Customer Reviews for DIETZ Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

DIETZ Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver

Check photos up to 250 ft. away from your hunting hotspot, and leave less scent in the woods. The ultracompact, feature-rich, 8MP Tiny-W2 comes with a wireless blackbox receiver that automatically backs up your images and remotely records them to an SD card. 38 infrared (IR) LEDs with automatic IR-level adjustment reduce unwanted blur and capture black-and-white photos by night and clear, color pictures by day. Record video from 10 to 90 seconds. Adjustable distance detection sensor captures movement from 5 to 50 ft. Multishot mode captures up to six pictures per detection. Massive 7 Zone Coverage delivers fast trigger times and a wide field of view for scouting larger areas or food sources. Built-in 2.4" viewing screen. Unique sliding mount design for easy handling. Date, time, moon and temperature stamp on each picture. Memory-card slot for use with SD/SDHC cards up to 32GB (card not included). USB and TV port (NTSC/PAL). Camera requires six AA batteries (not included) or a rechargeable lithium battery pack (not included) and maintains charge with a solar panel. Receiver requires six AA batteries (not included) or a 12-volt power supply. Kit includes blackbox receiver, mounting straps, USB cable and video cables. Megapixels: 8.0 color day/b&w night Battery type: AA Flash range: 70 ft. Infrared: 38 IRs Camera dimensions: 4.7”H x 3.5”W x 2.7”D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
15 out of 16(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Review 1 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very disappointed with warranty service

Date:February 7, 2014
The pictures are great, but when the camera stopped working, it began a four month process of getting a working camera again. The camera worked for six months then quit, and was out of Cabela warranty. It has been a very frustrating process to get the camera BACK. We *still* don't have it back, and we mailed it to be fixed at the beginning of December.
We aren't part of the Throw Away generation, and spending a lot of money for camera and memory card was part of a long-term purchase, not a six month one.
Great pictures, but apparently not a long term investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So So

Date:September 17, 2012
It takes some getting use to. The instruction are not very clear on how to set it up for use. The quality of the pictures are ok. I do like the feature of not have to get close to the camera to check the card, that is the best part of this set up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great scouting tool!

Date:October 16, 2012
I love the piece of mind that comes with having the black box receiver! It really makes a thief think twice about messing with your camera! Camera is small, infrared and takes great pics! I would have rated it 5 starts but the battery life could be better. Otherwise awesome trail camera!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

SPYPOINT

Date:October 16, 2012
GREAT CAM MY 2ND CAM AND THIS ONE ACTUALLY WORKS LIKE ITS SUPPOSED TO LOOK NO FURTHER, THIS IS THE ONE
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tiny-W2 Camera

Date:August 21, 2012
The camera works great, I have it set up 50 yards away from my home.The little blackbox receiver is on the deck and does very well.The camera has taken many pictures and the receiver has no probem with the pictures. The only probem is, that it is hard on Batterys, the large current draw takes the batterys down fast. You as well as I need to get the LIT-C-8 or the LIT-09 rechargeable battery pack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

We are VERY HAPPY!

Date:January 8, 2013
Fiance wanted a camera to serve a variety of purposes around the homestead - look at her bird feeder, see who comes in the driveway, look at where the racoons are coming from, etc. We have taken time lapse of the bird feeder and sunsets, and set serched for racoons (they appear to be gone!) and are very happy
I bought this one for Christmas - and was attracted to the wireless aspect as this allows her to look at the pictures without leaving the house.
Very easy to set-up and operate. Very quick response on a couple of questions from the company. We look forward to many more adventures with this camera!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Just a great camera

Date:December 13, 2012
I got one of these to hang near a residential area,worried it might get stollen but I would have photos of the crook on the little blk. box. This camera takes great photos,in darkness and in daylight too.deer dont spook from it and flash is not a problem either..I'll be getting more, they getterdone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bears

Date:November 20, 2012
Put out behind house in woods. Took some nice pictures of Alaska bears
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best camera

Date:October 15, 2012
I own 3 different cameras and this one is the best ever, I will be buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!

Date:September 2, 2012
I was impressed. Picture quality, trigger speed, ease of use, the blackbox, all features that set this camera appart. Its going to be a popular model once poeple start to hear about it. Satisfied with mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

#1 Trailcam on the Market

Date:August 22, 2012
Outstanding! One of a kind compact cam that stores and sends pictures wirelessly to a remote "black box". This cam has 8mp ,ZERO second trigger speed and 38 LEDs.
Perfect for big bucks,bulls,bruins and burglars.
8 out of 5 stars!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tiny-W2

Date:August 22, 2012
Hello fellow trail camera users if you havent tried out this awesome trail cam from Spypoint you are missing out. This 8MP camera comes with a very handy unit called the black box which you can put out 100 yards away from the camera .All you do is put a SD card in this and the camera and hide the black box it so no one can find it but you and whatever pictures are taken on the camera are transferred to the black box so when you set it up you can stay out of your honey hole until season comes in. This little camera has 7 zones of coverage (FOR ZERO TRIGGER SPEED) which lets it capture anything coming into range and yes people it is a very dependable security device also mount it outside your house and keep black box inside and catch any thief who wants to mess around your house or hunting spot.The battery life and picture quality are awesome I have many pics and video clips on YouTube under tenpointer12 look me up and check them out I edit alot of pictures and videos together from all my cameras and I run 6 different Spypoints.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Pleased with my Spypoint Tiny-W2

Date:August 22, 2012
Until a year or so ago, I had not heard of this company. After reading reviews I decided to buy a couple for monitoring my food plots on my farm. I am blown away by the picture quality! When Spypoint came out with this wireless version I purchased it because I have a thick wooded area that I dont like going into because of fear of spooking my deer out. The camera allows me to go in and check my wireless reciever in an easy romote spot without disturbing the deep cover. I have noticed most of my animals are centered when shot too. Triggering has been spot on and the trigger speed is great too! I would recomend anyone who has fear of their camera's being stolen try this model as the photos are also sent to the remote location. Chances are you may have gotten a picture of the culprit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Spypoint Tiny W2 Camera...Love it...

Date:August 8, 2012
One of the biggest challenges with game cameras can be going in to often to check them. We get excited to see what pictures we have. What we are doing is leaving scent and letting know that mature deer we are in the area. I have found the Tiny W2 solves that problem because I can check my pictures 100 yrd away via receiver box...So I do not have to go to base camera. This minimizes my scent and pressure on big bucks I am hunting...I LOVE IT!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome Camera!

Date:August 8, 2012
This camera is awesome plain and simple. Im able to put it in sensitive areas like bedding areas but can retrieve the pictures without spooking deer. By not leaving scent in the area..I'm getting much more mature buck photos.
The camera itself works great. Nice clear pictures and quick trigger. I'd recommend this camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Spypoint™ Tiny-W2 8MP Camera with Blackbox Receiver
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best cam out there

Date:July 26, 2012
I just purchased a TINY W2. This spypoint cam is the best. It can do a multitude of things for me. It can be used for hunting as well as well as security. This cam takes excellent pictures, day and night with the added bonus of a back up in your little black box. Heck, you don't even have to go to your camera for pics, just look at them from your treestand. This means no scent at your bait foirst thing in your hunting area. As well as for sucurity around the house with an added bonus of having a backup of your pics. It has a 0 trigger time, time lapse, 8mp, small, wireless transmission, etc. It has everything you are looking for!! The best cam purchase I ever made. Thanks Spypoint!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.