Customer Reviews for ESTWING Estwing Sportsman Axe

ESTWING Estwing Sportsman Axe

The Sportsman Axe is 13" in length and features a stacked leather handle. It features a 3-inch cutting edge and comes with a leather sheath. Like all Estwing axes, the Sportsman features a one piece forged steel head and handle. Flat back can be used to drive tent stakes or nails.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.827 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
51 out of 52(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer Reviews for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Review 1 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

can't go wrong with Eastwing

Date:September 17, 2014
Used this for setting up camp, cutting fire wood, and opening the cavity on a deer. Aside from being to much to open the cavity of a deer. It has performed well and I have no dought that I will be able to leave this to my son that is only 3.5 years old.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tough and Reliable Hatchet

Date:June 8, 2014
I've had this hatchet for 10 years and it has lasted great. I've never even had to sharpen it! It is made from a very hard steel (1055) and that gives it durability. I have used it for everything from shaving off small slivers of wood to chopping down trees up two 10 inches thick. The tough full tang, solid steel handle makes the hatchet virtually indestructable. This hatchet has preformed very well and I could not be happier with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:January 9, 2014
Bought this for camping with family and friends, and I have been satisfied since. Well crafted, and very comfortable to use. The leather bound grip is superb, and the fact that the axe itself is one piece of metal makes it feel very sturdy. While not up to my standards of sharpness, it held its edge for quite some time before I felt it required a sharpening. Overall a very nice tool, and well worth the money spent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Ax

Date:May 29, 2013
I looked specifically for an American made ax, and when I can across the Estwing Sportsman Ax I recalled so many people finding it to be of high quality. It was better than I expected. Great rugged ax for many uses. I love the look style and the grip is very comfortable. One of the best out there and being made in the USA makes it stand out from the others!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Hatchet

Date:May 3, 2013
Strong, Durable. need a bit of sharpening when i got it but it holds an edge great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

classic hatchet

Date:March 19, 2013
excellent tool necessary for any tool box...could have been sharper... and I am not crazy about the design of the sheath (have to slide down handle once un snapped) but otherwise a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very nice product!

Date:May 30, 2012
Fits a smaller hand well and is very sharp. Will handle all the chores I need it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

camp tools

Date:May 30, 2012
this ax is very useful camping an being outdoors,lite weight sharp made in usa leather handle good lookin
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Ax

Date:May 20, 2012
I purchased this for camping and use around the house. It is well made and very durable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

simple but useful

Date:May 17, 2012
Estwing made a very useful hatchet, I would recommend this product to anyone who wants an ax that will last a long time if taken care of.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Little Axe

Date:March 29, 2012
well balanced with weight light enough to not wear you out, chopping up 8" round branches or kindling. very sharp blade, nice hammer head on back side of blade. I would buy another one if this one ever wears out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great quality axe

Date:March 8, 2012
Comes a little dull, but still works great. handle absorbs a lot of impact and cuts great. Awesome buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Hatchet

Date:January 11, 2012
This is all around the best hatchet you can get. It is built to last a lifetime. And best of all, its made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Handy tool

Date:January 9, 2012
This ax is the perfect weight, feels good in your hand. Does an excellent job for tasks at the campsite, deercamp etc. Quality material, and a good comfortable handle. Get you one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Dallas, Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little camp ax...........

Date:October 3, 2011
Handy little camp ax or light work..........Take it on camping trips,hunting trips and is use ull around the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Darn good axe

Date:September 13, 2011
Great axe to hike with. We went on a backwoods beach campsite and the axe was lightweight and easy to attach to a bag. We used it to cut firewood and had no problem with the handle or shaft. Overall great tool to have!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Hatchet

Date:September 6, 2011
Excellent little hatchet. Worked well fresh out of the box. Put a nice edge on it and works even better. Will never question the dependability. I forsee having this for 30+ years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Storm Lake, IA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent for the money

Date:August 29, 2011
strong, not heavy, very good materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Columbus, oh
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Decent

Date:July 28, 2011
Used the axe the first time on a 50 mile canoe trip. The instant it got wet, the sheath it comes with became unusable,( button stuck, leather tore/ became weak) blade rusts quickly.
The metal does hold a good edge, it is well balanced, and can make quick work of logs 5" thick. very handy for light back packing/hiking trips as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Estwing Sportsman Axe
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Shawano, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Unmatched Quality!!!

Date:March 22, 2011
Worth its weight in gold on a camping trip. solid, comfortable, all steel, and on top of all that Made In USA!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 52