Customer Reviews for SPYPOINT Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera

SPYPOINT Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera

Spypoint's 5MP XCel HD Hunting Action Camera records full-HD 1080p footage of your adventures. Wide-angle 170° lens captures all your hunting action. Control camera manually or with the included remote control. Universally mountable. Photo, video and time lapse modes. Kit includes: Lithium battery pack, HDMI cable, lens protector, waterproof camo case, bow mount, scope mount and head strap.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
6
21 out of 30(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer Reviews for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Review 1 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

xcell

Date:June 12, 2014
bought this product thinking the mounts and other hardware were a better deal than the go pro..NOT!! the water proof case broke at the clip on day two, and the clip that holds the camera on the bases broke on day 4. product tech support is not English friendly and they still haven't responded back to me. video is pretty good but the sound is not. I just ordered the go pro. do NOT recommend this product for a $50 savings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Be careful of case

Date:June 12, 2014
The video the camera takes is pretty good but you need to be careful of the case the camera goes into it. I had the latch that clamps it shut break twice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great hunting camera

Date:June 4, 2014
This is a great hunting camera for filming your own hunts. What I like about it, is the fact it's full Hd, wide angle lens and comes with a remote that works out to 40 ft. It's easy to set up, on & off for video and pics you don't have to fumble thru a dozen menus for operation. Why this camera is perfect for hunting is because it was designed for hunters not skate boarders. It comes standard with a bow mount and a rifle scope mount. You can not get that from other action cams. I have 2 and would recommend them to anyone wanting to film their hunts or adventures!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great addition to my video camera collection

Date:May 26, 2014
As a professional Outdoor Videographer, I must be able to rely on my equipment. The Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera is a lot of camera for the money. The tack-sharp video quality, ease of use, and the ability to attach it to anything with the wide selection of accessories, make this camera a must have for the professional or those just looking to have some fun with a cool little camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

EXACTLY what I needed!!

Date:May 14, 2014
Finally an action camera built with the hunter in mind! love the footage I get with my xcel action camera while hunting. Use it on my bow and shotgun with the mounts that were supplied in the package, very simple to use... the wide angle lens is sure to capture everything that is going on while I am hunting. Full HD footage and everything I need was included in the carry case including a completely waterproof housing and long lasting battery. Very cool to be able to watch my hunts over and over off of the Xcel footage. Will be buying another one of these for my family vacations. Thanks for the great product Spypoint!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alright camera

Date:May 6, 2014
The camera had a lot of features I was looking for but the reason for buying it was to mount to bow and try to film my hunts/ shot. Gives all the mounts you need to mount to just about anything. Mounting it to the stabilizer with provided mount meant for the stabilizer mount proved not good.the video quality was ok although would experience a heat wave effect post shot . It also gets a real loud annoying buzz pre and post shot can be corrected by taking out of weather proof case which renders the stabilizer mount useless. A real disappointment. But for normal videoing it seems to be a good camera.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

BEWARE of "Cabelas" Xtreme Protection Plan

Date:April 29, 2014
First off, beware of the supposed "Cabelas" Xtreme Protection Plan. I purchased the camera in March. Overall, I thought the video was good quality and the camera did what it was supposed to do..........aside from the remote. The company says the remote would work to 40ft. i was lucky to get 5ft out of it. I put in new batteries and it still didn't work. I brought the remote in to Cabelas only wanting to replace the defective remote. I indicated I had the $40 protection plan. She told me that I would need to work through NEW company for the plan. With most places, if you buy a protection plan that means the company you purchased from will replace and/or stand by it AT THE STORE LEVEL. That's why consumers pay for it. Cabelas has a 3rd party taking care of this. As a marketer I can say Cabelas has done quite the job of hiding the use of a 3rd party for this plan with both their brochure and the checkout clerks. Not at any time did I think that I'd have to contact another company to get my defective product taken care of. I only added this part on because I want to ensure other consumers don't misunderstand the additional service protection. Back to the camera. I like what it does and what was included for the price. cheaper than GoPro. I didn't recommend only because of the defective remote and it hasn't been resolved yet. That was a key item in my decision to purchase this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little camera

Date:April 28, 2014
Have used itseveral times now. Not disappointed at all. Very easy to use. Lots of xtras with camera. Picture quality is excellent. Great camera to use and own.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

worked for 5 minutes

Date:April 13, 2014
I was very excited to get this camera. I had read all the reviews good and bad. The camera worked for about 5 minutes and the battery started to die. Which was not a big deal. I plugged it on and let it charge over night. The next day I turned it on and it displayed a full charge on the LCD screen. Then within a five minutes the LCD screen went blank. I could turn the thing on and off ( ie the blue lights worked) but not the LCD. I wanted it to work so bad. It went back. I guess I'm going to have to go with a GoPro. I think this could be a great product, but they gave some bugs to work out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

5 mega pixels?

Date:April 11, 2014
For the money your better off with the GO PRO , a lot more MP and a lot better quality pic and video. Only thing that makes this unique is camo case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great little video camera

Date:March 5, 2014
This camera is the smallest around and can attach to all hunting gear especially my Hoyt bow....the remote works great also...battery life is pretty good also...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great! Great!Great!

Date:January 13, 2014
I had to think about getting Xcel Spypoint HD Hunting Action Camera. I looked at GoPro, but I wanted a action camera that had accessories in camo. I mounted the camera on my bow and I started practicing to see how good the video. I gave an overall rating 5 stars it did everything; the video is very good, the practice session ourdoor with snow on the ground glare from the snow but indoor the video is better than very good with good lighting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great cam, easy to use

Date:January 10, 2014
Great cam at all. I liked the several mounts included with the cam to fit all my different arms. But the best feature to me is the very friendly user design. Very easy to set up. The included remote is also useful while hunting because you don't have to reach the camera every time you want to start/stop the video. I recommand it to all hunters.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Caution! Poor customer service

Date:January 9, 2014
Received as a gift for Christmas. Package was opened and slide mount was broken. Paper work indicated not to return to Cabelas and contact Xcel. I immediately sent an email. Received auto response that the office was closed until the 5th of January. Received response on 8th requesting I send receipt to them. Tried calling them and found out this product is not supported in US, but french speaking country. Did get english translation, but would always be transferred to voice mail.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera

Date:December 31, 2013
The xcel camera has everything you need. It comes with mounts and all of this in a great carrying case, which I use so I don't loose the mounts. This compact camera shoots in full HD! Very typical of Spypoint it is very easy to use, has great battery life, mine lasts for about 2.5 hours and I bring a spare in my case so it is handy. I used it on my hunts this year and loved it! I would highly recommend this camera, i have been very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best hunting action camera

Date:December 31, 2013
i just wanted to pass on to you the Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera is the best I've ever used, i started using this unit in July of 2013 and i have had no problems with this unit whatsoever! the one great part of this unit, is the life time of the battery, this unit will shut down when not in use and with the simple click of the on/off button and you're instantly back in business. I've shot some great footage, in the mountains of Colorado and had excellent high quality footage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Camera

Date:December 29, 2013
I have been using this Xcel camera for 3 months on all of my hunts, mostly bowhunts for elk and deer. It was easy to use and has worked out great. I filmed action shots from the UTV and truck and used it in the blind for different angles. The remote control lets me put the camera in out-of-reach places. I also put the camera on my walking stick so it was ready at a moment's notice. I was able to come home, remove the micro SD card, put it in my tablet and use the editing software to make videos for family and friends to remember our trips. The footage quality is awesome. The waterproof camo case protects the camera well. I used it for an entire hunting season in rugged conditions and it looks and performs just like new. I am very happy with this camera's performance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera

Date:December 28, 2013
Have used this quite a bit since Christmas. No battery problems, battery lasts 2 to 3 hours. Very user friendly. Play back on TV is good. Great options on having the play lights on or off, or the audio signals on/off, especially for big game hunting situations. It's a great camera w/a lot of accessories in it's package. If there is a draw back, it would be no zoom. Deer sized objects can only be seen out to around 80 yards, but the competitors camera is the same. The plus is the grandkids love to be videod playing around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nevada
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

overall nice camera

Date:December 23, 2013
Got this about 2 days ago. Very user friendly. Nice small and compact. Used the headstrap camera w/o the camo case and couldn't tell it was up there. Had two issues, hope both are small. First the battery which was at full charge only lasted a couple of minutes out hunting quail. Then at home recharged it and recorded outside for at least a half an hour and still had over half of the battery life left. So I'll wait and see about that issue. Secondly another review had said it only plays back on tv in the 480 mode. I recorded on 1080 and 720 and couldn't tell the difference on the playback on tv. Aside from those issues, and the fact it has all the attachments for your normal hunter, it seems to be worth the money. Can't wait for deer, elk, etc. Then I can show the wife where I've been. Men out there, u know what I'm sayin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Spypoint® Xcel HD Hunting Action Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible product

Date:December 8, 2013
I have used this item three times, every time I went out on a full charged camera it only lasted 40 mins and will not stay on. I am not sure how anyone can like this product for the cost and the quality that you get. I am returning and Go-ing Pro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 30