Customer Reviews for BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife

BUCK KNIVES Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife

Buck's No. 1-selling sheath knife. 6" clip-point blade. Rugged phenolic handle with aluminum butt/guard. Leather sheath included. Made in USA. Blade length: 6". Overall length: 10-1/2". Weight: 7.5 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.85 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 120 reviews
5 Stars
109
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
117 out of 120(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Review 21 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Among the best

Date:November 26, 2012
Used a friend's 2-year old 119 last year to skin and quarter a deer, was mightily impressed how it held its edge, was comfortable to work with, carried nicely in its leather sheath and was easy to un- and re-sheath. So I bought one for the 2012/13 season. Love it. Have always held Buck in high regard in terms of bang for buck, own some Buck folders, so pleased to own this fixed blade 119. Like that it's USA made. You could pay a lot more for a knife of this quality and durability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Knife

Date:September 18, 2012
Being wheelchair bound and having two yellow labs to walk, the thought of not having a knife with me makes me feel naked.
It is so valuable to help untangle their leashes or even to cut the leash off if neccessary, yes it's happened several times. It's also a good knife to have around for self protection from other unchained mean dogs, I also carry a 9mm for this and myself.
I use it for alot of things around the house as it seems one is always needed for my hobbies, leather working, fine tuning wood working projects or just whittiling.
My only complaint is as it has a stainless blade, it doesn't hold an edge as long as I like.
I have another one that I thought was lost in moving (Buck Woodsman, I belive) and drove my wife crazy until I purchased another Buck knive. Next time I will pay more attention to the blade.
By the way, I did find the old one and it was great for hunting as I'm sure this one will be also!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife!

Date:September 4, 2012
I am really pleased with my choice to buy this knife. Extremely sharp out of the box. Very durable. I have used it very hard since I got it. It continues to hold a good edge. Overall, it's an extremely good knife. One of the best based on bang for your buck! No pun intended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sugar Land, Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value No Negative Comments

Date:January 22, 2012
If you know how to sharpen a knife and don't abuse it and use it for what it was designed for, you don't need but one Buck knife to clean wild game. A Buck knife will last a lifetime. I have a 119 that will clean a complete hog and still be sharp. A hog is tough on a knife. I have a 105 that is 40 years old and still sharp and will still hold an edge through a complete hog. I don't know how many it will clean, because I clean it up and sharpen it after every hunting trip. I've hunted my whole life, there isn't a knife out there that doesn't get slippery when it's coated in blood and fat grease.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Doyle, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MADE IN THE USA

Date:January 19, 2012
I Love Buck Knifes and this one is good and made in the USA. Good for all around use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Bethel Park ,Pa.
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

greay value for my grandson

Date:January 13, 2012
I had one for years. bought this one for grandson . He loves it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hard to beat a Buck

Date:January 12, 2012
I'm on my second 119 buck over the course of about 35 yrs. It's always been a dependable, easy to sharpen knife, and stays sharp.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ONE GREAT KNIFE

Date:January 12, 2012
I purchased the Buck 119 for my son. His Grandfather and two uncles all have had the dependable 119 for years. It is a very well made knife that holds its edge. Now that's a knife!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Yuba City, CA
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Solid Work Knife

Date:January 12, 2012
Good solid knife for hunting, fishing, or just around camp. Holds a good edge. Like all USA made Buck knifes I have owned, good quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My hunting knife

Date:January 11, 2012
After my sons saw me trying to open my Buck folding knife a few years back they bought me this fixed blade. For a no thrills knife this is perfect. Nice and big, easy to hold onto and like all Buck knifes it is sharp. This knife is all a hunter needs to get his game ready for the freezer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife

Date:November 3, 2011
I have had this knife now for about 8 years. I have cleaned 13 deer with it and have had no problems with it. I have not had to sharpen it and the blade has stood up to bone and the rib cage with ease. the only down side is that the blade does get a little slippery when wet with blood but thats not that big of a deal since wearing rubber gloves helps with that for the most part.
I would highly recommend this knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

38 years and counting

Date:October 23, 2011
Purchased my Buck 119 in 1973 and have used it ever since. Have field dressed, skinned, and butchered more than 40 deer with it. Afterwards used a smooth stone and steal on it and never needed any more sharpening. Last year my son in law dressed my buck with it and it cut through the chestbone like butter. He liked it so much I gave him the knife. I'm sure he'll be giving it to someone when hunting days are over too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Princeton, WV
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife

Date:July 16, 2011
As far as a production knife goes this is a very good one. Nice balance and weight and holds and edge very well. As far as a Buck knife goes it sharpens very easily. The preground edge is just the right angle to get it very sharp and makes getting the entire blade sharp easy. Overall a very good knife and designed to handle what a knife this size is made for. Can't really go wrong here.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Do not understand

Date:May 22, 2011
I just bought a new 119 to replace the one I have carried for years and gave to my nephew. I do not understand the comments about this knife not holding an edge. Last year I cleaned two elk and quartered one of them. The knife would still shave the hair on my arm when I finished. Buck knives are hard to sharpen correctly, but they hold an edge better than any other knife I have ever used. The only possible exception would be my Alaskan Guide Vanguard that I have had for only two yrs - But , it is made by Buck. Excellent knives.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great knife!

Date:April 10, 2011
I always respect the legendary quality of a genuine Buck knife. This one is a great purchase. High-quality and very solid, good price and great looking with the silver handle accents. I would recommend this knife to anyone...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Higganum, CT
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Incredible knife

Date:March 17, 2011
This knife is the best knife i have ever bought. The handle is perfect. I recommend this knife to everyone. Buck has made another amazing knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Aloha, OR
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Classic, sharp, well sized knife.

Date:March 4, 2011
I am a 6'2" with big hands and love this knife! I swiped off my arm hair right out of the sheath. I have yet to put it to good use, but from the look and feel I can tell it won't disappoint. You will cut yourself so please be careful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Corpus Christi, TX
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:March 2, 2011
This is a great knife with a sharp blade. I think every hunter should own one of these
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Reno, Nevada
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Another Good Buck Knife

Date:March 1, 2011
Just the right size and excellent quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Buck Knives® 119 Special Knife
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What a KNIFE

Date:February 21, 2011
What a knife, well balanced and holds a great edge. This was a Christmas for my 12 year old Grandson. He is starting to hunt this year and I wanted to pass on the Buck knife tradition. He was overly excited with the Buck knife,just as I was as a youngster.This is a great knife and I would highly reccommend it for all big game hunting needs. Thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 120