Customer Reviews for ESTWING Estwing Sportsman Axe

ESTWING Estwing Sportsman Axe

The Sportsman Axe is 13" in length and features a stacked leather handle. It features a 3-inch cutting edge and comes with a vinyl sheath. Like all Estwing axes, the Sportsman features a one piece forged steel head and handle. Flat back can be used to drive tent stakes or nails.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
53 out of 54(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer Reviews for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Review 1 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 2, 2015

Tough Durable and Reliable Hatchet

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had this hatchet since I was a kid and it is still going strong and shows no signs of slowing down. Estwing makes very good quality tools and this is a prime example of that. I bring this with me when I go camping, and when not in use, it sits in my bug out bag. It is made of a hard steel that will keep an edge for a long time. I've not sharpened it in 3 or 4 years and it is still very sharp. It is excellent for splitting logs for a campfire as well as other bushcraft tasks. It's cheap, durable, and will last more than a lifetime. You cannot go wrong with this hatchet.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2014

Great axe for pack!!

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
This is durable axe to carry in you hunting pack!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2014

can't go wrong with Eastwing

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Used this for setting up camp, cutting fire wood, and opening the cavity on a deer. Aside from being to much to open the cavity of a deer. It has performed well and I have no dought that I will be able to leave this to my son that is only 3.5 years old.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 8, 2014

Tough and Reliable Hatchet

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had this hatchet for 10 years and it has lasted great. I've never even had to sharpen it! It is made from a very hard steel (1055) and that gives it durability. I have used it for everything from shaving off small slivers of wood to chopping down trees up two 10 inches thick. The tough full tang, solid steel handle makes the hatchet virtually indestructable. This hatchet has preformed very well and I could not be happier with it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2014

Excellent product

By
Age: 25 and under
Bought this for camping with family and friends, and I have been satisfied since. Well crafted, and very comfortable to use. The leather bound grip is superb, and the fact that the axe itself is one piece of metal makes it feel very sturdy. While not up to my standards of sharpness, it held its edge for quite some time before I felt it required a sharpening. Overall a very nice tool, and well worth the money spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 29, 2013

Excellent Ax

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I looked specifically for an American made ax, and when I can across the Estwing Sportsman Ax I recalled so many people finding it to be of high quality. It was better than I expected. Great rugged ax for many uses. I love the look style and the grip is very comfortable. One of the best out there and being made in the USA makes it stand out from the others!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 3, 2013

Best Hatchet

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Strong, Durable. need a bit of sharpening when i got it but it holds an edge great
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 19, 2013

classic hatchet

By
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
excellent tool necessary for any tool box...could have been sharper... and I am not crazy about the design of the sheath (have to slide down handle once un snapped) but otherwise a great product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

Very nice product!

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Fits a smaller hand well and is very sharp. Will handle all the chores I need it for.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 30, 2012

camp tools

By
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
this ax is very useful camping an being outdoors,lite weight sharp made in usa leather handle good lookin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 20, 2012

Good Ax

By
I purchased this for camping and use around the house. It is well made and very durable.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 17, 2012

simple but useful

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Estwing made a very useful hatchet, I would recommend this product to anyone who wants an ax that will last a long time if taken care of.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 29, 2012

Great Little Axe

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
well balanced with weight light enough to not wear you out, chopping up 8" round branches or kindling. very sharp blade, nice hammer head on back side of blade. I would buy another one if this one ever wears out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 8, 2012

great quality axe

By
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Comes a little dull, but still works great. handle absorbs a lot of impact and cuts great. Awesome buy!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 11, 2012

Best Hatchet

By
This is all around the best hatchet you can get. It is built to last a lifetime. And best of all, its made in the USA.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 9, 2012

Handy tool

By
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This ax is the perfect weight, feels good in your hand. Does an excellent job for tasks at the campsite, deercamp etc. Quality material, and a good comfortable handle. Get you one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 3, 2011

Great little camp ax...........

By
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Handy little camp ax or light work..........Take it on camping trips,hunting trips and is use ull around the house.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 13, 2011

Darn good axe

By
Great axe to hike with. We went on a backwoods beach campsite and the axe was lightweight and easy to attach to a bag. We used it to cut firewood and had no problem with the handle or shaft. Overall great tool to have!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2011

Great Hatchet

By
Location: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Excellent little hatchet. Worked well fresh out of the box. Put a nice edge on it and works even better. Will never question the dependability. I forsee having this for 30+ years.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 29, 2011

excellent for the money

By
Location: Storm Lake, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
strong, not heavy, very good materials
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 54