run at altitudes above 4,500 feet above sea level.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(624 Reviews) 624
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 624 reviews
5 Stars
469
4 Stars
103
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
8
1 Star
27
586 out of 624(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Review 441 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: western states bucks and bulls
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No more swatting

Date:November 26, 2006
I have taken many P&Y bucks without this product and I cannot believe it. I have endured many bites and blood loss during sightings and scouting. To hold a bow @ full draw while your trophy stands yards away while vermin suck your blood is dedication and stupidity. No more. I did not realise that it worked untill the gas ran out and I was bait once again. The sprays stink, swatting sucks, and blood loss is dangerous. Learn to carry this unit and light it. The rest is success. There is alittle noise from the burner and I "Can" smell it, but the deer do not mind it. I may be able to take my family camping again. But should I waste my hunting secretes on them?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 442 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Thermocel

Date:November 26, 2006
This product is excellent for several reasons:
1) It thoroughly keeps mosquitoes away
2) It is quiet- no noise
3) It is odorless, especially for bow deer season
4) The actual heat output is minimal making it easy and safe to handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 443 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Citrus Heights, Ca.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Repellent Relief

Date:November 26, 2006
The guide said the mosquitos may be thick during your hunt so bring some repellent. I wasn't looking forward to wearing any repellent during this hunt especially when the temperature is over 100 degrees. I had read several reviews on the ThermaCELL Mosquto Repellent and decided to give it a try. Instructions were simple and easy to read. The unit was easy to assemble and lighting was just push a button. The evening hunt started out miserable untill I started the ThermaCELL unit. After a few minutes the mosquitos had moved away and I could now concentrate on the hunt.
Rmoor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 444 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Angier, North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL

Date:November 26, 2006
If you hate mosquito's, you'll love the thermCELL. I bought one to use deer hunting. It worked so well, I use it when eating at the picknick table, sitting on the porch or any outdoor activity where mosquito's are a problem. I'm giving one to all my hunting budies for Christmas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 445 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida Hunter
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Atomic Bomb for Mosquitoes!

Date:November 25, 2006
Hunting
in Florida swamps and woodlands has always been a challenge with the
mosquitoes. My new Thermacell Mosquitoe Repellent has allowed me to
hunt the early fall Bow season effectively, because the mosquitoes
simply fly outside the "zone" my Thermacell creates. I have had at
least a half dozen deer walk within fifteen yards of my stand, with the
Thermacell running, never smelling or noticing the repellent in any
way. I have told all of my hunting friends about what I believe is the
most incredible advance in hunting gear since the invention of the
compound bow! It is silent, it emits almost no odor, it does not spook
wildlife, and it keeps the bugs away! This is an essential in your
backpack!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 446 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThemaCELL

Date:November 25, 2006
With people dying from diseases that are contracted from mosquitoes these days i thought that it was worth a try. I was not disapointed at all. I bow hunt in NH late summer lots of mosquitoes around. I usually wear head nets and full body protection when in my stand. I am usualy 15 feet in the air from my tree stand. When I placed the Thermacell between my feet I was able to remove all my bug gear and hunt comfortably. I liked this product so much I bought another one for my deck at home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 447 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Waukesha, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bug Free Bears

Date:November 24, 2006
For a recent fall archery bear hunt to Ontario Canada I purched a Thermocell to repell mosquitos. I could not believe that a product that could repell bugs would not be detectable to a game animal such as a bear. On my last bear hunt I could not sit still due to mosquito attacks and never saw A bear, it ruined my hunt, so I had to try it. I set my stand the first day of the hunt and true to form there was a swarm of the hunt wrecking parrisites all around me. I took out the Thermocell, I lit it, and placed it on the stand below my feet. With in minutes you could actualy see the mosquitos move out from me and would not come within 5 feet from my stand. Several hours later I had a 175 lb black bear with a white V on the chest come in, and sat at the bait for 50 minutes undisturbed before I had the perfect shot. I was able to place the arrow perfectly, and the bear fell within 20 yards. No need for a blood trail. The Thermocell is one of the best recent investments I have made and would recomend it to any serious hunter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 448 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Millersville, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Two Thumbs Up!

Date:November 22, 2006
This really really works! In July, we were out deer hunting on the Eastern Shore with crop damage permits. I shot a deer right after it had rained and the Mosquitos and Deer Flies were thick. As soon as I climbed out of the stand and I was surround/covered by them. It was dusk and they were out in FORCE!!! I started the ThermaCELL and within a couple of minutes they were gone! I dressed and quarted the deer and didn't get bit once! It was almost like being out there in the fall. I don't know if it is also supposed to work on Ticks and Chiggers, but I didn't have any bites from them either. I am very happy with this product!
This was the first time I had used the ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent. It was recommended by a friend who uses it all the time. It is very easy to set up and use. It doesn't smell. It is not messy. I carry it in my pack and can also put it in my cargo pocket.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 449 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Granbury,Tx
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No more skeeters

Date:November 21, 2006
The first time I used the ThermaCell I kept looking for those pesky mosquitoes but was not bothered by any, just a few weeks before I was eaten up by mosquitos (did not have a ThermaCell then). The ThermaCell Mosquito Repellent works as advertised, turn the unit on and within a few minutes you can enjoy a mosquito free area. Great for hunting blind. You might want to get two of them for windy conditions -- set one up near you and one upwind of you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 450 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL Mosquito Repellent

Date:November 21, 2006
I purchased 2 of these this summer to help with the annoyoing mosquitos. They work absolutely wonderful. While out groundhog hunting the bugs don't bother me at all and they are great to use around a hot tub, swimming pool, or any other thing you would do outdoor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 451 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baton ROuge, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCell

Date:November 21, 2006
Works very well. I used the ThermaCell during bow season and it kept the mosquito away and the deer did not pick up any scent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 452 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MICHIGAN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

THERMACELL

Date:November 21, 2006
I HAVE ONLY USED THIS ONCE BUT IT DID A GREAT JOB IN THE DUCK BOAT.ONCE I GOT IT STARTED THE MOSQUITOS WERE GONE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 453 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL

Date:November 21, 2006
We like to sit outside on our porch swing, and this has really made those times more enjoyable. We live in the south where we have lots of mosquitoes for most of the year, and not much really helps to combat mosquitoes. This does; I've already bought refills for it once, and will continue using it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 454 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No more mosquitos!

Date:November 21, 2006
I have been using this product for the past two years. It is the best invention ever in my opinion. I'm an avid bowhunter, and the season starts early here in SC. So besides the heat, (which I can deal with) we have those pesky mosquitos everywhere. I put it underneath my stand, and not one single mosquito will bother me. I have actually hunted in shorts, and a t-shirt. But above all, it doesn't bother the deer. I shot an 8 pointer last year, and a 6 pointer this year, both times having the Thermacell underneath my stand. Thank you Thermacell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 455 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fayetteville,AR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:November 21, 2006
field tested in south Arkansas river bottoms, it definitely works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 456 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Canton, OH.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCellmosquito repellant

Date:November 21, 2006
A friend from S.Carolina told me about this product while we were talking about deer hunting in hot weather. He said that this was his one must have item in the deer stand down south.
Knowing my friend as I do, I ordered one from Cabela's, tongue in cheek.
Wife and I are sitting out on the back patio one afternoon and the bugs associated with summer heat arrived with a vengence. Out came the THERMACELL. I fired it up and placed it on the ground under our patio table. Almost instantly the bugs, mosquitos, no seeums, GONE. A pleasant afternoon was then the order.
I have used my THERMACELL on the patio, our pontoon boat, my bass boat, when I'm night fishing, and in my deer stand. Skepticism has been with replaced with solid believability in this product.
Buy one you won't be sorry!!!!!!!!!
As a side note, this product runs on batteries but produces no noise or odors, during operation. A real plus in a deer stand. Too, it is relatively compact for easy carry. BUY ONE!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 457 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maine, USA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mosquitoes, Minges, Black Flies, Oh My!!

Date:November 21, 2006
This product if CRAZY. I live in Maine and we have multiple little flying terrors. Things that suck you blood, other things that bite and then lap up your life fluids. As it has gotten warmer the last few years and extended our rain season what use to be an annoying number of bugs has turned into swarms seen only in horror movies. But, like having Buffy in in the room, the ThermaCell keeps those blood suckers away.
Simply click the butane over to start and hit the button and sphere of happiness slowly expands out to 10-15' or so. It is so amazing to see hoardes of mosquitoes and black flies literally circling around you but either repelled or unable to find you. I've used this during Spring turkey season on the edge of some swamps and was able to sit the whole morning calling in turkeys trying for a bow shot.
The only mistake I made was not getting the holster. I made the foolish mistake of turning mine off to walk back to the vehicle. It reminded me of what I was NOT missing, bug bites on every exposed surface.
The only issue I ended up having was that I accidentally clicked the start over button trying to get gear in and out of the same pocket. That let the butane out and the next time I went, I cursed the hunting Gods and the mosquitoes and Black Flies.
I immediately came back to Cabelas and bought the Holster.
Ahh.... sweet, sweet ThermaCELL. You are my new best hunting buddy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 458 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arkansas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The best Mosquito Repellent

Date:November 20, 2006
I climbed up in my tree stand turned on the thermacell and set it on the platform. With in 5 minutes I was no longer swatting the mosquito's. It was a great experiences, as I sat there I could see the mosquitoes all around but it was like there was a 10 foot force field around me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 459 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oakdale, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ThermaCELL a 5 star product

Date:November 20, 2006
I encountered walls of misquitos during a May 2006 Canadian bear hunt. To occupy my stand was impossible without a full set of bug proof clothing and head net. My guide could see the frustration I was enduring so after the hunt he drove an hour to his home to get a ThermaCELL he had just purchased from Cabelas. Within twenty minutes, after igniting the ThermaCell place between my feet, the following morning there was not a bug of any sort within arms length. I removed all bug protection and enjoyed every minute of my sucessful hunt thereafter.
Seeing my delight with the protection the ThermaCELL provided my fellow hunters held a lottery to determine who would be the next lucky possessor of the unit.
We had a mess tent that was twenty feet by ten feet, a major gathering place for both hunters and misquitos, which was rendered bug free within a half hour of igniting the ThermaCELL.
For hunting compfort you simply can't beat a ThermaCELL!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 460 for ThermaCELL® Mosquito Repellent – Realtree Appliance
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: coshocton,ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

thermacell

Date:November 20, 2006
i was skeptical about this product at first, but when i got it i went right out in the field to test it!!! OMG!! i couldn't believe how well it worked!! amazing! odorless! this product is a winner!!! can't wait for turkey season (spring) no more buzzing mosquitos!! yahooooo!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 441-460 of 624