Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,400 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(338 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
235
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
9
1 Star
14
307 out of 338(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 175 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 141 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2012

80 liter

By
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
this is a must for making quality jerky. i always had used a couple of trays and the oven, never again! the capacity is great. first use i made 8 lbs. of venison jerky and only used half of the drying racks. my only complaint: a warning sticker they put on the glass door is a pain to scrape off and left the sticky residue on the glass. other than that its easy to use and setup.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 142 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 21, 2012

80l cabelas dehydrator

By
Location: Sterling, Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using a smaller dehydrator and an oven for doing our deydrating, but after using the 80L dehydrator I found that we can make up to 30 lbs of jerky at the same time. Just have to read the instructions and heat the meat up in an oven for the first hour to 160 degress then put it into the dehydrator. This process eliminates several hours of drying time. I normally do 15 lbs of meat but with this unit one could do up to 30 lbs with no problem. Once again Cabelas has come out with an excellent product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 143 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2012

Best Jerky machine

By
Location: LaGrange Park, IL
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been making my own Beef Jerky for over 24 years. I have used the 80 liter model for the last 4 years and I can tell you this is one of the best machines I have ever owned. I make 15 lbs of ground beef into jerky each time, about 7 hours drying time. To make my easier I purchased a Jerky Blaster from Cabela's and some Hi-Mountain jerky mix. You cannot go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2012

Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

By
Location: Lawrence,MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
i make a lot of jerkey but had to brrower one of these dryers from a friend everytime i wanted to make jerkey. so i decided to buy my own. Got it the other day looks and heats up great. the only thing i have a problem with is that when i went to put on the legs on. one side woudl not fit right. so after looking at it for a while and talking to customer services. there was a bracket missing. there should be a part on the way. but all in all a very nice looking unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 145 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2012

A good product.

By
Location: Greensburg, IN.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I had used this dehydrator constantly from drying herbs, hot peppers, jerky, and fruits. And also used it for my daughters Science Fair project. (Dried Foods). I had nothing but great success, no problems. The digital timer, and digital thermostat is an awesome feature. We are getting ready to dry corn, for corn meal, and getting ready to make fruit roll ups. I was skeptical about the 80 liter model wondering if it would be big enough? I have done 15lbs of jerky at once. Plenty big enough for me. My children love to help, making it into a family project, making alternative healthy snacks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 146 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 15, 2012

disappointed

By
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I thought a "commerical" dehydrater would perform much better than this unit. Dries unevenly, and takes alot longer than it should for a commerical unit. I wish I would have stayed with my smaller unit from Nesco. I thought it would save me some time and rotating of trays, but it won't. NOT impressed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 147 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 19, 2011

Horrible

By
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought 1 of these lasted a whole 2 years, design is horrible. Bottom heating and wiring is definitely not what you want, drippings have shorted out the whole element. Whatever you do don"t buy one of these, you will not be happy, what a waste of money. unit is nothing but junk!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 148 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2011

Great dehydrator

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
We upgraded to the 80 liter Cabella's model after using a smaller, entry-level dehydrator for a few years. We mostly dry garden produce, from tomatoes, herbs, peppers, to fruit. It works extremely well, and we haven't used the smaller dehydrator since getting this one. It does a fine job drying. A few things to be aware of, though: the blower is relatively loud, although it is not offensive noise, it just took us by surprise; the standard shelves have a rather large grid, so small items can fall through without something of smaller grid; even with the good airflow, if you fill it to full capacity you must periodically rotate shelves or else remove dried ones as they're done. But these are minor points to me, it is well-made and does a great job. I'd buy it again, and recommend it to friends.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 149 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:September 4, 2011

Not worth the amount of money you spend

By
Location: cary, nc
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have had my 80L unit for 3+ years and mainly do beef jerky. Unfortunately anything that drips down on the base needs to be immediately cleaned up as the cheap aluminum rots under anything acidic. I solved that problem by lining the base with tin foil everytime i use the unit. The center discharge vent is also made of polished aluminum as well as some perforated steel. Impossible to clean and also rots away. Finally you better put this thing in a warm area because it isnt powerful enough to dehydrate sucking in 40 or 50 degree air. The unit is only made for cabelas and thus parts are non-exsisent. Overall i am disappointed for the amount of money this thing costs it is really pretty poorly made. I would recommend the excalibre...those things are cheap little boxes but aleast they dont rot....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 150 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 7, 2011

BEST DRYER

By
Location: SPOKANE WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
mostly i use for fish works exellent
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 151 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 4, 2011

Big mistake

By
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
I am so disappointed in my Cabella's dehydrator I don't know where to start. First of all, it dries from the bottom so you have to keep opening it to rotate the trays, thereby letting cooler more humid air into the dehydrator. Second, it has a hole in the middle of the trays (for the air to blow up, I guess) so space is wasted PLUS when you make fruit leathers, you've got a hole in your finished product. Third, the trays are a large grid and as food dries, it tends to fall through. You are forced into buying Cabella's drying sheets with smaller grid. I had my heart set on a different brand but my husband wanted to buy from Cabella's. Next time I'll stand my ground!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 152 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2011

160 liter dehydrator

By
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I was pleasantly suprised when the unit arrived, I couldn't wait to fill it and see what happened. It took some work on getting the time exactly right but now I just set it and forget it. I usually do 15 lbs at a time, I tried 26 pounds once and it took a lot longer and I had to rotate the trays. Doing 15 pounds to me is the perfect batch size. All of it is the same when I take it out, on occasion I will have to put a few pieces back in but only because those slices are thicker.
I highly recommend this to those of you that are on the edge about making this big of a purchase. After I read all the reviews I ordered mine and have not once regretted it!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 153 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

This is a good one

By
Location: Greensboro, N C
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have the 160 LT. and it is everything Cabelas saids it is. It will heat to 160 degrees (empty) in approx. 10 mins. With meat (cold ) it depends on the amount of meat you have in the unit. When full it may take 20 or 30 mins. before all the meat to heat up , but when it gets there it stays there, The backsides of the machine gets hotter than the front there for you have the option of taking off what is aready done half way or just spind the rack around so that what meat was in front is now at the back. I my self have never had a dedhyrator where all the meat got done at the same time. So rotating the rack seem normal to me. The lights in the machine to me are for clean up time. They do very little for checking the meat, and I don't think that is the purpose of the lights. But come time to clean the machine the lights are there where you can see very very well . And may I add clean up is easy compared to some of the machines that I have had. The jerky that I make soaks in a liquid marinate 48 hours there for it is holding alot of moisture. It will cook a batch of jerky approx. 8 to 10 lbs of jerky....25 to 30 lbs red meat in about 4 to 5 hrs. That my friends is FAST. If you are into dehydrating ALOT I recomend the 160 unit, and if you just enjoy making a couple of pounds of jerky at a time the 80 LT will do the job. The machine also looks nice and fits well with all the others appliances in the house. You will need a area appro.3(w) x (3) d x(3 t ) for the unit. I know I wrote alot ,but I wanted to let people know some of the anwers I had before I bought the machine. Again If you buy the 160LT you should be serious about making jerky, and If you are this is a very good machine for the money. I would also like to had,for very small picies of meat I take the plastic racks from the round dehydrators and lay them on the metal racks and that works just fine. For fruit I have not a clue. I hope my comment has helped.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 154 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2011

Sweet Unit

By
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the nicest dehydrator I've ever seen. I bought the 160L and it holds a ton. Love this thing for jerky. I have a batch drying now and its only been 4 hours and I'm pulling pieces out already. Other reviews complain about uneven drying, I have been using dehydrators for roughly 10 years and your never going to get every piece to be done at the same time. There are many factors like every piece is never sliced the same thickness or the same size. Anyways just watch it and pull stuff out as it's to your liking. Or let it run the cycle and some will just be a little over done still very good.
If you are reading these reviews just buy it you will not regret it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:October 13, 2010

Cabelas Dehydrator

By
Location: Deer Lodge, Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The first time we closed the door to the dehydrator 2 plastic pieces from the bottom of the door flew off. We used superglue to put them back on. The dehydrator does not dry evenly. Right side dries faster than the left meaning we have to rotate what we are processing making it a bit inconvenient.
Was hoping for better for that price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 156 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010

160 liter model

By
Location: west monroe, louisina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I bought this large dehydrator about 3 years ago. We make @30lbs wet (@10 lbs dry) beef jerky @ 10 hours drying Minimum once a month, usually more. I love this dehydrator just for the sheer quantity it makes and with the temperature guage I can make sure it stays at 150 for at least two hours(for health/safety).
It would be nicer if we could two stage dry it (temperature wise), but it works well as it is. We thought the temperature sensor had gone out, but is working fine since unplugging, plugging back in and hitting reset button - Yea!!
Solid construction but don't soak trays for very long or they will begin to rust at intersections of wires.
People stop us frequently asking if we have any of our jerky. Thanks to this large dehydrator we have enough for our family and can sell the rest to support our jerky "habit"
Thanks Cabela's... now if you can get a decent meat slicer down to an affordable price.....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 22, 2010

Jerky maker extraordinaire!!

By
Location: Salty City
I have had the 80 liter version for about 8 months. It has been a positive experience. Very easy to clean, well thought out design, and good reliability so far.
We use this quite extensively, as jerky is one the staples of our diet!!
The only con (and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) is the timer. It would be nice if it could be set for longer than 23 hours and 55 minutes.
Good product, highly recommended.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 158 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2010

Very good if you do not need parts

By
Location: upstate N.Y.
I found this dehydrator dries fairly quick, like all dehydrators that I've used in the past you still have to rotate the racks during drying. The only problem is if you need to replace the heater you have to wait 3-5 business days before you can even order the part. Then you still have to wait for shipping. Allow 2-3 weeks or more. Needing parts is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2010

CABELAS FOOD DEHYDRATOR

By
Location: INDIANA
I BOUGHT THE 160L MODEL. THIS THING IS HUGE AND WILL DRY A LOT OF MEAT AT A TIME. LOVE THE LED LIGHTS INSIDE AND THE DIGITAL INSTRUMENT PANEL. ONLY DRAWBACK IS TIMER WON'T ADJUST OTHER THAN HOUR INCRIMENTS AND I HAD TO ROTATE TRAYS FROM FRONT TO BACK TO EVEN OUT THE DRYING PROCESS. BACK DRIES FASTER THAN THE FRONT. OTHER THAN THAT THIS THING IS GREAT SO FAR. DID 12 TRAYS ON FIRST RUN AT 5.5 HOURS. YIELDED 6 IBS OF JERKY.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2010

Dehydrator

By
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
The first dehydrator we recieved was damaged. We called Cabela's and they shipped a new one right away and had the damaged one picked up at our house. I was impressed by how quickly they resolved our problem. The new 160 litre dehydrator works just fine, and both my wife and I are happy.
Thank you Cabela's
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 141-160 of 338