Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Mr. Heater Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Now you can safely enjoy soothing warmth anywhere you need a dependable, rugged heating source, indoors or out. Great for use in an ice-fishing shelter, waterfowl and deer-hunting blind or inside a tent. Automatic low-oxygen shut-off system turns the unit off if oxygen falls below a safe level to ensure your complete safety! Operates on 1-lb. disposable propane cylinders, so you're not fumbling with messy, smelly fuels or hard-to-attach valve systems. Easy-to-use piezo spark ignitor fires quickly and safely. High/low switch produces 9,000 or 4,000 BTU. Lightweight, portable design lets you easily pack it into even the most remote hunting, fishing and camping areas. Burns up to six hrs. on one cylinder. Dimensions: 14"H x 14"W x 7"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(142 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 142 reviews
5 Stars
108
4 Stars
24
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
133 out of 142(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Review 21 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ohio Farm Country
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Deer Blind Heater

Date:December 15, 2008
I used this heater in a 4x8 deer blind and it was perfect. 19 degrees and snowing outside and 55 degrees inside with heater on low. No noise and had 2 blind sliding windows open. Had a young grandson with me and did not want to sour him on hunting at an early age. He can try the cold over time as he ages as a hunter. He took his first deer, a button buck. GREAT HEATER FOR THE MONEY. I BOUGHT A SECOND ONE.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Coastal downeast Maine
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent little heater!

Date:December 8, 2008
I've found the Portable Buddy Heater a well made and well functioning product. It does it's job VERY QUIETLY and produces a significant amount of heat in a boat cabin. Starts easily & quickly. Runs well on both high and low settings. It does use up a 1 lb. canister of propane a lot faster than their advertising (about 2.5 hrs. on medium setting). Lastly, in a closed boat cabin it does, by definition, produce a lot of moisture (1/3 water content in propane....). It's auto-shutoff function works extremely well with even the smallest bump shutting it off. (This can be frustrating but seems a good safety practice...)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice when NOT windy

Date:December 3, 2008
I purchased this product for my husband who is a big duck hunter so he could stay warm in his boat on very cold mornings. He took it out on a windy day and said that the pilot light would not stay lit and he and his buddy froze to death. On another day (when it wasn't windy) he took it out again and said it was the best thing he has ever experienced. He and his friend were able to stay out and hunt much longer because they were warm and dry. The only thing that would make this product better would be if the manufacturer could fix it so that the pilot light does not go out in windy weather and if it were painted camo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Asheboro, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buddy Heater

Date:December 2, 2008
Instant ignition and quiet operation. This heater has kept me from freezing on those cold morning hunts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Washingtonville, New York
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater

Date:November 23, 2008
This product failed to work when I needed it in the field as it was the coldest night we were having and the unit did not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Atlanta, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

junk

Date:November 16, 2008
When I first got this heater I loved it. I have only used for my hunting blind. I have a total of 4 weeks use on it within two years. I took it out to the blind this year and it won't stay lit. It is also whistling as the propane flows through. I cleaned it as the directions say to and now it won't lite at all.
I will never buy another one of these heaters again.
It should last more than a month's use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buena Vista, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Heater

Date:November 3, 2008
Just hunted in the Colorado Rockies. Have a tent trailer, with the fold out wings, any way it has NO"goodies". I was camped at 8870 feet, was low 30 degrees at night. The heater performed flawlessly, and I never had to use the high heat setting. I did purchase the filter and the 12' hose. I know the heater is only recommended below 7000 feet but it worked good for me. I would recommend to any one. No elk this year maybe next, but at least I was comfortable!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Denver, Colorado
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Won't work at high altitude

Date:October 29, 2008
A good number of hunters and campers, camp at altitudes higher than 6000-7000'. Mine would run for 5 or 10 minutes at higher altitudes and then shut off. I need a heater that works at high altitude when elk hunting. If you camp at lower altitudes, it works great, if not, find something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr Heat

Date:October 24, 2008
Nice little heater,puts out enough heat, to keep you warm on a cold day
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Derry, NH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Heater

Date:October 22, 2008
I purchased the heater for inside a tent . My tent is 8X8 ft. base and 4ft 8inch tall. It was plenty warm and had no problems. No more cold camping nights. It was used in Milton NH. on Labor Day weekend of 2008.
Lonefox
Derry NH
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oregon fisherman, weather makes no difference!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr. Heater for boat applications

Date:October 13, 2008
This heater does a fantastic job in my new boat. The boat has a canvas top and alaska bulkhead. The heater set up in the boat only takes a couple of minutes to get it nice and toasty inside the enclosure. The propane bottle is rated to last 6 hrs. on the lower setting of 4500btu but with the efficiency of the heater it is only on for about 3-5minutes for every hour we are on the water. That equates to a long time on one bottle. I would recommend this product to anybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Maynardville, TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Heater

Date:October 13, 2008
I bought this heater to take on our camping trip because the temps. at night were going to get down around 50 degrees. I am so glad I did because it made those early mornings so nice. It is so easy to light and done a great job of heating the tent. It helped make this vacation one of our best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Visalia, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Portable Buddy Heater

Date:October 12, 2008
We have only had a chance to use it on 1 camping trip so far,
but it worked great! We turned it on in our little trailer for a little bit in the morning to break the chill and a little bit in the evening to warm the trailer up for our shower. We were nice and toasty! It was super having it to put under the picnic table
at night while we were playing cards. It kept us nice and warm. We used it for several hours on just 1 propane canister.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Covington, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Portable Buddy Heater

Date:October 8, 2008
Lights easily. Portable. Easy to use. Takes the nip off the cold in the canvas enclosed area of my North River Boat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Happy

Date:September 29, 2008
I read the reviews prior to purchase and noted that the main complaint was the quantity of fuel the unit used. We reside in Wyoming and spend most of our time in the upper Green River Lakes Country. It's cold at night any time of the year but especially in the fall season. We have a 21 foot camp trailer that is insulated. We purchased the smaller unit and went for a two night weekend in September. We warmed the trailer prior to going to bed and shut it off. The first one up to use the bathroom during the night turned it back on. This was about an hour and one half prior to rising. It worked beautifully and used one can of fuel for the weekend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Alaska
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Mr. Heater

Date:August 25, 2008
It works well with no problems what so ever . Very nice.
RR
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great heater

Date:August 19, 2008
I tryed it out in the back yard, and if it works as well up elk hunting this year as it did there i will be more than happy to go to sleep in a warm tent instead of a cold tent . It will also make it alot better to dress in the early morning
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Fresno,CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Did not work as expected.

Date:June 30, 2008
Heater did not run for very long on one tank of propane.Not sure exactly how many hours it would run on one,but we would go through 2 1/2 cans a night.We would have to wake up in the middle of the night to change the canister.when it was running,it did an excellent job of heating our very large tent,but what's the point if it keeps shutting off several times in the middle of the night and you wake up freezing!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: farmington,new mexico
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

nice night light

Date:June 10, 2008
we used it in our tent camping,my wife said it made a nice night light,to bad it did not heat the tent.don't buy it its not worth the money
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Mr. Heater Portable Buddy Heater
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: AB, Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome, Awesome, Awesome!

Date:May 29, 2008
Need I say more. This thing rocks! Easy to use....very safe indoors. (I use mine with my wife and small son when we run out of propane or battery power in our tent trailer)
Shuts off if it senses low oxygen levels or gets tipped over.
It is worth every penny and then some...do not think about it, BUY IT!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 142