Customer Reviews for CUDDEBACK Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera

CUDDEBACK Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera

Simple to set up and use, this compact Cuddeback delivers full-size performance with a blazing 1/4-second trigger speed. Choose wide-angle or centered-subject modes with zone control detection. Black Flash infrared illumination delivers exceptional nighttime photos with minimal blur and washout. Smart Color technology captures rich, vibrant daytime photos. Record wildlife in action day or night with 10- to 30-second videos. Time-lapse modes take one to five untriggered images per minute or at intervals between one minute and 24 hours. Uses an SD card up to 32GB (not included). 120MB of internal memory stores photos if you forget your memory card. Requires eight AA batteries (not included) for up to six months of operation. Dimensions: 11"H x 6.5"W x 4.5"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
2.444 out of 5
2.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
3 out of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Review 1 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 16, 2014

Dont buy it

By
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have had several cameras over the past few years and been having trouble with them mainly when the batteries got low. So I spent a little more money and went to the Cuddyback Ambush Black Flash. Worst camera I ever owned. Night time photos are the worst. I compared camera quality and sensitivaty by having three different cameras on the same food pile. Cuddyback was out done by both Moultry and Big Game hands down. Needless to say the Cuddyback is going back. I would upload some photos but they would be too blurry for viewing.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 30, 2014

Great Black Flash Cam!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
The Cuddeback Ambush Black Flash is a great camera. It has a quick trigger speed, and it has GREAT battery life I had mine out since early July and just changed the batteries at the first of the year. The only down side to this camera is that there is some motion blur, but that is to be expected with a black flash cameras.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 28, 2014

Do Not Buy

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
I was looking for a new camera that would reduce the number of pictures taken at night with motion blur. I currently own Moultries (1 with a red IR with their reduced motion blur feature and 1 with their version of an IR black flash with the same motion blur reduction feature). With these two Moultrie, I get about 1 out of 3 nighttime pictures with motion blur. So I was specifically looking to add a “better” camera to improve the number of picture with nighttime motion blur. I had heard good things about Cuddyback and decided to spend the extra money and buy the Cuddeback Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera.
After 4 nights I had 41 pictures. Approximately 35 pictures had motion blur so bad, you could not tell if the deer were bucks or does. I had a picture of something (maybe a fox) but the motion blur was so bad, you really would not tell.
I am not sure if all cuddebacks perform this poor, but I am sending my cuddeback back to Cabelas for this reason..
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2014

strike one

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Received the camera and proceeded to set it up. This went well, however it will manually take pics but not in armed mode. This is not good. When I went to check the pics it did take in the manual test I discovered that 3 different brands of point and shoot cameras would not read the card. I finally tried a universal card reader and got to see the pics I took. 1 was in color and the rest were in black and white in a daylight setting. I will be returning the camera because it doesn't work for one thing and the other is that I would not be able to check cards in the field without a compatible viewer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 9, 2013

Black Flash

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I hear people complaining about the quality of the pictures and when I see the pictures they are all at night. I own 2 of these cameras and the daylight pics are absolutely great and nighttime are not going to be as good (as they tell you on Cuddebacks website) because it is blackflash technology meaning it gives off zero light. If the animal is moving when the pciture is taken it does look blury. However, I prefer the zero flash/light at night as it doesn't alarm the big bucks and I get more pictures. Again, if you go to Cuddebacks website they will show you with pictures what you can expect. One last note, I had 3 different cameras out just in the last few weeks with below zero weather. The only one that still had battery life was the Cuddeback Blackflash. I am very impressed with battery life.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:December 5, 2013

Worst than poor

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Don't waste your money. Went thru 5 Cudde-slacks. None as good as any Bushnell.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 26, 2013

Grainy

By
This camera is a distant third to the Moultri and Bushnell cameras I have. Disappointed in video and pic quality.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2013

Extremely Unsatisfied

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Bought the cuddeback ambush black flash ir and was as excited as a kid on Christmas. I have always heard great things on the cuddeback cameras so I decided to give it a shot for this season. However, it was a little more difficult to get programmed than my previous camera. Took a little bit longer, but I finally got it figured out.
Even after figuring out the complicated settings, the pictures were nothing short of poor. I was expecting Class A photos and got nothing close to decent photos. They advertise "centered subject" and "high definition photos" but look at the ones I attached and make your own judgement. The only reason I didn't give one star is because the black flash ir is new, and also my first cuddeback camera. I am not sure if all cuddebacks perform this poor, but I am sending my cuddeback back to Cabelas for this reason.
Keep this in mind before purchasing this product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cuddeback® Ambush Black Flash 5MP Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 16, 2013

Cuddeback Ambush Black Flash

By
Country: United States
State: South Carolina
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have been using Cuddeback scouting cameras for several years now and this one is one of their best yet. The black flash does not alert or alarm the deer. Battery life is outstanding and the video quality keeps getting better. Excellent product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.