Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 278 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
9
257 out of 278(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 61 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works so far.

Date:November 19, 2012
Had one round of jerkey and worked very well. Fit and Finish are first rate. Like the display and lighting inside is just cool.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 62 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great dehydrator

Date:November 19, 2012
The dehydrator worked very well drying jerky and apples. Easy to clean and plenty of rack space for large quantities of jerky. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really like it

Date:November 19, 2012
Have made 4 full batches of jerky in the past 4 weeks--and we are out again. The only reason this is not 5 stars is that shelves are really close together, especially when you have the round style jerky instead of the flat. It is well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 64 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

160L Not Up to Snuff for Cabelas "Legendary" Stuff

Date:November 4, 2012
I love the capacity of this dehydrator, however, if you ever need parts count on at lease 2 weeks to get your parts. Next, it does not heat to what is indicated on digital display. It can be off by as much as 20 degrees and after 17 hours it was still off by 12 degrees using a FLUKE remote thermometer to verify temps. You will need to rotate the trays at least twice to get an even dry quality. Remember the time left on your drying cycle, when you stop it to rotate the trays thre is no memory function.
What I do like is the capacity. I can put an entire case of apples in the 160L unit and this eliminates multiple setup and take down cycles. Drying is very uneven back to front sides of the racks and top to bottom. You must rotate front to back and top to bottom over the 17 hrs of drying time it takes for a full load of apples.
Lasly, the parts problem is terrible. Two plus weeks of turnaround time is simply not acceptable. I had a heater go out and it took two weeks to get the part with 3-4 calls to customer service. Build quality on this dehydrator is very cheap and flimsy. Screws strip out very easily when trying to effect any repairs or parts replacment.
I have attached a photo of the poor connection quality control that caused the heater to fail and it can't be repaired, you have to get a new heater.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Commercial Dehydrator

Date:October 31, 2012
My wife loves this dehydrator. Has been using the small round dehydrators for years. Is totally pleased with this model and is running constantly with vegitables, fruits and jerky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfactory

Date:October 16, 2012
We purchased the 80 l. commercial dehydrator because we wanted make dried fruit and jerky. We were a little surprised when we took it out of the box and there was a dent on the top of it. Then when we tried it the first time we found that the digital display was not working properly (one leg of the number did not display). But Cabela's customer service was very helpful and shipped us a new one while we returned the first one. It works great. So far we've dried apples, pears, banana, pineapples, & jalepeno peppers. We were very happy with the results of all of them, and plan to try making jerky in the future as well. The only down-side of the dehydrator is that the fan is rather loud. But since we use it in the basement that hasn't been too much of an issue. We would recommend this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dehydrators

Date:October 16, 2012
works amazing from meats to fruits to peppers and everything we have tried. Dries evenly. Just load it up set the time and temp and come back when the time is up. Over 200lbs of venison jerky with excellent results.
Biggest problem is getting more stuff to put in it !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

a real dehydrator

Date:October 2, 2012
simply put, a REAL dehydrator, does what is supposed to do, does it very well and is a good example of a real good cabela`s product, dont waste your time and money on the plastic out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 69 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Real Deal

Date:September 12, 2012
I've had those round plastic dehydrators in the past, which worked, but took a long time and were a pain to rotate all of the shelves. This unit, however, is the "real deal". Doing up fifteen pounds of jerky is no problem, and in about four hours. I shopped around for a commercial dehydrator and this one is the best for the money in my opinion. I'm very happy with it. It's easy to use and you can "feel" the quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 70 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

happy jerky maker

Date:September 4, 2012
i am happy with my Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrato
but i am very disappointed that u have to by the jerky trays separate ....cause i am a jerky person and i went to make and my jerky and it fell threw the trays that come with it ...i almost was going to take it back to cabela's but my wife talk me out of it ...the jerky trays cost almost 50..something like that so ..for the cost of this dehydrator they should have came with the dehydrato u with think ...had to melt screen to make my jerky and it work out okay for now ...and it is fast drying out ...so less hours ..then other dryers...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 71 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The perfect product!

Date:August 31, 2012
I have been making beef jerky for almost 20 years. I bought this large dehydrator about 7 years ago. There is much less rotating of trays and product with this than with traditional round stackable dehydrators. I can usually load about 25 pounds of raw meat on the heavy duty racks at at a time. Drying time is 6-8 hours usually, but I like my meat sliced thin,
The digital timer and temp settings make things unbelievable easy.
To clean the racks, I take out the top rack of my dishwasher and they fit perfectly.
The housing is actually very light. It is easy to move aound as long as the racks are not inside. The racks are what makes it heavy.
You wont regret making this purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: British Columbia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sy

Date:August 28, 2012
this product works great only had it two weeks but it has worked hard and no problems. just remember to order the fruit sheets for making fruit leather and the screens for small things. they don't come with the product which is disappointing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 73 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Purchased 2- 160 units, cooked once, returned both

Date:June 1, 2012
The unit dried very unevenly and very slow. We loaded it with 25 lbs of meat and ended up finishing it in my Nesco units. Very disappointed in the functionality of this machine. Each tray had dry sides and some trays were not dry at all. We expected much more from Cabela's. One of the units looked like a fork lift hit the back of it when it arrived. The unit looks great but we are not a fan based on performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 74 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

No need to look anywhere else

Date:May 22, 2012
If you want a dehydrator that works great, click add to cart!! The only thing you need to consider is what size. If it is for personal use, the 80 is probably enough. The 160 holds a whole lot!!! To put into perspective, if you sliced 12 london broils (yes 12) into jerky thickness (1/8") and laid each strip next to each other - filling up each rack - thats what the 160 holds. The only negative comment would be that if you load up the 160 completely with marinated jerky strips, you will need to rotate the racks (or turn the racks) once or more to get an even dryness. One tip, line the bottom of the unit with tinfoil to save yourself a lot of scrubbing!! (don't cover the hole in the center) Hats off to cabelas for providing a top notch unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 75 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So much better then the cheaper units~

Date:May 16, 2012
My parents bought this for us at Christmas this year. We had been using a mid price unit from a local big store. This unit cut our drying time down to 1/4 of what it was before. It also seems to do it fuller... The one thing I do recommend is getting the netted liners for it because the holes are so big most things will fall through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 76 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

just one great item

Date:April 16, 2012
my wife bought this dehydrator for me last year and I think its just about paid for itself.I have made all types of jerky on it and just cant seem to keep enough on hand .I am so pleased with it I am planning to buy the 160 just so I can enjoy some of the jerky Im making since my kids seem to eat it as fast as I make it.Once again this is a great item for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 77 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I have tried

Date:April 4, 2012
I have tried many of the lesser models such as the round plastic ones and found them less than adeqaute. This one is professional. It does a superior job on dried fruit and vegetables and makes great jerky. Buy it once and buy it right and you will not be disappointed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 78 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First one

Date:April 2, 2012
This is my first dehydrator and attempt at drying food or making jerky. The unit is easy to setup although the included directions were not appropriate for the supplied parts, but there are only four legs and one washer to install, so it isn't that difficult.
The operating instructions were clear, but it would have been nice to have more recipes and information as to how to dry fruit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 79 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: STATESVILLE
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TRY IT YOU WILL LIKE IT

Date:March 18, 2012
HAVE JUST COOKED THE 1ST RUN OF BEEF JERKY IN MY CABELAS 160L DEHYDRATOR. WHAT A UNIT TO TURN OUT LARGE BATCHES OF BEEF JERKY. HAVE READ ALL THE REVIEWS ON DEHYDRATORS AND NOTICED THE #1 COMPLAINT IS SWITCHING TRAYS AND RE-ARRANGING THE MEAT. WELL THERE IS NO DEHYDRATOR IN THIS PRICE RANGE THAT WILL NOT REQUIRE SWITCHING TRAYS, BUT THIS UNIT IS AS CLOSE TO PREFECTION AND I HAVE EVER USED. COOKED 25 POUNDS OF WET JERKY IN 4 1/2 HOURS NETTED OUT 13 POUNDS FINISHED OF PERFECT JERKY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 80 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrater

Date:March 13, 2012
I bought this 80L dehydrator, with caution, just due to the fact that some reviews were consistent reporting similar problems. But, I needed a dehydrator large enough to do 40# of meat to make jerky.
I easily made 40# of jerky and still had more room to spare. The racks came away very clean and required little effort. The complaints about the open spaces in the rack and in the center I found to be no problem at all. These openings have a purpose and I was able to work around it.
I did find the temperature did not come up to 165 degrees as advertised, but I was using this in a basement at barely 40 degrees ambient temperature, but the dehydrator made it to 145 degrees and dried the meat adequately anyway.
I was used to dehydrating my meat on one of those round dehydrators and it took almost 3 days to do 5 lbs and you had to rotate trays every 4-5 hours.. This 80L dehydrator from Cabela's did over 8 times more meat and completed the task in about 7 hours. I did rotate the racks, but it was such a big improvement over the round, plastic dehydrator I was using before that this inconvenience was not much of one. And I only had to rotate the racks once at the halfway point.
I've only had this dehydrator for 1 month, but so far, I'm impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 61-80 of 278