Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(288 Reviews) 288
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 288 reviews
5 Stars
203
4 Stars
52
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
7
1 Star
10
265 out of 288(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
61 Questions | 122 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, MS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Dehydrator on the market!!

Date:March 15, 2011
I purchased the 160 liter model and absolutely love it!!! I have owned 4 different brands of dehydrators, including one that I bought from a restaurant supply store. None of them have compared in quality or design to the Cabela’s Commercial Food Dehydrators. I have been dehydrating deer, elk, goose and beef for more than a decade and I’ve never used a unit that could hold so much meat. It dries evenly every time and doesn’t require any rotating. With the glass door and lights inside, you can see the progress without opening the door and losing heat. Whether you are a beginner, novice or professional, I would recommend this dehydrator every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tasty treat for the whole family

Date:October 14, 2014
I love it , I have had a chance to use it alot, my mother has the same dehydrator and she loved it so thats why I got my own . I highly recommend this one for all the feature most of the other ones I found dont have the same quality like the drain and center heater, thanks for great product hope it works so I can hand it down to my kids when they have grown.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Satisfied!

Date:October 3, 2014
We processed approximately 30 lbs in our new dehydrator recently. Couldn't be more happy with the results. Excited to try more recipes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Second one worked

Date:October 1, 2014
I was very disappointed with the first unit. I plugged it in and ensured that it got up to temperature. I then prepared 15 lbs. of venison jerky and loaded the dehydrator. To my amazement the unit would only run a few minutes and flash an error code and beep.
The second unit came and performed as expected although it does have a cracked display do to shipping. I wasn't about to go through the hassle of sending another one back and waiting for a third unit.
The dehydrator works as intended and Cabela's customer service is amazing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK, but disappointed in the quality for Cabelas

Date:September 30, 2014
We dehydrate much of our garden produce for the year, both fruits and vegetables. Pros: We are happy with how much this dehydrator can hold at one time. The digital timer and temperature settings are handy. Cons: However there is an air flow problem such that the entire right 1/4 doesn't dry and required moving the stuff to the center and left after everything else had dried and been removed. The racks have large holes that apple and carrot slices will fall through, so one must use cheesecloth or dehydrator tray netting. There is a 3x4 sized hole in the middle of most of the racks to allow for air flow, but it just doesn't make it to the right side. I would try another manufacturer next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is a must have!

Date:September 28, 2014
We started making chicken jerky for the dog several years ago with a round lower end dehydrator that took several days to run a small batch. I bought the "80"liter unit last year. 2013 Now we cook 20 / 25 breast, cool over night in frig. run through the slicer and load all 12 racks n set time for 5 hours @ 135 degrees. Some of the best money I've ever spent. L Sachs NC USA
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great food dryer

Date:September 16, 2014
We have used this dryer several times since we bought it. It is so easy and convenient to use it makes drying fruit easy. You just set the temperature and how long you want it to run, then walk away. It has 12 racks that will hold a huge amount of food and dries it without a lot of shifting things around every hour to keep things even.
We dried apples and then vacuum packed them for back packing. Very convenient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dehydrator

Date:August 12, 2014
The unit is shipped without the feet attached, the first thing I did was pull it from the box and set it on my kitchen counter and slid it over, because the feet are not attached my counter was scratched. I also would like to have seen tighter spacing on the shelves, many items of my first project fell through.
It is easy to operate appears to be well made and works good
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

should last longer and can't get fixed

Date:August 4, 2014
I've had mine for a couple years before it went out. It doesn't power on at all and I cant find any place that will work on it. I guess the next stop is the dump. Definitely won't buy another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:July 31, 2014
Gets to temp quick, can hold 50lbs of jerky with no problem, easy to clean, don't hold back to buy this one it's not one of those plastic jobs were you have to rotate the shelves so it dries evenly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

18 years old, well used, still works like new

Date:July 25, 2014
I purchased my 80L dehydrator from Cabelas at Sidney, NE in 1996. I have made 40# batches of jerky in it many, many times, with much faster and more uniform drying than my previous dehydrators. I have dried fruits, vegetables, herbs, spices and much more. I have proofed my yeast breads in it and set the thermostat to maintain a constant temperature for fermenting my kombucha tea. I put my sprouts in it also. It was money well spent 18 years ago and it's still working great. I can't say enough good things about it. I would be totally lost without my Cabela's dehydrator. I would give it more than 5 stars if that option were available
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabelas Dehydrator

Date:July 15, 2014
Does a very good job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Purchase but wasn't completly satisfied

Date:June 2, 2014
The unit also arrived with a small dent towards the top, rear of the unit. Upon placing the foot pegs onto the bottom of the hydrator I found the unit was uneven. The bottom of the unit, front door hinge, was bent causing the unit to be unbalanced. No other problems as of yet. This unit was a lot of money and I wished the item would have arrived in better condition. This commercial grade dehydrator (80l) worked well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:May 27, 2014
Nothing bad to say about this unit. It meets all my expectations and cleans up easy. Money well spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best thing since sliced bread

Date:April 1, 2014
Since I got this machine I have used it to dry fruit, veggies and jerky.
My wife and I have not been disappointed yet, it really does a great job.
Other people are wanting to use it because it is so easy to use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth it

Date:March 9, 2014
My wife and I decided to give this dehydrator a try and after we received the unit, we were pleased at the condition it came. This weekend we made 10 lbs of beef jerky and 10 lbs of dried apples and we also dried 3 kiwi and 1 pineapple and we are very happy. Great unit. Wor well. This unit even helped warm up the house. An added bonus in cold country. Quite pleased all around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome

Date:March 5, 2014
Glad I purchased this beast makes jerky a breeze wish it would have came with the screens will be getting some for summer fruits
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product!

Date:February 27, 2014
I purchased the smaller model a couple of months ago and love it. The timer helps a lot when you can't stay and watch the jerky. I do wish the holes in the racks were a bit smaller or they sold an accessory to place on the racks so that the edge of the meat would not fall through.
The only other complaint I have is that after mounting the legs on the unit I have to slide a support under one side or it wobbles back and forth. Other than that it's everything I hoped it would be. I've been making jerky for over 20 years and this is definitely the best dehydrator I've tried!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:February 16, 2014
I would of given it a five, but I had to buy the plastic sheets for trays because tray opening are to large. The plastic sheets solve the problem and clean up easy. I bought the smaller unit and am glad I did. Venison jerky was done in about 5.5 hours and I didn't pre cook it. I do let the hydrator run while I'm loading trays do to it takes time to get to temperature. Great unit. I have done both sliced and ground meat and took about the same amount of time. It did warm my basement about 10 degrees, kids were happy. Machine is a little loud, but to be that good it has to be.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:January 12, 2014
I wanted a big dehydrator with metal shelves. It has worked well for the couple of times I have dehydrated apples and mushrooms but it has won my approval for its ability to raise perfect loaves of bread and to culture homemade yogurt. It keeps a pretty constant temp. with only a brief fluctuation of a degree or two, up or down on occasion.The price was higher then I originally planned on paying but has been well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 288