Customer Reviews for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders

500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders

If you are tired of lugging cumbersome feed bags up a rickety ladder to fill your traditional feeder, consider the benefits of this low-maintenance Capsule Feeder. The Capsule Game Feeder’s patented design is much more convenient than traditional feeders. Since it sits on the ground, you don’t have to hassle with ladders and winches to refill it. Simply back up a truck to the feeder, drop the tailgate and fill it up. The unique auger system pulls feed upward and broadcasts it, so you have precise control over the feed volume. Comes with a 12-volt, 70mA solar panel; and a powerful 12-volt, 5.1-amp, permanent magnet DC motor. Made of UV-resistant, polyethylene plastic. 20-year manufacturer’s warranty. Batteries not included. Available: 500 lb., 1,000 lb.
Overall Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer Reviews for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Review 1 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 12, 2015

Feeds reliability all winter in MN

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Last fall I began searching for a large capacity feeder that would reliably feed shelled corn all winter long while I was in FL. I discovered the 1,000# Capsule feeder offered by Cabelas. I was impressed by the innovative design that featured low-level loading and was super resistant to invasion or damage by animals of all sizes. The other great benefit is that the feeder is almost inconspicuous in the brush on my lot - no huge storage bin sticking up in the sky to attract attention or annoy the neighbors.
Best of all, the unit performed flawlessly all winter long, feeding twice a day with no intervention or maintenance required in spite of periodic snowfall and temperatures of -20 F or below for weeks. Amazing!
One minor modification I made was to fabricate an enclosed mounting bracket for the solar panel that placed it 60 degrees to the horizon. That allows it to better catch the limited sunlight from the southern sky during MN winters.
After filling the ground-level hopper, I will again head to FL for the winter with complete confidence that my Capsule feeder will reliably feed our neighborhood deer all winter. I am super pleased with this feeder and feel it is well worth the investment I made in it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2015

Simply The Best Feeder On The Market

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've owned one personally for two years and have had zero troubles. Timer is excellent with multiple saved times available and is also very user friendly and robust. Battery charges great and stays charged. I've never seen it below full. I've been around a lot of these feeders and have never seen one that broke and failed on its own accord. Absolutely excellent feeders and I truly believe, beyond a few small exceptions, all other feeders are a waste of money.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 4, 2015

500 Lb Feeder

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This is the best feeder made. Feed last twice as long since the varmints cant get it. When we show up to check after several months, the capsules are always working while other feeders have to be repaired from damage by cows or coons. When I first used this I noticed it didn't put out as much corn as other capsule feeders . We found the pipe around the augur was to long compared to the others, so not as much augur was exposed to pick up the feed . Cutting off 1/2 inch of the PVC pipe around the augur did the job .Now it throws out the same amount as the others.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 25, 2012

excellent product

By
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I own 7 of these 1000 lb feeders - 5 before Cabelas began handling them. for several years they perform flawlessly. but on word of caution. do not use old corn that has over wintered and is dirty and broken from insect damage or corn with alot of cob pieces. it will clog the auger and not perform as expected. good quality fresh corn - excellent product. also every 2-3000 lbs, clean out feeder to remove dust and chafe. I have had dealing with mfg for several small issue - they were excellent to deal with - helpful and fast!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:June 2, 2012

Best Corn Feeder so far

By
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have many corn feeders throughout my Ranch. Because of some of the large game animals, I have constructed hanging arrangements for each feeder.
I tried two of these. They worked great. For some reason, the large game animals do not disturb them.
As my other feeders develop problems (with age), I am replacing them with these.
My first one of these had broken parts. The manufacturer replaced them promptly at no cost.
I had questions. The manufacturer answered them immediately.
Good people make these feeders and they are good products.
John S.
Poplarville, MS
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 13, 2012

GREAT EQUIPMENT & SUPPORT!!!!

By
Location: Atlanta
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've owned many feeders over the years, but this one is the best by far. Easy to load, and seems very durable. When I talked to the manufacturer, they were very helpful and really stand behind their product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 30, 2011

Great Feeder

By
Location: Atlanta GA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Yes, it is expensive but so far, it has worked very very well. It came via tractor trailer delivery to my house and was shrink wrapped to a pallet. Driver dropped it at the curb on his liftgated trailer and then used a pallet jack to pull it up my driveway. I was concerned that assembly was going to take a long time but couldn't have been much easier. The auger system etc. inside the feeder was already assembled. All I had to do was take the top off and install the battery and timer...easy. Have had it out in S. GA for 6 weeks and it was still almost a third full after throwing corn 3 times a day. I have a bunch of pics of hogs all around it almost every night without any effect to the feeder. Also, much easier to transport than I thought it would be be. I used a piece of board leaning against my tailgate and put a cable lock through the handle to use like a rope. I pulled it up the board and into the back of the truck. Did it easily by myself. It fit flat in the back of my f150. In the field, i simply lowered it off the tailgate to the ground (no board). Wish they were less expensive though because I would have 3 or 4 of them.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 500- and 1,000-lb. Capacity Capsule Game Feeders
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 2, 2010

Truly Revolutionary

By
Location: San Antonio, TX
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I've been using my Capsule Game Feeder for just over a year and it's revolutionized how I manage deer on my ranch. It's saved me time and money by eliminating wasteful corn feeding from raccoons and hogs. I've had serious hog problems with my other conventional feeders but my capsule has been a force to be reckoned with! Setting up the feeder was a snap, even for an old coot like me. I like how I can refill the entire feeder from the ground or bed of my truck without having to deal with walking up ladders and lifting heavy bags of feed over my head. Well worth the price. I just ordered 3 more.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.