Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.507 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 278 reviews
5 Stars
197
4 Stars
50
3 Stars
15
2 Stars
7
1 Star
9
257 out of 278(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
56 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 41 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2013
We tried several and found this one met our expectations. It is not real loud but not something you want in your livingroom. Large capacity with trays that are durable. We LOVE it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:January 3, 2013
You will not be disappointed with this. I have made over 40 lbs of jerky already. I have made jerky from whole muscle and ground. The ground jerky using the the jerky blaster came out great and I didn't have to rotate any racks cooked evenly. The whole muscle jerky needed to be rotated and watched the last 20 minutes, but came out awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product terrible customer response!

Date:December 15, 2012
This is a great big dehydrating machine. I love the capacity, speed of drying and clean up. I do have a beef with the size of the screens. The openings are too big for smaller fruits like grapes and ground jerky sticks fall through some times. Cabelas response is to sell some cheap plastic screens that don't fit and have to be wired down. You would think by now they would offer a smaller mesh stainless rack as an optional item. I could not give five stars based on this lack of functionality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:December 12, 2012
I am truly happy with this purchase. It worked well, clean up was easy, and we are ready for for the next batch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:December 9, 2012
Ordered the 80L model, shipping was quick. Packaging was the original box which had multiple holes through the box. Unit was not damaged and works fine. The directions are old as the new unit has some changes on the feet for the dehydrator. The unit does not sit level. The manufacture changed the corner bracket where the feet attach and now include a washer to make up for the bracket thickness. Only problem is it needs 2 washers, not one to sit level and not rock.
The unit works fine and heats up well. It will goto 160 degrees quickly with little food in it, but once you load it completely full of say 25lbs of jerky, it will take hours to get to 160. The inside floor of the dehydrator does not slope correctly as grease along the outer edges will run along the outer edges instead of flowing towards the center and into the grease catcher. The lights are not great as they are placed in only one height in the back of the unit and will only light up 2-3 racks. The lights need to be staggered or LED light bars would be better.
Overall, quite satisfied with the unit. Jerky comes out great as long as you rotate the food from top to bottom and turn the racks around once in a while. I would recommend buying a thermometer to put inside to get a more accurate temp reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took Two, But We Got It Right

Date:November 26, 2012
First one would not reach top temp.
No problem replacing unit. Great customer service. Things like this happen. Cabela's backed their merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice dehydrator

Date:November 20, 2012
A good item. Seems to take longer to dehydrate things than recipes usually call for but lots of room, nice shelfs. You need to order screens to go over shelfs for many things. Biggest drawback is the noise. It is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Really like it

Date:November 19, 2012
Have made 4 full batches of jerky in the past 4 weeks--and we are out again. The only reason this is not 5 stars is that shelves are really close together, especially when you have the round style jerky instead of the flat. It is well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfactory

Date:October 16, 2012
We purchased the 80 l. commercial dehydrator because we wanted make dried fruit and jerky. We were a little surprised when we took it out of the box and there was a dent on the top of it. Then when we tried it the first time we found that the digital display was not working properly (one leg of the number did not display). But Cabela's customer service was very helpful and shipped us a new one while we returned the first one. It works great. So far we've dried apples, pears, banana, pineapples, & jalepeno peppers. We were very happy with the results of all of them, and plan to try making jerky in the future as well. The only down-side of the dehydrator is that the fan is rather loud. But since we use it in the basement that hasn't been too much of an issue. We would recommend this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Lawrence,MI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Date:February 9, 2012
i make a lot of jerkey but had to brrower one of these dryers from a friend everytime i wanted to make jerkey. so i decided to buy my own. Got it the other day looks and heats up great. the only thing i have a problem with is that when i went to put on the legs on. one side woudl not fit right. so after looking at it for a while and talking to customer services. there was a bracket missing. there should be a part on the way. but all in all a very nice looking unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Salty City
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jerky maker extraordinaire!!

Date:May 22, 2010
I have had the 80 liter version for about 8 months. It has been a positive experience. Very easy to clean, well thought out design, and good reliability so far.
We use this quite extensively, as jerky is one the staples of our diet!!
The only con (and the only reason I didn't give 5 stars) is the timer. It would be nice if it could be set for longer than 23 hours and 55 minutes.
Good product, highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: ID
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:October 7, 2009
I think this dehydrator should come with the fruit trays. YOu can not dry anything small without them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brigham City, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator!

Date:September 21, 2009
I bought this because the sale price was really close to the other units that weren't near as nice. I love how quickly everything dries. Be warned this is not a counter top appliance! I bought it thinking it could sit on a shelf in my kitchen but it is much too bulky for that. Do yourself a huge favor and just buy the cart that is made for it. The cart makes it so you can move it where you want. We take it outside when we are using it because it puts out a lot of heat. During the winter time, that won't be an issue.
The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of five is because of the racks that come with it. The holes are WAY too big. I purchased the fruit roll sheets that are made for it and they work great but they don't cover the entire rack so you give up a lot of space on each rack when you use them, however, I will be buying enough of these for all the shelves. Also, I sewed some netting covers and they work great with the racks. The racks are well made and won't be breaking like the ones in my old dehydrator.
In a nutshell ----,
Pros: It's a well made unit with sturdy durable metal racks. Has a temperature control and timer.
Easy to clean.
Cons: Bulky - not for countertops. Not easily moved unless on a cart.
Puts out a lot of heat.
Racks have too big of holes. Most food can't sit directly on the rack so you need something to put on the rack to keep food from falling through.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Heppenr, OR
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Product

Date:September 21, 2009
It is a good product - dries within allotted time.
I would either purchase the netting for the racks and the fruit leather silicone mats or figure something else out because the racks have way to big of holes to put anything small on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: wa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not for outside

Date:September 20, 2009
Dryers dry quickly, but are quick to blow breakers. Took several tries to find outlets that would sustain the power requirement. There should be filter screens for the vents = we dry outside and have had to create out own filters. Racks need smaller holes as fruit falls through them as it dries. They also need ridges to keep fruit from falling over the edges or through the hole in the middle of the rack. Overall, the dryers are efficient, but poorly designed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

dehydrator

Date:September 20, 2009
THE PRODUCT WORKS GREAT
IT IS EASY TO CLEAN
THE ONLY THING IT DID NOT HAVE A BOOK ABOUT HOW LONG CERTAIN FOODS NEED TO COOK OR RECEIPES
IF IT CAME WITH A RECEIPE BOOK IT WOULD BE GREAT
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

we've dried a lot of fruit!

Date:September 2, 2009
We've dried apples, pears, peaches, apricots, bananas, watermelon, and cantaloupe. The dehydrator works really well and cleans up easily. There is a slight difference in how fast the fruit dries depending on which tray it is on, so some tray rotation is necessary. But overall we've been really satisfied with it. It does put off quite a bit of heat, so we've put it on the porch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

80 Liter Food Dehydrator

Date:September 1, 2009
Easy to use and efffective. Takes about 6-7 hours for a full load of jerky. Requires ventilation so best used in garage or ventilated storage area. Easy to clean. Suggest purchasing a stand or cart for the 80 liter machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just in time for strawberry season

Date:June 22, 2009
"Wow, what a huge box" was my reaction after getting home about 9 pm to see this on my porch. And I ordered the 80L, I couldn't imagine how big the 160 must be
The invoice said it would arrive on Thurs, but thanks to the quick shipping dept I got it on Monday, and good thing, the strawberries were just starting. That very next day I had 6 racks full of 1/2 berries in it! It took about a day to get them all dry.
Since then it has been running almost non-stop with berries. We are having a great harvest this year and right now its full with about 60 pounds of whole fruit. With my old dehydrator (without a fan) I wouldn't have even attempted this. The berries would have just gotten moldy before they dried.
It has been working great. We have it in the garage (due to the size) and the berries are taking about 15-20 hours for a full load.
I did get the screens for it, and good thing, otherwise everything would have fallen through the racks. If you are going to be using this for your garden veggies/fruits you need the screens.
You will need to rotate the racks. With the heating element positioned on the bottom the lower racks dry faster then the upper.
I don't have the cart, but would recommend it. This thing is huge, but not overly heavy. The cart would make it a lot easier to move it around. Right now it has a home on a make-shift shelf in the garage, but sooner or later I'm going to have to get my car in there (winter in Wisconsin) and with a tiny basement and kitchen, I'm not sure where to put it in the off season. I guess I'll find a place though.
PS. Anyone know any good recipies for dehydrated strawberries? :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North-central MA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Well. Order the Screens

Date:May 20, 2009
We purchased the smaller (80l) commercial dehydrator. It arrived quickly with no damage. It appears to be very well made and it clearly has been updated since the online description as the timer now goes to 24 hours, not just 12.
We have an Excalibur dehydrator but needed more capacity. We've been using it several days to dry pineapple. It maintains temperature (130F) well even when the door is opened and the racks don't need to be rotated any more often than our other dryer. The extra space over the Excalibur is very nice.
The one thing is that it does not come with drying screens. That is not clear in the write-up. The holes on the standard racks are a bit too large for many fruits and vegetables. Order the drying screens if you are going to be dehydrating anything smaller than 1.5" to 2" square.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 278