Customer Reviews for BRINKMANN Smoker Electric Converter

BRINKMANN Smoker Electric Converter

1,500 watt electric heating element lets you convert Brinkman or Cook'N Cajun charcoal water smoker with open bottom to an electric unit. Allows for consistent smoking temperatures and carefree operation. Unit heats up to 210°F-220°F. Mounting plate for heater has a 15-1/2" diameter. Chip pan and instructions included. NOTE: Item is not compatible with Brinkman Gourmet grill.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
67 out of 76(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smoker Electric Converter
Review 21 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 21, 2011

Electric "Smokin"

By
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This converts a charcoal smoker to electric with little difficulty. The temperature is easy to hold constant for consistent quality. The small smoke pan over the element, for your hardwood chunks, works well to add flavor.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 21, 2011

great ideal

By
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
It 's a great ideal for a cylinder style grill.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 21, 2011

great product

By
Location: Audubon, Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I bought this to use in my old charcoal smoker. Works great. Makes the old smoker new again.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:March 1, 2011

What an option !!

By
Location: Knoxville
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have converted my charcoal smoker to gas and now electric. Very easy by the way.
The chip tray is small but I still get very close to the same results as the charcoal by adding chips to the tray with a charcoal here and there.
I shopped around. Best price was here when I bought this item.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2011

No cooky

By
Location: Parker, Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
For the particular smoker that this was made (Brinkmann), the heating element never gets the meat smokey or hot enough. The smoker was worthless using charcoal. At least the heater coil did keep it warmer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 4, 2011

waste of time

By
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I feel that this does not work as advertised. My smoker never got up to a useful heat range. Returned immediately.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2011

Works great

By
Location: Springfield, mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Built a smoker used this converter awesome
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2011

Electric converter used for smoker

By
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
pretty good bang for the buck
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2011

Works Perfect!

By
Location: George. Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Worked great right out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 26, 2010

Temperature Control

By
Location: The South
I have been getting excellent results from my electric smoker for three years now. I control the temperature by draping a pair of old bath towels over the smoker. By using two towels on cold or windy days, one towel on milder days, and none on hot days, I can keep the temperature needle right in the middle. For finer control, adjust the towel to cover less of the smoker exterior.
Use old towels, because the smoke stains and smell will never come out.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 1, 2010

electric smoker converter

By
Location: Rochester, NY
used the smoker once since getting the eletric converter. Smoked some summer sausage, I think it needs to come with a bigger tray for the wood chips, fit was perfect and did a great job.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 25, 2010

Electric Smoker Converter

By
Location: Brainerd, MN
This converter fit my smoker great, without any drilling or screwing required!
It has helped to reduce the overall time taken to smoke products, by providing consistent & constant heat. Very pleased with this product! -MN.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2009

SMOKER ELECTRIC CONVERTER

By
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This electric element made my ECB El Cheapo Brinkman much more user friendly.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 23, 2009

Works Great!

By
Location: Iowa
Used this converter to make a smoker out of a old freezer! It works great and all of my friends love the smoked goodness!! Keeps my big freezer smoker at about 200 degrees which is perfect for smoking! I did use a bigger pan for more hickory shavings so i dont have to open the door as often!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2009

electric smoker conversion

By
Location: Ontario Canada
Good quality You have to get used to the one setting extra hot took a while to get the right temperature by venting But it is a lot better than using charcoal to maintain temperature.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 23, 2009

Smoker Electric Converter

By
Location: MO Smoker
This is my second electric converter. The first lasted about ten years and may have lasted longer if it was kept clean of grease around the base or where it comes through the metal. I still need to keep the smoker covered or at least out of the wind for consistency but with the help of a remote thermometer it’s hard to go wrong.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 4, 2009

Needs a thermostat

By
Location: Las Vegas, NV
The product works as designed, However it's a cheap device, little more than a charcoal lighter which does a really marginal job.
With a thermostatic control it would be acceptable, without, it is a poorly designed waste of money as far as I am concerned.
My previous smoker, an electric had a thermostatic adjustment, and I expected for the price I paid, that the converter I purchased would have one too.
I purchased the converter so as not to have to manually modulate the smoker temperature as when smoking/slow cooking with charcoal. Without the thermostatic control I still have to monitor the cook and adjust the temperature unlike the electric smoker I used to own.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 18, 2009

Works Great !!!

By
Location: Kittitas, WA
I built a homemade smoker, this item was perfect for it. I have used extension cords to control the heat, play around with it you will love it !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2009

Electric Smoker Converter not good

By
Location: Wichita, KS
I used the converter twice and it won't heat the meat above 140 degrees. I have to finish off the meat in the oven in the house. I was excited to get this item and I have been VERY disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 9, 2009

Electrical Element for Smoker

By
Location: CA
Works as describe and no issues noted
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-40 of 76