Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.495 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(297 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 297 reviews
5 Stars
209
4 Stars
54
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
273 out of 297(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
66 Questions | 124 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A good purchase

Date:January 8, 2013
Can do 15# at a time easy to clean what a joy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Machine

Date:January 3, 2013
The first clue is shipping weight, 70#. Operation is simple and straightforward. Preparation is key ie: cook your jerky in an oven before you attempt to dry it(this is a drying machine, not an oven). Lighting is LED and adequate. I had no dripping what-so-ever and can not imagine how a person could short out the machine with liquid. The bottom inside is channeled into a removable drain tray holding 14 oz. The electrical requirement is 12 GA wire and a 20 A circuit which is how I built. The jerky looked and tasted professional(I have their jerky cutter-fine tool too). I'm anxious to work up a trail mix and expect excellent results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:January 3, 2013
You will not be disappointed with this. I have made over 40 lbs of jerky already. I have made jerky from whole muscle and ground. The ground jerky using the the jerky blaster came out great and I didn't have to rotate any racks cooked evenly. The whole muscle jerky needed to be rotated and watched the last 20 minutes, but came out awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great dehydrator

Date:December 27, 2012
Got this for my husband for Christmas and he had jerky drying by afternoon. We love this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Issues from the get-go - poorly written manual

Date:December 20, 2012
Ordered online and received the 80 liter unit promptly. The LED lights on the left side do not work. There is a crack in the opening handle and the holes are too big for my needs. So, I will need to contact customer support to get replacement lights and door handle and ask why this unit was obviously and specifically designed for jerky and other big stuff and not outfitted with fine mesh screens or trays for fruit leather.
The "recipes" do not include any details to drying temperature or time and are, therefore, useless. I will look online for recipes that include details. It is a quality machine and will serve its perpose - but, at an expense of my time and effort that could be avoided by providing a better manual and recipe guide.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabela's commerical food dehydrators

Date:December 19, 2012
another great product from cabela's. made vension jerky for two days.all my samplers said,the jerky turned out great.can't wait to try my hand at fruit and vegitables.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

LOVE IT

Date:December 18, 2012
ordered this dehydrator a couple weeks ago and it arrived in about 3 days, but sadly it had a bad dent in the top and back, so i called cabela's and they sent another one out the same day. the second one arrived in perfect condition. i have used it to dehydrate, apples, pineapple and make fruit leather and jerky. it performs perfectly i am totally happy with it and would recommend it to anyone wanting a dehydrator. thanks cabela's for a great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product terrible customer response!

Date:December 15, 2012
This is a great big dehydrating machine. I love the capacity, speed of drying and clean up. I do have a beef with the size of the screens. The openings are too big for smaller fruits like grapes and ground jerky sticks fall through some times. Cabelas response is to sell some cheap plastic screens that don't fit and have to be wired down. You would think by now they would offer a smaller mesh stainless rack as an optional item. I could not give five stars based on this lack of functionality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

VERY GOOD AND EASY TO USE

Date:December 12, 2012
I was very pleased with this unit as I had approx. 15 lbs of meat that we made into jerky. It did a quick job of it and I would say it is a great unit. I would say buy if you are the least bit interested.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:December 12, 2012
I am truly happy with this purchase. It worked well, clean up was easy, and we are ready for for the next batch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:December 11, 2012
really glad i spent xtra money on this one makes jerky in less than 4 hours cant wait for growing season see how it does with fruit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this dehydrator

Date:December 10, 2012
I recieved this for a Christmas present even though its not Christmas she wanted jerky to bring to our daughter in Flordia at Christmas. So I bought me 15 lbs of top round london broil (on sale) sliced thin and marinated over night. I've read the reviews on this machine the guy who said the bottom rotted out probally never cleaned it. I found a solution one review said he used tin foil to line the bottom it's a good solution. I'm a meat cutter and in my store in the cooking isle where the Aluminum pans are there are flat pans for catching drips when baking .Thease pans fit almost perfect on the bottom of the 80 liter dehydrator. There is about an inch on both sides that the pans won't cover so when u load up your trays keep that in mind. you get two pans for 2.99 (mine were by one get one)so i got 4 pans. I used one under the trays to catch the dripings wile loading the trays and putting the trays in the machine. the aluminum is light enough that you can trace the defuser and cut out its shape then the pan fits flat and protects the inside bottom of the dehydrator. you can wash the pans for reuse or toss and put new ones they do wash easy. The dehydrator works great couldn't ask for more no problems at all. Yes the holes are big but if you do your jerky right there is no problum. I will buy the plastic trays some day but for doing fruit and veggies. Very happy with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:December 9, 2012
Ordered the 80L model, shipping was quick. Packaging was the original box which had multiple holes through the box. Unit was not damaged and works fine. The directions are old as the new unit has some changes on the feet for the dehydrator. The unit does not sit level. The manufacture changed the corner bracket where the feet attach and now include a washer to make up for the bracket thickness. Only problem is it needs 2 washers, not one to sit level and not rock.
The unit works fine and heats up well. It will goto 160 degrees quickly with little food in it, but once you load it completely full of say 25lbs of jerky, it will take hours to get to 160. The inside floor of the dehydrator does not slope correctly as grease along the outer edges will run along the outer edges instead of flowing towards the center and into the grease catcher. The lights are not great as they are placed in only one height in the back of the unit and will only light up 2-3 racks. The lights need to be staggered or LED light bars would be better.
Overall, quite satisfied with the unit. Jerky comes out great as long as you rotate the food from top to bottom and turn the racks around once in a while. I would recommend buying a thermometer to put inside to get a more accurate temp reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very happy

Date:December 6, 2012
I compared my Dehydrator to a couple of friends dehydrators. I feel that my purchase was better than any of theirs. I have made 4 batches of Jerky. The family loves my new toy. Completely happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Dehydrator

Date:November 29, 2012
We are very impressed with the quality of this machine after using the round ones for a lot of years with the plastic trays that brake after a couple months of use. We raise turkeys and make turkey jerky and deer jerky year round so it will get a work out. I can't believe how fast it arrived, ordered it Sat, it was here Wed night. It is larger in person than the picture looks so I need to build a cabinet for the wife's kitchen for it to go on. I will update this review after it runs a few months. We did play with it last night a little and it comes up to temp quick, 5 minutes or so, and we like the way the display functions and the ease of operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As expected

Date:November 27, 2012
No reason I see not to have one of these, 18-20 lbs. of meet done every ~5 hours, consistant and does a great job!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:November 26, 2012
This dehydrator is great! It saves me so much time since it holds so much food. Love all the features. The trays are easy to clean so cleanup is quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took Two, But We Got It Right

Date:November 26, 2012
First one would not reach top temp.
No problem replacing unit. Great customer service. Things like this happen. Cabela's backed their merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice dehydrator

Date:November 20, 2012
A good item. Seems to take longer to dehydrate things than recipes usually call for but lots of room, nice shelfs. You need to order screens to go over shelfs for many things. Biggest drawback is the noise. It is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works so far.

Date:November 19, 2012
Had one round of jerkey and worked very well. Fit and Finish are first rate. Like the display and lighting inside is just cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 297