Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(282 Reviews) 282
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 282 reviews
5 Stars
199
4 Stars
51
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
260 out of 282(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
57 Questions | 118 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 121 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NewFoundland PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160 liter dehydrator

Date:September 15, 2009
I became a man now that I have my own jerky maker...Works great, Temp was easy to get to 160, took about 5min... My first batch came out like I knew what I was doing, all my freinds are in love with me... Thanks to cabelas I am now treated like a king.... Just waiting for hunting season....
The only thing that was wrong is that the hand book says there are 3 cut away racks for the thermastat and I only got one... I chated with the service people for 2 more racks and the guy I was chating to had no idea what I was talking about cause there is no part number for those cut away racks...Its just one number for the bundle of racks....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: los angeles
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So very happy.

Date:September 12, 2009
This item has changed my dehydrating life. I am very happy with the service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

we've dried a lot of fruit!

Date:September 2, 2009
We've dried apples, pears, peaches, apricots, bananas, watermelon, and cantaloupe. The dehydrator works really well and cleans up easily. There is a slight difference in how fast the fruit dries depending on which tray it is on, so some tray rotation is necessary. But overall we've been really satisfied with it. It does put off quite a bit of heat, so we've put it on the porch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Food Dehydrator

Date:September 1, 2009
Easy to use and efffective. Takes about 6-7 hours for a full load of jerky. Requires ventilation so best used in garage or ventilated storage area. Easy to clean. Suggest purchasing a stand or cart for the 80 liter machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mantua, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One is NOT Enough

Date:August 30, 2009
I bought my first 160L model dehydrator over 3 years ago and I recently just bought a SECOND 160L model. I love my Cabela’s dehydrator and always meant to write a review. After buying my second one I thought it was high time to share my experience.
I make a LOT of jerky and just can't seem to keep up with the never ending demand from friends and family. I started down my jerky making path when a friend gave me one of those small round, just a heating element, no fan models that he purchased from a late night infomercial. Although it served its purpose, I quickly learned that you had to constantly rotate the trays and also reposition the meat on the tray for consistent and even drying results. It was time to move on!
I next moved up to a Garden Master. This was a HUGE improvement over my original setup. The pressurized forced air system provided for fast and even drying with NO rotation of trays needed...I was in heaven. I soon bought a second just to keep up. I think that those who know a thing or two about dehydrating would agree that it’s all in the preparation effort, and not the actual dehydrating, that takes the most effort. It roughly takes the same amount of time to prepare 5 lbs of meat as it does 10 lbs. So as your prep skills improve, it’s your dehydrator capacity that limits your efficiency.
Enter the Cabela’s 160L dehydrator. My oldest brother bought one of the original 160L models and I gave it a try. It was plenty big enough BUT it did not dry evenly so you had to rotate the trays. The capacity I wanted was there, but it was back to rotating trays. So I held off on buying one of my own. Then Cabela’s changed the design to include a diffuser on the 160L model and I decided to purchase one. The re-designed model with the diffuser worked GREAT! I still sometimes rotate the trays but this is usually because I tend overload the trays…remember, I said I make a LOT of jerky. (Note – The diffuser that Cabela’s added did not require any design changes to the original model; it was simply a bolt-on improvement. My brother was able to easily make one for his original model and it now works just as good as mine. If you have some basic tin knocking skills it’s not that hard to make).
Of course space is an issue with such a large capacity dehydrator, but if large capacity is what you want, you need a big dehydrator. I solved the space problem by moving my jerky making efforts to the man cave (my basement). My wife was happy to have her dining room back and I now had an excuse to expand. I bought a used professional slicer, a commercial stainless steel prep table, double sink and large butcher block table from a retiring restaurant owner. So with all this newly acquired equipment I could prep 100 lbs of meat in no time. However, I hit the wall on capacity again. One 160L dehydrator wasn’t big enough, which is why I bought my second dehydrator…and am now writing this much belated review.
As you can tell I do love this dehydrator, but there are some things that can be improved. As mentioned in other reviews, the unit sometimes does not get up to the max temperature. The addition of a magnetic strip, as recommended by others, solves this problem. I also dry a lot of fruit and agree with other reviewers that such an expensive dehydrator should include the mesh screens. Cabela’s should consider including at least 3 for the 80L and 6 for 160L if only to demonstrate that they are not blatantly trying to lighten your wallet with these “accessories.” Lastly, I find the addition of the lighted interior doesn’t help me that much. When all the trays are in the dehydrator you can’t really see anything inside anyway. It’s an OK feature if you do not fully load the dehydrator.
I’m not sure what’s next for my jerky making efforts, perhaps a walk-in cooler in my man cave…hint, hint to my honey. But regardless of any future additions, you can be sure they will include the 160L Cabela’s dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Dakota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80L Model

Date:August 23, 2009
After purchasing and using the 80L model dehydrator for a couple of weeks now, with three different batches of jerky, I have to say, I am impressed. I haven't rotated the trays during the dehydrating process and the trays actually dry quite evenly. I only use six trays at a time, which holds plenty of meat for what we do, and maybe they would need to be rotated if I used more, I don't know.
The unit showed up and after first opening it, my immediate first impression was WOW. This unit is actually quite well made, in my opinion. I see that a few reviews don't agree, but I think it is just fine. It's big, bigger than I actually thought it would be, so now I need to find a place to store it, but it will be well worth it.
It's a fantastic jerky making machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just in time for strawberry season

Date:June 22, 2009
"Wow, what a huge box" was my reaction after getting home about 9 pm to see this on my porch. And I ordered the 80L, I couldn't imagine how big the 160 must be
The invoice said it would arrive on Thurs, but thanks to the quick shipping dept I got it on Monday, and good thing, the strawberries were just starting. That very next day I had 6 racks full of 1/2 berries in it! It took about a day to get them all dry.
Since then it has been running almost non-stop with berries. We are having a great harvest this year and right now its full with about 60 pounds of whole fruit. With my old dehydrator (without a fan) I wouldn't have even attempted this. The berries would have just gotten moldy before they dried.
It has been working great. We have it in the garage (due to the size) and the berries are taking about 15-20 hours for a full load.
I did get the screens for it, and good thing, otherwise everything would have fallen through the racks. If you are going to be using this for your garden veggies/fruits you need the screens.
You will need to rotate the racks. With the heating element positioned on the bottom the lower racks dry faster then the upper.
I don't have the cart, but would recommend it. This thing is huge, but not overly heavy. The cart would make it a lot easier to move it around. Right now it has a home on a make-shift shelf in the garage, but sooner or later I'm going to have to get my car in there (winter in Wisconsin) and with a tiny basement and kitchen, I'm not sure where to put it in the off season. I guess I'll find a place though.
PS. Anyone know any good recipies for dehydrated strawberries? :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockwall Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Dehydrator

Date:May 30, 2009
So far so good. This unit is very attractive out of the box. The electronic display is awesome and very user friendly. I have seen some reviews on this site that said the temp did not reach max 160. My unit works like a champ. It reaches that temp with no problem at all. Shelves are a little close together but I would say average from using other units. We sill see if it holds up over a long period of time. The sale they are having now on this unit is fantastic. The store price is higher that the website price. Bring a copy of the website prices and the store will match it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North-central MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well. Order the Screens

Date:May 20, 2009
We purchased the smaller (80l) commercial dehydrator. It arrived quickly with no damage. It appears to be very well made and it clearly has been updated since the online description as the timer now goes to 24 hours, not just 12.
We have an Excalibur dehydrator but needed more capacity. We've been using it several days to dry pineapple. It maintains temperature (130F) well even when the door is opened and the racks don't need to be rotated any more often than our other dryer. The extra space over the Excalibur is very nice.
The one thing is that it does not come with drying screens. That is not clear in the write-up. The holes on the standard racks are a bit too large for many fruits and vegetables. Order the drying screens if you are going to be dehydrating anything smaller than 1.5" to 2" square.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Try at Dehydrating

Date:May 13, 2009
The machine is excellent. The instructions are very clear. The amount of time required is not as easy to figure out as the normal cookbooks tell you it will be.
Get the rack for it and some of the fruit leather trays. You will need them both sooner than you think.
Vine ripened tomatos dehydrated for storage then rehydrated when needed with a little olive oil, some garlic and sea salt are a meal in them selves.
Great piece of gear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Food Dehydrator

Date:May 4, 2009
Great machine one small problem , must rotate trays bottom dries faster close to heated air
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern, NY (Close to Canada)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nicest Dehydrator I've Owned Yet

Date:April 21, 2009
I've had the little round ones, I've had the $220 square plastic one, and most recently I've had the $300 plus square stainless steel one, and so far the Cabela's 80l tops them all.
It's got generous drying space, great controls, it's insulated, and you've also got the ability to watch the product dry. I know most of you are thinking, "This guy must like to watch paint dry..." but when you're as passionate about your beef jerky as I am, being able to take a sneak peak without opening the door is a huge plus. I've only done one batch of jerky so far, but I was able to get a full 15 lbs. of ground beef jerky into this oven and still had some space left over. The review would have gotten 5 stars if the unit came with jerky screens for the racks.
Overall and excellent product!
Jeff in Northern, NY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North East ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice unit, but...

Date:April 6, 2009
Overall its a good dehydrator. very easy to set and use. I really like the glass door and drip pan. Looks like it will be easy to clean too. Only thing that kept it away from 5 stars is the wires that make up the trays are spaced too far apart. this is not a problem with most fruits and full muscle jerky but for some it is. bananas strawberrys grapes pinnapple chunks do. worried that jerky from ground meat might not hold together and fall though too. you can buy buy mesh to put over the top of the trays but thats just one more addition that shouldnt be needed on a expensive machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Creston, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just bought one

Date:March 10, 2009
I just bought one of the 80 L. units. Just as several people stated, I could not get the temperature up to the setting. It took hours to get near the setting and never did approach the temperature I set the unit to run at. But, before I sent it back, I took one of the reviewers advice and placed a magnetic strip, one used for covering cold air returns, over 3/4 of the outlet air holes. In three minutes, the unit reached the set temperature. Many, many thanks to the gentleman who suggested this idea. The unit now works like a charm and I plan on keeping it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super product

Date:February 8, 2009
I have had several other dehydrators in the past and this one is far more superior. It is very well built and can produce lots of jerkey at once. Another great product from cabelas, that why I continue to shop there. I would recommend this product to everyone, very simple to use, easy assembly, fast clean up all equals great jerkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

proper heating

Date:February 4, 2009
unit was taking to long to heat up. so took magnetic strips and closed off 2/3's of the exhaust vent only. unit now heats up quickly with the thermostat turning on and off. try it , it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: atlanta ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

commercial dehydrator?

Date:January 21, 2009
Dehydrator works great, but I question the title"commercial". It doesn't hold up when used daily, the heating element burns out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Geneva, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:January 20, 2009
Unit arrived on time and was easy to assemble. First run was easy and finished with in 6 hours. I really like the untit, only problem is it is large for our room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: verona, virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 liter dehydrators

Date:January 18, 2009
i recently purchased the 80 liter dehydrator.i have used it four times,it has performed better than i expected.i would reccomend it to anyone.it is one awsome machine.it reached max temp. pretty quick and dried deer jerky in half the time of the smaller ones.i read some other reveiws about the damage from shipping, mine also had slight damage around the door seal but i straightened i up myself and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kegley west virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrators

Date:December 30, 2008
this product is great so far so good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 282