Customer Reviews for Buck Buck Pro-Line General

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Buck Buck Pro-Line General

The General offers traditional elegance in a large rugged fixed-blade knife. The 7-1/2" blade has a blood groove, and it's made with 420HC steel and tempered to a Rockwell hardness of 58. It also has a silver-finished pommel and guard, along with a black leather sheath. Blade length: 7-1/2". Overall length: 11-3/4". Weight: 8.5 oz.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.904 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
52 out of 52(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Buck Pro-Line General
Review 1 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2009

Buck Pro-Line General

By
Location: Florida
This is a truely outstanding knife. It has the usual Buck high quality. Out of the box the knife is extremely sharp. It is a big blade but fits very nicely in my large size hands. It will definately last several lifetimes at least. For those times when a large knife is called for I doubt that one can do much better. It is as several have said a bit large for a hunting knife but a very nice compliment to the Buck Special. If I could have only one knife in the wilderness this would be it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 20, 2009

Great Knife

By
Location: St. Louis, MO
The General is a great all-around camp knife. For my taste it's a little large for a hunting knife, but I knew that going in. I'll stick with my 119 Special for field dressing deer. I haven't been disappointed yet with a Buck and the 120 is no exception. It is razor sharp right out of the box and keeps a fine edge year after year. Very sturdy leather sheath that with the proper care should last as long as the knife. It's hard to find this knife still at other retailers, so thanks again Cabela's for coming through.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 26, 2009

Super Knife

By
Location: C.S. MS.
I have wanted the Buck "General" for a long time but I thought that I would only find one in a "Flea market" somewhere, sometime. When I found that Cabela's had them for sale, I couldn't wait. I ordered one immediately. It is everything I thought it would be, and more! It is super sharp, and balanced very well. The leather sheath is Top Quality too! I highly recomend this knife, in fact, at this price, order several. At least one per Grandson, to be passed along at a later date, as a prize for learning good hunting skills, or as a momemto from Papaw (or whatever you prefer to be called) to remind them of you from time to time later in life. Who knows, it could become a prized "Family Heirloom"
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 6, 2009

Buck Pro-Line General

By
Location: Conway, AR
The Buck 120 is as scarce as hens teeth to find. I finally have one for my collection and one for my use indoors and outdoors.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 6, 2009

Great Knife and Deal

By
Location: Pinelands of southern New Jersey
I have been in the market for a Buck 120 for many years. In order to accommodate my small collection of fixed blades I have to be on the look out for deals at all times. I was very surprised to find the 120 on your site. And even more surprised at the price you are asking. During the 1960’s & early 70’s the Buck 120 was very popular and just about everyone I knew had one for hunting and for the war. I could not stand the old style fold top sheath and went for a Puma White Hunter instead and paired that with a Buck 110 for large and small game. I still have both knives that I got in the late 60’s and keep them in my collection. I switched them both out for a stainless D.H. Russell No. 1 about 15 years ago. The new Buck 120 is far superior to the originals in quality of materials and finish. And the new sheath design is far more attractive, practical and accessible than the old one. Your price and delivery made this a great experience. Thank you all!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 6, 2009

buck 120

By
Location: out in the flat land of IL.
By far the best knife for the money.These knives were, are very hard to find. I had one and loved it but lost it. Now I have two. I use one of mine from filleting crappie cutting whole beef cows literally! The other i keep in the box until I need it. They sharpen quickly and easily. I keep a honed edge on mine with a butcher steel and it will shave out of the sheath every time! I have friends that will not use this knife for the fear of losing a digit or two! This is also an excellent price I paid 80$ ea for the two I have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2009

great knife !!

By
Location: California
This is a great deer knife,But I had to quiet down the sheath .as I see it.If i can hear it ,It's way too loud .By just removeing the insert and reinserting it so that it sits almost flush with the top of the sheath opening, Thus grabbing the area where"Buck 120 USA " is stamped on the blade.This will remove the rattle.As for the slightly loose guard (We are talking about around a .002 on an inch worth of play .This is nothing, but it still bugs me ),This will be seen on almost all the generals.I solved my problem by getting a 2" long nail with a sharpened point and very carefully tapped a tiny dimple on the guard where it's butts up against the back of the blade.This tightened the guard and it's not even noticable.But if your worried about the warrenty, just return the knife for another.Since I've owned Buck knives ,I never had to return them,ever!!!That how good they are.A minor fix it is no problem for me.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2009

RAZOR sharp

By
Location: Arden Hills, MN
USually I can only get knives as sharp as this one came out of the box after very careful honing. This knife is very sharp, no frills, great sheath, and will last a long long time - unless you view your knife as some sort of fashion statement, what more could you ask for?
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 1, 2009

A Nimrod from UP of Michigan

By
Location: Canadian Border, Michigan
Bought this knife a week before deer season:
It was razor sharp straight out of the box, shaved the hair off of my arm.
Have been testing it out since: gutted, skinned, de-boned a couple of white tail - shaving bark off of some odd "rubber tree" I found diddy boppin through the brush - some widdling, carving, ext.. blade is still extremely sharp.. tried to sharpen it with some cheap field kit I have, actually dulled the blade, got it back to shape with my old mans kit and a thick leather belt for polishing.. shaves the hair off of my arm again.
With a good sharpening kit, this knife will last your life time, and several generations on.
Tremendously good buy for the money
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 23, 2008

A+

By
Location: Illinois
A great knife for the price and i would highly recommend them. I've used my buck knife for over ten years and if you like a large, fixed blade i would recommend these as a great buy. With a quality sharpener they retain a great blade and will cut through just about anything.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 2, 2008

Buck Pro-Line

By
Location: Northwest Ohio
Nicely finished, hefty, bought it for a survival knife. . .think it would do fine for rough work...a little large for a hunting knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2008

best knife for your buck

By
Location: north carolina
ive had mine for years not 1 problem stays sharp and tip hasnt broke!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 27, 2008

good buy

By
Location: colorado
hard to find knife at a good price great collector piece
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2008

A little to noisy

By
Location: Centerville, PA
This is a beautiful knife that I purchased with high hopes, but I couldn't get past the rattling the handle did in the hard leather sheath while walking through the woods. So I gave it to a friend who was beginning to hunt but did not have a knife.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Buckknife Proline

By
Location: ripon,california
I am again very pleased with my purchase from Buck,great price,and quality is excellent. All my cutting purchases will be a Buck knife .
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2008

Great Knife

By
Location: Vancouver, Can
Glad to see Cabelas had some of these left in stock, its a great knife. Great shipping time to.
Thanks Folks
Craig
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2008

excellent

By
Location: New Jersey
I love the Buck Pro Line General which I recently purchased. It is the perfect hunting/camping/all purpose knife for every occasion.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2008

Buck General

By
Location: New Jersey
Great all pupose utility knife! Really takes and edge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2008

Buck General 120 Pro-Line

By
Location: Moss & Fog Heaven, Washington State
This is the best knife for the money outside of custom knives. I just bought mine from Cabela's. Buy several. Do it NOW. My blade is 7.25", Handle is 4.5". Black phenolic handle will crack if placed in a metal jaw vise unprotected. To replace handles I do this intentionally, but be warned. The steel, 420HC, is far superior to 440C, because the chromium carbides are far smaller in the 420HC so it both sharpens easier and holds an edge better than 440C. The Buck Special is a smaller knife but both are lightweight and virtually indestructible. The fuller is milled in the Pro-Line, ground in the General. I have about 6 Buck knives. I prefer a smaller Buck 103 for most purposes, but if you are gutting fish of any size, I prefer it to the 103. You can't get a better knife for gutting large animals. The sheath doesn't have the top rivet over the threads like the older models, but it's not needed. It does have an inner plastic liner like the professional Swedish hunting knives. The sheath will also last forever. Give this knife RESPECT, sharpen it almost so that the top bevel touches the stone. Once sharp this knife will last GENERATIONS. Don't be put off by the long blade. It is really advantageous. Most knives don't have a long enough handle anyway!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Buck Pro-Line General
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 27, 2008

BUCK 120

By
Location: Orange County, Ca.
I have had Bucks knives for years and this 120 is the best fixed blade knife I have ever used. The blade keeps an edge and the sheath is tough. It looks awesome too.
Thank you Cabela's for a great price!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 52