Customer Reviews for MASTERBUILT Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier

MASTERBUILT Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier

Add some extra storage space for gear on your next trip. Excellent alternative to pulling an expensive, full-size trailer. Measuring a big 19-1/2" x 60", the HITCH-HAUL® has a carrying capacity of 500 lbs. (2" model only), or 300 lbs.(1-1/4" model). Ideal for lugging coolers, camping gear, game meat and all the other stuff you'd rather carry outside. Constructed with two 3" x 1" heavy-gauge side rails, solid-steel supports at front and rear and heavy-duty expanded metal flooring. Includes both 1-1/4" and 2" receiver bars for greater versatility.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 68 reviews
5 Stars
29
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
58 out of 68(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Review 1 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Elk Park, NC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product!

Date:November 13, 2006
GREAT PRODUCT, It is so nice to know I will be able to hook up the hitch-hauler to my envoy and lay that big trophy buck on it to show it off on the way to the butcher! It is strong easy to install and most of all very good quality steel! I wouldn't expect anything less than perfect from the greatest outdoor store in the world!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Platteville, Wis.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

original HITCH-HAUL excellent buy

Date:November 13, 2006
I purchased the original hitch-haul for the sole purpose of hauling a deer.Being in the situation of leasing a vehicle I had to make sure that the interior of that vehicle does not get ruined I opted for the hitch-haul. It is light weight so putting it on the vehicle is easy enough for one person to do.It is very sturdy and seems to be able to hold up to a lot of abuse.It also has a lot of optional equipment which at this time I do not own but when camping season comes up again I will seriously consider purchasing some of them. All in all I would recommend this item .Thank you for your help and easy of ordering this item and the support team you have that answered any questions I had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: glassboro,nj
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

luggage yes, bikes no

Date:November 18, 2006
I recently purchased the hitch hauler with the bike carrier. The hitch hauler works great for coolers and other normal stuff. However, the bike rack leaves you with three bikes that move with your vehicle. The rack comes with a strap that doesn't do much. If it could come with a 36'' vertical post from the hitch to tie the bikes back to the vehicle it would be worth it. So my advice is the hitch haul is worth it but, if your purpose is to carrying bikes I suggest buying a normal bike carrier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Augusta, GA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hitch Haul carrier

Date:November 20, 2006
Recently purchased hitch haul carrier to use on Tahoe to carry deer to processer. Works great for this and keeps my car clean. hauler only took about 15 minutes to assemble and install although you do have to buy separately a large cotter pen for hitch. Plenty strong enough for any size deer and could be used to haul many other things and increase the size of your useful space. For less than $100 everyone with an SUV could use a hitch haul carrier. Mike
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Mt. Holly, NJ
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

When you have a load to haul

Date:November 20, 2006
I recently purchased the Original Hitch-Haul Carrier for use on my Ford Escape. I found it necessary to gain extra space when going camping with my wife, two kids, dog and canoe. The extra space on the back of the vechile is very useful and much appreciated. I really do not know what I did without it. If you are looking for more storage for your gear and it can be hauled outside, then this is the device for you. You can't go wrong.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: PA
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carrier Made Move Possible

Date:November 20, 2006
Moving the child to a university quite a distance a way proved to be quite a challenge using a Subaru Outback wagon. The carrier on the trailer hitch of the car provided the extra space needed to carry all of her clothes, supplies and our camping gear for the five day travel to her new school. The only drawback was the carrier fit very snugly into the receiver, which made it difficult to mount and dismount each day we moved. It did not weight the back of the car excessivley and only dragged one time on the 10 day round trip. Very much worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hitch hauler

Date:November 21, 2006
this thing worked better than I expected. I can load my decoys on my carier and set the whole thing on the hitch hauler and not get my suv dirty. can't beat the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Expand Your Vehicle

Date:November 21, 2006
The Hitch-haul(R) Carrier is an easy, inexpensive way to make your vehicle larger for those times when space is at a premium. From summer vacations, to camping trips, and to trips to the dump, it has let our family of six expand the space in our mini-van. Assembly of the product was straightforward and well documented. It is easy to install and remove from our vehicle each time that we use it and seems to be solidly attached such that I had no issue having on the vehicle when driving on the highway. The only word of caution that I have is that on vehicles that don't have a particularly high clearence, the Hitch-haul may "bottom out" due to how far it sticks out from the vehicle. It would be nice if somehow it had a jog in it to increase the ground clearence of its back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Baltimore, MD
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product

Date:November 21, 2006
Easy to assemble. I thought this steel version would be substantially heavier than the aluminum version, but it was not. Reasonably light and very sturdy. Would definately buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Pawleys Island, SC
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't Skimp the $$$ When Purchasing a Hitch-N-Haul

Date:November 21, 2006
A couple of months ago I ordered this Hitch-N-Haul to put on the back of my Jeep Cherokee for deer hunting purposes. I did not realize that it came in several pieces; I had to bolt it together in the middle, and it's not as sturdy as I would like. (If you put something such as a cooler on one side of it, it pulls on the bolt and hangs down on one side) It rusted almost immediately, and is very hard to take off of my vehicle... I have to tie it to a tree and drive off to remove it from the hitch. If I was to do it again, I would pay more money to get the better quality hitch. This serves it's purpose, but is more of a pain in the tail than anything.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lansing, MI
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A Must have

Date:November 21, 2006
Whether I am hauling extra gear or a nice deer, this gives us some extra space for our Jeep.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Somewhat Disappointing...but still functional

Date:November 21, 2006
Because of the "bolt-together" nature of this product, it is not exactly what I would have liked. Assemble was quick, but maybe I did not put it together properly and overtightened the bolts(?).
After I put it together, it was severely bent. I layed it flat on my garage floor I placed it on the floor of my garage and literally stepped on it to make it flat.
After that, I placed it on the rear of my truck and was able to further bend it straight by pushing down on the high end.
It WILL serve the purpose of light hauling, and again, for my application, it is fine. I use it to fill my gas and/or propane tank or for deer bait (hopefully for a deer soon), but if I was using it more frequently, I would go for one that is solid.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: TN
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:November 21, 2006
If you own an SUV and hunt, you have to get one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rhinebeck, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Original Hitch-Haul Carrier

Date:November 23, 2006
I had to have someone else install it, but other than that I have had no problems with it. It carries most of my gear and has carried several deer without any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Sutter, California
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Hitch-Haul Carrier

Date:November 26, 2006
The Hitch-Haul Carrier was just the ticket to give me a little more gear space on my hunting trip from California to Colorado. It was easy to assemble, and was very sturdy once it was bolted together. It handled my largest marine cooler with ease and still had room for a couple of 5 gallon water jugs and some firewood! The painted finish still looks like new after 2000 miles of mud, snow and road grime. It was perfect for hauling our elk meat home to be processed. The expanded metal load deck made a great cleaning table for when we got our elk quarters back to camp and needed to rinse them off before loading them into the coolers. All in all, the Hitch-Haul Carrier is a great product for a small price. The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating was because it was a little loose in my receiver hitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Pace, FL
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Original HITCH-HAUL� Carrier

Date:November 28, 2006
This product is a life saver since I drive a RAV 4 Toyota and didn't have space inside for game. I have used it on every hunting trip and also carry my tree stands and chairs and coolers. There are however a few flaws where I am concerned. First the lip is too high for my Rav 4 so I cannot open my back hatchback (this could be my fault) and secondly the receiver post had to be cut because the holes would not match up. It appears they have an obstruction on my end of the trailor hitch and the post was just a 1/2 inch too long but you may not have that problem. It only took 10 minutes to put together and I love it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Carry All

Date:November 28, 2006
This is a great product for those who need extra room without using a trailer. Very durable and withstands almost anything. I use this to carry game and supplies in and out of the camp ground. Doesn't affect the vehicles ride and is lightweight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Rome, NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Addition to CRV

Date:January 26, 2007
Brought this carrier two years ago and loved it. I have carried up to two large bucks on it at one time without any problem. Noticed I used past tense, took my CRV into a tree off a steep incline, that did the carrier in.
I will buy another Original Hitch-Haul next time I get to Cabelas in PA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:April 11, 2007
If you need extra space this is the product to buy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Masterbuilt Original HITCH-HAUL® Carrier
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very light duty

Date:April 16, 2007
This is ok for light haulling. Things like lawn chairs and light coolers. Any thing heavy (like a small generator) I would recomend a heavy duty model. The mesh floor is weak. It is ok for the price next time I will get a heavy duty. It also has alot of wabble in my receiver hitch.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 68