Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
265 out of 288(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
62 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 41 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 7, 2014
This is the first dehydrator that I have own it works great even though I am just learning ever thing i have done has come out good. clean up is easy the only thing I would of liked would of been drying times for different foods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Given as Gift

Date:January 6, 2014
I haven't heard how it works but my daughter was excited to get it for Christmas. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't any info on how to use it included with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good job

Date:November 24, 2013
my husband bought this for me as I wanted a non plastic one....I went out and bought the book dehydrating for dummies...its great to have with this..( a small manual is given but you will want more)...the unit is large and fits a ton. some people complain about it not reaching temperature...I also found it took awhile. I did what one reviewer did and placed a large magnet over one of the exhaust holes. that worked well.and the temp climbed and held steady....I have done jerky and fruits. they came out great. it is a loud unit..i run it mainly when I am at work.it sounds almost like a hairdryer running but not quite that loud..( I come home for lunch so can rotate and check it)...it heats my dining room when running...I checked how much electricity it should be using and if my figures are correct its 18 cents an hour. it is running well and I like the solidness of this unit. it is easy clean up...I did put tinfoil at the bottom but find if you blot the jerky before hand there really isn't a mess..i didn't give it 5 stars because of the temp issue and the loudness of the unit...would I buy again, yes. does it do a good job, yes. hopefully it last a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed.

Date:October 29, 2013
I have been looking at dehydrators for a long time and picked the 80L from cabelas for a few reason 1 the door 2 the light. 3 the size. I have used it twice and have been very pleased I made a batch of apples and a full batch of deer jerky. First the size is great that thing will hold alot. The light is a joke can't see much whish they would make it better and more of them. The door is great can see in with out opening and loosing heat. Also the controls are sooo easy and I love the way they tell you what is going on as you dehydrat. I would give it a 5 star if it had better lighting which would really be handy. Now if it just last. I wish cabela's would let you back on here to update your post after you use the product for awhile. Good or bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2013
We tried several and found this one met our expectations. It is not real loud but not something you want in your livingroom. Large capacity with trays that are durable. We LOVE it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:January 3, 2013
You will not be disappointed with this. I have made over 40 lbs of jerky already. I have made jerky from whole muscle and ground. The ground jerky using the the jerky blaster came out great and I didn't have to rotate any racks cooked evenly. The whole muscle jerky needed to be rotated and watched the last 20 minutes, but came out awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product terrible customer response!

Date:December 15, 2012
This is a great big dehydrating machine. I love the capacity, speed of drying and clean up. I do have a beef with the size of the screens. The openings are too big for smaller fruits like grapes and ground jerky sticks fall through some times. Cabelas response is to sell some cheap plastic screens that don't fit and have to be wired down. You would think by now they would offer a smaller mesh stainless rack as an optional item. I could not give five stars based on this lack of functionality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:December 12, 2012
I am truly happy with this purchase. It worked well, clean up was easy, and we are ready for for the next batch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:December 9, 2012
Ordered the 80L model, shipping was quick. Packaging was the original box which had multiple holes through the box. Unit was not damaged and works fine. The directions are old as the new unit has some changes on the feet for the dehydrator. The unit does not sit level. The manufacture changed the corner bracket where the feet attach and now include a washer to make up for the bracket thickness. Only problem is it needs 2 washers, not one to sit level and not rock.
The unit works fine and heats up well. It will goto 160 degrees quickly with little food in it, but once you load it completely full of say 25lbs of jerky, it will take hours to get to 160. The inside floor of the dehydrator does not slope correctly as grease along the outer edges will run along the outer edges instead of flowing towards the center and into the grease catcher. The lights are not great as they are placed in only one height in the back of the unit and will only light up 2-3 racks. The lights need to be staggered or LED light bars would be better.
Overall, quite satisfied with the unit. Jerky comes out great as long as you rotate the food from top to bottom and turn the racks around once in a while. I would recommend buying a thermometer to put inside to get a more accurate temp reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took Two, But We Got It Right

Date:November 26, 2012
First one would not reach top temp.
No problem replacing unit. Great customer service. Things like this happen. Cabela's backed their merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice dehydrator

Date:November 20, 2012
A good item. Seems to take longer to dehydrate things than recipes usually call for but lots of room, nice shelfs. You need to order screens to go over shelfs for many things. Biggest drawback is the noise. It is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really like it

Date:November 19, 2012
Have made 4 full batches of jerky in the past 4 weeks--and we are out again. The only reason this is not 5 stars is that shelves are really close together, especially when you have the round style jerky instead of the flat. It is well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfactory

Date:October 16, 2012
We purchased the 80 l. commercial dehydrator because we wanted make dried fruit and jerky. We were a little surprised when we took it out of the box and there was a dent on the top of it. Then when we tried it the first time we found that the digital display was not working properly (one leg of the number did not display). But Cabela's customer service was very helpful and shipped us a new one while we returned the first one. It works great. So far we've dried apples, pears, banana, pineapples, & jalepeno peppers. We were very happy with the results of all of them, and plan to try making jerky in the future as well. The only down-side of the dehydrator is that the fan is rather loud. But since we use it in the basement that hasn't been too much of an issue. We would recommend this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lawrence,MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Date:February 9, 2012
i make a lot of jerkey but had to brrower one of these dryers from a friend everytime i wanted to make jerkey. so i decided to buy my own. Got it the other day looks and heats up great. the only thing i have a problem with is that when i went to put on the legs on. one side woudl not fit right. so after looking at it for a while and talking to customer services. there was a bracket missing. there should be a part on the way. but all in all a very nice looking unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salty City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jerky maker extraordinaire!!

Date:May 22, 2010
I have had the 80 liter version for about 8 months. It has been a positive experience. Very easy to clean, well thought out design, and good reliability so far.
We use this quite extensively, as jerky is one the staples of our diet!!
The only con (and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) is the timer. It would be nice if it could be set for longer than 23 hours and 55 minutes.
Good product, highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:October 7, 2009
I think this dehydrator should come with the fruit trays. YOu can not dry anything small without them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brigham City, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator!

Date:September 21, 2009
I bought this because the sale price was really close to the other units that weren't near as nice. I love how quickly everything dries. Be warned this is not a counter top appliance! I bought it thinking it could sit on a shelf in my kitchen but it is much too bulky for that. Do yourself a huge favor and just buy the cart that is made for it. The cart makes it so you can move it where you want. We take it outside when we are using it because it puts out a lot of heat. During the winter time, that won't be an issue.
The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of five is because of the racks that come with it. The holes are WAY too big. I purchased the fruit roll sheets that are made for it and they work great but they don't cover the entire rack so you give up a lot of space on each rack when you use them, however, I will be buying enough of these for all the shelves. Also, I sewed some netting covers and they work great with the racks. The racks are well made and won't be breaking like the ones in my old dehydrator.
In a nutshell ----,
Pros: It's a well made unit with sturdy durable metal racks. Has a temperature control and timer.
Easy to clean.
Cons: Bulky - not for countertops. Not easily moved unless on a cart.
Puts out a lot of heat.
Racks have too big of holes. Most food can't sit directly on the rack so you need something to put on the rack to keep food from falling through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Heppenr, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:September 21, 2009
It is a good product - dries within allotted time.
I would either purchase the netting for the racks and the fruit leather silicone mats or figure something else out because the racks have way to big of holes to put anything small on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for outside

Date:September 20, 2009
Dryers dry quickly, but are quick to blow breakers. Took several tries to find outlets that would sustain the power requirement. There should be filter screens for the vents = we dry outside and have had to create out own filters. Racks need smaller holes as fruit falls through them as it dries. They also need ridges to keep fruit from falling over the edges or through the hole in the middle of the rack. Overall, the dryers are efficient, but poorly designed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:September 20, 2009
THE PRODUCT WORKS GREAT
IT IS EASY TO CLEAN
THE ONLY THING IT DID NOT HAVE A BOOK ABOUT HOW LONG CERTAIN FOODS NEED TO COOK OR RECEIPES
IF IT CAME WITH A RECEIPE BOOK IT WOULD BE GREAT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 288