Customer Reviews for RUAG USA API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

RUAG USA API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand

The Crusader’s design ensures multiple shooting angles. Lightweight, durable Alumi-Tech™ construction features internally reinforced aluminum extrusion for extreme strength and a powder-coated finish for resistance to the elements. The foot platform allows a wide stance and has traction ridges for added safety. Seat has an ultrathick, padded cushion and backrest. Each section folds flat with ease. The foot platform nests inside the climbing section for easy packing and storage. Rubber-coated climbing chain conforms to trees. Tethered snap pins prevent loss in the woods. Includes padded backpack straps, accessory bag to store connecting straps, and all necessary straps. Stand is tested to TMA standards and includes a full-body safety harness with Suspension Relief System (SRS). Seat size: 11"H x 17"W x 2"-thick backrest; 17"W x 11"D x 2"-thick seat cushion. Platform size: 20"W x 26"D. Weight: 22 lbs. Weight capacity: 300 lbs. Camo pattern: Realtree AP™.   A Video Public Service Announcement from the TREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
Overall Customer Rating:
2.909 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
7 out of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Review 1 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Never another API for me.

Date:December 12, 2012
Very first time I used this stand the support braces bent on the upper part of the stand. Left me stranded 10 feet off the ground in the dark with no one around & no cell phone service. Just a little up set to say the least on opening day of deer season. Long story short, I will never own another API stand. I will stick with my summit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Utah
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great first time stand

Date:October 8, 2012
This is my first treestand and as far as I can tell a pretty good one. The construction is very sturdy and it is very comfortable to sit in. Setup is pretty easy even for a first timer. It is not very heavy and if you pack it up with the cushions against your back it is very comfortable to pack in and out.
The reason for 4 stars is because the foot straps and instructions are a joke.
First, the instructions are absolutely worthless. The way I set it up was by looking at the product picture on the website. It does however, come pretty much fully assembled so there isn't that much assembly required.
Second (and more annoying) is that the foot straps don't work at all. Invest in some aftermarket straps or build your own.
Overall I am very happy with it. I feel very safe and secure while in it. It's very light and strong. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a good stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

not bad

Date:October 7, 2012
ive had a summit sd climber before and it was definitely better but it was also more expensive, so for the price its not bad at all. i guess its a hit or miss with this stand because i have yet (knock on wood) to have a support piece break or bend and i weigh 220. the foot strap is a wide nylon strap that could definitely use an upgrade and the foot platform is a little small but other than that im happy with this stand and for my budget i couldnt have chose a better one since most in that budget are steel and really heavy. choose carefully and hunt safe.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad product

Date:September 30, 2012
Opened the box didnt come with very good instructions. Basically had to figure stuff out trial and error. Got out to the woods and set of stand 10 feet up tree the bottom aluminum starts bending. Im only 180lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Med Duty treestand

Date:September 29, 2012
I have to start this by saying this treestand is very well priced and of good quality, I'm a big guy 6 ft 240lbs dressed. Although the Crusader is rated for 300lbs and with all I bring up. With mt bow and all my gear I weigh in at about 260lbs the Crusader did not do well for me. I would say its a midweight treestand. If your a smaller guy or gal its a great treestand. I'll try the heavier duty or a hang on for me. Be safe out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Should do the job now that the bugs are worked out

Date:September 23, 2012
This is my first climber, but I have used them quite a bit. I took it out to the woods today for the first time to get the bugs worked out before I hunt with it next weekend. I really like the plastic-wrapped chain because it grips the tree nicely and is pretty easy to adjust. The tiny plastic ties that hold the chain adjustment pins in place broke right away, so get rid of them so that you don't depend on them (the hunt is done if you lose one of those pins in the woods). The rope to tie the 2 sections of the stand together was way too short, so I had to replace it. The foot stirrups are nothing more than a bungee chord, so I assume the more expensive stands have upgrades to this part. There are 3 cheap nylon straps for holding the 2 sections together when you are carrying it. Throw them away and get a bungee chord for this. I will definitely try to find a bigger tree from now on because if you go less than 12" diameter there aren't enough teeth contacting the tree to make for a very comfortable stand. I didn't even open the safety harness that came with it. Everyone should own a good harness anyway. I was a bit nervous when I bought it because there was only one review, but I am happy with my purchase and can't wait to get it 20' up a tree! Good luck to you all this fall!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Crusader

Date:September 17, 2012
Product was easy to assemble and folds nicely together for transportation in the field. There were no chains in the box but thats not Cabelas fault API had them to me in a couple days no questions asked. Product is good quality only improvement would be the way your feet strap in to these climbers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

APT not what they used to be

Date:September 14, 2012
I have been a long time API fan and found this stand to have design flaws I could not live with so it will be returned for another brand that is safer in my opinion. I'm only 200 lbs. which is well under the rated 300 lbs.
The Good:
* The price is great especially if on sale.
* The seat is very comfortable
* The back rest portion of the seat unzips from the seat allowing you to have the cushion behind your back higher if you so choose.
* Can be backpacked folded flat or with brackets in place.
* Light weight compared to my older 30lb. API
* Padding on rails have zippers not wire tied on like compeditors.
*Comfortable padded shoulder straps
The Bad:
* The braces from the foot and seat platforms to the bar the chain/cable inserts to are made from round stock and flattened prior to the anchor points thus creating severe areas of potential failure.
* The above mentioned braces bent immediately. I'm confident they would crack and break within the first year. Hopefully not when you are at any height.
* Foot stirrups are lacking greatly compared to other but you can get by.
* When standing up from a seated position you have less than half the platform to stand on.
What would make it a perfect stand:
* Redesign the braces so they do not bend at all is a must.
* Better stirrups.
* A larger foot platform
* A foot rest
My suggestion is do your homework before you purchase this stand and try one out first if you can.
Happy Hunting...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

happy,happy,happy

Date:September 4, 2012
love it so far, takes a little more set-up time but packs alot better than my older styles. would have given it 5 stars but the back straps are not the best and the safey harness is junk compared to ones that came with my old api climber!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR

Date:September 3, 2012
Took this out today to test before archery season and it is not good quality. Support pieces bent while I was climbing. It literally left me hanging 7 feet up in the air.
This will be going back to Cabelas.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for API Outdoors Crusader Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good stand for a great price!

Date:August 5, 2012
Just tested it out, and can't wait to use it when deer season gets here. You can't find a better stand for the price either. Light weight, and flat folding for easy packing. And its quite comfortable too. It could use better foot stirrups, and conecting strap, though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.