Customer Reviews for STONEY POINT Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff

STONEY POINT Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff

At just 11 oz., this staff is light in your hand, yet the high-strength tempered aluminum shaft is rugged enough to help you negotiate the steepest terrain. Extends from 25" - 63". All the accessories you need are included: a "V" yoke shooting rest; a hardwood knob; adjustable camera/spotting scope mount; and hardened steel safety tip. Includes a rubber tip for hard-surface trails.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.431 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
50 out of 58(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Review 21 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2008

walking stick

By
Location: illinois, arizona
this product works great, my wife and i use ours to hike in arizona and it also serves as a protection devise for unwanted encounters with snakes and other critters.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2008

great staff

By
Location: vermont
i now have two of them bought one 2 years ago and decided i wanted a second one for snow shoein. they work great and colaps small enough to get into the snow shoe bag.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 8, 2008

Sturdy

By
Location: Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
I tried a few other poles and have found this one the best. If you go cheap you get cheap. In this case the price is justified. My only complaint is the yoke piece does not have an attachment lanyard to secure it when it is not used.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 10, 2008

stoney point hiking staff

By
Location: upper east Tennessee
I had one (1) already. My sons were always moving it to get to some other equipment. I have a bad back and some my hiking staff as a cane or some to lean on in its exstended position. I have used it as a rest for my shotgun. I shot a 22# turkey at 48yds using it. Its usefull as a hiking sticking staff just getting to where you want to set up. Carry a shotgun, vest full of equipment, stool to sit on, decoys and then carry all that an a turkey a 1/2 mile back to the truck. Thanks for a seritel product
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

explorer hiking staff

By
Location: FORLI'
very good, light but strong, perfect for every use walking and shooting
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 20, 2008

nice walking stick

By
Location: pa
the staff is constructed well & adjustes easily and stays locked in place with a light twist the shooting v is a nice addition for stalking it provides a nice rest quick and adjustes to almost any hight
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2008

walking on

By
this staff lives up to and beyond any expectations I had for it. It does exactly what I wanted and in fact have told and shown others about it. I truly believe that several of them will look into purchasing thisstaff for its versatility alone
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 7, 2008

staff/monopod

By
took it to my grandsons ball game for pic. taking. everyone that saw it, lusted after it. you wouldn't think something this lite would be this sturdy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 26, 2008

poles a let down

By
We bought a set of the poles for my wife and had one snap off while maneuvering over dead-fall after four summers of use. We replaced the pole and a year later the replacement would not hold the third extension in place. My wife's use is one good hike a week during a short Montana summer, so it is not excessive.
The handles and tops are of great quality, but the poles themselves leave us with concern how long the next replacements will last.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 28, 2008

50 miles of wear and tear

By
Location: Marshall, Texas
Just returned from Alaska moose hunt. Used this stick for difficult hiking of over 50 miles during 8 days. It kept me on my feet lots of times. With only three hours remaining in the hunting trip, and since I had not seen a moose, I used the shooting support to nail a nice black bear. My only negative comment is that the shock absorption spring squeeks, and I did not have a tool to remove it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 1, 2008

Hiking Staff a more

By
Location: Langhorne, PA
This product works as advertised. I like everything about.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2008

I don't leave home without it

By
Location: western PA
After two knee surgeries, I was having trouble walking on uneven ground. But this hiking staff was the answer to all my knee problems. It is sturdy enough to rely on and doubles as an excellent shooting stick.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 20, 2008

Hiking Stick

By
Location: Staunton VA
very sturdy.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Great walking stick

By
Location: Columbia River Gorge
Light weight and strong - strong enough to help a big guy across rough ground and handy as a shooting rest.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2008

Tip fell off

By
First time I used the Explorer on soft ground the rubber and carbide tip came off and were lost. Never to be found again. Obviously I am not exploring.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2009

Excellent Staff

By
Location: Keyser, WV
Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff was all that it was promoted to be. The adjustments are easy and it demonstrates a well built product. After a slip in the snow while backpacking for some remote angle shots of a waterfall I was able to catch myself with the staff. I was afraid that I may have bent it. However I did not it merely slipped at the telescoping adjustment which was corrected by tightening more the next time. Great item I would purchase again and certainly recommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 23, 2009

Buy this one now.....

By
Location: Bentonville, Arkansas
great product....I got it as an unexpected Christmas gift from my girlfriend. I've had limited use to this point but I think I'll get a lot af use from it. I've hiked a little and used it as a camera tripod. It worked just like the propaganda said it would. The staff is easy to adjust and set up. If you need a hiking staff, this one is a great buy. Get it and be happy with your purchase.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:June 15, 2009

hiking/shooting staff

By
Location: albuquerque,nm
This product appears to be defective-the leg extensions do not lock in place - I will be at one of your stores to return &
or replace this item
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Multi-use Hiking Staff

By
Location: Florida
I bought these because I needed a pair of walking sticks to help while in therapy for a severely broken pelvis. I think they are absolutely the best and will use them for shooting staffs once I am finished with the rehab from the injury. One thing I wish is they had a rubber tip to go over everything. The rubber tip they currently use has a hole in the middle which allows the hardened metal tip to protrude at all times. When attempting to use this staff on rock or any hard fairly smooth surface, they are extremely prone to slipping and shooting out from under you with weight applied. This is my greatest critique--they retain their tips well and can be tightened to hold their length very well. The only other problem is the foam handle--when used to actually carry some weight, the handles tend to migrate down--should have some sort of raised lip to keep them in place.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Stoney Point Explorer Hiking Staff
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 24, 2009

Very Happy

By
Location: Central California
My wife and I both purchased these (2 each) for a trek to a hike in lodge in the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Through 11.3 miles of 7,000ft and higher elevations, these hiking staffs were great. We both felt confident hiking through all types of terrain. The foam grip would slip down the shaft occasionaly but never caused a problem. The staff is light weight and tough and collapses to a nice managable length for storage. We will include these as standard gear on future pack and hiking trips. I do a bit of hunting and although I haven't yet used the staff for a shooting stick it will certainly acompany me in the field.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 58