Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 278 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
9
257 out of 278(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 141 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bruce Wis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied

Date:December 16, 2008
The dehydrator works great. It's nice to be able to exactly control the time and temperater, you don't have to monitor it so often. Also, the glass door is nice for checking the food without having to open the door.
I do wish there was more space between racks. By the time you add shelf liners for fine foods and then add the thickness of the food, it can be tricky getting the shelves in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 142 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80L dehydrator

Date:December 11, 2008
recently purchased the 80L dehydrator.
i have only used it a few times but am very excited about it,
i work in a mechanics shop 6 days a week and am surrounded
by noise...therefore when i am home peace and quiet is mandatory, i am really impressed with low level of noise this machine produces.
i am equally impressed with the fact that i do not have to rotate
racks.
thank you cabelas for a quality product.
i need a few more things, and could probably find them a little
less expensive,, but the high quality customer service will keep me shopping right here!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 143 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oh ya

Date:December 11, 2008
as a hunter of all meats you cant find anything better.i have done 65lbs. of deer meat. and it is good.bying this makes me a happy hunter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied with my 80L purchase

Date:December 8, 2008
Read most all of the previous reviews - mixed bag though most very positive about the dehydrator. Some reviews on other brands were also mixed bag but more reviews were available on the Cabela 80L model. Preheated dehydrator for about an hour before I put anything in it to give full opp to come up to full temp since its ability to register accurate temp had been some people's complaint. Moved dial-type oven temp gauge to various locations as well as stuck a couple of instant thermometers in through air exit holes in upper back of dehydrator. Was able to get the 160 degrees over time - all depends on not opening doors often. Also noticed temp would cycle down 10 degrees then back up throughout process. I would think there would be more fluctuation with the larger 160L model. Before using, plan what you are going to put in it and get it all ready as much as possible before opening door to put trays in. With each use, utilize it to its max to take advantage full utilization of energy to run it. Some things did take longer than I thought they would, but I hadn't ever used one before so didn't know what to expect. The drying screens tended to curl at ends/corners catching tray above them & to slide around on drying trays so I used small binder clips to hold them down on trays & keep curling to min.
Buy book(s) on dehydrating diff food stuff to better acquaint yourself with how tos and variety of food you can dehydrate. Everything I have tried so far has been tasty and an interesting experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 145 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Bernstadt,Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

food dehydrater

Date:December 8, 2008
I feel this product is an excellant one, easy to clean and the assembly was somewhat easy. It was well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 146 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yakima, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrator

Date:December 4, 2008
I am thrilled at the quality of the product and of the service I received.
Customer Service was professional and knowledgeable regarding the product that I was ordering.
The product was delivered quickly but unfortunately had been damaged in transport. I immediately called and was treated with respect, was offered a sincere apology and to my surprise asked if I had any suggestions as to how they could improve their packaging so that this would not happen again. Wow, was that refreshing! My damaged product was picked up promptly and in three days I had my new dehydrator.
I look forward to doing business with you again and needless to say I WILL BE TELLING OTHERS THAT CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ALIVE AND WELL AT CABELA'S!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 147 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DEHYDRATOR

Date:November 21, 2008
OVERALL I AM PLEASED WITH PRODUCT. ITS BEST FEATURE IS SIMPLY ITS SIZE. I HAVE DRIED 60LBS OF BURGER JERKY AT ONE TIME. HOWEVER I REALLY THOUGHT THAT FOR THE PRICE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER. YOU STILL HAVE TO TURN THE TRAYS 180 DEGREES AS WELL AS ROTATING THE RACKS FROM TOP TO BOTTOM OR THE JERKY WILL NOT DRY EVENLY. OTHER THAN VOLUME IT DOESN'T DRY ANY BETTER THAN A CHEAP ONE. WHAT MAKES IT WORTH BUYING IS THAT CABELAS IS A GREAT COMPANY TO DEAL WITH. SO UNLESS YOU NEED TO DRY LARGE QUANTITIES BUY THE SMALLER ONES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 148 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice

Date:November 7, 2008
The dehydrator was received in just a few days and sits on the counter nicely. It is fairly large. If you have extra room the larger model would be a good buy. Would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 149 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:November 4, 2008
This product was all of what it said it would be.
I was to load an entire top round into this as jerky.
20 pounds of product, and it was only at 60% capacity.
Wish I had purchased this a long time ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 150 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice

Date:November 4, 2008
Very nice dehydrator. I have 80 litre model and it is very easy to use. easy cleanup and best of all the dried fruit and jerky doesn't stick to the racks. It is quick and turns out a very good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 151 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Latham, ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160 l. food dehydrator

Date:October 29, 2008
it works realy well & easy to use. resonably priced.
cabela's associates were excellent,online & on the phone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 152 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rancher, Outfitter, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Food dehydrator

Date:October 14, 2008
This unit does an excellant job of dehydrating fruit, vegetables and meats! We are glad we chose the commercial unit for space and efficiency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 153 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Everett, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

You get what you pay for.

Date:October 3, 2008
Found the dehydrator to actually get hotter than the read out displayed. Some reviews said it would not get up to the 160 setting. You just have to put a thermometer in the unit and adjust the settings accordingly. Simple to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 154 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The perfect step up.

Date:October 1, 2008
Had been using a table top dehydrator and spending three days to make 5 lbs (3 batches, 12+ hrs per batch). This one did 5 lbs (with room for another 5) in 5-6 hrs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roswell, NM
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great jerky maker

Date:September 23, 2008
This machine is heavy duty. Dries quikly, and is easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 156 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Running Springs, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Raw food

Date:September 8, 2008
As soon as I received my dehydrator I set it up right away which was very simple. The next day I made my Raw Taco's and the shells that went into the dehydrator were great. Everyone loved them even though there was no meat. Its so much healthier.
Happy
Running Springs, Ca
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:September 8, 2008
I Love it . Was Much better than I thought when, Order it comparson.as so much smaller. Half the size and half Price. My Son is over in the war. He sent me a letter. Mom can you make us some beef Jerkey. I said give me some time, so I can get a new Food Dehydrator. My old one had Bit the dust. But raising 4 son's. And haveing 2 Food Dehydrator's going at the same time. Was costing alot .This one does a AAA job. The only thing that was wrong , when I recived it the box was broken, And it had a large Dent on the Corner. I called, They told me they would send me a new one, I said with the cost of gas, and shipping , we would both lose Money, on ths one. Just drop some off the price. And all of us would be happy. Due to time . So I could get that Beef Jerky to all the Men over there Fighting for all of US. Thank's so much cabelas. Jeanne Houston Tx
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 158 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Temecula, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Rock .... unit worked like a champ !

Date:September 7, 2008
We had to have 3 deliveries before we received a non-damaged unit (not Cabela's fault), but when we got the unit in, I made my first batch of Jerky. Having used a Ronco unit before, this was definately far superior and easier. I think the feet could have been better designed for level adjustments, but overall, good quality craftsmanship.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: ok
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

80L dehydrator

Date:August 9, 2008
The product is average. Had more success with my convection oven, though it didn't hold as much meat at one time. The dehydrator takes a long time to heat up and maintain the heat level. For instance you have to wait for it to reach it's max heat of 160. Load all your racks first (to save on time of the door being open because you are going to loose heat),then you open the door to put all the racks in as fast as possible, then you loose the heat again, and it takes awhile to gain the heat back because you just put the meat in there. If the meat is not precooked to 160 and warm, you will loose even more heat due to the fact that the meat is cooler. The product is okay and I am still working on the process, to do it more efficiently and not compromise food safety. It just depends if you are wanting something that can follow safe cooking guidelines for bacteria.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good

Date:August 5, 2008
good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 141-160 of 278