Customer Reviews for Browning Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

Browning Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade

An F.D.T. (Field Dressing Tool) includes the essential tools hunters need when the work starts. 440C stainless steel. Blades lock independently. 3-1/2" drop-point. The replaceable saw blades cut on both the push and pull strokes. Impact-resistant Zytel® handles. Includes ballistic cloth sheath.The Kodiak F.D.T. 3-Blade has a three-blade design with drop-point blade, saw and unique hide-cutter blade which can be used as a standard gut blade when pushed or as a guthook when pulled. Zytel handle. Color/Camo pattern: Black, Mossy Oak® Break-Up&#8482.The F.D.T. 2- Blade Knife/Hide Cutter has a drop-point blade and a hide-cutter blade. Color/Camo pattern: Black, Mossy Oak® Break-Up&#8482.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
30 out of 35(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Review 1 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Illinois
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning FDT 3 Blade

Date:October 25, 2006
It is really handy to have three knives in one while dressing a big game animal. This knife is very durable ... a high quality piece. The saw is great for cuting through bone or branches while on stand. The hide cutter is really nice. You are far less likely to punch a hole in the innards while using it. The knife blade is nice and holds an edge, but I find it a bit small for some of the tasks of field dressing. Overall, this is a very nice mulit-bladed knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Jersey
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Knife I ever owned

Date:October 27, 2006
I have had this knife for approx. 6 or 7 years and it is still as sharp as the day I bought it. I have field dressed numerous deer with this knife and this knife makes quick work of it. Buy this knife. It will be the last one you'll ever have to buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pennsylvania
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only knife you'll need...

Date:October 31, 2006
I used to carry two or three knives with me and use them all when field-dressing a whitetail. Now I just use the 3-blade F.D.T from Browning.
The hook is the perfect size. Most other gut hooks that I have used were too small and the hair would get caught. This works just like a zipper.
The saw works surprisingly well. I didn't expect much from such a short blade, but it can go right through a pelvic bone.
Highly-recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Keller, TX
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Better Blades out there

Date:November 18, 2006
I have had this knife for 6 plus years and found the three blade combinations to be very handy. When you are working with it in the field, I found it bothersome to work the three different blade locks to change from blade to blade. Just last weekend I was field dressing a hog and was going to cut through the side of the sternum and the blade broke. My dad stepped in with a gerber pocket knife and had no problems going through what just broke my knife. I was disappointed to say the least. Don't even get me started on cleaing this thing after you get all bloody, etc. My knife had some kind of black paint on the blade to prevent rust and that chiped off after the first washing. There are definately better knives out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Two Harbors, Minnesota
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning FTD2

Date:November 21, 2006
I have used this model Browning on several occasions and have found it to be a very solid, well made knife. The blades operate well and lock securely. The best part of the knife is its ability to retain its edge. This knife remains sharp long after others are on the sharpening block. This is the second Browning FTD2 that I have purchased and I have given it to my brother as a gift....so it must be good.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Carolina
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good knife, not a skinner

Date:November 25, 2006
This is a good knife, a very good knife. It comes with a great edge and lot of possibilites. It is OK as a deer skinner, but not my first choice. I would use a Browning, but not a folding knife. Its just too hard to clean all the hair and blood out of. Get a fixed blade if your going to be processing deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Paso Robles, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works for me!

Date:November 27, 2006
I've had this knife for just over 3 years now. I've used it on 4 California Blacktail bucks, 3 turkeys and 50+ Quail. It was quite sharp as delivered and has remained that way. It's somewhat difficult to clean the dried fat and blood from the handle, the grip it provides makes up for that in my opinion.
I bought one for my hunting buddy 2 years ago and he's happy as well. I would buy another if I ever needed another knife.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2 blade FDT

Date:November 29, 2006
I admit that I was not much of a fan of folding knives, but this knife is one sturdy lockback. I had the two blade guthook version, which provided a good knife blade for normal field dressing, and a guthook with blunted tip that makes cleaning out the internal organs of the game animal easy and safe. The lock mechanism is easy to use, even when the hands are slick with blood and grease. I usually carry this knife along with a traditional Buck fixed blade for the heavier tasks. It is a solid knife that should be in any serious hunters kit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

4 Hogs and still going strong

Date:November 30, 2006
This is a great tool. I cleaned 4 hogs one night and the blade still had an edge. A few swipes on a quick sharpener and it was good as new again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as good quality as I originally thought

Date:December 7, 2006
I bought the two blade version with the bone saw and blade with gut hook. I really like the compactness and styling of the knife and the short bone saw works great, but the first time I cleaned it, the gray paint on the blades started flaking off as well as the paint on the Browning emblems. Also the gut hook started to get dull while I was still skinning its first deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Justin, TX.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Knife/Awesome Value

Date:January 4, 2007
I went to Mississippi for a deer hunting trip. My son shot a 7 point buck and a doe. I pulled out my Mossy Oak breakup Browning FDT Kodiak and cleaned and quartered each animal in minutes and the most surprising part is that this knife still has an extremely sharp edge even after cleaning them. This is hands down the best field knife I've ever used and the fact it is so compact makes it that much better. I would highly reccomend this knife to anyone. If you're a serious hunter you need this knife- You Won't Be Disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Howe, IN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

F.T.D. 3 blade

Date:October 22, 2007
I had a browning 2 blade before and loved it, so I thought I would step up to the 3 blade, this knife worked just as good and I like the the saw to cut through the pelvic bone on deer. The blades stay very sharp with a little care. The only thing I do not like is with the new browning knife it has a grey finish on the blades that started wearing off after the first deer I gutted. Don't know if this is going to be a problem or not but we will see. The old 2 blade had a black finish that never wore off even after many many deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Tool

Date:November 2, 2007
I've used it to clean 2 white tail and love it. Not to bad to clean with hot soapy water. Liked it so much I bought 3 more and gave them to co-workers. Must have hunting tool
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kentucky
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade Knife

Date:January 17, 2008
This knife has the best bone saw on it that I have ever used. It cuts quicker then all my other saws combined.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: California, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spitfire015

Date:February 12, 2008
I've been hunting and fishing my whole life and have a bit of a knife fetish. I bought this knife for my best friend for Christmas last year and got to try it myself field dressing a nice buck early this season when he asked me to see how it handled. I was amazed! This is without a doubt the finest knife I have ever used to dress out an animal. I could not believe the ease with which I was able to split the breast bone! I've never seen another knife do that before! Couple that with the razor sharp gut hook and double toothed saw blade mounted on an absolutely solid frame and you've got yourself one versatile tool that will accomplish all you need to in the woods and beyond. I now own one just like it and it will always be on my side when in the outdoors. I HIGHLY recommend this knife to any serious hunter or wise gift giver. You'll never regret the purchase!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Ashford,AL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

browning fdt 3 blade

Date:February 12, 2008
I love this knife it is the second one I bought and I use them all the time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Wyoming
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Browning 3-Blade F.D.T.

Date:July 7, 2008
Haven't had the opportunity to try the knife yet but the design and construction are just what I was looking for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Temecula, CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3-Blade FDT

Date:August 12, 2008
This knife is okay. Its versatility is its greatest strength, but its ability to hold a good edge is weak. I've skinned coyotes, gutted and skinned rabbits, deer, and elk with it. On a recent elk hunt, it started out with all the blades freshly sharpened and they all lost their edge pretty fast. The skinning blade lost its edge real quick and I had to switch to the drop point to continue the skinning. Eventually I just put it down and switched to another sharper knife. The gut hook works well enough though, and the bone saw worked very well to split the pelvic bone. As with any multi-tool folder, it feels a little awkward in the hand, but Browning did as good a job as any in the handle design, given the inherent limitations of being a multi-tool folder. Cleanup is about like any multi-tool folder: not real easy. I just gave up on trying to keep it completely clean and hope it's "clean enough." Although, the blades are no longer unfolding so easy and it's more difficult to open the drop point one-handed with my thumb. Out of the box, the tab on the drop point for opening the blade one handed does not line up too well the in the handle's detent--poor workmanship--but wasn't worth the bother to exchange or warranty it. As for sharpening, I've never been able to get this knife as sharp as my other traditional knives like my Buck knives. Those knives will pass the "shaving test" when sharpened but this FDT can't quite get sharp enough to shave hair easily for some reason.
This is a handy, versatile knife for occasional or light duty field dressing and makes for a decent backup knife, but it won't be my primary "go to" knife for any serious field dressing work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: forked river,nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

browning fdt 3-blade

Date:September 1, 2008
like the concept and layout of this knife,however,was not impressed on how quickly the blades dulled out and even less impressed with how difficult it is to resharpen the blades. it's sad b/c i have a browning featherlight series fixed blade that has cleaned and gutted many deer and other small game and has stayed sharp and is much easier to sharpen. as a matter of fact i have replaced my fdt 3-blade with my tried and true buck 110
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Browning® F.D.T. 2-Blade and Kodiak F.D.T 3-Blade
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Molalla, Or
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad gut hook

Date:November 19, 2008
Knife works fine. But the lock on the gut hook blade failed the first time out. It stays locked until any pressure is put on it and then it will fold up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 35