Customer Reviews for GATCO GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener

GATCO GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener

The ultimate sharpening system for all kitchen, sport and utility blades, including serrated blades. Utilizes exclusive knife clamp/angle guide that is extremely strong and allows for angles of 29, 25, 22, 19, 15 and 11 degrees. Includes extra-coarse(80-grit), coarse(120-grit), medium(220-grit), fine(320 to 400-grit) and serrated knife blade stones, honing oil and custom case. Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(81 Reviews) 81
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 81 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
73 out of 81(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Review 1 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 3, 2014

sharp

By
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
this style of sharpener is awesome, you get to pick and choose your best angle for optimum sharpening. i let a kid who was demonstrating an electric sharpener on my crkt knife which has different sharpening angles on each side of the blade, and he ruined the edge, but with this sharpener i was able to shallow the angles and make them the same on each side. you can get the edge to shine with no knicks or scratch marks like a steel. you can shave with your knife after sharpening it with this sharpener, i even sharpened an axe with it, and you can shave with the axe.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Gatco Blade Sharpener

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
This unit is basically a guide (with stones) that allows the user to get a consistent angle on the blade. It is far better than I can do freehand. The seller supplied a pedestal to provide a better grip on the guide that improves the consistency of the edge.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Works wonder

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Excellent product One small improvement suggestion, the tightner device should be more user friendly... the screw way to small.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:March 12, 2013

Some repair needed

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
My Gatco Edgemate arrived with two of the stones detached from their mounts, apparently by a failure of the glue used in manufacturing. Instead of sending the system back for replacement I glued the stones back on myself. After this was done I found that the system is easy to use and gives a very good edge to my knifes, much better than I can get with "pull thru type" sharpeners.
It takes a little time to obtain a good edge using this system, but it is worth it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2012

Works well

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Nice sharpener, but not too thrilled while trying to sharpen at times and it runs into/ grinds down the bracket. Hence the 4 stars. Otherwise, it works nicely!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2012

Works Great

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've sharpened a dozen knives since purchased and the edgemate has gotten each knife very sharp. It takes between 5 & 10 minutes to sharpen each knife depending on size. Make sure you get the pedistal holder - otherwise you'd be holding the clamp itself.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 24, 2012

Rock Solid Sharpening System

By
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I got the plastic handle to hold it all steady and it works like a charm. With a bit of patience, it gets you better results than an grinder with a steady angle and fine finish. For my first use I got to completely redo the angle to 22 degrees on my 2 main pro kitchen knives, from the extra coarse to the fine stone, and the result is better than the original cut. Using a goo honing rod will keep you from sharpening too often and get even more for your bucks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 16, 2012

Great Sharpener

By
Works great on getting edge back on fillet knives and hunting knives that are really hard metal.
Took a little time to get used to using it but now i love it
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2012

Great Manual Sharpener

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I debated on several sharpeners (electric, stones, systems) and it came down to this one from reviews and the price. A great system indeed! I added the pedestal and an extra fine ceramic stone to round out the kit. My kitchen knives are scary sharp now and I was able to hone my Ka-Bar D2 Extreme to an edge sharper than what I got from the manufacturer. Easy learning curve and with some practice you can get through the entire process pretty quickly. Great kit!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2012

Great Tool

By
Location: Southside Virginia
I've had problems getting some knives sharp. I won't have a problem any more. Nice product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 16, 2012

Very Happy

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Got tired of hit or miss if I could get a blade sharp. This system works great, very easy to sharpen any kind of knife blade.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great Sharpener!!

By
Location: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is the best knife sharpening system I have used. Puts a razor sharp edge on just about any knife I have.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Need a Edge

By
Location: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is a great item and it gives a great edge on all kinds of knife blades!! Do your self a favor and buy one today!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Great for Broadheads

By
I bought this for sharpening my COC fixed blade broadheads. It does a great job, even the serrated blades get scarey sharp. Well worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 24, 2011

You can sharpen all your knives with this kit

By
Location: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I found the kit really easy to use and you can definitely get sharp edges on all your knives. Takes a little effort and I found I got much better by my third knife.
Overall a very nice set with good instructions.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 2, 2011

Sharp is Sharp

By
Location: Godley, TX
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased this knife sharpener for the deer lease but once I recieved it I went straight to the kitchen knife (I like to use the most). Well to say that it did wonders on them is an understatement. The edge it out on these knives was better than new. Only problem is now I have to do all of them so now I can't wait to use it on ALL my kitchen and hunting knives. This product is well worth the money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

good and sharp

By
I really like using the GATCO sharpener. Works great and easy instructions, and well designed
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2011

best that there is

By
Location: blaine, mn
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have a drawer full of various sharpeners. this on is the best...takes a little time but you can shave with it afterwards
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2011

Does not work for all knives

By
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have used this set for several years and have gradually been growing less satisfied with it. In general it works for average size knives that are sharpened to a moderate angle. It does not work so well with knives that have an odd shape, are very small, or are very large. It also does not work for double bladed daggers. The angle settings of less than 20 degrees do not normally work. I have had the abrasive rubbing on the clamp and not touching the knife and so had to go up to a higher sharpening angle. I think the low sharpening angles are somewhat just for show. If your knife has a rounded back it may pop out and not be held by this clamp. I was fighting that problem this morning. For this system to work the sharp edge needs to be mostly parallel with the back edge. I have one knife that is cut at a 30 degree angle to the back and have to use a stone. In fact my next sharpening purchase will probably be a new plain flat stone since this system can not be used so often.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GATCO™ Edgemate™ Professional System Knife Sharpener
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2011

gatco edgepro

By
Location: wash
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
after having a 500 dollar set of knife in the kitchen i needed a sharpener with a good guide it woorks ok should of got the dimiod unit
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 81