Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,400 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.464 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(338 Reviews) 338
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 338 reviews
5 Stars
235
4 Stars
62
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
9
1 Star
14
307 out of 338(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
82 Questions | 175 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2011

Best Dehydrator on the market!!

By
Location: Oxford, MS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the 160 liter model and absolutely love it!!! I have owned 4 different brands of dehydrators, including one that I bought from a restaurant supply store. None of them have compared in quality or design to the Cabela’s Commercial Food Dehydrators. I have been dehydrating deer, elk, goose and beef for more than a decade and I’ve never used a unit that could hold so much meat. It dries evenly every time and doesn’t require any rotating. With the glass door and lights inside, you can see the progress without opening the door and losing heat. Whether you are a beginner, novice or professional, I would recommend this dehydrator every time.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:April 27, 2016

Food Dehydrators

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This unit is big.... cooked 10 lbs of Jerky and had room for more. It is rated up to 160 f, the highest temp this one got to so far is 148 f with a room temp of about 65 f. other wise a very nice product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 29, 2016

poor quality

By
Country: United States
after purchasing a harvester pro dehydrator and having it quit after the second use i decided to purchase this dehydrator thought it would be a better quality boy was i wrong would not get over 143 degrees after 10 hours i bought 15 lbs of meat did five different flavors it spoiled after a week instructions tell you to cook your meat first then put it in dehydrator if i have to cook it first what is the point of the dehydrator i had to drive 200 miles round trip each time as i dont live close had to make three trips once to purchase the pro then a trip to take it back then a third time to return this one lost $ on meat plus fuel back and forth to lubbock tx store
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2016

Takes forever to dry!

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I just bought the 160L dehydrator bc I have a small business. I was VERY happy with by 80 L, but needed more capacity. I've only run it twice so far, but the minimum time for drying is 48 hours!! The first time I ran it on 160 and it keep its temperature, but burned some of the fruit. The second time I kept it to 140 and it took 48 hours. Totally not working as advertised. I live abroad or I would return it in a second and buy more of the small ones.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2016

Don't Buy This

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I was so excited to get this dehydrator. I put thirty pounds of meat on to dry. After twelve hours I had to transfer it to four of my other units to finish. I have aleven other dehydrators. None of them take this long or tell you to preheat. I sent this back. It was received returned to you on Friday. I'm waiting for my refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Deer jerky

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It's a Beast! Just getting started. I have tried several deer jerky recipes. It's trial and error. I'm still hunting and looking forward to new recipes!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2016

Cabelas 80 liter dehyrator

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had my 80 liter dehydrator for about 7 years. I love it. I have cooked at least a 3000 lbs. of jerky in it and been very satisfied with the job it does. I found that a little over half the time I want to cook the jerky I rotate the shelves top to bottom and rotate 180 degrees and found it to get great consistency in the jerky. Wire shelves are a little big but maximizes air flow. I purchased 2 frog mats that fit almost perfect on the shelves for the small pieces of meat. Enjoy yall jerky!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
EASIER TO CLEAN THAN PLASTIC DEHYRATORS AND A MORE EVEN DISTRIBUTION OF AIR.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Great product

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This is the best dehydrator I have ever used!
Easy to use and clean. Very nice product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2016

Good for garden fare

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I have used this in my house for the last 1.5 months and it has performed well in every way except that it never once has had its heat up into the 150 degree zone while trying to make beef jerky. While I have very little experience in jerky making all the reading I have done says that the heat should get up to 150 and 160 to make sure no bacteria. I have heated my meat in the oven before placing it in the dehydrator and it performs well. But I do regret that it tends to hover from 136 to 144 degrees. All in all it was mostly purchased for the garden so I will be excited to try it out once summer has come.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2016

FANTASTIC

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have been using the 80 lt. for over 20 years. I have 3 units at all times, sometimes they are going 24/7 with the down time just long enough to empty and reload. The 160 lt. is not worth the money in my opinion, you do have to rotate the shelves and it takes a lot longer to dry than the smaller unit. With the 80 lt. you can set it and not have to worry, Best that I've found,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2015

Uneven heating

By
I bought the 160L dehydrator and have mixed opinions about it.
The Good: Large capacity; Easy to use settings, non-stick trays.
The Not So Good: The heating is very uneven from front to back, top to bottom and side to side. This requires frequent rotation of the trays and moving around of the jerky; Also has difficulty reaching it's 160 degree maximum, even after several hours.:
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 12, 2015

Its a great Dehydrator

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Gender: Female
I bought this for a gift for my hubby. I purchased the Black 80-Liter Dehydrator. It looks nice and sleek. He has made all kinds of things. It's a great gift for a guy that loves to make jerky.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2015

Just won't get up to temp

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this a couple weeks ago, loaded it with 10 lbs of jerky but even though I set it for the max of 160 degrees, it would not get over 131 degrees even after 8 hours! So I returned it to get another thinking mine was a dud.. Tried the new one last night with nothing in it, not even shelves.. 2 hours and it would only top out at 145 degrees. I had the lesser model with the plastic shelves before this one and never had any problems with heat.. Going to return this and get another of the plastic version ones.. These things just don't work... for the price you pay, you would expect it to perform as its suppose to!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2015

good unit

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
was skeptical at first on buying this unit because of the reviews but talked to a friend that had one and he convinced me. I have used it several times and it has met all of my expectations. Only wreck that I had was trying to dehydrate blueberries without researching how to do it first.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 14, 2015

Great Purchase

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the 80L about 2 years ago. After using a smaller round unit with 8 trays I was looking forward to being able to load more meat and I haven't been disappointed.
I have noticed that the unit wobbles unless I place something under one of the legs, this is disappointing considering the price point of the unit but not enough to make me regret the purchase but it did cause me to lower my rating from 5 stars to 4 stars. It holds a LOT of meat and my jerky is ready fast. Like most units it isn't as even as you'd like but I've yet to find one that DID heat evenly.
I've read complaints that it isn't as fast as their old round units but I disagree. How fast it dries depends on how thick the meat is and how much is in the dehydrator, the more meat in the unit the longer it takes. Also, if you're using marinated meat the wetter the meat the longer it will take, but that's just common sense. I've also read complaints that the unit does not get up to the temperature it's set for, well it gets very close. Again, the more meat the longer it takes to get the ambient temperature up. Also, opening the door will cause the temperature to drop in a hurry.
The holes in the trays are the only real complaint I have. They're fairly large and not good for small pieces of meat. I've read that the drying screens have some fairly considerable flaws so that may or may not be an answer.
All in all I love this machine! I can load 15 or so lbs of meat at one time and if the meat is close to done when I need to leave or go to bed I can set the timer. Also, my old unit only went to 145 degrees so the higher temperature is helpful. On top of everything else it's a great looking kitchen appliance!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2015

Worth the money

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This is a must Have item for the serious jerky maker. Works excellent. Easy to clean up. No problems at all. This dehydrator is definitely worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2015

good, not great

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I've owned two 80L units. Great capacity, time is nice. But!! neither ever got up to set temp. Both had airflow issues, right half didn't dry nearly as well as left. Both seem to take much longer then the previous last machine i had.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 26, 2015

Easier to Clean, Not Necessarily Better Machine

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the first attempt to using the 80L model of this Cabela's Commercial Dehydrator. It operates much differently than my round dehydrator that I purchased from this store a couple of years prior.
I thought that it would be more efficient with the larger heat surface and more powerful fans. I've been known to be wrong before and this is no exception.
The dehydrator is currently loaded with 3 lbs of Flank Steak, 3 lbs of Eye of Round, and 6 lbs of 90/10 Ground Beef for a total of 12 lbs (raw) Jerky. My other unit could do only about half this amount and would take around 10-12 hours to do a batch, then reload for the remaining. This 80L machine has been running for 24 hours and it is just barely getting close to being done.
Things I do like, trays are much more likely to fit in a dishwasher, easy to remove and rotate. The wire looks less prone to breaking compared to the plastic trays of my "other" dehydrator, and the glass front is kind of neat.
Things I do not like, four of the trays are shaped differently for the top of the machine, other trays can not be moved from bottom to top of unit due to operational concern. Those trays can not be turned either. The LED lights inside are bright but they don't disperse light through unit it was more like they were meant to be regular incandescent type lamps that were switched to LED at the last minute in production cycle. Would be neat if the LEDs were mounted in the door to shine backwards on the food, would create less glare and give better viewing especially if the entire ring of door was full of LEDs. Finally, there is not as much circulation in the machine as I would have thought. Lots of dead spaces where air does not move, especially when loaded even with 1/4 inch gaps around food.
Finally, I would have liked some sort of intelligent shutdown. Rather than just timing off, run the fan for a while in a cool down period. I also wish it had some moisture sensors or something that could help with the jerky and other items dehydrating properly. This way temp could be intelligent, high to initiate and then taper off.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 16, 2015

Great so far

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've only used it one time so far. Works great. I need to get some of the plastic screen stuff to lay down over the racks as the squares are a bit large for smaller stuff like broccoli
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 338