Customer Reviews for CANVAK Canvak

CANVAK Canvak

Retreat your canvas tents and tarps to make them water resistant again. Easy to apply: just clean and dry surface to be treated, then brush on Canvak. Let it dry. Available: One gallon. Canvak is not recommended for use on vinyl finishes or synthetic fabrics or to tents that been treated with a waterproofing by the manufacturer that would form a waterproof film on the surface of the canvas. Be very careful to test it before applying to a complete tent.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(56 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 56 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
51 out of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Canvak
Review 21 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2010

Extra on the Seams

By
Location: Colorado
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
It sealed the canvas very well, but I needed to put extra on the seams. After I putting the Canvak on as per the instructions. I took my 10x14 Montana Canvas tent out in the mountains and when it rained it leaked at the seams in about 5 places. So plan on putting extra on the seams.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2010

canvak

By
very good product for any canvas item
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 19, 2009

so far so good

By
Location: Boise, ID
I bought a used huge 15x20 wall tent that needed treatment. It took 8 gallons to get it covered. I left it up for 3 days after treatment to air out and it still smelled like Canvak when we went hunting a 3 wks later, but that only lasted on more day. Had no problem handling the light rain and snow on a couple of mornings during the elk hunt. Waiting to see how it does during a hard rain and snow, but if it comes to that I'll throw up a tarp over most of the tent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2009

canvak

By
Location: Colorado
The product works well. I don't think it covers as much area as I thought it would.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 14, 2009

Canvak is a GREAT product

By
Location: Texas
I recently purchased a gallon of Canvak to use on our pop up camper. We connected a spray nozzle on the bottle and sprayed two coats on the canvas. Within an hour it was dry and the next morning the dew rolled right off the canvas. No wet spots at all. It has a pretty strong odor, be sure to wear gloves. Great product, would buy again and definately recommend to others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 30, 2009

Exellent Product

By
Location: Southern, IL
I recently purchased the Canvak for my patio furniture umbrella, after one application the umbrella repels moisture like it was new. I also tried waterproofing a pair of work boots and hiking boots and the Canvak worked well on them too.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Good Stuff

By
Location: Pa
Great Product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 9, 2008

Canvak

By
Location: Willowick, OH
This product works very well. We have 2 Cabela's Canvas Wall Tents, and have treated both of them with this product. The tents are used for about 2 weeks a year, and we have had them for 8 years and have had no problems with leaks or water coming in until last year. This product lasts a long time if put on right. I recently purchased Canvak and applied it with a pump sprayer, and that seemed to work very good. Our tents should last a few more years before re-applying again. They say 1 gallon is to be used for 100 square ft. It is most important to treat the roof of the tents, because that gets most of the rain. Very good Product !!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 22, 2008

Canvak

By
Location: Michigan
This really works good and is easy to apply, I would recomend this to anyone who needs to water proof their canvas tent
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 20, 2008

canvak

By
Location: mountain view,mo
this is the stuff you been looking for, so do not look any further. i used a pump sprayer to apply on my dinning fly 12'x12' i let dry and and it rained well over an inch and the only dry ground was under the tarp, and that is wear i was .
and i allways look for a bargan too again look no futher i surched every wear for the best price, and now i just come back to cabela's for all my camping needs.
an a+ store for me
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2008

Canvak

By
Location: Vancouver, Wa
I have been using Canvak for the last 3 years on my canvas hunting tent,I've used other canvas preservatives in the past and none of them compare to Canvak,easy to apply I use A weed sprayer and let it dry,with Canvak on my tent I know I'll
stay dry in the Cascade Mountains.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2008

Canvak-Good Stuff

By
Location: California
Product is one of the better ones on the market. Easy to use and applies and drys as stated. I suggest using a one gallon plastic tank sprayer. Holds up great ad does the job in those cold snowy Colorado hunting trips.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 18, 2008

umbrella water proofing

By
Location: Monona WI
I used this producton on a new 12 foot umbrella and it worked very well. Rain does shed off, I am pleased. The only down side is the smell but I am sure over time this will disappear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2008

Canvak water repellant

By
Location: FL
Canvak is easy to apply in using an inexpensive weed sprayer available at any hardware store. Once applied and allowed to dry, water beads up on the surface of the material and does not soak through.
This product does have a strong odor when first applied, which is why it is highly recommended that it be done outdoors or in a very well-ventilated area. When dry and allowed to air out for a few days, the odor dies down quite a bit, although it still lingers. However, this is a small price to pay for an effective water repellant treatment that is very reasonably priced.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 20, 2008

Canvaked Yurt

By
Location: Dahlonega, GA
It takes about 3.5 to 3.75 gallons to really saturate the roof of my 16' canvas yurt. The wall is seperate and it takes about 2.5 gallons, but the bottom 12" is not canvas. I used a paint roller to apply it. My Yurt dimensions are... 16' diameter, 5' wall, and about 9' peak height. Buy more than you think you need.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2008

Canvak

By
Location: Balto. MD
Our canvas awning was leaking in the seams and other areas. I applied this with a garden sprayer . It was easy and worked like a charm. No leaks. !!! you cant imagine how happy I am. one thing to be careful of is that there is an unpleasant odor that last approx. 3 days.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 5, 2008

Canvak Waterproofing

By
Location: MAINE
I used this to waterproof the canvas on my VW Camper. It works really well but it definitely should be sprayed on.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2008

Great Product

By
Location: Strasburg, VA
I bought a used tent and treated it with canvak . The product was easy to apply and works great. When the canvak dried it made the tent look new. I went on a fishing trip for 6 days and it rained fairly hard one night and the tent never leaked at all. I would highly recommend canvak to others. Great product at a great price.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 5, 2007

Easy to apply, good results

By
Location: calif
Used weed sprayer to apply, good results. Did not discolor tent. Recommend highly, good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Canvak
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:October 15, 2007

Canvak Repellent

By
Location: Colorado
I found the product to be easy to apply and left the material feeling good .. No harsh odor and easy cleanup . We used a spay gun and it was easy to appy to the large areas we had to cover.. Very good product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 56