Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(275 Reviews) 275
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 275 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
9
254 out of 275(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
53 Questions | 113 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 121 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rockwall Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Dehydrator

Date:May 30, 2009
So far so good. This unit is very attractive out of the box. The electronic display is awesome and very user friendly. I have seen some reviews on this site that said the temp did not reach max 160. My unit works like a champ. It reaches that temp with no problem at all. Shelves are a little close together but I would say average from using other units. We sill see if it holds up over a long period of time. The sale they are having now on this unit is fantastic. The store price is higher that the website price. Bring a copy of the website prices and the store will match it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North-central MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well. Order the Screens

Date:May 20, 2009
We purchased the smaller (80l) commercial dehydrator. It arrived quickly with no damage. It appears to be very well made and it clearly has been updated since the online description as the timer now goes to 24 hours, not just 12.
We have an Excalibur dehydrator but needed more capacity. We've been using it several days to dry pineapple. It maintains temperature (130F) well even when the door is opened and the racks don't need to be rotated any more often than our other dryer. The extra space over the Excalibur is very nice.
The one thing is that it does not come with drying screens. That is not clear in the write-up. The holes on the standard racks are a bit too large for many fruits and vegetables. Order the drying screens if you are going to be dehydrating anything smaller than 1.5" to 2" square.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Try at Dehydrating

Date:May 13, 2009
The machine is excellent. The instructions are very clear. The amount of time required is not as easy to figure out as the normal cookbooks tell you it will be.
Get the rack for it and some of the fruit leather trays. You will need them both sooner than you think.
Vine ripened tomatos dehydrated for storage then rehydrated when needed with a little olive oil, some garlic and sea salt are a meal in them selves.
Great piece of gear
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lubbock, Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Food Dehydrator

Date:May 4, 2009
Great machine one small problem , must rotate trays bottom dries faster close to heated air
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Northern, NY (Close to Canada)
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nicest Dehydrator I've Owned Yet

Date:April 21, 2009
I've had the little round ones, I've had the $220 square plastic one, and most recently I've had the $300 plus square stainless steel one, and so far the Cabela's 80l tops them all.
It's got generous drying space, great controls, it's insulated, and you've also got the ability to watch the product dry. I know most of you are thinking, "This guy must like to watch paint dry..." but when you're as passionate about your beef jerky as I am, being able to take a sneak peak without opening the door is a huge plus. I've only done one batch of jerky so far, but I was able to get a full 15 lbs. of ground beef jerky into this oven and still had some space left over. The review would have gotten 5 stars if the unit came with jerky screens for the racks.
Overall and excellent product!
Jeff in Northern, NY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: North East ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice unit, but...

Date:April 6, 2009
Overall its a good dehydrator. very easy to set and use. I really like the glass door and drip pan. Looks like it will be easy to clean too. Only thing that kept it away from 5 stars is the wires that make up the trays are spaced too far apart. this is not a problem with most fruits and full muscle jerky but for some it is. bananas strawberrys grapes pinnapple chunks do. worried that jerky from ground meat might not hold together and fall though too. you can buy buy mesh to put over the top of the trays but thats just one more addition that shouldnt be needed on a expensive machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Creston, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just bought one

Date:March 10, 2009
I just bought one of the 80 L. units. Just as several people stated, I could not get the temperature up to the setting. It took hours to get near the setting and never did approach the temperature I set the unit to run at. But, before I sent it back, I took one of the reviewers advice and placed a magnetic strip, one used for covering cold air returns, over 3/4 of the outlet air holes. In three minutes, the unit reached the set temperature. Many, many thanks to the gentleman who suggested this idea. The unit now works like a charm and I plan on keeping it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central, OHIO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Super product

Date:February 8, 2009
I have had several other dehydrators in the past and this one is far more superior. It is very well built and can produce lots of jerkey at once. Another great product from cabelas, that why I continue to shop there. I would recommend this product to everyone, very simple to use, easy assembly, fast clean up all equals great jerkey.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

proper heating

Date:February 4, 2009
unit was taking to long to heat up. so took magnetic strips and closed off 2/3's of the exhaust vent only. unit now heats up quickly with the thermostat turning on and off. try it , it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: atlanta ga
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

commercial dehydrator?

Date:January 21, 2009
Dehydrator works great, but I question the title"commercial". It doesn't hold up when used daily, the heating element burns out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Geneva, NE
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:January 20, 2009
Unit arrived on time and was easy to assemble. First run was easy and finished with in 6 hours. I really like the untit, only problem is it is large for our room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: verona, virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 liter dehydrators

Date:January 18, 2009
i recently purchased the 80 liter dehydrator.i have used it four times,it has performed better than i expected.i would reccomend it to anyone.it is one awsome machine.it reached max temp. pretty quick and dried deer jerky in half the time of the smaller ones.i read some other reveiws about the damage from shipping, mine also had slight damage around the door seal but i straightened i up myself and it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kegley west virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrators

Date:December 30, 2008
this product is great so far so good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: KANSAS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RACKS IN THE DEHYDRATOR

Date:December 30, 2008
It appears to be very a very nice machine. I purchased this as a gift and when the person I gave it to tried it out with six of the racks in it was fine and dried the jerky perfectly. When he attempted to install the other six racks that fit in between the rails on the sides they would not go in or out without too much force.
It appears as if too much "foam insulation" was installed on the sides and compressed the sides enough that they would not accomodate the other half of the racks.
It is being sent back for an exchange and we should know soon how the replacement is.
Cabela's customer service has always been great to work with if you need them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: trenton, ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's commercial dehydrator

Date:December 24, 2008
This is a great dehydrator. I have bought 2 of them now they do what you would expect them to do. Quick & easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: WY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Model

Date:December 22, 2008
It took two trys but I got an 80 liter dehydrator and it worked pretty well. It does, however, have some flaws. Firstly, the dehydrators appear to be shipped carelessly. I have talked to others with the same problem with their orders. I know this is not Cabela's fault, but you would think that they would be able to make sure that a product with their name on it arrives safely, the first time. Secondly, the dehdrator is not made poorly, but it's not what I would call "commercial grade" either. The parts book has parts listed that aren't on the dehydrators and Cabela's customer service people, although they try, don't seem to know how to help when parts are missing. Thirdly, the 80 liter model barely gets up to temp. I have no idea how the 160 liter model ever would as it uses the same heating and fan system. All in all the product works, but could be easily inproved.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Beulah, ND
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Food Dehydrator

Date:December 16, 2008
This product works good for making a lot of jerky in a short period of time. It is easy to clean and simple to use. My only complaint is that it never reaches the maximum stated 160 degrees when I set it to that temp. The best it can do is 150 degrees after 5 hours of operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Bruce Wis
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied

Date:December 16, 2008
The dehydrator works great. It's nice to be able to exactly control the time and temperater, you don't have to monitor it so often. Also, the glass door is nice for checking the food without having to open the door.
I do wish there was more space between racks. By the time you add shelf liners for fine foods and then add the thickness of the food, it can be tricky getting the shelves in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: north georgia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80L dehydrator

Date:December 11, 2008
recently purchased the 80L dehydrator.
i have only used it a few times but am very excited about it,
i work in a mechanics shop 6 days a week and am surrounded
by noise...therefore when i am home peace and quiet is mandatory, i am really impressed with low level of noise this machine produces.
i am equally impressed with the fact that i do not have to rotate
racks.
thank you cabelas for a quality product.
i need a few more things, and could probably find them a little
less expensive,, but the high quality customer service will keep me shopping right here!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: new york
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

oh ya

Date:December 11, 2008
as a hunter of all meats you cant find anything better.i have done 65lbs. of deer meat. and it is good.bying this makes me a happy hunter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 275