Customer Reviews for CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

CABELA'S Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators

Available in an extra-spacious 160-liter model or a large 80-liter model, these dehydrators will tackle all your dehydrating needs in one shot. The 80-liter model has 12 (21-1⁄2" x 16") nonstick drying racks for a total of 28 sq. ft. of drying space, and puts out a full 1,600 watts of drying power. Its larger counterpart, the 160-liter model has 24 (21-1⁄2" x 16") racks for a total of 56 sq. ft. of drying space and produces 1,600 watts. 160-liter model features improved airflow diffuser for the largest drying jobs. Both have a fully insulated housing that maintains a maximum drying temperature of 160°F for a drying time of 12 hours. A built-in drain reservoir catches drippings, making cleanup quick and easy. And the glass-front doors and cabinet lights let you see your progress without having to open the unit and release the heat. With fully digital controls, these units let you set the exact temperature and time needed to reach your desired results. The thermostat maintains the temperature and shuts the unit off at the end of the set time cycle. 110 volt, 60Hz. Models: 80 Liter, 160 Liter. Exterior measurements: 80 liter – 21-1/8"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. 160 liter – 35"H x 17-3/8"D x 23-1/2"W. Wt: 80 liter – 67 lbs. 160 liter – 104 lbs. Color: Black. Item note: The manual may state that both the 80-liter and 160-liter dehydrators come with three notched racks — this is incorrect. The 160-liter model includes just one notched rack. The 80-liter models comes with three. This is a factory error in the manual. Only one notched rack is required for either size.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.503 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(324 Reviews) 324
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 324 reviews
5 Stars
228
4 Stars
60
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
9
1 Star
10
297 out of 324(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
71 Questions | 156 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Review 1 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oxford, MS
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Dehydrator on the market!!

Date:March 15, 2011
I purchased the 160 liter model and absolutely love it!!! I have owned 4 different brands of dehydrators, including one that I bought from a restaurant supply store. None of them have compared in quality or design to the Cabela’s Commercial Food Dehydrators. I have been dehydrating deer, elk, goose and beef for more than a decade and I’ve never used a unit that could hold so much meat. It dries evenly every time and doesn’t require any rotating. With the glass door and lights inside, you can see the progress without opening the door and losing heat. Whether you are a beginner, novice or professional, I would recommend this dehydrator every time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:August 14, 2015
I purchased the 80L about 2 years ago. After using a smaller round unit with 8 trays I was looking forward to being able to load more meat and I haven't been disappointed.
I have noticed that the unit wobbles unless I place something under one of the legs, this is disappointing considering the price point of the unit but not enough to make me regret the purchase but it did cause me to lower my rating from 5 stars to 4 stars. It holds a LOT of meat and my jerky is ready fast. Like most units it isn't as even as you'd like but I've yet to find one that DID heat evenly.
I've read complaints that it isn't as fast as their old round units but I disagree. How fast it dries depends on how thick the meat is and how much is in the dehydrator, the more meat in the unit the longer it takes. Also, if you're using marinated meat the wetter the meat the longer it will take, but that's just common sense. I've also read complaints that the unit does not get up to the temperature it's set for, well it gets very close. Again, the more meat the longer it takes to get the ambient temperature up. Also, opening the door will cause the temperature to drop in a hurry.
The holes in the trays are the only real complaint I have. They're fairly large and not good for small pieces of meat. I've read that the drying screens have some fairly considerable flaws so that may or may not be an answer.
All in all I love this machine! I can load 15 or so lbs of meat at one time and if the meat is close to done when I need to leave or go to bed I can set the timer. Also, my old unit only went to 145 degrees so the higher temperature is helpful. On top of everything else it's a great looking kitchen appliance!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:July 21, 2015
This is a must Have item for the serious jerky maker. Works excellent. Easy to clean up. No problems at all. This dehydrator is definitely worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

good, not great

Date:July 14, 2015
I've owned two 80L units. Great capacity, time is nice. But!! neither ever got up to set temp. Both had airflow issues, right half didn't dry nearly as well as left. Both seem to take much longer then the previous last machine i had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Easier to Clean, Not Necessarily Better Machine

Date:June 26, 2015
This is the first attempt to using the 80L model of this Cabela's Commercial Dehydrator. It operates much differently than my round dehydrator that I purchased from this store a couple of years prior.
I thought that it would be more efficient with the larger heat surface and more powerful fans. I've been known to be wrong before and this is no exception.
The dehydrator is currently loaded with 3 lbs of Flank Steak, 3 lbs of Eye of Round, and 6 lbs of 90/10 Ground Beef for a total of 12 lbs (raw) Jerky. My other unit could do only about half this amount and would take around 10-12 hours to do a batch, then reload for the remaining. This 80L machine has been running for 24 hours and it is just barely getting close to being done.
Things I do like, trays are much more likely to fit in a dishwasher, easy to remove and rotate. The wire looks less prone to breaking compared to the plastic trays of my "other" dehydrator, and the glass front is kind of neat.
Things I do not like, four of the trays are shaped differently for the top of the machine, other trays can not be moved from bottom to top of unit due to operational concern. Those trays can not be turned either. The LED lights inside are bright but they don't disperse light through unit it was more like they were meant to be regular incandescent type lamps that were switched to LED at the last minute in production cycle. Would be neat if the LEDs were mounted in the door to shine backwards on the food, would create less glare and give better viewing especially if the entire ring of door was full of LEDs. Finally, there is not as much circulation in the machine as I would have thought. Lots of dead spaces where air does not move, especially when loaded even with 1/4 inch gaps around food.
Finally, I would have liked some sort of intelligent shutdown. Rather than just timing off, run the fan for a while in a cool down period. I also wish it had some moisture sensors or something that could help with the jerky and other items dehydrating properly. This way temp could be intelligent, high to initiate and then taper off.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great so far

Date:June 16, 2015
I've only used it one time so far. Works great. I need to get some of the plastic screen stuff to lay down over the racks as the squares are a bit large for smaller stuff like broccoli
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

CABELAS 80L DEHYDRATOR

Date:June 10, 2015
Arrived perfect condition and easy to put together. Gave it a one hour test run and everything worked perfect. I gave it a SET TEMP of 155F which it reached in a matter of minutes. Then the heating unit turns off just like it should the temp dropped five to seven degrees then the heating unit came back on and it reached the SET TEMP of 155F again, perfect! Now, this 80L model is 1400 watts, 60 cycle, 120 volts. Has twelve shelves, three with a large 16 1/4" X 3 1/4" notch in the back, these three go on the top three shelves. The other nine shelves have a 2 1/4" X 3 1/4" notch in the center and make up the total of twelve shelves. It is advised to heat beef jerky on a sheet pan in the oven until it reaches an internal temp of at least 160F then put it in the dehydrator. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Mexico
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product, Very Pleased!

Date:May 7, 2015
Product met and exceeded my expectations. I love it, and use it weekly with no problems. I have probably cooked at least 20 batches of beef jerky with not one issue.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not impressed

Date:March 21, 2015
Purchased 80 liter commercial food dehydrator. Right out of the box the legs they give you to install are uneven so the thing wobbles. Think it's due to the door hinge is bent, the washer they give you to fix the problem doesn't do anything. For 300.00 you would think it would sit level.
The drying process takes for ever compared to the little cheap round dehydrator I own. The temp never gets to the setting you set it for always 5 to 10 degrees lower.
Returning as soon as possible,and buying an Excalibur!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

four years old and still going strong!

Date:March 8, 2015
I purchased the 160L version of this between four and five years ago, and it's still working perfectly. Since it's so large I keep it in the garage, and use it there during the warmer months. In the bridge seasons I use the quilted cover to help hold in the heat. In the wintertime I'll bring it inside while it works to leverage the warm air.
I, like the others, have found I need to cover the vents, especially during the warm months, not only to keep the temperature up but to keep out flies! But a bit of screen taped over them works like a charm.
I also have found that squares of washed screen cut to fit the trays keep smaller food from falling through - and a spray of olive oil on both the screen and the tray makes cleanup a breeze (Along with some aluminum foil lining the bottom of the unit with holes cut out as needed).
In no way do I regret this purchase, and I expect I'll get at least another five years or more of use out of this wonderful product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Jerky -Jerky and more Jerky

Date:March 3, 2015
This thing puts out the jerky ! about a pound a tray I have only used 4 trays at a time so far. this thing is great set time 4 1/2 hrs set temp 160 and walk away ! no more checking the oven with the door part way open ! good led lights in side very bright , timer might go to 99 hrs I stopped bumping it up at 28 and ran it back down you can also set the min. on the timer comes with 12 trays. I like seeing the jerky without opening the door !! thanks Cabela"s oh the guys at work say thanks to ! GREAT JERKY
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Terrific!!!

Date:March 3, 2015
I love this dehydrator. Set it and forget it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy with Dehydrator

Date:March 3, 2015
Very well made, easy to use, a lot of capacity, excellent value for the money. The blower is a bit loud, and the unit is bigger than it looks in the pictures, but I am still very happy with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Buy

Date:February 24, 2015
Dehydrator works well, as most products that I have purchased from Cabela's does.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Big batch of Jerky

Date:January 27, 2015
Used my dehydrator last night for the first time. It is very easy to use. Set set your timer and the heat you want it to be at and you are good to go. Only thing that need to be improved on this product is the temperature to go up to 170 deg.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing

Date:January 15, 2015
I have been making jerky for years with one of those round stacking dehydrators and I thought it was normal for jerky to take all day and night to be finished and then rotate the trays to get the ones on top to dry more. This dehydrator blew my mind. I filled every tray, which is 12 large trays, and when I went to check on my jerky after 5 hours it was done. All of it was done even the top tray. I have been wasting so much time making jerky. You will not be disappointed with this dehydrator.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Yes, I agree, definitely best dehydrator I had.

Date:January 14, 2015
..not to mention that it is just purdy! The right equipment makes the difference. I did not use any sort of meat tenderizers, and the meat came out very well. It brought out the sweet flavor of the vegetables and fruits, without making them taste old. I would say that it didn't take that much shorter time than the other commercial dehydrator I have. It cooked the sliced beef jerky in about 7 hours. The two bottom rows DID cook slightly faster than the rest. The large LED lights make it easy to check. It warmed up my cold winter kitchen nicely.... I wonder how HOT it will be in the summer? I used the Cabelas bbq seasonings with water as a marinade.(3tbsp per 1 1/2lb overnight).. I recommend the Honey Pecan for beef jerky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fast and easy

Date:January 13, 2015
This is a great dehydrator. Fast and easy setup. The only problem is the temp setting is off 5 to 10 degrees
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Customer Service sold this product

Date:January 13, 2015
We purchased this dehydrator at the Kansas City store. While shopping dehydrators, one of the customer service floor employees named "Hap" gave us an excellent run down of each dehydrator and gave us his recommendations. I have a new friend at Cabelas and his name is Hap.
Great job guy!
Oh, by the way, the dehydrator is AWESOME!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cabela's Commercial Food Dehydrators
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase!

Date:January 13, 2015
Bought this dehydrator for my daughter for Christmas. After reading the reviews and seeing so many gave it 5 stars,decided this would be the one! I was right! It works great ! She uses it mostly to make jerky for her 4 Bernese Mountain dogs ,but also makes fruit leather,etc! It was larger than I thought but sure beats the small little plastic one she was using! I'm glad we got it ! The shelves being metal are great as her little plastic one the shelves broke easily. Its easy to clean and just is great overall! Thanks Cabelas!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 324