Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
220
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
288 out of 312(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 145 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice.

Date:November 12, 2013
Makes quick work of jerky. Seems to work very well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed.

Date:October 29, 2013
I have been looking at dehydrators for a long time and picked the 80L from cabelas for a few reason 1 the door 2 the light. 3 the size. I have used it twice and have been very pleased I made a batch of apples and a full batch of deer jerky. First the size is great that thing will hold alot. The light is a joke can't see much whish they would make it better and more of them. The door is great can see in with out opening and loosing heat. Also the controls are sooo easy and I love the way they tell you what is going on as you dehydrat. I would give it a 5 star if it had better lighting which would really be handy. Now if it just last. I wish cabela's would let you back on here to update your post after you use the product for awhile. Good or bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great with Huge Volume

Date:October 29, 2013
I've only had it for a couple of months, so I can't speak to the longevity of the unit, but it works great. The volume is cavernous. I did a 20lb load of venison jerky and it only filled half of the unit. The temperature holds pretty close to the setting and with the timer, it's pretty foolproof. I usually rotate the racks once or twice, but that's it. Other than that, put the meat in and wait for 12-18 hours for it to finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Totally awsome dehydrator

Date:October 26, 2013
Purchased the 80 liter dehydrator in October 2013 after searching online for months at various websites to find the most efficient one on the market. The cabela's commercial food dehydrator I found was my all around choice that I wanted to purchase. I went to the cabela's store in Green Bay Wisconsin to purchase it along with the extension service plan. We made several batches of deer jerky and two batches of turkey jerky, what a great dehydrator. No having to switch trays from top to bottom or turning them around. It dehydrates evenly and every batch came out just the way we like it. I read all the other reviews and found a few tips that I tried and they worked perfectly. Like the one that stated to put aluminum foil on the bottom to catch any drippings. worked perfect. The best advice I can give to anyone thinking about buying one of these dehydrators is once you get it home Read the manual and stick with it, and you won't have any one single problem. Oh by the way buy the screens for the dehydrator they are a must and they work fantastic and a no mess clean up. Note they do like to slide around on the metal trays when putting the jerky on them to dehydrate, I use to small bag clips to hold it on the tray. If you want some good tasting jerky I use the Lem Backwoods Jerky pre-mixes that you can buy at Fleet Farm stores. Follow the direction on the packages and you will love the taste, you can get it in several flavors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not entirely happy

Date:October 23, 2013
We bought this product 3 years ago for jerky. It works wonderful and is easy to use. The only problem is that after 3 years the trays have begun to rust. Not a little but major rust. Beware that replacing the trays is almost as expensive as buying a new machine. Very unhappy that the trays did not last any longer than they did. We make a lot of jerky every year and this was really disappointing. We took care of the trays as suggested and they still rusted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:October 8, 2013
Very pleased with this product. All racks dry the same good air circulation and temp. is very even thru out. Have dried a lot of fruit and jerky since purchase. Non stick racks work and clean up great. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to dry food.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2013
We tried several and found this one met our expectations. It is not real loud but not something you want in your livingroom. Large capacity with trays that are durable. We LOVE it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

commercial dehydrator

Date:August 20, 2013
After reading the reviews on other dehydrators and learning about the plastic ranks ,I was glad I spent the extra money for the commercial model It wasn,t the biggest one out there but sure does the trick.I would recommend getting the sheets at the same time for the smaller stuff.Everything we have made so far turned out great ,set the timer the temp and done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very surprised

Date:July 23, 2013
Wow I was surprised about this dehydrator. I was bigger an better than I thought it would be. Thanks Cabelas for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Dehydrator ever!

Date:April 4, 2013
This is fantastic. I should have purchased a year ago. I was looking for a larger dehydrator then the 7 round rack ones. D A N G this 160L model holds so much food! It's like my stomach is bigger than my eyes and my eyes can't believe it. I have dehydrated a ton of food already, just some comparison examples...
5 apples take 2 racks;
10 pounds of bananas take 4+ racks;
a dozen cooked & scrambled eggs take 1 rack.
You WILL have a hard time filling this puppy up!
Best purchase ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Product!

Date:April 2, 2013
Thanks to the informative reviews, I was lucky enough to have the sense to purchase this dehydrator. Note that I later looked at other brands and models which had plastic trays, and realized that Cabela's coated metal racks are much more durable.
I hadn't used a dehydrator before, so making beef jerky on my first attempt was challenging, but turned out better than expected. I made beef jerky from strips and also from ground beef; the beef I used was grass-fed natural beef, so there wasn't much fat dripping down to the bottom of the unit. However, I placed foil, as recommended by one of the reviewers, on the bottom to help minimize the clean up (leaving the vent/fan uncovered, btw), and this proved to be a useful tip.
I dried a total of about 12 lbs., and am pretty happy with the results. The unit seems like it will last forever, and each batch came out evenly dried. I hung a thermometer inside, and the temperature appeared to be fairly constant. The clear door gives you a sense of comfort so you can see the stuff drying, haha, even though probably not that necessary. :)
Note that I prebaked the ground beef jerky at 325F to an internal temp of 160F, and post-baked the strips at 275F for 10 minutes. I did this as an extra precaution to kill any bacteria remaining (everywhere I read, there were warnings about this). The most helpful preparation tips were from an internet article from the Univ. of Idaho Extension, which also had recipes.
We determined that making our own beef jerky was much more economical than anything commercially made, with the big plus of not having 100 different chemicals and preservatives added. I found a recipe on-line to flavor the ground beef jerky with just chili powder, cumin, salt, pepper and garlic powder... and no soy! It tasted great, especially when adding a small amount of cracked black pepper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:April 2, 2013
I got the 80-Liter dehydrator, and until it arrived was worried that it may have been too small for my needs. However, once it arrived my fears were relieved and I was very pleased with how truly large this dehydrator is. I've made a few treats with this (Potato Chips, Raisins, Apple Rings, and Strawberry Chews) and was overall very pleased with the results. Even drying, no issues with air flow, and a timer (which my last dehydrator didn't have, and now I don't know how I managed to live without!), makes this a great buy. I would highly recommend this dehydrator to anyone who is looking for a great quality product.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Set it and forget it

Date:February 5, 2013
I have had cheeper units in the past and all I got done was moving trays around so they would dry even. This unit is far better at air flow management and with the controls being digital it is very easy to set. You can set the time and temp and place the trays and come back when it is done. It is a great unit and did a fantastic job. It is as close to set it and forget it as it gets.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful gift.

Date:January 22, 2013
Our son and wife requested this for a Christmas gift. Even though it was promised on tme it arrived late. They have used and used it. Probably the best gift they ever received. Their college student takes bags of dehydrated food back to school and their high school child and themselves are eating and loving healthy snacks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality control issues

Date:January 11, 2013
I originally purchased the 80L model, it dried well however it was missing parts and even with the supplied washer (yes they didn’t have the front mounting bracket shipped with it) the unit still wobbled. I brought it back. Cabela’s return policy is nice, but the second one I got had all the shipped parts (no front bracket, just a washer) but the top rack couldn’t fit anything on it really. You had to flex the top shelf to fit a standard #2 pencil between the rack and the top of the unit. I also ended up taking that one back too. I decided to try the larger model which will arrive tomorrow, so we will see if there is any difference with the larger model. The only reason I am even trying the larger model is because Cabela’s does have a good return policy. To make it short, yes the machine dries a lot of food at one time, is it the best no, is it the worst no. the main problem is that their quality control is NOT there. When I took the unit back I made them open the box of the new one to make sure all the parts were there. They found problems with 3 units before they found one with all the parts and did not have scratches or dents on the new units. I got the warranty so we will see if they last. I can see the potential from other posts about the durability it definitely does not look or feel commercial grade, then again real commercial grade ones go for a lot more money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good purchase

Date:January 8, 2013
Can do 15# at a time easy to clean what a joy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Machine

Date:January 3, 2013
The first clue is shipping weight, 70#. Operation is simple and straightforward. Preparation is key ie: cook your jerky in an oven before you attempt to dry it(this is a drying machine, not an oven). Lighting is LED and adequate. I had no dripping what-so-ever and can not imagine how a person could short out the machine with liquid. The bottom inside is channeled into a removable drain tray holding 14 oz. The electrical requirement is 12 GA wire and a 20 A circuit which is how I built. The jerky looked and tasted professional(I have their jerky cutter-fine tool too). I'm anxious to work up a trail mix and expect excellent results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:January 3, 2013
You will not be disappointed with this. I have made over 40 lbs of jerky already. I have made jerky from whole muscle and ground. The ground jerky using the the jerky blaster came out great and I didn't have to rotate any racks cooked evenly. The whole muscle jerky needed to be rotated and watched the last 20 minutes, but came out awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great dehydrator

Date:December 27, 2012
Got this for my husband for Christmas and he had jerky drying by afternoon. We love this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Issues from the get-go - poorly written manual

Date:December 20, 2012
Ordered online and received the 80 liter unit promptly. The LED lights on the left side do not work. There is a crack in the opening handle and the holes are too big for my needs. So, I will need to contact customer support to get replacement lights and door handle and ask why this unit was obviously and specifically designed for jerky and other big stuff and not outfitted with fine mesh screens or trays for fruit leather.
The "recipes" do not include any details to drying temperature or time and are, therefore, useless. I will look online for recipes that include details. It is a quality machine and will serve its perpose - but, at an expense of my time and effort that could be avoided by providing a better manual and recipe guide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 312