Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
265 out of 288(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
61 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 141 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super product

Date:February 8, 2009
I have had several other dehydrators in the past and this one is far more superior. It is very well built and can produce lots of jerkey at once. Another great product from cabelas, that why I continue to shop there. I would recommend this product to everyone, very simple to use, easy assembly, fast clean up all equals great jerkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 142 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

proper heating

Date:February 4, 2009
unit was taking to long to heat up. so took magnetic strips and closed off 2/3's of the exhaust vent only. unit now heats up quickly with the thermostat turning on and off. try it , it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 143 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: atlanta ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

commercial dehydrator?

Date:January 21, 2009
Dehydrator works great, but I question the title"commercial". It doesn't hold up when used daily, the heating element burns out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 144 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Geneva, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:January 20, 2009
Unit arrived on time and was easy to assemble. First run was easy and finished with in 6 hours. I really like the untit, only problem is it is large for our room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 145 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: verona, virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 liter dehydrators

Date:January 18, 2009
i recently purchased the 80 liter dehydrator.i have used it four times,it has performed better than i expected.i would reccomend it to anyone.it is one awsome machine.it reached max temp. pretty quick and dried deer jerky in half the time of the smaller ones.i read some other reveiws about the damage from shipping, mine also had slight damage around the door seal but i straightened i up myself and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 146 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kegley west virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrators

Date:December 30, 2008
this product is great so far so good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 147 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: KANSAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RACKS IN THE DEHYDRATOR

Date:December 30, 2008
It appears to be very a very nice machine. I purchased this as a gift and when the person I gave it to tried it out with six of the racks in it was fine and dried the jerky perfectly. When he attempted to install the other six racks that fit in between the rails on the sides they would not go in or out without too much force.
It appears as if too much "foam insulation" was installed on the sides and compressed the sides enough that they would not accomodate the other half of the racks.
It is being sent back for an exchange and we should know soon how the replacement is.
Cabela's customer service has always been great to work with if you need them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 148 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: trenton, ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's commercial dehydrator

Date:December 24, 2008
This is a great dehydrator. I have bought 2 of them now they do what you would expect them to do. Quick & easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 149 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Model

Date:December 22, 2008
It took two trys but I got an 80 liter dehydrator and it worked pretty well. It does, however, have some flaws. Firstly, the dehydrators appear to be shipped carelessly. I have talked to others with the same problem with their orders. I know this is not Cabela's fault, but you would think that they would be able to make sure that a product with their name on it arrives safely, the first time. Secondly, the dehdrator is not made poorly, but it's not what I would call "commercial grade" either. The parts book has parts listed that aren't on the dehydrators and Cabela's customer service people, although they try, don't seem to know how to help when parts are missing. Thirdly, the 80 liter model barely gets up to temp. I have no idea how the 160 liter model ever would as it uses the same heating and fan system. All in all the product works, but could be easily inproved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 150 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Beulah, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Food Dehydrator

Date:December 16, 2008
This product works good for making a lot of jerky in a short period of time. It is easy to clean and simple to use. My only complaint is that it never reaches the maximum stated 160 degrees when I set it to that temp. The best it can do is 150 degrees after 5 hours of operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 151 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bruce Wis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied

Date:December 16, 2008
The dehydrator works great. It's nice to be able to exactly control the time and temperater, you don't have to monitor it so often. Also, the glass door is nice for checking the food without having to open the door.
I do wish there was more space between racks. By the time you add shelf liners for fine foods and then add the thickness of the food, it can be tricky getting the shelves in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 152 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80L dehydrator

Date:December 11, 2008
recently purchased the 80L dehydrator.
i have only used it a few times but am very excited about it,
i work in a mechanics shop 6 days a week and am surrounded
by noise...therefore when i am home peace and quiet is mandatory, i am really impressed with low level of noise this machine produces.
i am equally impressed with the fact that i do not have to rotate
racks.
thank you cabelas for a quality product.
i need a few more things, and could probably find them a little
less expensive,, but the high quality customer service will keep me shopping right here!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 153 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oh ya

Date:December 11, 2008
as a hunter of all meats you cant find anything better.i have done 65lbs. of deer meat. and it is good.bying this makes me a happy hunter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 154 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied with my 80L purchase

Date:December 8, 2008
Read most all of the previous reviews - mixed bag though most very positive about the dehydrator. Some reviews on other brands were also mixed bag but more reviews were available on the Cabela 80L model. Preheated dehydrator for about an hour before I put anything in it to give full opp to come up to full temp since its ability to register accurate temp had been some people's complaint. Moved dial-type oven temp gauge to various locations as well as stuck a couple of instant thermometers in through air exit holes in upper back of dehydrator. Was able to get the 160 degrees over time - all depends on not opening doors often. Also noticed temp would cycle down 10 degrees then back up throughout process. I would think there would be more fluctuation with the larger 160L model. Before using, plan what you are going to put in it and get it all ready as much as possible before opening door to put trays in. With each use, utilize it to its max to take advantage full utilization of energy to run it. Some things did take longer than I thought they would, but I hadn't ever used one before so didn't know what to expect. The drying screens tended to curl at ends/corners catching tray above them & to slide around on drying trays so I used small binder clips to hold them down on trays & keep curling to min.
Buy book(s) on dehydrating diff food stuff to better acquaint yourself with how tos and variety of food you can dehydrate. Everything I have tried so far has been tasty and an interesting experience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 155 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: East Bernstadt,Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

food dehydrater

Date:December 8, 2008
I feel this product is an excellant one, easy to clean and the assembly was somewhat easy. It was well worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 156 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yakima, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrator

Date:December 4, 2008
I am thrilled at the quality of the product and of the service I received.
Customer Service was professional and knowledgeable regarding the product that I was ordering.
The product was delivered quickly but unfortunately had been damaged in transport. I immediately called and was treated with respect, was offered a sincere apology and to my surprise asked if I had any suggestions as to how they could improve their packaging so that this would not happen again. Wow, was that refreshing! My damaged product was picked up promptly and in three days I had my new dehydrator.
I look forward to doing business with you again and needless to say I WILL BE TELLING OTHERS THAT CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ALIVE AND WELL AT CABELA'S!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 157 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

DEHYDRATOR

Date:November 21, 2008
OVERALL I AM PLEASED WITH PRODUCT. ITS BEST FEATURE IS SIMPLY ITS SIZE. I HAVE DRIED 60LBS OF BURGER JERKY AT ONE TIME. HOWEVER I REALLY THOUGHT THAT FOR THE PRICE IT WOULD HAVE BEEN BETTER. YOU STILL HAVE TO TURN THE TRAYS 180 DEGREES AS WELL AS ROTATING THE RACKS FROM TOP TO BOTTOM OR THE JERKY WILL NOT DRY EVENLY. OTHER THAN VOLUME IT DOESN'T DRY ANY BETTER THAN A CHEAP ONE. WHAT MAKES IT WORTH BUYING IS THAT CABELAS IS A GREAT COMPANY TO DEAL WITH. SO UNLESS YOU NEED TO DRY LARGE QUANTITIES BUY THE SMALLER ONES.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 158 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hendersonville, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice

Date:November 7, 2008
The dehydrator was received in just a few days and sits on the counter nicely. It is fairly large. If you have extra room the larger model would be a good buy. Would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 159 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Money well spent

Date:November 4, 2008
This product was all of what it said it would be.
I was to load an entire top round into this as jerky.
20 pounds of product, and it was only at 60% capacity.
Wish I had purchased this a long time ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 160 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice

Date:November 4, 2008
Very nice dehydrator. I have 80 litre model and it is very easy to use. easy cleanup and best of all the dried fruit and jerky doesn't stick to the racks. It is quick and turns out a very good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 141-160 of 288