Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
220
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
288 out of 312(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 145 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 121 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:September 19, 2011
I bought 1 of these lasted a whole 2 years, design is horrible. Bottom heating and wiring is definitely not what you want, drippings have shorted out the whole element. Whatever you do don"t buy one of these, you will not be happy, what a waste of money. unit is nothing but junk!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2011
We upgraded to the 80 liter Cabella's model after using a smaller, entry-level dehydrator for a few years. We mostly dry garden produce, from tomatoes, herbs, peppers, to fruit. It works extremely well, and we haven't used the smaller dehydrator since getting this one. It does a fine job drying. A few things to be aware of, though: the blower is relatively loud, although it is not offensive noise, it just took us by surprise; the standard shelves have a rather large grid, so small items can fall through without something of smaller grid; even with the good airflow, if you fill it to full capacity you must periodically rotate shelves or else remove dried ones as they're done. But these are minor points to me, it is well-made and does a great job. I'd buy it again, and recommend it to friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: cary, nc
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth the amount of money you spend

Date:September 4, 2011
I have had my 80L unit for 3+ years and mainly do beef jerky. Unfortunately anything that drips down on the base needs to be immediately cleaned up as the cheap aluminum rots under anything acidic. I solved that problem by lining the base with tin foil everytime i use the unit. The center discharge vent is also made of polished aluminum as well as some perforated steel. Impossible to clean and also rots away. Finally you better put this thing in a warm area because it isnt powerful enough to dehydrate sucking in 40 or 50 degree air. The unit is only made for cabelas and thus parts are non-exsisent. Overall i am disappointed for the amount of money this thing costs it is really pretty poorly made. I would recommend the excalibre...those things are cheap little boxes but aleast they dont rot....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SPOKANE WA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

BEST DRYER

Date:August 7, 2011
mostly i use for fish works exellent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Big mistake

Date:August 4, 2011
I am so disappointed in my Cabella's dehydrator I don't know where to start. First of all, it dries from the bottom so you have to keep opening it to rotate the trays, thereby letting cooler more humid air into the dehydrator. Second, it has a hole in the middle of the trays (for the air to blow up, I guess) so space is wasted PLUS when you make fruit leathers, you've got a hole in your finished product. Third, the trays are a large grid and as food dries, it tends to fall through. You are forced into buying Cabella's drying sheets with smaller grid. I had my heart set on a different brand but my husband wanted to buy from Cabella's. Next time I'll stand my ground!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160 liter dehydrator

Date:June 16, 2011
I was pleasantly suprised when the unit arrived, I couldn't wait to fill it and see what happened. It took some work on getting the time exactly right but now I just set it and forget it. I usually do 15 lbs at a time, I tried 26 pounds once and it took a lot longer and I had to rotate the trays. Doing 15 pounds to me is the perfect batch size. All of it is the same when I take it out, on occasion I will have to put a few pieces back in but only because those slices are thicker.
I highly recommend this to those of you that are on the edge about making this big of a purchase. After I read all the reviews I ordered mine and have not once regretted it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Greensboro, N C
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is a good one

Date:January 18, 2011
I have the 160 LT. and it is everything Cabelas saids it is. It will heat to 160 degrees (empty) in approx. 10 mins. With meat (cold ) it depends on the amount of meat you have in the unit. When full it may take 20 or 30 mins. before all the meat to heat up , but when it gets there it stays there, The backsides of the machine gets hotter than the front there for you have the option of taking off what is aready done half way or just spind the rack around so that what meat was in front is now at the back. I my self have never had a dedhyrator where all the meat got done at the same time. So rotating the rack seem normal to me. The lights in the machine to me are for clean up time. They do very little for checking the meat, and I don't think that is the purpose of the lights. But come time to clean the machine the lights are there where you can see very very well . And may I add clean up is easy compared to some of the machines that I have had. The jerky that I make soaks in a liquid marinate 48 hours there for it is holding alot of moisture. It will cook a batch of jerky approx. 8 to 10 lbs of jerky....25 to 30 lbs red meat in about 4 to 5 hrs. That my friends is FAST. If you are into dehydrating ALOT I recomend the 160 unit, and if you just enjoy making a couple of pounds of jerky at a time the 80 LT will do the job. The machine also looks nice and fits well with all the others appliances in the house. You will need a area appro.3(w) x (3) d x(3 t ) for the unit. I know I wrote alot ,but I wanted to let people know some of the anwers I had before I bought the machine. Again If you buy the 160LT you should be serious about making jerky, and If you are this is a very good machine for the money. I would also like to had,for very small picies of meat I take the plastic racks from the round dehydrators and lay them on the metal racks and that works just fine. For fruit I have not a clue. I hope my comment has helped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Sweet Unit

Date:January 8, 2011
This is the nicest dehydrator I've ever seen. I bought the 160L and it holds a ton. Love this thing for jerky. I have a batch drying now and its only been 4 hours and I'm pulling pieces out already. Other reviews complain about uneven drying, I have been using dehydrators for roughly 10 years and your never going to get every piece to be done at the same time. There are many factors like every piece is never sliced the same thickness or the same size. Anyways just watch it and pull stuff out as it's to your liking. Or let it run the cycle and some will just be a little over done still very good.
If you are reading these reviews just buy it you will not regret it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Deer Lodge, Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Cabelas Dehydrator

Date:October 13, 2010
The first time we closed the door to the dehydrator 2 plastic pieces from the bottom of the door flew off. We used superglue to put them back on. The dehydrator does not dry evenly. Right side dries faster than the left meaning we have to rotate what we are processing making it a bit inconvenient.
Was hoping for better for that price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: west monroe, louisina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160 liter model

Date:July 26, 2010
I bought this large dehydrator about 3 years ago. We make @30lbs wet (@10 lbs dry) beef jerky @ 10 hours drying Minimum once a month, usually more. I love this dehydrator just for the sheer quantity it makes and with the temperature guage I can make sure it stays at 150 for at least two hours(for health/safety).
It would be nicer if we could two stage dry it (temperature wise), but it works well as it is. We thought the temperature sensor had gone out, but is working fine since unplugging, plugging back in and hitting reset button - Yea!!
Solid construction but don't soak trays for very long or they will begin to rust at intersections of wires.
People stop us frequently asking if we have any of our jerky. Thanks to this large dehydrator we have enough for our family and can sell the rest to support our jerky "habit"
Thanks Cabela's... now if you can get a decent meat slicer down to an affordable price.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salty City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jerky maker extraordinaire!!

Date:May 22, 2010
I have had the 80 liter version for about 8 months. It has been a positive experience. Very easy to clean, well thought out design, and good reliability so far.
We use this quite extensively, as jerky is one the staples of our diet!!
The only con (and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) is the timer. It would be nice if it could be set for longer than 23 hours and 55 minutes.
Good product, highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: upstate N.Y.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good if you do not need parts

Date:January 27, 2010
I found this dehydrator dries fairly quick, like all dehydrators that I've used in the past you still have to rotate the racks during drying. The only problem is if you need to replace the heater you have to wait 3-5 business days before you can even order the part. Then you still have to wait for shipping. Allow 2-3 weeks or more. Needing parts is the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: INDIANA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CABELAS FOOD DEHYDRATOR

Date:January 18, 2010
I BOUGHT THE 160L MODEL. THIS THING IS HUGE AND WILL DRY A LOT OF MEAT AT A TIME. LOVE THE LED LIGHTS INSIDE AND THE DIGITAL INSTRUMENT PANEL. ONLY DRAWBACK IS TIMER WON'T ADJUST OTHER THAN HOUR INCRIMENTS AND I HAD TO ROTATE TRAYS FROM FRONT TO BACK TO EVEN OUT THE DRYING PROCESS. BACK DRIES FASTER THAN THE FRONT. OTHER THAN THAT THIS THING IS GREAT SO FAR. DID 12 TRAYS ON FIRST RUN AT 5.5 HOURS. YIELDED 6 IBS OF JERKY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Santa Fe, New Mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dehydrator

Date:January 11, 2010
The first dehydrator we recieved was damaged. We called Cabela's and they shipped a new one right away and had the damaged one picked up at our house. I was impressed by how quickly they resolved our problem. The new 160 litre dehydrator works just fine, and both my wife and I are happy.
Thank you Cabela's
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrater

Date:January 7, 2010
What a great product. I cant believe I didnt buy one of these years ago. This product works great. I recommended this dehydrater to all my friends. Its so simple to use and clean-up is a breeze.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: w.v.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

80 liter dehydrater

Date:December 30, 2009
bought the 80 liter dehydrater last year in october 2008. used it in december of that year, and it tripped the internal circuit breaker at 131 degrees. let it cool down , reset, and continued drying.
this year in december of 2009, used it again, had 10 # of jerky in it and it kept tripping at 131 degrees. finally got temp. to 141 but not enough to dry jerky completly. took almost 13 hours to achieve this temp. called cabellas and with there help, trouble shot unit, and found it could it could be a number of things wrong. they offered to exchange unit, although the damage was done. had to throw my meat away, as i was not willing to risk bacterial contamination due to uneven drying. also tested the unit while empty, and it never achieved the 160 degree temp. that it claims. 154 degrees was the max. hope the new one they send me lives up to its name! other wise will be sending it back as well, with a refund request.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Billings, MOntana

Date:December 25, 2009
I bought the 80 liter dehydrator 5 days ago and have had it running ever since I got it home. This is one heck of a good dehyrator. The only problem, your going to have, is that you may run out of stuff to dehydrate. Holds temp perfect, self timer cut off perfect. Don't waste your money on any other kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: deposit ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:December 17, 2009
definatly big enough to get the job done drys fast works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

160 Liter Dehydrator

Date:December 8, 2009
I bought the 160 Liter dehydrator 4 years ago, and I just loved it. I liked it so much that I told everyone that I knew that wanted a dehydrator to but this one. Several of my friends did and they realy like it. But here comes my unhappness. It broke down right in the middle of my drying apples. (and man did I have a lot of apples) I called the number of the service repair number that I had and they informed me that they did not carry the parts any longer and gave me the number where I could call. I called the new number and order the parts that I needed, but to my dismay they told me that the parts were back ordered and would not be availabel until the 1st of November. (this was the first of October that I first called) I finealy got the parts but the 2 fuses that go with the one part was not there, so I called back and told them that the fuses were not there and that's what I need the most. A They said that they did not have them and that I could get them anywhere. Well guess what I went every where that I could think of and no one had any thing that even came close. I have called Cablea's service center and the person that I talked to said that she would put in a parts order for me. Sure hope that I get them. other wise a $400.00 dyhydrator that don't work. So now I do not tell any one to buy this dehydrator until they make it so you can buy all the parts that you need. They need to put the all the parts on their website so you can buy what you need when you need them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: belgrade, mt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator 80 liter

Date:November 20, 2009
This product is awesome, i use it for jerky and snack stick making. I can do 8-10 pounds of meat an not even fill up all the racks. It does that much in seven hours an i dont half to switch racks around which makes it nice that you dont have to babysit it, jus set the time and temp an let it go an it automatically turns off when the time is up. The none stick racks make it a breeze to clean up. Would highly recommend buying the cart to go along with it. I have done duck, deer, an elk jerky with it an it has all been excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 312