Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(297 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 297 reviews
5 Stars
209
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
273 out of 297(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
66 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 121 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: w.v.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

80 liter dehydrater

Date:December 30, 2009
bought the 80 liter dehydrater last year in october 2008. used it in december of that year, and it tripped the internal circuit breaker at 131 degrees. let it cool down , reset, and continued drying.
this year in december of 2009, used it again, had 10 # of jerky in it and it kept tripping at 131 degrees. finally got temp. to 141 but not enough to dry jerky completly. took almost 13 hours to achieve this temp. called cabellas and with there help, trouble shot unit, and found it could it could be a number of things wrong. they offered to exchange unit, although the damage was done. had to throw my meat away, as i was not willing to risk bacterial contamination due to uneven drying. also tested the unit while empty, and it never achieved the 160 degree temp. that it claims. 154 degrees was the max. hope the new one they send me lives up to its name! other wise will be sending it back as well, with a refund request.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 122 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Billings, Montana
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Billings, MOntana

Date:December 25, 2009
I bought the 80 liter dehydrator 5 days ago and have had it running ever since I got it home. This is one heck of a good dehyrator. The only problem, your going to have, is that you may run out of stuff to dehydrate. Holds temp perfect, self timer cut off perfect. Don't waste your money on any other kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 123 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: deposit ny
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:December 17, 2009
definatly big enough to get the job done drys fast works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 124 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

160 Liter Dehydrator

Date:December 8, 2009
I bought the 160 Liter dehydrator 4 years ago, and I just loved it. I liked it so much that I told everyone that I knew that wanted a dehydrator to but this one. Several of my friends did and they realy like it. But here comes my unhappness. It broke down right in the middle of my drying apples. (and man did I have a lot of apples) I called the number of the service repair number that I had and they informed me that they did not carry the parts any longer and gave me the number where I could call. I called the new number and order the parts that I needed, but to my dismay they told me that the parts were back ordered and would not be availabel until the 1st of November. (this was the first of October that I first called) I finealy got the parts but the 2 fuses that go with the one part was not there, so I called back and told them that the fuses were not there and that's what I need the most. A They said that they did not have them and that I could get them anywhere. Well guess what I went every where that I could think of and no one had any thing that even came close. I have called Cablea's service center and the person that I talked to said that she would put in a parts order for me. Sure hope that I get them. other wise a $400.00 dyhydrator that don't work. So now I do not tell any one to buy this dehydrator until they make it so you can buy all the parts that you need. They need to put the all the parts on their website so you can buy what you need when you need them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 125 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: belgrade, mt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator 80 liter

Date:November 20, 2009
This product is awesome, i use it for jerky and snack stick making. I can do 8-10 pounds of meat an not even fill up all the racks. It does that much in seven hours an i dont half to switch racks around which makes it nice that you dont have to babysit it, jus set the time and temp an let it go an it automatically turns off when the time is up. The none stick racks make it a breeze to clean up. Would highly recommend buying the cart to go along with it. I have done duck, deer, an elk jerky with it an it has all been excellent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 126 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas food dehydrator

Date:October 13, 2009
this dehydrator so far has worked excellent. after reading reviews on dehydrators decided on the cabelas model 80. it is big so need a stand to put it on also the holes in the screens are big so if you want to dry something smaller will need to get the screen inserts. am pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 127 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

service was great

Date:October 12, 2009
we are enjoying the dehydrator using it every day
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 128 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:October 7, 2009
I think this dehydrator should come with the fruit trays. YOu can not dry anything small without them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 129 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brigham City, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator!

Date:September 21, 2009
I bought this because the sale price was really close to the other units that weren't near as nice. I love how quickly everything dries. Be warned this is not a counter top appliance! I bought it thinking it could sit on a shelf in my kitchen but it is much too bulky for that. Do yourself a huge favor and just buy the cart that is made for it. The cart makes it so you can move it where you want. We take it outside when we are using it because it puts out a lot of heat. During the winter time, that won't be an issue.
The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of five is because of the racks that come with it. The holes are WAY too big. I purchased the fruit roll sheets that are made for it and they work great but they don't cover the entire rack so you give up a lot of space on each rack when you use them, however, I will be buying enough of these for all the shelves. Also, I sewed some netting covers and they work great with the racks. The racks are well made and won't be breaking like the ones in my old dehydrator.
In a nutshell ----,
Pros: It's a well made unit with sturdy durable metal racks. Has a temperature control and timer.
Easy to clean.
Cons: Bulky - not for countertops. Not easily moved unless on a cart.
Puts out a lot of heat.
Racks have too big of holes. Most food can't sit directly on the rack so you need something to put on the rack to keep food from falling through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 130 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Heppenr, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:September 21, 2009
It is a good product - dries within allotted time.
I would either purchase the netting for the racks and the fruit leather silicone mats or figure something else out because the racks have way to big of holes to put anything small on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 131 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vassalboro, Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost two years and counting.

Date:September 20, 2009
I bought my 80L Dehydrator about 2 years ago. I've dehydrated about 40 batches of beef/venison jerky and absolutely love the machine. It does however have a few quirks. I load mine right to the max with meat, so I'm one that does have to rotate the racks even though I do have the diffuser. It works just fine if I only use 6 racks but I have lots of crew on my Coast Guard ship that likes jerky so my batches need to stay big! I'm looking foward to trying the magnetic strip that I've just read about in other reviews, because I have never seen mine get to 160 degrees. I use the commercial slicer, marinate for 24 hours, load her up,set the timer for 4 hours, stop by once to move the racks around and in no time have bags and bags of jerky that my friends and shipmates can't get enough of! One other small thing, I wish I could unscrew the diffuser cover to clean without the whole bottom side of the element dropping out. I took the diffuser off once and wasn't sure I was going to be able to get it together again. Besides that.. this machine Rocks! If it were to die tomorrow, I'd order another post haste!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 132 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for outside

Date:September 20, 2009
Dryers dry quickly, but are quick to blow breakers. Took several tries to find outlets that would sustain the power requirement. There should be filter screens for the vents = we dry outside and have had to create out own filters. Racks need smaller holes as fruit falls through them as it dries. They also need ridges to keep fruit from falling over the edges or through the hole in the middle of the rack. Overall, the dryers are efficient, but poorly designed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 133 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:September 20, 2009
THE PRODUCT WORKS GREAT
IT IS EASY TO CLEAN
THE ONLY THING IT DID NOT HAVE A BOOK ABOUT HOW LONG CERTAIN FOODS NEED TO COOK OR RECEIPES
IF IT CAME WITH A RECEIPE BOOK IT WOULD BE GREAT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 134 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

commercial dehydrator

Date:September 19, 2009
This is an excellent product, and works much more efficiently that the standard one we had. It's easy to use, and I especially like the fact that you can set the amount of time for it to run, then it shuts itself off. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 135 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: rural Gettysburg Pa.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

underestimated the volume

Date:September 19, 2009
The dryer arrived in perfect condition the quality is just what I expect from cabela's !!! my mistake came when I thawed out the meat to make jerky !! I used 6lbs. of venison, all that did was fill a little more than 3 trays ,15lbs. should fit nicely onto the 12 racks. No need to run the dryer if its not full.I also bought the cart for ease of movement, well worth the money also!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 136 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NewFoundland PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

160 liter dehydrator

Date:September 15, 2009
I became a man now that I have my own jerky maker...Works great, Temp was easy to get to 160, took about 5min... My first batch came out like I knew what I was doing, all my freinds are in love with me... Thanks to cabelas I am now treated like a king.... Just waiting for hunting season....
The only thing that was wrong is that the hand book says there are 3 cut away racks for the thermastat and I only got one... I chated with the service people for 2 more racks and the guy I was chating to had no idea what I was talking about cause there is no part number for those cut away racks...Its just one number for the bundle of racks....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 137 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: los angeles
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So very happy.

Date:September 12, 2009
This item has changed my dehydrating life. I am very happy with the service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 138 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

we've dried a lot of fruit!

Date:September 2, 2009
We've dried apples, pears, peaches, apricots, bananas, watermelon, and cantaloupe. The dehydrator works really well and cleans up easily. There is a slight difference in how fast the fruit dries depending on which tray it is on, so some tray rotation is necessary. But overall we've been really satisfied with it. It does put off quite a bit of heat, so we've put it on the porch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 139 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Food Dehydrator

Date:September 1, 2009
Easy to use and efffective. Takes about 6-7 hours for a full load of jerky. Requires ventilation so best used in garage or ventilated storage area. Easy to clean. Suggest purchasing a stand or cart for the 80 liter machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 140 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mantua, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One is NOT Enough

Date:August 30, 2009
I bought my first 160L model dehydrator over 3 years ago and I recently just bought a SECOND 160L model. I love my Cabela’s dehydrator and always meant to write a review. After buying my second one I thought it was high time to share my experience.
I make a LOT of jerky and just can't seem to keep up with the never ending demand from friends and family. I started down my jerky making path when a friend gave me one of those small round, just a heating element, no fan models that he purchased from a late night infomercial. Although it served its purpose, I quickly learned that you had to constantly rotate the trays and also reposition the meat on the tray for consistent and even drying results. It was time to move on!
I next moved up to a Garden Master. This was a HUGE improvement over my original setup. The pressurized forced air system provided for fast and even drying with NO rotation of trays needed...I was in heaven. I soon bought a second just to keep up. I think that those who know a thing or two about dehydrating would agree that it’s all in the preparation effort, and not the actual dehydrating, that takes the most effort. It roughly takes the same amount of time to prepare 5 lbs of meat as it does 10 lbs. So as your prep skills improve, it’s your dehydrator capacity that limits your efficiency.
Enter the Cabela’s 160L dehydrator. My oldest brother bought one of the original 160L models and I gave it a try. It was plenty big enough BUT it did not dry evenly so you had to rotate the trays. The capacity I wanted was there, but it was back to rotating trays. So I held off on buying one of my own. Then Cabela’s changed the design to include a diffuser on the 160L model and I decided to purchase one. The re-designed model with the diffuser worked GREAT! I still sometimes rotate the trays but this is usually because I tend overload the trays…remember, I said I make a LOT of jerky. (Note – The diffuser that Cabela’s added did not require any design changes to the original model; it was simply a bolt-on improvement. My brother was able to easily make one for his original model and it now works just as good as mine. If you have some basic tin knocking skills it’s not that hard to make).
Of course space is an issue with such a large capacity dehydrator, but if large capacity is what you want, you need a big dehydrator. I solved the space problem by moving my jerky making efforts to the man cave (my basement). My wife was happy to have her dining room back and I now had an excuse to expand. I bought a used professional slicer, a commercial stainless steel prep table, double sink and large butcher block table from a retiring restaurant owner. So with all this newly acquired equipment I could prep 100 lbs of meat in no time. However, I hit the wall on capacity again. One 160L dehydrator wasn’t big enough, which is why I bought my second dehydrator…and am now writing this much belated review.
As you can tell I do love this dehydrator, but there are some things that can be improved. As mentioned in other reviews, the unit sometimes does not get up to the max temperature. The addition of a magnetic strip, as recommended by others, solves this problem. I also dry a lot of fruit and agree with other reviewers that such an expensive dehydrator should include the mesh screens. Cabela’s should consider including at least 3 for the 80L and 6 for 160L if only to demonstrate that they are not blatantly trying to lighten your wallet with these “accessories.” Lastly, I find the addition of the lighted interior doesn’t help me that much. When all the trays are in the dehydrator you can’t really see anything inside anyway. It’s an OK feature if you do not fully load the dehydrator.
I’m not sure what’s next for my jerky making efforts, perhaps a walk-in cooler in my man cave…hint, hint to my honey. But regardless of any future additions, you can be sure they will include the 160L Cabela’s dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 121-140 of 297