Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.505 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(321 Reviews) 321
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 321 reviews
5 Stars
227
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Star
10
295 out of 321(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
69 Questions | 155 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 41 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:November 11, 2014
I so far have been making jerky. I start it in an electric smoker and finish in this dehydrator. It does an excellent job. I am looking forward to doing other meats. Temp holds well, timer is a must.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

STRUGGLES to reach safe temp in cooler enviroment

Date:November 2, 2014
52 degrees in my garage where my market is and the unit is STRUGGLING to reach the safe desired temp needed to safely dry the meat. After 1hr and 25min inside temp is at 144Deg which really disappoints me ( I had to turn the heat on in my garage to get the temp to rise) The lights are pretty to look at but really are for SHOW. Works GREAT in warmer environment or setting. But having temp issues in cooler environments.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Second one worked

Date:October 1, 2014
I was very disappointed with the first unit. I plugged it in and ensured that it got up to temperature. I then prepared 15 lbs. of venison jerky and loaded the dehydrator. To my amazement the unit would only run a few minutes and flash an error code and beep.
The second unit came and performed as expected although it does have a cracked display do to shipping. I wasn't about to go through the hassle of sending another one back and waiting for a third unit.
The dehydrator works as intended and Cabela's customer service is amazing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dehydrator

Date:August 12, 2014
The unit is shipped without the feet attached, the first thing I did was pull it from the box and set it on my kitchen counter and slid it over, because the feet are not attached my counter was scratched. I also would like to have seen tighter spacing on the shelves, many items of my first project fell through.
It is easy to operate appears to be well made and works good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase but wasn't completly satisfied

Date:June 2, 2014
The unit also arrived with a small dent towards the top, rear of the unit. Upon placing the foot pegs onto the bottom of the hydrator I found the unit was uneven. The bottom of the unit, front door hinge, was bent causing the unit to be unbalanced. No other problems as of yet. This unit was a lot of money and I wished the item would have arrived in better condition. This commercial grade dehydrator (80l) worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth it

Date:March 9, 2014
My wife and I decided to give this dehydrator a try and after we received the unit, we were pleased at the condition it came. This weekend we made 10 lbs of beef jerky and 10 lbs of dried apples and we also dried 3 kiwi and 1 pineapple and we are very happy. Great unit. Wor well. This unit even helped warm up the house. An added bonus in cold country. Quite pleased all around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:March 5, 2014
Glad I purchased this beast makes jerky a breeze wish it would have came with the screens will be getting some for summer fruits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product!

Date:February 27, 2014
I purchased the smaller model a couple of months ago and love it. The timer helps a lot when you can't stay and watch the jerky. I do wish the holes in the racks were a bit smaller or they sold an accessory to place on the racks so that the edge of the meat would not fall through.
The only other complaint I have is that after mounting the legs on the unit I have to slide a support under one side or it wobbles back and forth. Other than that it's everything I hoped it would be. I've been making jerky for over 20 years and this is definitely the best dehydrator I've tried!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:February 16, 2014
I would of given it a five, but I had to buy the plastic sheets for trays because tray opening are to large. The plastic sheets solve the problem and clean up easy. I bought the smaller unit and am glad I did. Venison jerky was done in about 5.5 hours and I didn't pre cook it. I do let the hydrator run while I'm loading trays do to it takes time to get to temperature. Great unit. I have done both sliced and ground meat and took about the same amount of time. It did warm my basement about 10 degrees, kids were happy. Machine is a little loud, but to be that good it has to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:January 7, 2014
This is the first dehydrator that I have own it works great even though I am just learning ever thing i have done has come out good. clean up is easy the only thing I would of liked would of been drying times for different foods.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Given as Gift

Date:January 6, 2014
I haven't heard how it works but my daughter was excited to get it for Christmas. I was a bit disappointed that there wasn't any info on how to use it included with the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good job

Date:November 24, 2013
my husband bought this for me as I wanted a non plastic one....I went out and bought the book dehydrating for dummies...its great to have with this..( a small manual is given but you will want more)...the unit is large and fits a ton. some people complain about it not reaching temperature...I also found it took awhile. I did what one reviewer did and placed a large magnet over one of the exhaust holes. that worked well.and the temp climbed and held steady....I have done jerky and fruits. they came out great. it is a loud unit..i run it mainly when I am at work.it sounds almost like a hairdryer running but not quite that loud..( I come home for lunch so can rotate and check it)...it heats my dining room when running...I checked how much electricity it should be using and if my figures are correct its 18 cents an hour. it is running well and I like the solidness of this unit. it is easy clean up...I did put tinfoil at the bottom but find if you blot the jerky before hand there really isn't a mess..i didn't give it 5 stars because of the temp issue and the loudness of the unit...would I buy again, yes. does it do a good job, yes. hopefully it last a long time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very impressed.

Date:October 29, 2013
I have been looking at dehydrators for a long time and picked the 80L from cabelas for a few reason 1 the door 2 the light. 3 the size. I have used it twice and have been very pleased I made a batch of apples and a full batch of deer jerky. First the size is great that thing will hold alot. The light is a joke can't see much whish they would make it better and more of them. The door is great can see in with out opening and loosing heat. Also the controls are sooo easy and I love the way they tell you what is going on as you dehydrat. I would give it a 5 star if it had better lighting which would really be handy. Now if it just last. I wish cabela's would let you back on here to update your post after you use the product for awhile. Good or bad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Dehydrator

Date:September 4, 2013
We tried several and found this one met our expectations. It is not real loud but not something you want in your livingroom. Large capacity with trays that are durable. We LOVE it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Dehydrator

Date:January 3, 2013
You will not be disappointed with this. I have made over 40 lbs of jerky already. I have made jerky from whole muscle and ground. The ground jerky using the the jerky blaster came out great and I didn't have to rotate any racks cooked evenly. The whole muscle jerky needed to be rotated and watched the last 20 minutes, but came out awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product terrible customer response!

Date:December 15, 2012
This is a great big dehydrating machine. I love the capacity, speed of drying and clean up. I do have a beef with the size of the screens. The openings are too big for smaller fruits like grapes and ground jerky sticks fall through some times. Cabelas response is to sell some cheap plastic screens that don't fit and have to be wired down. You would think by now they would offer a smaller mesh stainless rack as an optional item. I could not give five stars based on this lack of functionality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well worth the money

Date:December 12, 2012
I am truly happy with this purchase. It worked well, clean up was easy, and we are ready for for the next batch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works well

Date:December 9, 2012
Ordered the 80L model, shipping was quick. Packaging was the original box which had multiple holes through the box. Unit was not damaged and works fine. The directions are old as the new unit has some changes on the feet for the dehydrator. The unit does not sit level. The manufacture changed the corner bracket where the feet attach and now include a washer to make up for the bracket thickness. Only problem is it needs 2 washers, not one to sit level and not rock.
The unit works fine and heats up well. It will goto 160 degrees quickly with little food in it, but once you load it completely full of say 25lbs of jerky, it will take hours to get to 160. The inside floor of the dehydrator does not slope correctly as grease along the outer edges will run along the outer edges instead of flowing towards the center and into the grease catcher. The lights are not great as they are placed in only one height in the back of the unit and will only light up 2-3 racks. The lights need to be staggered or LED light bars would be better.
Overall, quite satisfied with the unit. Jerky comes out great as long as you rotate the food from top to bottom and turn the racks around once in a while. I would recommend buying a thermometer to put inside to get a more accurate temp reading.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Took Two, But We Got It Right

Date:November 26, 2012
First one would not reach top temp.
No problem replacing unit. Great customer service. Things like this happen. Cabela's backed their merchandise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice dehydrator

Date:November 20, 2012
A good item. Seems to take longer to dehydrate things than recipes usually call for but lots of room, nice shelfs. You need to order screens to go over shelfs for many things. Biggest drawback is the noise. It is very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 41-60 of 321