Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
265 out of 288(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:December 12, 2012
I am truly happy with this purchase. It worked well, clean up was easy, and we are ready for for the next batch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:December 11, 2012
really glad i spent xtra money on this one makes jerky in less than 4 hours cant wait for growing season see how it does with fruit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Love this dehydrator

Date:December 10, 2012
I recieved this for a Christmas present even though its not Christmas she wanted jerky to bring to our daughter in Flordia at Christmas. So I bought me 15 lbs of top round london broil (on sale) sliced thin and marinated over night. I've read the reviews on this machine the guy who said the bottom rotted out probally never cleaned it. I found a solution one review said he used tin foil to line the bottom it's a good solution. I'm a meat cutter and in my store in the cooking isle where the Aluminum pans are there are flat pans for catching drips when baking .Thease pans fit almost perfect on the bottom of the 80 liter dehydrator. There is about an inch on both sides that the pans won't cover so when u load up your trays keep that in mind. you get two pans for 2.99 (mine were by one get one)so i got 4 pans. I used one under the trays to catch the dripings wile loading the trays and putting the trays in the machine. the aluminum is light enough that you can trace the defuser and cut out its shape then the pan fits flat and protects the inside bottom of the dehydrator. you can wash the pans for reuse or toss and put new ones they do wash easy. The dehydrator works great couldn't ask for more no problems at all. Yes the holes are big but if you do your jerky right there is no problum. I will buy the plastic trays some day but for doing fruit and veggies. Very happy with it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:December 9, 2012
Ordered the 80L model, shipping was quick. Packaging was the original box which had multiple holes through the box. Unit was not damaged and works fine. The directions are old as the new unit has some changes on the feet for the dehydrator. The unit does not sit level. The manufacture changed the corner bracket where the feet attach and now include a washer to make up for the bracket thickness. Only problem is it needs 2 washers, not one to sit level and not rock.
The unit works fine and heats up well. It will goto 160 degrees quickly with little food in it, but once you load it completely full of say 25lbs of jerky, it will take hours to get to 160. The inside floor of the dehydrator does not slope correctly as grease along the outer edges will run along the outer edges instead of flowing towards the center and into the grease catcher. The lights are not great as they are placed in only one height in the back of the unit and will only light up 2-3 racks. The lights need to be staggered or LED light bars would be better.
Overall, quite satisfied with the unit. Jerky comes out great as long as you rotate the food from top to bottom and turn the racks around once in a while. I would recommend buying a thermometer to put inside to get a more accurate temp reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very happy

Date:December 6, 2012
I compared my Dehydrator to a couple of friends dehydrators. I feel that my purchase was better than any of theirs. I have made 4 batches of Jerky. The family loves my new toy. Completely happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Dehydrator

Date:November 29, 2012
We are very impressed with the quality of this machine after using the round ones for a lot of years with the plastic trays that brake after a couple months of use. We raise turkeys and make turkey jerky and deer jerky year round so it will get a work out. I can't believe how fast it arrived, ordered it Sat, it was here Wed night. It is larger in person than the picture looks so I need to build a cabinet for the wife's kitchen for it to go on. I will update this review after it runs a few months. We did play with it last night a little and it comes up to temp quick, 5 minutes or so, and we like the way the display functions and the ease of operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

As expected

Date:November 27, 2012
No reason I see not to have one of these, 18-20 lbs. of meet done every ~5 hours, consistant and does a great job!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wyoming
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:November 26, 2012
This dehydrator is great! It saves me so much time since it holds so much food. Love all the features. The trays are easy to clean so cleanup is quick.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took Two, But We Got It Right

Date:November 26, 2012
First one would not reach top temp.
No problem replacing unit. Great customer service. Things like this happen. Cabela's backed their merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice dehydrator

Date:November 20, 2012
A good item. Seems to take longer to dehydrate things than recipes usually call for but lots of room, nice shelfs. You need to order screens to go over shelfs for many things. Biggest drawback is the noise. It is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works so far.

Date:November 19, 2012
Had one round of jerkey and worked very well. Fit and Finish are first rate. Like the display and lighting inside is just cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great dehydrator

Date:November 19, 2012
The dehydrator worked very well drying jerky and apples. Easy to clean and plenty of rack space for large quantities of jerky. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really like it

Date:November 19, 2012
Have made 4 full batches of jerky in the past 4 weeks--and we are out again. The only reason this is not 5 stars is that shelves are really close together, especially when you have the round style jerky instead of the flat. It is well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

160L Not Up to Snuff for Cabelas "Legendary" Stuff

Date:November 4, 2012
I love the capacity of this dehydrator, however, if you ever need parts count on at lease 2 weeks to get your parts. Next, it does not heat to what is indicated on digital display. It can be off by as much as 20 degrees and after 17 hours it was still off by 12 degrees using a FLUKE remote thermometer to verify temps. You will need to rotate the trays at least twice to get an even dry quality. Remember the time left on your drying cycle, when you stop it to rotate the trays thre is no memory function.
What I do like is the capacity. I can put an entire case of apples in the 160L unit and this eliminates multiple setup and take down cycles. Drying is very uneven back to front sides of the racks and top to bottom. You must rotate front to back and top to bottom over the 17 hrs of drying time it takes for a full load of apples.
Lasly, the parts problem is terrible. Two plus weeks of turnaround time is simply not acceptable. I had a heater go out and it took two weeks to get the part with 3-4 calls to customer service. Build quality on this dehydrator is very cheap and flimsy. Screws strip out very easily when trying to effect any repairs or parts replacment.
I have attached a photo of the poor connection quality control that caused the heater to fail and it can't be repaired, you have to get a new heater.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:October 31, 2012
My wife loves this dehydrator. Has been using the small round dehydrators for years. Is totally pleased with this model and is running constantly with vegitables, fruits and jerky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfactory

Date:October 16, 2012
We purchased the 80 l. commercial dehydrator because we wanted make dried fruit and jerky. We were a little surprised when we took it out of the box and there was a dent on the top of it. Then when we tried it the first time we found that the digital display was not working properly (one leg of the number did not display). But Cabela's customer service was very helpful and shipped us a new one while we returned the first one. It works great. So far we've dried apples, pears, banana, pineapples, & jalepeno peppers. We were very happy with the results of all of them, and plan to try making jerky in the future as well. The only down-side of the dehydrator is that the fan is rather loud. But since we use it in the basement that hasn't been too much of an issue. We would recommend this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dehydrators

Date:October 16, 2012
works amazing from meats to fruits to peppers and everything we have tried. Dries evenly. Just load it up set the time and temp and come back when the time is up. Over 200lbs of venison jerky with excellent results.
Biggest problem is getting more stuff to put in it !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a real dehydrator

Date:October 2, 2012
simply put, a REAL dehydrator, does what is supposed to do, does it very well and is a good example of a real good cabela`s product, dont waste your time and money on the plastic out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Real Deal

Date:September 12, 2012
I've had those round plastic dehydrators in the past, which worked, but took a long time and were a pain to rotate all of the shelves. This unit, however, is the "real deal". Doing up fifteen pounds of jerky is no problem, and in about four hours. I shopped around for a commercial dehydrator and this one is the best for the money in my opinion. I'm very happy with it. It's easy to use and you can "feel" the quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

happy jerky maker

Date:September 4, 2012
i am happy with my Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrato
but i am very disappointed that u have to by the jerky trays separate ....cause i am a jerky person and i went to make and my jerky and it fell threw the trays that come with it ...i almost was going to take it back to cabela's but my wife talk me out of it ...the jerky trays cost almost 50..something like that so ..for the cost of this dehydrator they should have came with the dehydrato u with think ...had to melt screen to make my jerky and it work out okay for now ...and it is fast drying out ...so less hours ..then other dryers...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 288