Customer Reviews for Cabela's Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Cabela's Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent

Our tents feature a strong, stable design that bucks the fiercest winds and provides years of use. Unique vertical walls provide extra living space families will appreciate. Offers superb cross-ventilation - Large zippered doors and arch-style windows allow air flow from all four sides when needed. Cross-ridge rainfly acts as an awning to allow ventilation even while it's raining, walls constructed of nylon taffeta with a breathable roof. Floor constructed of 210-denier nylon oxford. Rainfly is 1200mm coated UV-Tex fabric which offers superior waterproofness and resistance to harmful UV rays. All floor and fly seams are taped for full waterproof protection. Doors and windows have No-See-Um mesh panel and zippered storm flaps. Features shock-corded fiberglass frame with pin and ring system, plus Quick-Clip attachments for fast, easy set-up. Includes gear loft, stakes and carry bag. Three/four person tent has one door and three windows. Five/six and eight person models have two doors and two side windows. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.361 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 108 reviews
5 Stars
61
4 Stars
35
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
100 out of 108(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Review 21 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: San Doego, Ca
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Will it hold up to the test of time?

Date:September 26, 2007
I am not to happy with my choice of getting this tent. I found that my dry run set up in my yard proved it's not so strong a tent. I found the tent pegs that come with it to be weak, they bent and broke trying to remove them. The zipper gets hung up and feels like it just won't last to long. Set up was easy after the second try, good air flow with all the windows. My old tent lasted me over 20 years and was hoping this new tent would be just as durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Littleton, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spacious tent for 2

Date:October 16, 2007
After a long search to find a tent that could accomodate an oversize cot we chose this 10 x 12 tent. We used it 2 nights. The first night it rained gently and the tent leaked at all the seams at the tie down tabs. We were so disappointed we returned the tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denair, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy with this tent.

Date:October 17, 2007
Took about 45 minutes to set it up by myself the first time. Second time only took 25 minutes. Quality seems to be very good. I like the more vertical walls, it really does make a difference over conventional dome tents. Some of the tent stakes bent slightly, however it was pretty tought ground so I can't fault them. I had two cots inside and that left a fair amount of room in the middle, but no way would I put 6-8 men in this tent. Regardless, this tent is a winner. I would give it 5 stars if it had cup holders like the Alaknak II and if someone can figure out a way to have a gear loft and still hang a lantern.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Hawaii
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tent

Date:October 24, 2007
I live in Hawaii, and camp on sunny, windy, and hot beaches.
This is the best tent I have ever used! Stands up to the wind!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: florida
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quad Pole Dome Tent

Date:November 9, 2007
This tent is huge! the straight side walls make a big difference inside the tent. I have used it twice since I purchased, the first time I did get a little water leakage around the lower seam, It rained really hard for most of the day! (Florida), the next day I used the included bottle of seam sealer and after the next rain did not get a drop inside. Cabela's was nice enought to include repair pole sections, seam sealer and a patch kit with tent. Tent is a little difficult to set up alone. And the bonus feature is when your done with your trip it all fits neatly back in the bag with no hassle. Great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Cedar Springs, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Quad Pole Dome Tent

Date:November 12, 2007
We have gone through many tents looking for one that can hold up to the elements. With no luck, we turned to Cabela's because of the great results we have had with other products from here. We bought the eight person Quad Pole tent, hoping it would stand up to wind and rain. We were very disappointed when we set it up at home before a light rainfall. We had issues with it leaking at the zippers. So we returned it and got the Alaskan guide tent instead. For a little bit more money, we were pleasantly surprised. We have used it several times and have found no water leakage. It is every bit worth the extra money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reactions to Quad Pole Dome Tent

Date:November 12, 2007
For its size and use class this tent is rather pricey at over $250, but I have used the tent several times now and feel that it is a good value for the money. I am impressed with the design, the quality materials and the construction. It is straight forward, although a little time consuming to set up just because the design makes necessary a number of pieces and 6 poles. Because of its design it is quite easy for one person (me) to set up.
It is a heavy tent, but for car camping use that is no lilability. The 4 pole design does as claimed create a nearly veritcal wall surround. That really makes the tent feel spacious. Its 6+ feet center height makes dressing much more comfortable than head ducking competitors. I haven't used the tent in warm weather yet but the ample 4 sided ventilation will be nice when it gets hot. I did use the tent in a substantal rain and it was completely dry.
I'm looking forward to years of comfortable camping with this tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Central Missouri
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great tent

Date:November 21, 2007
Just recently got back into camping. Purchased the 8 man quad pole tent. Big and roomy. Easy set up. Great tent at a reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Finchville,Ky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Nice tent

Date:December 19, 2007
We purchased the Quad Pole Dome tent for our annual Halloween family and friends camping trip. The weather was cool and damp with temps in the 40'& 50's by day and 30's at night. We also had quite a bit of rain off and on. Not a driving rain but a steady drizzle. We stayed warm and dry. We had a queen and full size air mattress in there which left a little room for space between the beds. A little cramped with the big beds inside but comfortable. I would get the bigger tent if we camped more often. Easy to set up but easier with two people. We set it up at home and slept in it before our trip just for practice. Tough sides held up to our cat leaning on the sides to look in the windows. This is a good tent for anyone who has been camping before or for the first time. We also put a heavy tarp under it to add to the dryness and to protect the floor more. Also, the rain fly is very nice because it is made of vinyl like material with taped seams which helped keep us dry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mobile, Al
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cabela's Quad Pole Tent

Date:January 16, 2008
Outstanding tent and value. Easy to put up and take down. Plenty of room. Having four windows is great. I camp a lot and wish I'd purchased this tent years ago.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Arizona
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough tent

Date:January 30, 2008
Bought this tent in June of 2007 and went on a fishing trip without sealing it and it rained a little and had a few drops in the tent.
Came home and sealed tent and went on a elk hunt in Sept. for 2 weeks. It poured rain for 4 days solid and the wind blew up to 40 mph. I came back to camp and a river was running under the tent and up the side about 5 to 8 inches, I was sure water would be all over the floor. Not one drop of water got in the tent and it withstood the wind like an oak tree. The hunting partners I was with were amazed.
If I lost this tent, I would buy another the next day.
For the price it was the best money I spent and would highly recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Houston, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tent

Date:February 7, 2008
First, I'm 6'6" and most tents are an effort in crawling. This tent has the height and space so I can move around easily and still put 2 XXL cots in it. I've been in rain and a "sprinkler system" storm, no leaks to speak of. We've also been out in pretty cool (for TX) weather and were very comfortable.
I did buy the floor liner to be safe.
I don't mind the weight (less than 30#s).
The zippers have been flawless.
The rain fly is a bit cumbersome, as you have to assemble it before you put it on. On the plus side of this, it only takes about 30 seconds to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lawton, OK,73501
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alone Stand Up Sizes Too; GREAT stability

Date:April 2, 2008
Hey all,
Most of these reviews neglect to mention that it comes in three sizes. Personally, I love my mid-size. It is perfect for car camping, ALONE! I have my cot on one side and a chair and table on the other. And I can stand up in it. WONDERFUL! When it rains, I can leave the doors and windows open so I can watch the world rain. You have roof awnings that lift out the fly ALOT! If it rains more, the door zippers let me weatherproof a little bit more, yet watch out the side windows, and still see completely out in two directions. If it 'comes a cloud', I seal it up, on all four sides. Not to worry about suffocating. The screen roof insures good air-exchange even with all flaps closed. That's do to the mesh roof.
Summer wise, you have four huge vents, and an open roof. I've camped places in this tent that I would have traded a $ for every degree in hot-ness that went down. This tent does that very nicely due to the removeable fly. My experiences:
Last May, at the Witchita Mountains Wildlife Refuge, I was unaware, in my tent, that ALL other campers in the 120+ campground, who weren't in RV'ers, had left because of the four hour/ 2+ inch/hr rain and 40 mph gusts. The rangers came by with two units, assuming I was injured, and asked if I needed help. I was startled because I was just sitting by table, listening to my CD player at its LOUDEST setting because I could barely hear it over the rain. I didn't even hear their siren. (I always choose the same campsite because of its' 10' respective lake elevation, (ie. the dam will break before it gets that high..yet I can roll my kayak or canoe to water's edge.) Told them thax, but C'blas already took care of me. Woke up the next morning fine and dry. Last July,
I was hot as can be in the Chickasaw National Recreation Area. No problem. Worked the tent in a new way. Left the tarp off, and just went to sleep. So sure, I'm about to buy an Cabl's Outfitter tent for Winter. But for now, I'm sure glad I chose my money the way I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Fairfax Station, Virginia
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Passed the test!

Date:June 17, 2008
I have a Timberland Outfitter 6 and purchased the Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent (sleeps 5/6) for my teenage daughter and her friends.
Along with my Timberland Outfitter 6 the Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent survived heavy downpours and high gusty winds last weekend with no leaks. I was able to set the tent up by myself using the handy schematic sewn inside the carry bag. :)
The fly is heavy duty with plenty coating on it.
The roof under the fly is all mosquito netting which allows the tent to breathe and vent extremely well. The 2 large doors and windows are a real bonus.
The girls really enjoyed the tent with its roominess and almost vertical sides.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not Perfect but Impressive

Date:July 4, 2008
Our eight-person, bought to car tent from Pennsylvania to Yellowstone and back, is easy-up/easy-down and family friendly. It was the right size for the three of us to maneuver into bed at night, and in the daytime there was room for stacked sleeping gear, a small table, and three or four chairs.
I highly recommend a good ground tarp and a floor saver: The light weight floor was slightly moisture pervious/porous and susceptible to puncture (although, it did not puncture with the tarp and floor saver). Think as you open and close the doors, to avoid getting the zipper jammed in the fabric.
In addition to the provided repair kit, bring a couple of wire coat hangers and duct tape to repair individual fiberglass tent pole sections. Two sections split under normal use, one on two different poles, but kept the tent up all night. Frustrating, but impressive.
The design is very good in strong wind! Even with the two coat hanger and duct tape repaired pole sections, we watched the tent bend several times in a severe Rocky Mountain thunder storm (40-50 mph gusts) and bounce right back up. Very impressive.
Overall, not perfect but impressive!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Boulder, CO
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Tent

Date:July 7, 2008
So far so good, with the 4-5 person tent. Easy to setup and tear down. Have not had any extreme weather conditions. My only problem is that the zippers like to catch the tent when opening and closing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sullivan, IN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Maiden Voyage

Date:July 26, 2008
We (wife, I & pup) took our 6 man tent on a trip to the U.P. (Michigan) for a 2 week test run. We found it to be relatively easy to set up & take down. During the outing, the tent functioned quite well in adverse weather conditions (high winds & heavy rains) - staying dry & upright. I did have a problem with the tent zipper frequently getting stuck on the rain cover when using one hand to operate it. Wife thought the tent was too small (for 2 people & a puppy in crate) but overall, we are pretty pleased with the product to date. rs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Weekstown,NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT TENT

Date:August 6, 2008
We purchased the 8 person tent for our family of four in July 2008. The first time we used it we had a thunderstorm and it poured. We only had time before our trip to spray the rain fly so the rest of the tent was not treated. The tent held up well just a couple drops of rain. The nice thing about this tent is that you can stand up in it with out bending over and it has nice big windows for plenty of ventilation. The only complaint I would have is the zipper gets stuck, you need two hands to open and close but other then that this is a great tent and I would highly recommend it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Avon, OH
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Needs Improvements

Date:August 22, 2008
I recently camped with my family in rainy weather and concluded that the fly is too small for the tent. The overhang is too shallow and allows water to drip onto the bottom of the angled entry door so that when you unzip the door from the inside, water rolls onto the tent floor. Also, the fly should be closer to the ground at the corners to minimize water entry through the tent seams. As well, the door zipper frequently gets stuck in the rain cover and makes it very difficult to operate with one hand. Finally, the shock-corded poles are flimsy and one snapped in my hand when I was trying to torque it into a ground pin. Overall, this tent is no better than others I have purchased from competing companies and somewhat of a disappointment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Cabela's Quad Pole Dome Tent
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cascade, Idaho
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reunion Tents

Date:December 8, 2008
I own and have owned many tents of various sizes and designs. This is the best medium price family camping tent I have found. The design is fairly simple and easy to set up. For the price I think the quality of materials and construction are quite good. My only concern is that the zippers should be a little stronger and less prone to jamming.
This tent comes in 3 sizes. So far I have purchased 2 small ones and 2 medium ones and plan to buy 2 large ones for this coming summer. I have these for my children & their families to use at our family reunions & other occasions. I have owned 2 of them for 2 seasons and 2 for one season. They are usually only set up for 1 or 2 weeks each summer. They have had to stand up to the abuse of kids and done well. They have also been through rainstorms and allowed only minimal leakage.
In summary I would highly recommend this tent for situations such as mine where they will see limited use. Spending more is not necessary and spending less will lead to lots of hassle, discomfort & dissatisfaction. For really heavy use I'd spend significantly more money to get a seriously high quality tent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 108