Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Weight: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.506 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(312 Reviews) 312
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 312 reviews
5 Stars
220
4 Stars
58
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
8
1 Star
10
288 out of 312(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
70 Questions | 145 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, MS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Dehydrator on the market!!

Date:March 15, 2011
I purchased the 160 liter model and absolutely love it!!! I have owned 4 different brands of dehydrators, including one that I bought from a restaurant supply store. None of them have compared in quality or design to the Cabela’s Commercial Food Dehydrators. I have been dehydrating deer, elk, goose and beef for more than a decade and I’ve never used a unit that could hold so much meat. It dries evenly every time and doesn’t require any rotating. With the glass door and lights inside, you can see the progress without opening the door and losing heat. Whether you are a beginner, novice or professional, I would recommend this dehydrator every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:February 24, 2015
Dehydrator works well, as most products that I have purchased from Cabela's does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big batch of Jerky

Date:January 27, 2015
Used my dehydrator last night for the first time. It is very easy to use. Set set your timer and the heat you want it to be at and you are good to go. Only thing that need to be improved on this product is the temperature to go up to 170 deg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:January 15, 2015
I have been making jerky for years with one of those round stacking dehydrators and I thought it was normal for jerky to take all day and night to be finished and then rotate the trays to get the ones on top to dry more. This dehydrator blew my mind. I filled every tray, which is 12 large trays, and when I went to check on my jerky after 5 hours it was done. All of it was done even the top tray. I have been wasting so much time making jerky. You will not be disappointed with this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yes, I agree, definitely best dehydrator I had.

Date:January 14, 2015
..not to mention that it is just purdy! The right equipment makes the difference. I did not use any sort of meat tenderizers, and the meat came out very well. It brought out the sweet flavor of the vegetables and fruits, without making them taste old. I would say that it didn't take that much shorter time than the other commercial dehydrator I have. It cooked the sliced beef jerky in about 7 hours. The two bottom rows DID cook slightly faster than the rest. The large LED lights make it easy to check. It warmed up my cold winter kitchen nicely.... I wonder how HOT it will be in the summer? I used the Cabelas bbq seasonings with water as a marinade.(3tbsp per 1 1/2lb overnight).. I recommend the Honey Pecan for beef jerky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast and easy

Date:January 13, 2015
This is a great dehydrator. Fast and easy setup. The only problem is the temp setting is off 5 to 10 degrees
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Customer Service sold this product

Date:January 13, 2015
We purchased this dehydrator at the Kansas City store. While shopping dehydrators, one of the customer service floor employees named "Hap" gave us an excellent run down of each dehydrator and gave us his recommendations. I have a new friend at Cabelas and his name is Hap.
Great job guy!
Oh, by the way, the dehydrator is AWESOME!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase!

Date:January 13, 2015
Bought this dehydrator for my daughter for Christmas. After reading the reviews and seeing so many gave it 5 stars,decided this would be the one! I was right! It works great ! She uses it mostly to make jerky for her 4 Bernese Mountain dogs ,but also makes fruit leather,etc! It was larger than I thought but sure beats the small little plastic one she was using! I'm glad we got it ! The shelves being metal are great as her little plastic one the shelves broke easily. Its easy to clean and just is great overall! Thanks Cabelas!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hardware issue

Date:January 13, 2015
I had one issue with the unit , when assembled as per instructions (which is just installing the units feet ) it didn't sit level , I went to the hardware store and got a couple of washers and a longer screw, an easy fix. The unit holds a lot 3X the amount of a regular dehydrator ! Works great and is easy to operate. You can just set the time and temp. and walk away. No turning or moving of trays.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Got Airflow?

Date:January 10, 2015
I purchased the 80-liter model and it works beautifully! I’ve been able to make jerky and a variety of dried fruits. The capacity is tremendous and it’s a cinch to clean. Because of the great airflow, no more opening the door halfway through the drying process to rotate the racks!
Per the instructions, make sure you use the unit in a climate-controlled environment. It’s not meant to be used outside – if it’s cold outside, it won’t reach a safe temperature. I highly recommend this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great!

Date:January 6, 2015
Great product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great machine

Date:January 6, 2015
This was a Christmas gift for my boyfriend from myself and his son. We LOVE it!!! It holds SO much and cleaning the trays is a breeze!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very satisfied

Date:January 6, 2015
bought enough of the small cheap ones over the years that didn't last . I should have went ahead and bought a good one like this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this machine

Date:January 4, 2015
I have used those round plastic dehydrators for years. They took forever and didn't hold enough jerky.
This machine? Over 6 lbs of meat didn't fill it halfway up! I finished in one third the time it took before. Cleanup is a breeze. Metal racks will last forever. It isn't any louder than the white noise machines in most offices... I am so glad I got this!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far the best

Date:December 31, 2014
Love the space,No cheap plastic,Dries fast.
Top shelf a li'l tight,Little noisy,but thats because its
working. Very simple to use,put the product in,punch in
a time and temp,and forget about it,Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Must have for bulk processing. Money well spent

Date:December 30, 2014
I make about 100 lbs of deer jerky each year. I use to have a $60 small 4 tray dehydrator that would take 4 days to dry 25lbs of meat. This dehydrator has plenty of room, evenly dries without any rotation & can handle about 50lbs in 1 batch. Money well spent & saves me a tremendous amount of time. Only drawback is dehydrating has to be done indoors to maintain temp
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

FINALLY

Date:December 17, 2014
I have purchased many dehydrators in my lifetime, all of them in plastic, even Cabelas brand. But FINALLY, this unit is a dehydrator that works and is worth the money you pay for it.
It's big, capable of several pounds of meat for jerky. The racks are metal so you don't have to worry about them melting or sagging because of the heat. But you should also purchase the plastic screens that fit on the racks if you want to dry fruit or smaller items. The racks are non stick and easy to wash. It's all digitally controlled. And it's metal. Good and solid. Heavy, but well constructed. Good product. FINALLY.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dissapointed in Product ! Dont work right

Date:December 13, 2014
This is my second year using this Dehydrator .I have always used gas oven set at 200 degrees with door open little.But this only goes to 160 degree temp..it should go at least to 180-200 degrees.Most time I cant get my deer jerky to 155 degrees ,and it is already to take out! That shouldnt be that way.It has to get to 160 to kill bacteria .. I can cook in gas oven in 2 2 1/2 hours.and really good..this takes me 10- 12 hours when full..6 hours when half full of jerky. Shelves are to wide opening also..And jerky sticks.For Money Not Worth It.....And I do hundres of pounds of meat a winter..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT UNIT

Date:December 2, 2014
Great unit this is my 2nd unit to go next to my other unit we get more requests for our jerky from all are friends and family
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Second one is great

Date:November 25, 2014
I bought the first one at the Buda, Tx store. When I tested it out it was a runaway. No mater what you set it for the temp went to 160. It actually got hotter because the temp gauge only goes to 160. Good thing I had the sense to try it out before putting 25 pounds of meat in it. Cabelas customer service took care of me. They sent out a truck to pick it up and delivered a new one all in less than two weeks. I've used it several times and everyone in the neighborhood is enjoying my jerky, that incidentally is made from Cabelas brand hickory jerky seasoning.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 312