Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(323 Reviews) 323
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 323 reviews
5 Stars
228
4 Stars
59
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Star
10
296 out of 323(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Impressed

Date:January 6, 2014
I spent several days trying to decide which dehydrator I wanted (80L or 160L). I decided to make the trip to Cabellas to compare the two in person.
I ended up buying to 80L only because the 160L wouldn't fit in my car. Both of these dehydrators are huge.
I got the dehydrator, got it put together ( the legs and the trays) and immediately had to try it out making 15 pounds of beef jerky. It turned out good but, I dried it too long. I should of been checking it more often. I let it run for 7 hours. I think 6 would of probably done it. It was still good though.
The second thing I tried was fruit roll ups. I wasn't sure how these were going to turn out because I had never tried doing anything like this before.
I didn't have to rotate the trays. The appearance of the machine is top notch. For the size of this machine it is actually quiet compared to some of the smaller round dehydrators. The lights are kind of a joke. You can't really see your food very well but, it looks cool at night.
I would say the only thing that would make this dehydrator any better is if the fan and heater were in the back of the machine instead of the bottom so you didn't have the little squares cut out in the middle of your racks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Wonderful

Date:December 31, 2013
Gave this as a gift, my son loved it. It works great. Heats good. set and go then wait till the jerky is ready to eat. The jerky had a better overall taste than when cooked in the little dryers. Also got the slicer as a present and that made a difference with all the meat being sliced the same. I would recommend this to anyone it does a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:December 23, 2013
I've had my 80L Dehydrator for about 1 1/2 years. I have made countless batches of jerky and am very happy with this product.
I do rotate and turn the racks 1/2 way thru the cycle, but I don't thint that is unreasonable.
Clean up is easy as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:December 18, 2013
I have used the dehydrator three times now and it has been great. I love the timer on it. The temp controls
keep right on the button. I had put a thermometer in just to check, and it stayed within 4 to 5 degrees. The racks seem strong and are real easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HOT DIGGITY DAWG!

Date:December 9, 2013
Just purchased the 80L model, and its awesome. I bought the drying screens with it and they leave virtually no clean up. I've had it for 3 days and I've already done 2 1/2 deer. This machine is a beast! Don't waist your money on any of the other large capacity units, buy the cabelas.... It cooks in a little over half the time of the other commercial units. Drying screens are a must, if you don't want any waist. Can't go wrong with this one....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great dehydrator

Date:December 3, 2013
So far we have dried fruits and made beef jerky. The dehydrator works as advertised. It is not as loud as some on the market, but it not the quietest either. I do find that it works better than any of the quieter ones I have seen in use. Took about 12 hours to dehydrate whole muscle jerky on 4 racks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good job

Date:November 24, 2013
my husband bought this for me as I wanted a non plastic one....I went out and bought the book dehydrating for dummies...its great to have with this..( a small manual is given but you will want more)...the unit is large and fits a ton. some people complain about it not reaching temperature...I also found it took awhile. I did what one reviewer did and placed a large magnet over one of the exhaust holes. that worked well.and the temp climbed and held steady....I have done jerky and fruits. they came out great. it is a loud unit..i run it mainly when I am at work.it sounds almost like a hairdryer running but not quite that loud..( I come home for lunch so can rotate and check it)...it heats my dining room when running...I checked how much electricity it should be using and if my figures are correct its 18 cents an hour. it is running well and I like the solidness of this unit. it is easy clean up...I did put tinfoil at the bottom but find if you blot the jerky before hand there really isn't a mess..i didn't give it 5 stars because of the temp issue and the loudness of the unit...would I buy again, yes. does it do a good job, yes. hopefully it last a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not pleased

Date:November 20, 2013
I have the large dehydrator I bought at the beginning of the year and finally got to use it in october.It is not what I expected or as it is advertised.The top trays dry before the bottom and causes a rotation disruption;the frongt of the trays do not dry at the same rate as the back of the trays,causing another rotation and disruption;time is excessively wasted sorting trays that have to be sorted ,rotated and changed.
It does meet the capacity that is stated and that is a plus.I would not have bought it if I though or knew that it would dehydrate unevenly as it does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wonderful dehydrator!

Date:November 19, 2013
Did my first batch of deer jerky in this machine. It did a wonderful job. I would recommend this unit fully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Top notch

Date:November 19, 2013
I have the 80 and it works amazingly well. Watch your drying times and this is a lot more powerful then most dehydrators. We have done meats and fruits and have people asking for more.. Well worth the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great dehydrator

Date:November 12, 2013
this thing will dry twice the amount of jerky than my old dehydrator and in about half the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice.

Date:November 12, 2013
Makes quick work of jerky. Seems to work very well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed.

Date:October 29, 2013
I have been looking at dehydrators for a long time and picked the 80L from cabelas for a few reason 1 the door 2 the light. 3 the size. I have used it twice and have been very pleased I made a batch of apples and a full batch of deer jerky. First the size is great that thing will hold alot. The light is a joke can't see much whish they would make it better and more of them. The door is great can see in with out opening and loosing heat. Also the controls are sooo easy and I love the way they tell you what is going on as you dehydrat. I would give it a 5 star if it had better lighting which would really be handy. Now if it just last. I wish cabela's would let you back on here to update your post after you use the product for awhile. Good or bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great with Huge Volume

Date:October 29, 2013
I've only had it for a couple of months, so I can't speak to the longevity of the unit, but it works great. The volume is cavernous. I did a 20lb load of venison jerky and it only filled half of the unit. The temperature holds pretty close to the setting and with the timer, it's pretty foolproof. I usually rotate the racks once or twice, but that's it. Other than that, put the meat in and wait for 12-18 hours for it to finish.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Totally awsome dehydrator

Date:October 26, 2013
Purchased the 80 liter dehydrator in October 2013 after searching online for months at various websites to find the most efficient one on the market. The cabela's commercial food dehydrator I found was my all around choice that I wanted to purchase. I went to the cabela's store in Green Bay Wisconsin to purchase it along with the extension service plan. We made several batches of deer jerky and two batches of turkey jerky, what a great dehydrator. No having to switch trays from top to bottom or turning them around. It dehydrates evenly and every batch came out just the way we like it. I read all the other reviews and found a few tips that I tried and they worked perfectly. Like the one that stated to put aluminum foil on the bottom to catch any drippings. worked perfect. The best advice I can give to anyone thinking about buying one of these dehydrators is once you get it home Read the manual and stick with it, and you won't have any one single problem. Oh by the way buy the screens for the dehydrator they are a must and they work fantastic and a no mess clean up. Note they do like to slide around on the metal trays when putting the jerky on them to dehydrate, I use to small bag clips to hold it on the tray. If you want some good tasting jerky I use the Lem Backwoods Jerky pre-mixes that you can buy at Fleet Farm stores. Follow the direction on the packages and you will love the taste, you can get it in several flavors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not entirely happy

Date:October 23, 2013
We bought this product 3 years ago for jerky. It works wonderful and is easy to use. The only problem is that after 3 years the trays have begun to rust. Not a little but major rust. Beware that replacing the trays is almost as expensive as buying a new machine. Very unhappy that the trays did not last any longer than they did. We make a lot of jerky every year and this was really disappointing. We took care of the trays as suggested and they still rusted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:October 8, 2013
Very pleased with this product. All racks dry the same good air circulation and temp. is very even thru out. Have dried a lot of fruit and jerky since purchase. Non stick racks work and clean up great. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to dry food.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2013
We tried several and found this one met our expectations. It is not real loud but not something you want in your livingroom. Large capacity with trays that are durable. We LOVE it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

commercial dehydrator

Date:August 20, 2013
After reading the reviews on other dehydrators and learning about the plastic ranks ,I was glad I spent the extra money for the commercial model It wasn,t the biggest one out there but sure does the trick.I would recommend getting the sheets at the same time for the smaller stuff.Everything we have made so far turned out great ,set the timer the temp and done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very surprised

Date:July 23, 2013
Wow I was surprised about this dehydrator. I was bigger an better than I thought it would be. Thanks Cabelas for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 323