Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera

PRIMOS Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera

Capture night shots of wild game out to 35 ft. without flash, glow or lights. This 4MP camera records photo, video with audio and HD time lapses for quickly viewing a day's events. Early detect sensor picks up motion quicker and initiates filming so you won't miss wildlife approaching from awkward angles. Quick and easy sliding-switch operation. Eight AA batteries (not included) power this camera for nine months. Dimensions: 5-1/4"H x 4-1/4"W x 2-3/4"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
1.6 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
8
1 out of 10(10%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Review 1 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

WHAT A JOKE

Date:November 30, 2013
Got two of these in June of 2013 and had been disappointed from the time we set them up. Tested these till end of November against the moultrie D-333 and the primos truth cam 35 trail camera and is getting less then 1 for every 10 on other cameras. The trigger range is way shorter then stated and narrower. The pictures are super blurry. The camera would trigger but all you get is the back side of the deer as it walks out of frame even at fastest setting. Changed setting and same out come. If you want a camera that takes a picture stay away from the Black outs.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Complete Waste of Money

Date:November 6, 2013
I have about 20 trail cameras including several different brands and models. About the only thing I like about this camera is the "frame" it puts around the pictures telling you date, time, etc.
Of course, you don't see that very much, because it rarely actually takes a picture.
Out of curiosity, I ran a "field test" trial three times in three locations. I put the Primos on a fence post with 2 or 3 other game cameras above and below it. The others all took dozens of day and night pictures of deer, coyotes, etc.
The only pictures the Primos took were of me walking away when I set it and walking up to it at the end. I tried various settings, and nothing helped. Plus, it drained the batteries faster than my others.
In short, it's a total piece of garbage.
If you want a small, high-performance game camera that takes good pics with long battery life, try the Bushnell ones that use 8 AA batteries. They are the best ones I've found so far, and if you wait, once or twice a year Cabelas puts them on a really excellent sale price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Terrible Product

Date:October 6, 2013
I have used other brands of trail camera's before and purchased these on sale thinking I got a steal for the price. I placed them (2) out in the woods and came back 1 week later to find them both dead. The one camera only took 16 total pictures before draining the batteries with 6 of those being me setting them up. The other camera was able to take 36 before it died. I was not able to turn that one back on even with a new set of batteries. I spoke with 2 other individuals who purchased the same camera's as I did and they both had the same problems of the cameras seemingly shutting themselves down. I personally will never buy another trail camera by this manufacturer
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad!!!

Date:September 4, 2013
Had to send back twice in a month due to taking no pictures and not putting date/time on pictures. the 3rd one finally worked but only for a year. Took it out yesterday sept 3rd 2013 to get cameras ready for the woods and doesnt work. Turns on and right back off with fresh batteries and when i do get it to take a pictures it doesnt put it on the SD card
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wish I could use it

Date:August 21, 2013
I just opened and tried to set up the camera I bought, knowing that I needed 8 AA batteries, but not knowing I needed it have a memory card to record a picture. I can't deceive that it did not come with one. All other cameras I've bought have at least the minimum of hardware included. The memory cards are not that expensive.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

primos still maintains its quality

Date:August 5, 2013
being on a fixed budget requires strategic shopping so researching trail cams for what they cost is a needed task. I tested this camera out inside and outside even in rain and it performs every function from photos to video, to time lapse perfectly. This is a new product for 2013 so you won't find hardly any info other than sales videos but I love it. It is also still reading 99% battery life to even for a month, in summer, that tells me a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk Stay away!!!

Date:August 4, 2013
One camera didn't work out of the box, next broke the next year. all primos cameras are junk stay away!! this isn't cabelas fault. Primos cameras are a waste of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not what I thought

Date:August 3, 2013
I purchased this camera a few months ago. It takes good pics and videos but you must reset the date and time every time you use it. I followed the directions for setting it up but to no avail. Reread directions thinking I made a mistake. Same thing, will not hold date and time. I suppose this is a little picky but for the price I really did expect more from it. You can also see the red and green light when it is set off.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your time or money on this line!

Date:July 30, 2013
If you are in the market to buy a new camera, your best bet is to stay away from this line of cameras. I have had (2) different models and they both either quit working as soon as I put batteries in them or after one season of scouting. The customer service for these cameras is nothing but a joke, no way to e-mail them on their worthless site. You would think if you are going to put your name on a product, you would try and make sure it works right. I guarantee I'll NEVER purchase ANYTHING from this outfit EVER again. P.S. I would have given these cameras a big fat 0 if I could, a 1 is too good for this junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Truth Cam Ultra Blackout Infrared 4MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Defective

Date:July 21, 2013
I had this camera shipped to me 2-day express so I could use it for a security camera around my home because it is one of the few without a flash. I have tried 3 sets of batteries, which it has drained, and it will not take a single photo. Very disappointed with this product. It turns on and the light indicates it has been triggered, but no photo will record on the memory card(s) I have tried. I am currently waiting for a replacement camera. I'm hoping for better luck. Other reviews I have read aren't giving me much hope though. Same problems with draining batteries and not taking photos. Poor product all around! After reading more about them, it seems that Primos cameras all have the same issues. Hoping to get lucky with my next one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.