Customer Reviews for ROME INDUSTRIES Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons

ROME INDUSTRIES Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons

Their overall length of 30" makes the pie irons great for campfires and indoor or outdoor fireplaces. Each is crafted of heavy-duty cast iron for maximum heat retention. Available: Double Square Pie Iron Round Hobo Pie Iron Square Hobo Pie Iron Hamburger Griller Double-burger Griller
Overall Customer Rating:
4.57 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
78
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
101 out of 107(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Review 1 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hobo pie maker

Date:November 3, 2006
they are the best i have every used.one had a crack in it when i got it called the company and they replaced it right away
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: mn.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hobo pie irons

Date:November 14, 2006
we had just purchased a fire ring. we bought the adjust a grill and the pie irons. the kids love using the pie irons.it has made being outside as a family even more enjoyable. the kids view everthing that comes out of the pie irons as a treat, even if it is just a plain old grill cheese sandwich. my wife and i act like little kids even fighting over who gets to use the round pie iron first.they make cooking your food without burning it an adventure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tucson, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hobo pie make

Date:November 20, 2006
This is a durable, double pie, hobo pie maker. It is easy to clean, and can feed 2 hungry campers at a time. It is heavy duty and built to last for years of camping.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: St. Marys, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela Pie Irons are the Best!!

Date:November 20, 2006
I purchased the Hobo Pie Irons this past summer from Cabelas. I can't believe the difference from other pie irons I have bought before from department stores. These ones are sturdy and very well made. You can bet this one won't be in the garage sale like the others!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hobo cooker

Date:November 21, 2006
Big and heavy, very sturdy but heavy for holding over a fire.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hobo Pie Irons

Date:November 21, 2006
Cabela's only puts out "top of the line" products. That is
the reason I have been a customer for many years. The
Hobo Pie Irons are of good quality and we anticipate using
them for many years to come.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Tiffin, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality irons

Date:November 21, 2006
These pie irons are definitely quality. Extremely heavy and durable and make amazingly good pies. Would recommend to anyone. Would purchase again in a minute.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Creston, Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Fun

Date:November 21, 2006
We have the single square pie irons....We love them over an open fire. Our young boys can make their own personal pizzas. I am eager to get the double iron, so I can keep up with how fast they eat them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Pembroke, New Hampshire
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pie Irons

Date:November 26, 2006
The pie irons I purchased have given us a chance to relax in front of a camp fire - enjoy fruit pies - watch the sky and all it has to offer - it's not just a product it is a way of life. My husband had not used one since he was a teenager and it brought back so many fond memories for him. Telling his stories by the fire and eating fruit pies and cheese sandwiches along with a few brewskies. Making memories and enjoying the little things in life is such a precious part of life. Thank you for carrying this product. We are very, very pleased with it and we tell all our friends that Cabelas will carry what ever they are looking for! Prices are great and affordable. Keep up the good work Cabelas!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: towson, maryland
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Ulimate campfire cooker!

Date:November 27, 2006
I recently purchased Hobo Pie Irons from Cabelas. I was totally impressed with the variety of camp meals you can make with these pie irons. The kids love to use them and create meals for themselves as well as awesome desserts. They are easy to clean and maintain and we have even used them in our fireplace at home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Russell, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hobo Pie Iron

Date:November 29, 2006
I purchased a pair of Hobo Pie Irons from Cabelas roughly 5 years ago. My family thought it was kind of a dumb idea, so they just didnt get used. Some neighbors at our lake cabin have some pie irons as well, and they like them and commented on how good and easy it was to make a pizza in them. Well after our kids tried them, they broke ours out of storage and started useing them. The Hobo pie Irons that we purchased form Cabelas are way higher quality than our neighbors irons. Actually they are almost twice the weight. Well after making pizza's in them for a few weeks, there were many complaints about having to wait all the time, so I purchased 2 more of them from Cabelas so we now have four total. We love them and use them all the time. Simple butter muffin bread adn put them in the Hobo Pie Iron buttered side out, then fill-er-up with your favorite pizza fixins and clamp them shut. We just lay them in the camp fire, and in a few minutes, you have a delictable snack, made to order. Simple to use, easy to clean, and delicious results. And as I said before, the Hobo Pie Irons form Cabelas, are the BEST quality you will find anywhere. We have used ours a lot, and they are still just like new. By the way, the cheap pie irons the neighbors have, 1 of them now has a broken handle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pie's in the Snow

Date:April 10, 2007
Our Scout Troop realy enjoys a warm Cherry Pie while sitting around a fire and watching the snow fall. Just remember to put a little butter in the Irons after each use and let it melt. Keeps the next pie from sticking. Note: They cook fast perhaps only a minute or two in a hot fire.
Great Product
Cheers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hobo irons

Date:May 22, 2007
very good cooking untensil for camping
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hobo pie irons

Date:May 29, 2007
the CAST IRON hobo pie iron is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for pies

Date:May 29, 2007
Very good for making pies. Two slices of bread and some pie filling, then heat for a few minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hobo Pie Irons

Date:June 6, 2007
These are nice pie irons. My family really liked the grilled cheese sandwiches that I made them on our last camping trip. However it will not hold two sandwiches made with normal size bread. That would be my only complaint. I would like to see them made a little larger so that they bread would fit in it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Wilmerding, PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pie iron

Date:June 19, 2007
Seasoning the iron is a pain but if done correctly they work fine. These double irons are not good for younger children as they are too heavy for them to handle safely, for adults they are OK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

pie irons

Date:June 25, 2007
love the pie irons! My kids and I have enjoyed using them and trying different combinations of food. A must-have for a bonfire/cookout!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Vernal, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

HoBo irons

Date:July 9, 2007
Have only used a couple of times, but so far they have been a great product. We also bought the cook book which has alot of ideas on what you can cook with the irons.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hobo Cast-Iron Pie Irons
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: La Crosse WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Loved it

Date:July 10, 2007
We absolutely love the double pie iron. Would recommend it to anyone who camps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 107