Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,400 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.466 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(337 Reviews) 337
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 337 reviews
5 Stars
235
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
9
1 Star
14
306 out of 337(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
81 Questions | 174 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 41 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2006

80L COMMERCIAL DEHYDRATOR

By
Location: BASSETT NE
I process approx. 1,000 lbs of beef a year for jerky. My first unit was purchased in Sep. of 2000 and it lasted just a little over 14 months when the fan went out on it. I returned it to the Kearney store where they replaced it free of charge. My 2nd unit lasted 5 months when it not only blew the fuse to the unit but caused a fire where the fuse box is conected. Again I returned it to the Kearney store where AGAIN it was replace at no cost to me. I like the unit, it beats anything that I have had in the past and were it not for Cabela's wonderfull customer service I would quit making jerky. Thanks Calela's you and your staff are OUTSTANDING!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2016

Good for garden fare

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have used this in my house for the last 1.5 months and it has performed well in every way except that it never once has had its heat up into the 150 degree zone while trying to make beef jerky. While I have very little experience in jerky making all the reading I have done says that the heat should get up to 150 and 160 to make sure no bacteria. I have heated my meat in the oven before placing it in the dehydrator and it performs well. But I do regret that it tends to hover from 136 to 144 degrees. All in all it was mostly purchased for the garden so I will be excited to try it out once summer has come.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2015

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the 80L about 2 years ago. After using a smaller round unit with 8 trays I was looking forward to being able to load more meat and I haven't been disappointed.
I have noticed that the unit wobbles unless I place something under one of the legs, this is disappointing considering the price point of the unit but not enough to make me regret the purchase but it did cause me to lower my rating from 5 stars to 4 stars. It holds a LOT of meat and my jerky is ready fast. Like most units it isn't as even as you'd like but I've yet to find one that DID heat evenly.
I've read complaints that it isn't as fast as their old round units but I disagree. How fast it dries depends on how thick the meat is and how much is in the dehydrator, the more meat in the unit the longer it takes. Also, if you're using marinated meat the wetter the meat the longer it will take, but that's just common sense. I've also read complaints that the unit does not get up to the temperature it's set for, well it gets very close. Again, the more meat the longer it takes to get the ambient temperature up. Also, opening the door will cause the temperature to drop in a hurry.
The holes in the trays are the only real complaint I have. They're fairly large and not good for small pieces of meat. I've read that the drying screens have some fairly considerable flaws so that may or may not be an answer.
All in all I love this machine! I can load 15 or so lbs of meat at one time and if the meat is close to done when I need to leave or go to bed I can set the timer. Also, my old unit only went to 145 degrees so the higher temperature is helpful. On top of everything else it's a great looking kitchen appliance!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2015

good, not great

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've owned two 80L units. Great capacity, time is nice. But!! neither ever got up to set temp. Both had airflow issues, right half didn't dry nearly as well as left. Both seem to take much longer then the previous last machine i had.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2015

Big batch of Jerky

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Used my dehydrator last night for the first time. It is very easy to use. Set set your timer and the heat you want it to be at and you are good to go. Only thing that need to be improved on this product is the temperature to go up to 170 deg.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Fast and easy

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is a great dehydrator. Fast and easy setup. The only problem is the temp setting is off 5 to 10 degrees
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Hardware issue

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I had one issue with the unit , when assembled as per instructions (which is just installing the units feet ) it didn't sit level , I went to the hardware store and got a couple of washers and a longer screw, an easy fix. The unit holds a lot 3X the amount of a regular dehydrator ! Works great and is easy to operate. You can just set the time and temp. and walk away. No turning or moving of trays.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 31, 2014

So far the best

By
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Love the space,No cheap plastic,Dries fast.
Top shelf a li'l tight,Little noisy,but thats because its
working. Very simple to use,put the product in,punch in
a time and temp,and forget about it,Great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 11, 2014

Great Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I so far have been making jerky. I start it in an electric smoker and finish in this dehydrator. It does an excellent job. I am looking forward to doing other meats. Temp holds well, timer is a must.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 2, 2014

STRUGGLES to reach safe temp in cooler enviroment

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
52 degrees in my garage where my market is and the unit is STRUGGLING to reach the safe desired temp needed to safely dry the meat. After 1hr and 25min inside temp is at 144Deg which really disappoints me ( I had to turn the heat on in my garage to get the temp to rise) The lights are pretty to look at but really are for SHOW. Works GREAT in warmer environment or setting. But having temp issues in cooler environments.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 1, 2014

Second one worked

By
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I was very disappointed with the first unit. I plugged it in and ensured that it got up to temperature. I then prepared 15 lbs. of venison jerky and loaded the dehydrator. To my amazement the unit would only run a few minutes and flash an error code and beep.
The second unit came and performed as expected although it does have a cracked display do to shipping. I wasn't about to go through the hassle of sending another one back and waiting for a third unit.
The dehydrator works as intended and Cabela's customer service is amazing!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 12, 2014

Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The unit is shipped without the feet attached, the first thing I did was pull it from the box and set it on my kitchen counter and slid it over, because the feet are not attached my counter was scratched. I also would like to have seen tighter spacing on the shelves, many items of my first project fell through.
It is easy to operate appears to be well made and works good
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2014

Good Purchase but wasn't completly satisfied

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The unit also arrived with a small dent towards the top, rear of the unit. Upon placing the foot pegs onto the bottom of the hydrator I found the unit was uneven. The bottom of the unit, front door hinge, was bent causing the unit to be unbalanced. No other problems as of yet. This unit was a lot of money and I wished the item would have arrived in better condition. This commercial grade dehydrator (80l) worked well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 9, 2014

well worth it

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My wife and I decided to give this dehydrator a try and after we received the unit, we were pleased at the condition it came. This weekend we made 10 lbs of beef jerky and 10 lbs of dried apples and we also dried 3 kiwi and 1 pineapple and we are very happy. Great unit. Wor well. This unit even helped warm up the house. An added bonus in cold country. Quite pleased all around.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 5, 2014

awesome

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Glad I purchased this beast makes jerky a breeze wish it would have came with the screens will be getting some for summer fruits
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 27, 2014

Great product!

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the smaller model a couple of months ago and love it. The timer helps a lot when you can't stay and watch the jerky. I do wish the holes in the racks were a bit smaller or they sold an accessory to place on the racks so that the edge of the meat would not fall through.
The only other complaint I have is that after mounting the legs on the unit I have to slide a support under one side or it wobbles back and forth. Other than that it's everything I hoped it would be. I've been making jerky for over 20 years and this is definitely the best dehydrator I've tried!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014

Great machine

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I would of given it a five, but I had to buy the plastic sheets for trays because tray opening are to large. The plastic sheets solve the problem and clean up easy. I bought the smaller unit and am glad I did. Venison jerky was done in about 5.5 hours and I didn't pre cook it. I do let the hydrator run while I'm loading trays do to it takes time to get to temperature. Great unit. I have done both sliced and ground meat and took about the same amount of time. It did warm my basement about 10 degrees, kids were happy. Machine is a little loud, but to be that good it has to be.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2014

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is the first dehydrator that I have own it works great even though I am just learning ever thing i have done has come out good. clean up is easy the only thing I would of liked would of been drying times for different foods.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2014

Given as Gift

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I haven't heard how it works but my daughter was excited to get it for Christmas. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't any info on how to use it included with the unit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2013

good job

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
my husband bought this for me as I wanted a non plastic one....I went out and bought the book dehydrating for dummies...its great to have with this..( a small manual is given but you will want more)...the unit is large and fits a ton. some people complain about it not reaching temperature...I also found it took awhile. I did what one reviewer did and placed a large magnet over one of the exhaust holes. that worked well.and the temp climbed and held steady....I have done jerky and fruits. they came out great. it is a loud unit..i run it mainly when I am at work.it sounds almost like a hairdryer running but not quite that loud..( I come home for lunch so can rotate and check it)...it heats my dining room when running...I checked how much electricity it should be using and if my figures are correct its 18 cents an hour. it is running well and I like the solidness of this unit. it is easy clean up...I did put tinfoil at the bottom but find if you blot the jerky before hand there really isn't a mess..i didn't give it 5 stars because of the temp issue and the loudness of the unit...would I buy again, yes. does it do a good job, yes. hopefully it last a long time
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 337