Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent

Click here to see a slide show on setting up a Deluxe Alaknak? II Model Tent (Requires Flash) We know that adventures to remote destinations require tents more compact than traditionally styled wall tents, but we also know you can't sacrifice protection, space and versatility. That's why we engineered our Deluxe Alaknak? II to not only make travel easier, but also to reliably withstand the harshest weather conditions you'll encounter anywhere on earth at any time of the year, and at the same time offer the room and functional features that rugged, extended stays in the backcountry demand. The attached awning boasts a frame that comes down from the peak of the tent and directs run-off away from the door for superior protection in the wettest weather. And, built-in ventilation panels on the main body and peak of the tent keep you comfortable in warmer conditions. A total of 10 perimeter tent poles keep the side walls from blowing in and add extra rigidity in high winds, so you can camp comfortably knowing you're protected from the elements. The durable, lightweight XTC fabric is waterproof for sure protection from rain, snow and sleet. The zippered, inverted T-style door makes entering and exiting the tent easy, and the No. 10 YKK? zippers make opening and closing the tent easy. Plus, it's backed by a screen door so you can let cool breezes in while keeping bugs out. Three large multi-panel windows have a zippered cover, a clear vinyl window that zips out of the way and a mesh screen for added ventilation. Both the side and back walls have unique fold-down shelves that sport cup holders to help eliminate spilled beverages. The stove jack is covered by a storm flap to keep the elements out when not in use. On the floor is a zip-open panel for safe placement and use of a stove. Entire tent sets up quickly and easily. Includes 12" steel stakes, guy ropes and a large, zippered storage bag. Optional removable Floor Liner for easy clean-up and extended floor life. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(190 Reviews) 190
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 190 reviews
5 Stars
156
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
183 out of 190(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Review 21 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This is the only tent you need....

Date:February 6, 2009
I have had my 12 x 12 Alaknak for several years now and it is the best tent I have had so far. I use the tent when camping in northern and upper Michigan mostly for bear and dear hunting but I also use in when fishing. So far I have not used it for mid-winter camping so I can’t speak to sub zero conditions. I do use a wood burning stove starting in late October and have not had any problems. It takes a while to get the stove vents adjusted for a given heat/burn ratio but I am now able to provide enough heat throughout the night with the need to refill the stove only one or two times. I use sheet metal screws to hold the stack pieces together and have attached three stabilizer chains to the spark arrester so I can sleep without worries. The roof panel protector is a must if this tent is used with a stove. The window ventilation is fine but you have to go outside to open the water tight covers on the windows so you end up only using the front door and the built-in ventilation to remove moisture. This year I bought the vestibule and I’m already looking forward to using it. I think it will help keep moisture out of the main tent and help avoid moisture build-up problems. One other thing that use with this tent is a fold up wooden clothes rack beside the stove to help keep the moisture down. For the most part I leave the door slightly open to help with the stove ventilation. I also use a DC powered fan/LED light combo attached to the center pole. It moves the heat back down to the sleeping level and provides a nice night light so I don’t have to light the lantern. This year I made some wall liners out of indoor/outdoor carpet that rolls up nicely but does add additional weight. The carpet on the walls helps keep the heat in and cold out. This year I plan to make an indoor/outdoor carpet floor just in case I need it. With two hunters, this tent holds the wood stove, two cots, two chairs, a role top table, hunting gear, and other equipment with plenty of room to move around. I would not recommend this tent be used for more than four hunters for extended periods. It is important to position the tent properly based on wind conditions to ensure proper heating and ventilation. The cup holder/shelf is not all that useful to me because I use a cot-tee and cot side night stand. I also bought a three prong adjustable hanger for the center pole to hold my lantern, fan, and other items up out of the way. If you get this tent you will need the floor liner. It has helped protect the actual floor and I have just thrown it in the washer and drier to bring it back to its original look.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than Expected

Date:January 26, 2009
I recently bought this tent, just after Christmas while the shipping was still free (as free as you can get to Alaska). Excited by my new purchase, I went ahead and set it up. I received a new trapper takedown stove for Christmas (also from Cabela's), and put the new stove, floor liner, and spark shield up in my driveway. Sounds pretty simple. The only thing was North Pole, AK was having a cold spell, 50 below zero. With the 20 minute set-up, for everything, the chill started setting in. I fired up the stove, and I was in heaven. The tent was warm in all corners, and the stove performed brilliant. I am an avid moose hunter and can't wait for the season (nine months and counting) so I can live like a king in the bush.... Better than all the canvas tents I have had, and there has been a few. Easy setup, easy takedown, and the material is strong (and resistant to the extreme cold I found out that night). I would recommend this tent to anyone...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sweet Home, Oregon, Cascade Mountains
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cabelas deluxe alknak II tent

Date:January 19, 2009
I bought this tent several years ago prior to an elk hunt I was going on in Colorado. We camped at 10,000 ft elevation and of course got lots of weather. It snowed, rained, sleet etc. This tent made good on its promise. It was dry. I shared the tent with a buddy and we both had plenty of room for our beds and equiptment . Even had a folding table and chair inside. Our hunting party had two other tents (both canvas walled tents) and neither of them had built in floors like mine. They were overrun by mice after the critters discovered our presence. Between the other two tents we trapped 18 mice one evening after dinner. We sat by the fire and could hear the traps snap for over 2 hours. Not one mouse in my tent. I have used this tent many times since and have always been happy with the result. I have the 12x12 model and I can set it up by myself in about 1/2 hour. The guys with the canvas wall tents need help (mostly due to weight) and it takes twice that amout of time. I even bought the vestible adding to my storage space and giving me a mud porch to take off my wet and muddy boots before going into the living area. I carry some carpet remnants so I have nice soft flooring inside (which stays dry). I use a propane heater rather than a wood burning stove, so cant say how the exterior would hold up to sparks from a chimney. Lots of ventilation on warm fall days with the roll up window covers etc. This tent has it all. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Opelousas, La
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tent

Date:January 19, 2009
This is a great tent, right out the box it took me 45 minutes to setup. I can promise you the next go round it will be in 15. You can set this baby up all by yourself with ease. It is bigger than I imagined. It looks great and the tent material is very thick and of great quality. All your poles, stakes, rope all fit in the bag with the tent, with ease. This tent is worth the money and highly recommended. I would hope to see some add on peices like extra rooms or something creative from cabelas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Three In One

Date:December 26, 2008
In our first trip with the Alaknak Tent we were a little on sure of how it was going to hold wether wise. Well it was 3 us and in 20 minutes we had the ten up. That night we had wind about 35 to 55 miles P/H the tent was solit, rain most of the night and sometime in the night it snow and in side of the tent was dry. What a great tent. O and the wood stove heater keep us warm all night. Guys trust me this is a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kalispell, Mt.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaknak II 12x20 A Must

Date:December 21, 2008
I have had my tent for 5 years now, and it impresses me more and more each year. I live in Montana and hunt in some extreme weather and areas. It is lightweight and super simple to set up. This last year our group of 4 went in 2 of us stayed to start setting up camp, the other guys went out to get more gear, My buddy was splitting would while I set up the tent. The tent and vestibule were all up in 1/2 hr.. Every year I have stayed plenty comfortable in 0 to -35 below weather. This year I did invest in a Cabelas outfitter cylinder stove, One word for this set-up as a camp AWESOME. A group of hunters stopped by to visit and left saying "that is what we will have next year" and they had been hunting that area for generations. The only thing I have added to mine is I glued velcro strips along side the vents so in extreme wind and cold I can button things up. I also have a huge 16x33 base camp, but this Alaknak II is a go anywhere tent. You purchase this tent you won`t be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Uintah Basin, Utah
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best tent I ever owned!

Date:December 15, 2008
We expected the Alaknak II 12'x20' tent to take a lot of time to set up. Boy, were we suprised. It doesn't take any longer then regular summer tents, maybe even less time. We used it the first time at a boy scout camp. I am on staff for 2 weeks and a lot of people came to check it out. Everyone loved it, especially me. No problems when a storm went through. I love this tent!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kettering, Ohio
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Deluxe Alakak Tent

Date:December 13, 2008
What a wonderful tent, I set the tent all by myself in the rain. No problem with anything. Got the stove fired up and dried myself out. The second day and night I had 30 mph winds with no problems. Our nights were in the 20-25 degree range. Good Ohio deer hunting weather.
You just stake the floor and raise the center pole, then stake your side poles and you are done. With the 12 x 12 I had all kinds of room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Locust Grove Ga.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

ALAKNAK II Tent

Date:November 23, 2008
After much comparision and study I bought the 9 1/2x9 1/2 model plus vestible and floor liner. I decided upon he smaller model based on the number of us that would be using it, 3to 4
and the ease of being able to pitch it by myself. The Cabelas rep was great in providing information on which model to buy and provided info on going to the web site to view an movie and step by step slide show of how to pitch the tent. The first time I pitched it was in my front yard. Using the info from the web and the through instructions sewed into the bag I had her up in 20 minutes! No gues work, no which poles go where wonderfully engineered to make it simple to pitch. I was struck by the quality and workman ship of the tent. No mickey mouse snaps or fastners, everything strong and solidly constructed.
Our first camping experence was the 1st weekend in Nov at a Appleseed shoot in the North Georgia mountains. I arrived before my 14 year old grandson and his dad and again pitched the tent by myself with ease. The camp site was on top of a hill in a clearing and was soon crowed with other campers using pop up tents large family tents, youy name it and it was there. I helped one couple put up their tent and the confusion in trying to figure out what goes where made me appreciate my new tent! Several other campers came by to look at the Alaknak and were impressesd with it.
My grandson and his dad arrived shortly before dark and after a meal we turned in for the night. Plenty of room for tghe three of us even with our duffle bags inside the tent.
We were awaken about 10PM with a strong gusty wind blowing and then heavy wind driven rain. I wondered if I made a mistake by not sealing the seams with the two bottle of seam sealer provided. During the most intense part of the storm I heard car doors slaming and wondered why on earth someone would go to their car in the middle of a storm? Daylight came clear and cold and we all checked for leaks and found he inside of the tent was perfecly dry. Emerging from the tent we found a disaster in the camp ground. There were tents down, with one popup tent wedged under the front bumper of a truck like a half inflated beach ball! The car doors slamping during the storm was people seeking shelter in their vehicles as their tents leaked or collasped! We did not even have to retighten a line, What a tent, it paided for itself that night!
Saturday turned off cold and windy and we used a Mr Heater propane heater I bought from Cabelas several years ago to knock off the chill before we turned in. Even with a window open for ventilation in addition to the roof top vents it had the tent toasty in less than ten minutes. It was 30 degrees the next morning and the only way we could budge Adam my grandson out of his sleeping bag was to light the heater and warm the tent. The thing that impressed my grandson the most was the fold down storage shelves. He managed to find something to put on everyone of them. The floor tent liner made cleanup easy and when we took the tent down Sunday and inspected for moister I was pleased to find it to be perfecly dry.
In my 67 years I have owned numerous tents of all shapes and sizes and I can state this is the best designed, most practical and ruggedly buily tent I have ever owned. Thanks Cabelas for a wonderful product! John
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Denver, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Elk/deer camp 2008

Date:November 7, 2008
We used the 12x12 Alaknak tent this past week for the 3rd elk/deer season in Colorado and it worked flawlessly! We had weather that ranged from warm and sunny to 18+ inches of snow and the tent held up well. I also have the floor liner and roof protector and they also held up to the weather and use of 4 individuals. I would recommend this tent without reservation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cape Cod Massachusetts
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak Tent

Date:November 6, 2008
I used the tent the first time on an elk and deer hunt in the Colorado Rockies. I found the tent to be easy to set up and take down. The 3 foot sides provide plenty of room for sleeping on a regular army cot and using a camping table inside. I used the tent as home for over 2 weeks and found it to be very roomy and comfortable.
It withstood two storms very well with no problem in high winds and snow. The extra poles and guy lines on each side make the tent very stable compared to earlier models.
The additional floor liner is very good for keeping the tent floor clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Durango, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied Colorado hunter!

Date:November 3, 2008
The space this tent has is awsome. There was room for all our gear to spare. 4 men had more than enough room and we could have fit at least three more cots. This tent was easier to set up than the canvas tent we have used for the last 8 years. I would highly recomend this tent to avid hunters in all climates. We had snow, wind, rain, and plenty of sunshine and the tent handle all conditions perfectly. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent

Date:November 1, 2008
Great tent. Used it on recent elk hunt in CO. Quality of tent is very good. Easy to set up and survived the wind well. Maybe a little thin material for really cold weather, but worked well down to 10 degrees. Used 2 burner propane heater and stayed toasty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Clinton, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Tent!!!

Date:October 23, 2008
I purchased this tent for a good ol' hog hunt in East Tennessee. I bought the 12x12 model and I had 1-Cabela's XL Cot, 2-Queen size air matresses, and one guy on the ground and we still had plenty of room to move around. This is a great tent! High quality and easy to set up. I set it up by myself in about 30 minutes. I can't wait to try my stove out later in the year!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kenosha, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

12 X 20 Alaknak II Tent

Date:October 15, 2008
My 4 hunting buddies and I spent 15 days in this tent last hunting season and it was almost as comfortable as a motel. The short coming was, we couldn't step out of bed into a hot shower. Everyone was happy with the tent performance. All we need now is a connecting shower and we'll have it made in the shade. I would recomend this tent to anyone that camps. It can be set up by one person, and setup is very simple.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Northern Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaknak II tent 12 X 20

Date:October 12, 2008
This is a palace ! More room then you would think in a tent this size. I have the 12 X12 and the 12 X 20 with the larger of the two being used most of the time. Putting the Outfitter XL cots in the 12 X12 takes up alot of space but is fine for two people with gear.
If weight and size is not an issue, the 12 X 20 is the only way to go. Easy to set up alone, maybe 20 mins. and take down. It will withstand high winds, heavy rain and snow that we get in northern Michigan. The addition of an Army Surplus oil heater,a 12 volt lighting and fan system makes it just like Home. We have only been out in temps down to 15 degrees with all the comforts you would want. I'm sure SUB-zero temps would be no ploblem.
Place a pipe between the 2 upright poles inside and you can hang most anything from it, hangers keep coats etc: off the ground and dry. If you use a woodstove don't spare the $$$. This is one big tent that requires alot of BTU's in the winter but a well built stove is worth it's weight in gold. With a little thought many things can be done with this size tent. Any additions to it are worth the added expence.
If I could rate either of the Alaknak II Tents 7 Stars, I would . They are everything you expect from Cabela's, high quality.
Deer hunting and Duck season has never been better.
Thanks Cabela's, You Got The Good Stuff !!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome tent

Date:September 30, 2008
This tent is amazing. My dad bought the 12'x20' version and we used it on a trip up the Dalton Highway in Alaska. We were only 100 miles from Alaska's North Slope. The tent worked great with the wood stove, we got it very hot. We had a little bit of relatively high winds and it didn't even phase the tent. We had ample room for cots, the stove, gun and bow cases, and room to cook in. I wouldn't buy any other wall tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mesa, Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Analak Tent

Date:September 28, 2008
I bought this tent 5 years ago and it is still useable but about to quit. The screen is torn and I can't keep up with the leaks. The rope that runs through the outer edge to reinforce around the side poles is broken. It has been setup and used an average of 3 months a year. It has been through some incredible wind storms with snow and rain in Colorado, Utah and Arizona. The little woodstove keeps it toasty inside. It was partly blown down once when the mud got deeper than the tent pegs during several days of Biblical rains. We put rocks on them and lived there another couple of weeks. The amazing thing is that the floor has no holes in it. We have a little kitchen in it and large cots and it's just like home. Enough so that my 66 year old wife doesn't mind living in it for weeks on end while hunting. I guess there's only one thing to do . Buy another one for next year.
Thanks for a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Here and there
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Deluxe Alakanak II

Date:September 23, 2008
As a former big game guide who is used to canvas wall tents, I didn't have extremely high expectations for this tent. I've used canvas since my military days, but weight and space have become issues these days.
The day the tent arrived, a huge storm front was blowing in. So I set the tent up hoping to catch the bad weather. 30mph sustained winds with 55-60mph gusts caught me just as I finished putting the vestibule in place, a half an hour after I started. This tent went up quick! The wind was shrieking like an insane banshee and the rain was pouring down like all the angels in heaven were mourning the Colts latest loss.
Stuck inside the tent for a good while, I had plenty of time to examine every square inch. All the seems were stitched and sealed just fine. I had no leaks, and the rain did not puddle up on the roof at any point.
One thing I did notice on the vestibule is that the seams near the zipper, where the tent fabric meets the zipper, is there are a lot of "fuzzy" strands of tent fabric loose. I was a bit surprised about that, and I'm not sure if it's poor workmanship or if the factory sewed the zipper in too far from the edge of the fabric. It held up just fine, so I'm half way to assuming it's just a cosmetic flaw.
The screens on the vestibule had a few places where the mesh had bunched together, but nothing major. I don't think nosee-ums can get in there.
Over all, I'm pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Deluxe Alaknak™ II Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Eau Claire, WI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alaknak II 12X20

Date:September 22, 2008
We purchased the Alaknak II 12X20 to use in the mountains of Wyoming. Our normal trip is August or September so we see between 20 and 80 degrees depending on the time of year we go. This year we had two weeks when 7 slept inside with cots the first week and a second week with 9 using air mattresses and cots. We still had room to move about and not step on each other. I look forward to having only 4 or 5 in the tent next year. I have to say the tent exceeded our expectations. The 12X20 did take about 45mns for us to set up but that included the vestibule and floor liner. Be sure you set it up once before you take it in the field. If I could include pictures of our set up I would. Even with rain and wind we were able to stay dry. The vestibule is a must for longer stays. It provides a great place for boots and other gear you don’t want in the tent. The floor liner is also a great addition. Be sure to use a ground cloth or tarp under the tent as well. Set up properly I expect this tent will stay dry and comfortable for even longer than two weeks. Cabela’s has outdone them selves with this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 190