Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera

PRIMOS Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera

Its extended 55-ft. illumination range and ultrasmall profile make it perfect for ambushing wildlife. Four capture modes include photo, video, time lapse and the versatile time lapse day/photo night mode. Accepts SD memory cards up to 32GB (SD card sold separately). Requires eight AA batteries (not included). Battery life tested beyond 30,000 photos; batteries last up to one year on standby. One-year manufacturer’s warranty. Imported. Dimensions: 5.13"H x 4"W x 2.63"D. Camo pattern: Matrix® Camo .
Overall Customer Rating:
1.907 out of 5
1.9
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
31
11 out of 43(26%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Review 1 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Got it home and it doesn't work!

Date:July 16, 2012
Don't waste your money on this one folks. Maybe I got a bad one the first time or whatever, got it home, took it to the woods, left it out for a week and then went to retrieve the camera and no pictures. Got home and batteries were dead, put new batteries in camera and tried it again and same thing, would not take a picture. Junk!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oregon
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Beware mine melted and caused a small fire

Date:July 27, 2012
This is the first as I run 10-15 trail cams. I have never taken a camera out of the box brand new and put batterys in it and test it in the yard for 2 hours come back to check it and find the battery compartment melted and smoking and a small fire. I called primos and they were aware of the problem. There sending me a new one back out! Hope the warrenty replacement works!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Unreliabile and Not worth the money.

Date:July 28, 2012
I purchased 2 of these cameras about a month ago, the item had not yet been reviewed since it was a new product. I figured that I would give them a try. I had placed the cameras on July 7th and just returned to check them today July 28th. The first camera would not turn on. When I removed the sd card I found that the camera took 9 pictures within 3 days before the brand new batteries went dead. (duracell ultra). I had missed 3 weeks of pictures because the camera malfunctioned. The second camera seemed to work as planned with 99% battery left, however some of the 282 pictures it took were snow white. I am not pleased with the picture quality or the reliability. I just checked the website for any reviews to find that someone else has experienced the same battery issue. Could this be by chance? I don't think so. Do not waste your time or your money on this model, you will be disappointed. I will be returning mine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Do Not Buy This Camera!

Date:August 2, 2012
I purchased this camera and set it out over BB2 cut with corn. I left it out in the woods for 1 week before checking it. I went to check it and all the BB2 and corn were gone and NO PICTURES! The camera did not even work and would not even turn on. I put brand new batteries in the camera and it still did not work. This was literally the worst trail camera I have ever purchased. I took it back to Cabelas and they told me that a ton of people were bringing this camera and other Primo's cameras back to return.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Forget this one.

Date:August 20, 2012
It died after one week (9 pics) and after replacing the batteries and setting it on my dresser to put out the next day it melted... Wow not to impressive. I will stick with the older model.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Camera

Date:September 11, 2012
I really do not know about all the bad reviews but here is my 2 cents.
First off remember that most of the time ppl who are happy with a product usually do not take the time to come back and write w review but rather pass on their reviews first hand to friends. BUT ppl who have bad experiences will go the extra step almost always to warn ppl about the product.
That said, I bought this camera without reading the bad reps it has and I have not regretted it. It is easy to set up and very easy on batteries. I love being able to run a python cable lock through the front housing...very nice feature that I wish all cameras had. The pictures are pretty good. Daytime was 9/10 and night time was an 8/10 and that's only because the fact that IR's just are not as clear as white flash. The video is acceptable, an 8/10.
This camera accepts every card I have thrown into it.
So I do recommend this camera so far. I have not owned it very long though....so the jury is still out on durability.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It is a dud!

Date:September 17, 2012
It takes a few pictures, then freezes up. Then it would not format a cabelas brand SD card (that it had formatted previously). Gave it three tries, then took it back for a bushnell trophy am HD.
Don't trust me, google tru cam ultra problems and you will get your confirmation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth the money

Date:October 31, 2012
takes good pics. day and night.
batery life is exelent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Camera is Junk!!!

Date:November 2, 2012
On my third replacement camera, the rut is on and all I can do is play pitch and catch with the UPS guy waiting for another junk camera!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Will buy more!

Date:January 12, 2013
The batteries went dead with in a week put a 6 volt battery on it for 24 hrs to warm the AA batteries. Removed the 6 volt battery and haven't had a problem since even below zero.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So far so good

Date:January 22, 2013
Working great even in the cold weather. Low light photos are a little dark but acceptable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Very Poor Trail Camera

Date:January 22, 2013
I have several trail cameras out that are made by various manufacturers. One of them is the Primos TruthCam 35. I have been overall pleased with it so I needed a new camera last Fall and decided to upgrade and get the Primos CAM46 Ultra. What a major mistake! First, I have it set to take the lowest number of photos possible and it still takes a few hundred each week of my feeder only! There is nothing between the feeder and camera so don't ask me what it's taking. Second, the night photos are very bad. I have Cuddeback, Moultrie, Bushnell and Wildgame Innovations and this is by far the worst of all of them! Poor job Primos!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Keep Looking

Date:January 22, 2013
Overall, I feel this is a poor quality camera. The controls are easy to use, and the battery life is good, but the photos are very poor quality. Especially for what is supposedly a 7 MP camera. Daytime photos are foggy and indistinct, and any movement whatsoever in nightime photos is badly blurred.
The first camera I bought didn't print the info strip at the bottom of the photos. Kudos to Cabela's for letting me return it. The replacement camera just takes lousy pictures. I e-mailed Primos and was told (indirectly) that this is the best I could expect. Since Primos won't take it back, I'll limit its use to watching a feeder, as movement on a trail is more than this camera can capture.
I would recommend passing on this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bought 2 neither works

Date:July 1, 2013
I have a primos 46, the old one, and liked it.
So when I wanted a couple new cams for different spots,i decided on the 46 ultra, current model.
Long story short big mistake, from the start one never worked and the other would take pictures every time something wasent there.
To test both I set them up along with my old one and would walk in front
My old one caught me every time, the other ones had no clue I walked past
I like primos, but not their game cams anymore
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

1 works, 1 does not work

Date:July 22, 2013
Bought two. I gave the first a number of chances and it doesn't work. I'm returning it. The second seems to be working. Picture quality is fair. Not worth the time. Reviews seem to be consistently poor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

"Primos" any question's?

Date:July 27, 2013
Bought 2 of these cameras last season because of the fairly small price tag. The first failed right out of the box, would take a couple pics & then just lock-up. The other failed in the woods because of a similar problem. Just like anything else with the "Primos" name it, these cameras are cheap junk!! Don't waste a penny on one, please.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

total waste of money

Date:August 10, 2013
would not work right out of the package,took back to cabelas to trade for a truth cam 35 the man at the store said stay away from primos cams,wish i would have talked to him first.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera

Date:August 30, 2013
I had got this camera as a gift, I went and bought the necessary items to wire a solar panel with it.In no time I was getting a 4 g sd card loaded to the max along with 99% battery.That was three years ago,I leave it on the same tree year round over a food plot and never had a issue with this camera.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dead in the water

Date:September 4, 2013
Locked up during setup, back to the store it went . Bought another brand instead, what I should have done in the first place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Ultra IR 7.0 MP Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Complete Junk!!!

Date:September 12, 2013
I bought this camera on a Saturday, put it up on Monday. Batteries were dead tuesday!! Put new batteries in and 2 days later it was completely froze up and wouldn't do a thing.Took it back and got my money back a week later. This was my first camera to buy and very disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 43