Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,400 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(338 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
235
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
9
1 Star
14
307 out of 338(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 175 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 25, 2014

18 years old, well used, still works like new

By
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
I purchased my 80L dehydrator from Cabelas at Sidney, NE in 1996. I have made 40# batches of jerky in it many, many times, with much faster and more uniform drying than my previous dehydrators. I have dried fruits, vegetables, herbs, spices and much more. I have proofed my yeast breads in it and set the thermostat to maintain a constant temperature for fermenting my kombucha tea. I put my sprouts in it also. It was money well spent 18 years ago and it's still working great. I can't say enough good things about it. I would be totally lost without my Cabela's dehydrator. I would give it more than 5 stars if that option were available
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 15, 2014

Cabelas Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Does a very good job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014

Good Purchase but wasn't completly satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The unit also arrived with a small dent towards the top, rear of the unit. Upon placing the foot pegs onto the bottom of the hydrator I found the unit was uneven. The bottom of the unit, front door hinge, was bent causing the unit to be unbalanced. No other problems as of yet. This unit was a lot of money and I wished the item would have arrived in better condition. This commercial grade dehydrator (80l) worked well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2014

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Nothing bad to say about this unit. It meets all my expectations and cleans up easy. Money well spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2014

Best thing since sliced bread

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Since I got this machine I have used it to dry fruit, veggies and jerky.
My wife and I have not been disappointed yet, it really does a great job.
Other people are wanting to use it because it is so easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014

well worth it

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My wife and I decided to give this dehydrator a try and after we received the unit, we were pleased at the condition it came. This weekend we made 10 lbs of beef jerky and 10 lbs of dried apples and we also dried 3 kiwi and 1 pineapple and we are very happy. Great unit. Wor well. This unit even helped warm up the house. An added bonus in cold country. Quite pleased all around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Glad I purchased this beast makes jerky a breeze wish it would have came with the screens will be getting some for summer fruits
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014

Great product!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the smaller model a couple of months ago and love it. The timer helps a lot when you can't stay and watch the jerky. I do wish the holes in the racks were a bit smaller or they sold an accessory to place on the racks so that the edge of the meat would not fall through.
The only other complaint I have is that after mounting the legs on the unit I have to slide a support under one side or it wobbles back and forth. Other than that it's everything I hoped it would be. I've been making jerky for over 20 years and this is definitely the best dehydrator I've tried!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014

Great machine

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I would of given it a five, but I had to buy the plastic sheets for trays because tray opening are to large. The plastic sheets solve the problem and clean up easy. I bought the smaller unit and am glad I did. Venison jerky was done in about 5.5 hours and I didn't pre cook it. I do let the hydrator run while I'm loading trays do to it takes time to get to temperature. Great unit. I have done both sliced and ground meat and took about the same amount of time. It did warm my basement about 10 degrees, kids were happy. Machine is a little loud, but to be that good it has to be.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 12, 2014

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I wanted a big dehydrator with metal shelves. It has worked well for the couple of times I have dehydrated apples and mushrooms but it has won my approval for its ability to raise perfect loaves of bread and to culture homemade yogurt. It keeps a pretty constant temp. with only a brief fluctuation of a degree or two, up or down on occasion.The price was higher then I originally planned on paying but has been well worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014

incredible results

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased the 160L commercial dehydrator and immediately made 25 lbs of venison jerky. I loved that the unit was large enough to hold it all and delivered consistent and uniformed heat. I did not have to rotate the trays at all and all four flavors came out superb. What normally took me a week in my smaller unit now takes only a day with even better results. I can't wait to start on the fruits and vegetables next !!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2014

Great Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am impressed with this dehydrator. The quality is great and it looks very nice and is well made. The racks are easy to load and clean up is simple. The trays also cook evenly so rotation should not be necessary. People that have to rotate the trays should pay closer attention when slicing the meat. If you slice it evenly, the dehydrator will dry it evenly. The noise is minimal for a unit this size. The lights are a great option, however, I think they should be placed in the top of the unit instead of in the back. If you want to make big batches of jerky quickly, you will not be disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is the first dehydrator that I have own it works great even though I am just learning ever thing i have done has come out good. clean up is easy the only thing I would of liked would of been drying times for different foods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014

Awesome

By
One of the best purchases I have ever made from Cabelas, relatively quiet, and dries quick. The temperature guage lets you pick how much you want to cook whatever it is your dehydrating and the timer is perfect to set when you go to bed and have perfectly dehydrated products when you wake up. I did 25lbs of bannans in one run, lots of space and drying capabilities.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

Given as Gift

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I haven't heard how it works but my daughter was excited to get it for Christmas. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't any info on how to use it included with the unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

Impressed

By
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
I spent several days trying to decide which dehydrator I wanted (80L or 160L). I decided to make the trip to Cabellas to compare the two in person.
I ended up buying to 80L only because the 160L wouldn't fit in my car. Both of these dehydrators are huge.
I got the dehydrator, got it put together ( the legs and the trays) and immediately had to try it out making 15 pounds of beef jerky. It turned out good but, I dried it too long. I should of been checking it more often. I let it run for 7 hours. I think 6 would of probably done it. It was still good though.
The second thing I tried was fruit roll ups. I wasn't sure how these were going to turn out because I had never tried doing anything like this before.
I didn't have to rotate the trays. The appearance of the machine is top notch. For the size of this machine it is actually quiet compared to some of the smaller round dehydrators. The lights are kind of a joke. You can't really see your food very well but, it looks cool at night.
I would say the only thing that would make this dehydrator any better is if the fan and heater were in the back of the machine instead of the bottom so you didn't have the little squares cut out in the middle of your racks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2013

Wonderful

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Gave this as a gift, my son loved it. It works great. Heats good. set and go then wait till the jerky is ready to eat. The jerky had a better overall taste than when cooked in the little dryers. Also got the slicer as a present and that made a difference with all the meat being sliced the same. I would recommend this to anyone it does a great job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2013

Great Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've had my 80L Dehydrator for about 1 1/2 years. I have made countless batches of jerky and am very happy with this product.
I do rotate and turn the racks 1/2 way thru the cycle, but I don't thint that is unreasonable.
Clean up is easy as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 18, 2013

Commercial Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have used the dehydrator three times now and it has been great. I love the timer on it. The temp controls
keep right on the button. I had put a thermometer in just to check, and it stayed within 4 to 5 degrees. The racks seem strong and are real easy to clean.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013

HOT DIGGITY DAWG!

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Just purchased the 80L model, and its awesome. I bought the drying screens with it and they leave virtually no clean up. I've had it for 3 days and I've already done 2 1/2 deer. This machine is a beast! Don't waist your money on any of the other large capacity units, buy the cabelas.... It cooks in a little over half the time of the other commercial units. Drying screens are a must, if you don't want any waist. Can't go wrong with this one....
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 61-80 of 338