Customer Reviews for THE ORGINAL SPACE BRAND The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket

THE ORGINAL SPACE BRAND The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket

Ideal for campers, climbers and backpackers, The Original Space Brand's All-Weather Blanket is lightweight, waterproof and windproof. Materials reflect and retain over 80% of your body's radiated heat for superior warmth when cold weather hits. Four-layer construction features super-insulating, microthin aluminum and Astrolar® fabric set between layers of polyethylene. Compact size fits easily in backpacks, glove compartments and your home's emergency-preparedness kit. To clean, simply rinse off and wipe dry. Full-edge binding and grommeted corners. Flexible to -20°F.   84"L x 60"W. Wt: 12 oz. Colors: Red/Silver, Olive/Silver.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.916 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(107 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 107 reviews
5 Stars
98
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
107 out of 107(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Review 1 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 29, 2011

Space Blankets Good to Go

By
Location: Marine, MN
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
The space blankets are very large and sturdy enough to be folded over and over again.
They will fit into a small space in a back pack or tackle box. It's also large enough to sleep under when out night fishing in the boat. The skeets can't get through it either.
With the top up on the boat, you can drape them over the top and keep out the night fog and morning dew. The heat inside the boat builds up so that you can stay warm all night.
I will recommend them to my friends. It is definitely a blanket to have in your Scoot Gear.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 22, 2016

light and durable

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
these make great shelters. i piled up leaves,pine boughs,whatever to get me off the ground.put one on top of that...a wool blanket and a light fleece blanket with the other one on top of me. around 30 degrees..snug as a bug.tough and light doesn't take up much room in my pack. have 10 of these. not all in my pack.lol
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 10, 2016

Everyone should own one.

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This is one of the things everyone should have to use for backpacking, camping, fishing, hunting, prospecting and survival. Put them on the ground and sleep on them when camping. They are waterproof and will work as a tarp, shelter or tent. They are not as tiny as the thin silver survival blankets but they will last for years. Keep them away from fire sparks. Holes can be burnt very easily. Good to have in every pack you have. Wrap it around a sleeping bag for a waterproof cover. Get the original Space Brand blanket. Other brands are not as tough and do not work as well.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Great product

By
Country: Australia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I have three of these. I use them in the field to shelter under, as a ground sheet and even at the football.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 27, 2015

Fantastic Value

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
We carry these on day hikes and put them under our sleeping bags at night. They make great shelters too. Money well spent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

Xlnt Quality

By
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
These emergency blankets with grommets, are very versatile, to use as an emergency blanket, reflective heat shelter, ground cover, or fireshield. I put one in each of my "get me home pks" bug-out pk, and hunting pack. They are very flexable, more durable, and way better quality than the cheap 1 time use tinny space blankets. I chose the OD so I can blend in or flip over to use as a signal as needed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 31, 2015

The one to get

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very well made and extremely versatile.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Safety first

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Tough, durable and lightweight. These should be a staple for your car and in the field and streams. Should you ever be in an emergency situation, it will keep you warm, reflect fire heat, become a tarp or reflector all in a few extra ounces.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Great blanket

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Bought this for emergencies..power outages.etc. Blanket is light weight and warm.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 8, 2014

This thing is GREAT!!

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I bought mine a while ago and in the last year it has proven to be worth every penny! Ground cover for changing a tire in the middle of winter, warmth in my blind, and a great emergency shelter that kept me warm and out of the wind. I'm going to invest in more of these, their uses seem to be almost limitless up here in Minnesota.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 5, 2014

A Must Have!

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have carried a Cabela's space blanket in my day pack Elk hunting for 7 years and would not be without it! Got caught in a bad winter storm in Steamboat Springs in 2000, high wind temp in 10 - 12 area. Put my space blanket inside my sleeping bag and got too hot I had to wrap in around the outside and slept warm as toast! Gave one to an Elk camp wrangler in 2005 as a gift and he told me in the spring of 2006 that it was one of the best items he has ever received and used in high mountain Elk camp! It is a must have in your day pack!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 27, 2013

great product

By
Country: Australia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Use this under my swag to keep the cold coming through. works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2012

Warm and Durable

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Loved my first Sportsman's Space Blanket. Ordered Four more. I've reused my first one over 30 times, and it is still good as new. Even my cat loves it. Her little nest stays nice and warm. Makes the best gifts ever. So many uses, car, pickup, sports games, floor cover, the list is endless.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 26, 2012

Strong "space blanket"

By
Country: Russia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Made strong, there are places to attach the rope can be used as bedding and shelter. But it's too hard and small size for ultra light tent tourist.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2012

Tough, Durable and Warm

By
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Used in WY at elevations of 9,500' - 10,500'. Spread on ground to help keep me warm and dry while glassing for elk. Worked great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 11, 2012

Life saver

By
In my opinion, no-one should go into the mountains without one of these blankets. I have used them more than once in sub-zero temps. They can be a life saver.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 6, 2012

Car Survival - This Blanket is Outstanding!

By
What if you were driving along got caught in a snowdrift or your car broke down and you got stranded in the cold? This blanket could save your life!
It's very well-constructed and you can throw one in your car without sacrificing hardly any space. I have two in my car - one as a blanket, and one as a tent/tarp to help trap-in heat.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 5, 2012

MultiPurpose and good quality.

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I purchased this space blanket because of its multiple uses when out in the field. The blanket can be used as a traditional tarp shelter but what sets it apart from other products is the reflective space blanket on one side. Lashing some cordage through the built in grommets, one can easily set up a lean to shelter between two trees. The reflective side will bounce your own body heat back to you to keep you warm. Combined with a small fire a few feet in front of the shelter will keep you toasty even in cold climates. The best part is you can always wrap yourself up in the blanket while on the move and it will keep you warm and dry since it is both wind and water proof. I always carry one in my pack and has held up very well. It will not fall apart or tear like the thin emergency space blankets.
This is a great piece of gear that is invaluable to someone that has the skills to use it to its full potential.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 31, 2012

" I Want To Buy More Of These..."

By
I was pleasantly surprised at the price & quality of the item. THRILLED that it was made in the U.S.A.. Getting harder to find an on-shelf, in-stock survival blanket. Liked having color choices, as in some situations (emergency) you might want attention drawn to yourself, sometimes, not so much. ,<) Not as noisy as some survival blankets, & some are certainly heavier/lighter, warmer/cooler. A very nice middle of the road choice with other applications/uses in the field or in a vehicle/home.Think of the application/situations you will most likely use it for, and space available and purchase accordingly. Would love to see a side-by-side display in Cabela's stores of the various blankets you offer in your camping gear area to help newer consumers with choices. Please keep carrying this made in the USA item.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Original Space® Brand's All-Weather Blanket
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 18, 2012

Sportsman's Space Blankets

By
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
These are not just for survival. I keep one or two of them in each of my vehicles. We use them to transport cold food from the grocery store in the summer months. Keeps everything in very good shape for hours at a time. No more hauling bulky coolers . Also when taken frozen goods on trips I just wrap the cooler in the space blanket and it is good for days at a time. Truly a fantastic product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 107