Customer Reviews for BRINKMANN Smoker Electric Converter

BRINKMANN Smoker Electric Converter

1,500 watt electric heating element lets you convert Brinkman or Cook'N Cajun charcoal water smoker with open bottom to an electric unit. Allows for consistent smoking temperatures and carefree operation. Unit heats up to 210°F-220°F. Mounting plate for heater has a 15-1/2" diameter. Chip pan and instructions included. NOTE: Item is not compatible with Brinkman Gourmet grill.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.21 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
6
67 out of 76(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Smoker Electric Converter
Review 21 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electric "Smokin"

Date:July 21, 2011
This converts a charcoal smoker to electric with little difficulty. The temperature is easy to hold constant for consistent quality. The small smoke pan over the element, for your hardwood chunks, works well to add flavor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great ideal

Date:June 21, 2011
It 's a great ideal for a cylinder style grill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Audubon, Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 21, 2011
I bought this to use in my old charcoal smoker. Works great. Makes the old smoker new again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Knoxville
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

What an option !!

Date:March 1, 2011
I have converted my charcoal smoker to gas and now electric. Very easy by the way.
The chip tray is small but I still get very close to the same results as the charcoal by adding chips to the tray with a charcoal here and there.
I shopped around. Best price was here when I bought this item.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Parker, Colorado
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

No cooky

Date:February 12, 2011
For the particular smoker that this was made (Brinkmann), the heating element never gets the meat smokey or hot enough. The smoker was worthless using charcoal. At least the heater coil did keep it warmer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Boiling Springs, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

waste of time

Date:February 4, 2011
I feel that this does not work as advertised. My smoker never got up to a useful heat range. Returned immediately.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Springfield, mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works great

Date:February 1, 2011
Built a smoker used this converter awesome
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electric converter used for smoker

Date:January 27, 2011
pretty good bang for the buck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: George. Wa
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Perfect!

Date:January 6, 2011
Worked great right out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: The South
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Temperature Control

Date:March 26, 2010
I have been getting excellent results from my electric smoker for three years now. I control the temperature by draping a pair of old bath towels over the smoker. By using two towels on cold or windy days, one towel on milder days, and none on hot days, I can keep the temperature needle right in the middle. For finer control, adjust the towel to cover less of the smoker exterior.
Use old towels, because the smoke stains and smell will never come out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Rochester, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

electric smoker converter

Date:February 1, 2010
used the smoker once since getting the eletric converter. Smoked some summer sausage, I think it needs to come with a bigger tray for the wood chips, fit was perfect and did a great job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Brainerd, MN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electric Smoker Converter

Date:January 25, 2010
This converter fit my smoker great, without any drilling or screwing required!
It has helped to reduce the overall time taken to smoke products, by providing consistent & constant heat. Very pleased with this product! -MN.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SMOKER ELECTRIC CONVERTER

Date:November 18, 2009
This electric element made my ECB El Cheapo Brinkman much more user friendly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great!

Date:October 23, 2009
Used this converter to make a smoker out of a old freezer! It works great and all of my friends love the smoked goodness!! Keeps my big freezer smoker at about 200 degrees which is perfect for smoking! I did use a bigger pan for more hickory shavings so i dont have to open the door as often!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ontario Canada
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

electric smoker conversion

Date:July 29, 2009
Good quality You have to get used to the one setting extra hot took a while to get the right temperature by venting But it is a lot better than using charcoal to maintain temperature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: MO Smoker
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smoker Electric Converter

Date:June 23, 2009
This is my second electric converter. The first lasted about ten years and may have lasted longer if it was kept clean of grease around the base or where it comes through the metal. I still need to keep the smoker covered or at least out of the wind for consistency but with the help of a remote thermometer it’s hard to go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Needs a thermostat

Date:May 4, 2009
The product works as designed, However it's a cheap device, little more than a charcoal lighter which does a really marginal job.
With a thermostatic control it would be acceptable, without, it is a poorly designed waste of money as far as I am concerned.
My previous smoker, an electric had a thermostatic adjustment, and I expected for the price I paid, that the converter I purchased would have one too.
I purchased the converter so as not to have to manually modulate the smoker temperature as when smoking/slow cooking with charcoal. Without the thermostatic control I still have to monitor the cook and adjust the temperature unlike the electric smoker I used to own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kittitas, WA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Great !!!

Date:February 18, 2009
I built a homemade smoker, this item was perfect for it. I have used extension cords to control the heat, play around with it you will love it !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wichita, KS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Electric Smoker Converter not good

Date:February 11, 2009
I used the converter twice and it won't heat the meat above 140 degrees. I have to finish off the meat in the oven in the house. I was excited to get this item and I have been VERY disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Smoker Electric Converter
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: CA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Electrical Element for Smoker

Date:February 9, 2009
Works as describe and no issues noted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-40 of 76