Customer Reviews for RAPALA Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife

RAPALA Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife

Make filleting fish less of a chore with this electric fillet knife. Operating on either 12-volt DC or 110-volt AC power, the Rapala Guide Fillet Knife works wherever you may be - the boat, campsite or at home. An ultra-quiet, long-lasting motor housed in a comfortable, fatigue-reducing, relaxed-grip molded body with an Advanced Air Flow design to reduce heat build-up make this knife a joy to use. Comes complete with an extra-long 18-ft. power cord, 6" and 7-1/2" hand-ground stainless steel blades, 12-volt power cord with battery post clips, 110-volt AC power cord and travel case.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.482 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(85 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
6
1 Star
20
55 out of 85(65%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Review 41 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 12, 2010

rapala electric fillet knife

By
Location: gooding id
only been able to use one time..seemed to work very well..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2010

Rapala Electric Fillet Knife

By
Location: Louisiana
This knife works great! The kit is really nice since it includes an extra set of blades, cutting board and two electric options, either 12 volt or 110 volt.
Now it will take me some practice, so I gotta get out there and catch more fish!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2010

good knife

By
Location: Waco, Tx
I was okay with this. I didn't like the power switch being on the top lost the ease of using my index finger in a natural grip. But all in all it cleaned my fish!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 1, 2010

Huge Disappointment

By
Location: North East Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
I have a new Rapala Deluxe Electric Knife Set.. ( Christmas gift from my Husband) So you can see where this is going. I clean all of our fish and needed a new electric knife
. We own and operate a fishing resort in North East Oklahoma, so I clean a lot of fish.
This set was a HUGE Disappointment it would get hot after cleaning 6-8 crappie--now when the white bass are the motor does not have enough power to clean the larger fish. The handle gets hot and the motor stops and starts constantly. Very frustrating, when you have 30 fish to clean.
I WOULD NOT-- WOULD NOT recommend this knife to my customers or to friend and family.
My opinion is for the cost of this product the quality is very-very poor.
KKay
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 28, 2010

Rapala Electric Fillet Knife

By
Location: Central Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
So far so good. Only issue is it is a tight fit getting it all back in the original box. Switched to over to a small shoe box size plastic tote. Lots easier for storage.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 29, 2010

Rapala electrict Knife

By
Location: North Idaho
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
The only good thing I can say about this product is the blades were very sharp. The knife stopped working after about fifteen minutes of filleting and I was not able to finish filleting the rest of my catch. the blade release is on top of the knife above the trigger and the blades are continuously falling out. The carrying case is so compact that, and the electrical cords so bulky, that once you us it you could never get the cord back in the case and close it. don't waste your money with this one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2010

Waste of Money

By
Location: Durango, Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I purchased the PGEF1 model(deluxe). I took it to Lake Powell for cleaning stripers on the houseboat. We caught about 20 2-4 pounders. I was using a 12v battery for a power source. After filleting about 8 striped bass the knife handle got noticibly hot so I set it down for a while and used a fillet knife. After about 5 more fish I went back to the electric knife. It just buzzed. I took it apart at home. The plastic drive gear had melted on the shaft and was stripped. I am now trying to find a better quality electric knife w/ better gears and more power. I guess the knife would be ok for trout and crappie but not for larger, big boned fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2010

RETIRED

By
Location: caLIF
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
VERY IMPRESSIVE @ THE FISH FILETING STATION!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2010

Rapala Electric Fillet Knife

By
Location: Stewartville, Mn "Mississippi River Fishing"
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have finally found a Knife that works and performs very well. I like that it can be used anywhere.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2010

110/12 volt Rapala fillet knife

By
Wouldn't work right out of box-then read reviews - don't know what kind to buy now
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Very useful fillet knife

By
Location: Hayward Wi.
This electric knife is very handy in when you fillet fish such as crappie and bluegills. Much faster than an ordinary fillet knife in cleaning these types of fish.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2011

Good product/hard to store

By
Location: Fort Jennings, Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent fishing knife, everything I expected. Only draw back is that it is very difficult to put back in the case. I cut a small groove in the case for the cord to come out and I rap the electric cord around the outside of the case.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 18, 2011

Not enough power

By
The knife is severely under powered and couldn't even cut a rack of ribs.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 1, 2011

Biggest mistake ever!

By
First time use....pin fell out of the blades that holds them together. Motor is very weak!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2011

Great Knife

By
Location: Springfield, South Dakota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have used this knife. It works great. It comes equiped so that one can use it plugging it into a electrical outlet or into a cigarette lighter. This is a excellent option. Overall Great Knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2011

one of the worst ever

By
no power and impossible to put all the cords and hardware back in the carry case. Very poor design with very little cutting power! I wouldn't recomend this knife to anyone.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 19, 2011

junk

By
Location: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
.dont wast your money .2 in less than 1 yr.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 1, 2011

Filet knife

By
Location: Iowa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The knife works great the only thing I wish was maybe the fillet knife was a little thinner but pretty much paid for itself the first week I used it on a catfishing trip instead of taking them into the bait shop having them clean them for a buck each.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 2, 2011

Very nice knife

By
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had the rapala deluxe knife for over a month now and absolutely love it. I've used it on crappies and walleyes and it's very fast and easy to use and does a nice job. The main reason i bought it is because of the versatility. I've used all 3 power options, (outlet, cigarette lighter, and battery) and all have worked flawlessly and provided the same amount of power.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for Rapala® Electric Fillet Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 13, 2011

To Hot to handel

By
Location: Adrian, Mi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Knife is sharp enough, but get to hot to hold afterabout 10 fish. Power switch does not always work, either won't come on or comes on and won't shut off. Like the DC power option.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 41-60 of 85