Customer Reviews for BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BUSHNELL Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam

Bushnell started the tiny trail cam revolution and continues to push the technology to greater heights with the Trophy Cam series of scouting cameras. The HD Max model features No-Glow black LEDs that provide a completely covert flash out to 45 ft. – perfect for heavily pressured hunting areas. Barometric-pressure stamp provides real-time pressure data and trends based on the conditions at the camera when it is triggered. This allows you to track game activity based on weather changes. Other highlights include HD video with audio, an ultrafast trigger speed of 0.6 seconds and Hyper Night Vision with a 45-ft. flash distance. Field Scan 2x is the next leap in time-lapse technology with two windows of capture time every day – perfect for dawn and dusk. Auto PIR automatically adjusts the PIR motion sensor based on the temperature, and GPS Geotag feature tags your images with GPS coordinates, giving you the ability to view them on popular image software over a satellite image. Captures 3, 5 or 8MP images and records video up to 60 seconds with audio in your choice of widescreen or full-screen modes. Date, time, temperature, moon, name stamp on all images. Industry-leading one-year battery life. Up to 32GB SD card capacity (SD card sold separately). Dimensions: 6.25"H x 4.25"W x 2.75"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.043 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
19 out of 23(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Review 1 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera w/ Excellant Flash Range

Date:July 17, 2012
If your looking for a great trail camera but do not have the $$ for a Reconyx this is the next best thing. I have both and they are very comparable in every aspect. Picture quality is better with the Bushnell but the trigger speed is a hair slower also. The difference is so minor that you will hardly notice. They are both so fast that you usually only get a portion of the animal on your first picture anyway. I always set mine up to take three pictures so I do not miss anything. The batteries last so long you might as well take a lot of pictures. Bottom line is this is the best camera for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Fine video trail cam

Date:July 17, 2012
I put this model in service a couple of months age and it is working well. My only disappointment is that unlike last year's top of the line Bushnell it captures videos in avi format not mov format. This means an extra processing step to review the clips on my MacBookAir. The converted videos are sharp and clear and do a good job of recording audio. Elk calf calls are clear as are coyote yips.
Video clips taken in deep shadow are very good.
IR clips captured at night are very good and yield videos of good enough quality to distinguish easily between elk and mule deer.
It has not yet been cold enough to assess low temperature capability but previous models have done will over the winter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best I've tried

Date:August 1, 2012
I've been using trail cameras ever since they became available, way back when they used film... I've tried many brands over the years, some good... some not as advertised. I have two other Bushnell IR cameras, and so when this one came out, I wanted to try it... I believe this is the best camera I have ever had. The 8 megapixel daytime video is very high quality, and the night-time video is also just great. The only thing I don't know is how long the batteries will last in winter, but I have no reason to think they will not do well... This model uses twelve instead of eight AA batteries, and I usually use lithium, so the cost and life of the batteries will be a real consideration... So far, I highly recommend this camera to the serious hunter or wildlife photographer...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy to use.

Date:August 21, 2012
I purchased this product about a month ago. It was very easy to set up and understand. I put the camera on my food plot and had photos the next morning. The photo quality is excellent both day and night. I really like the small size, ease of operation, and long battery life. I hope to purchase another camera in the next few months. It will be the same Bushnell Trophy Cam HD Max Cam.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bushnell trophy hd max cam

Date:September 4, 2012
JUST WENT AND PULLED THE MEMORY CARD TODAY. GREAT DAY AND NIGHT TIME PICTURES. THE BLACK LEDS WORKED GREAT THR DEER DIDN'T NOCTICE THEM AT ALL. I WILL BE BUYING ANOTHER ONEOF THESE SOON. i CAN NOT COMMENT ABOUT THE BATTERIE LIFE I HAVE ONLY HAD IT OUT 2 WEEKS.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cam

Date:September 8, 2012
Good pics and videos. Fast trigger speed. Have 4 of them and will get one more. My first one was bought 3 months ago and the batteries are still full with thousands of videos and pics. Just wish they came in camo.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I expected a lot more for the money

Date:September 12, 2012
I thought the camera had a cheap feel to it, compared with the other camera i have of the same price range. The camera would sometimes skip an entire morning or even an entire day or two. I know the camera has lots of options which was really neat, but they need to work properly. The settings were the most complex of any camera i have, but this one also has the most options also. Busnell told me before i bought it that it could be set up to take pictures in intervals such as 1,2 or even 3 seconds. The tightest interval on this camera was one minute. In the end, i sent it back and Cabelas took care of me, like usual. Cabelas costomer service was once again amazing, i shop here almost exclusively. I hope this helps. Happy hunting everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Well Worth Every Cent

Date:September 13, 2012
I have been extremely happy with this Bushnell camera. The trigger speed is great. Daytime pictures are very clear. It has taken over 5000 pictures and battery level is still full.
The only reason I didn't rate it at 5 stars was that the B&W night pictures tend to be a little blurry.
From my experiences this camera rates very close to Reconyx, but at less than half the price. Great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Game Camera

Date:September 17, 2012
This is the second Bushnell Game Camera I have purchased this year. This last one just added the invisible infrared flash. I now have owned 8 game cameras. I changed brands because my older cameras are susceptible to moisture and the read outs fade totally out, so you can not read the menu. They also had slow trigger speeds, so a deer passing by would be a tail shot, if you got him at all. The Bushnell cameras solved the slow trigger speed. I get pictures of deer walking into the picture and moving maybe a foot between multiple shots. The daytime pictures are outstanding. The battery life is very long. I have not changed batteries yet. I have been getting as many as 300 pictures (big variety of animals and birds) in a weeks time. There are a couple of shortcomings. I am not real happy with the infrared pictures taken at night. It looks to me like the lens speed is slow, as I get a lot of smeared shots of animal movement. In addition, the shot are not sharp and sometimes difficult to see details. The other other short coming is the menu adjustments. Once you get the hang of it, it is not that bad, but it was confusing to start. The type is hard to read in daylight, mounted positions and too much trouble to take down and reinstall. Once I learned that I have to turn the three position slide switch (off/setup/on) to off. Then slide it to setup, push the menu button once, to view date/#pictures/time. Then push the menu button a second time to work the setup. The you can arrow forward (or backward) through the various options. If you want to change the pixel rate, you hit "OK" button, then use the first set of arrows (of four) to change the setting and then "OK" button to set. Then arrow to the next option. I wish the instruction sheet was written that way! Caution: if you push menu to leave the options, you have to move the three way switch to off to get the menu button to come up again. One touch for read out, two touch for options settings. Then slide the three way switch to on to set the camera to take pictures. I have no trouble with operating the cameras now. My big problem is forgetting to take out the chip and put a fresh one in before I format to erase the new chip. Sunday, I erased 127 pictures, while a 12 year old was bending my ear. All in all, these are good cameras and I have not had any problems other that the two items discussed above. (night pictures and learning to use the menus) I would buy again. Skipjack 68
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

2nd Time Around

Date:September 18, 2012
I purchased the HD Max after using several other cameras with specs much less impressive. My others, because of slow triggers and recovery were missing a lot of animals. The first HD Max I bought was put into service right away. The night shots were very good, but the day images were all over-exposed. I returned the unit to the store and got another. The 2nd one had good night and day images. It has very fast triggering and doesn't miss a thing. The night images are very good, mostly since it can be set to a flash less than max. Blurring at the lower flash power did not seem any worse. There were very few "blow outs" at night except when animals were within a foot or two. The black flash does not alert game. The night shots do not have the animals looking at the camera, as do visible flashing units. When I had the unit set for 3 shots with each trigger I was getting probably too many images. But that is not a bad thing. I went to 2 shots per trigger and that seems about right. The detail of the day images at 8mp is impressive. I only have two criticisms. One is that I would prefer the clock to show 12 hour AM/PM rather than 24 hour. And the back of the camera has projections that make putting it into its metal safe/box nearly impossible if you use bolts into a tree. They could fix the problem by changing the design of the box or leaving off the projections. I ended up discovering a modification to the box installation that solved the problem (recessed screws). Over-all, this is a great camera. In reading reviews it seems getting ones that sometimes don't work is common. When you buy one check it out right away and return it if necessary. I highly recommend the HD Max.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great quality!

Date:September 21, 2012
I have several cameras that are more budget-friendly. Instead of buying 2 more of them I splurged on the HD Max cam. No regrets. Photo quality is excellent, like I could frame the picture. The black LEDs truly do not spook game, and there is no clicking sound when triggered. I had a 20" spread 8-pointer come up to it and smell my scent on the camera (oops) and not spook, even with his face near the LEDs and ears up against it. Excellent trigger speed. It easily catches coyotes running across the frame. A bit expensive but well worth it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Too many steps

Date:September 26, 2012
Instructions and options were a little cumbersome and burdensome. Take about 30-45 minutes with the instructions to setup first back at the cabin before headed out to your spot. I checked the camera after it had been out in the woods for 3 weeks on an active deer trail and there were not many pics. The pics it did take were mixed - some very clear, some blurry without the whole animal captured. Camera is set for high sensitivity and I am skeptical so few pics were taken as I can see multiple tracks in the muddy deer run camera is focused on. I moved the camera to a different spot and will check it again in a few weeks. I hope for better since the camera carries a fairly steep price tag.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Worth the money

Date:October 2, 2012
I have used this trail cam onle a couple of times and have been very pleased with it's performance. The cam is also equipped with a field mode that would be great for food plots. You can set the cam anytime ,day or night to take picture, daytime is probably the best. It also has a larger veiwing screen and a very visible time/day/date bar at the bottom of a pic and includes moon phase + barometric pressure. I have an older bushnell cam that still works great. This new HD Max cam one is just a step up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

web cam with program to download to see videos

Date:October 2, 2012
works well on pictures on low setting, videos can not open on windows visa, have to have windows seven to be able to see pictures. Loads as .avi file. download file still will not work
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I expected better quality pictures

Date:October 2, 2012
My friend has a Cuddeback Attack and I thought I would try the top of the line Bushnell and see how our results compared. The price was about the same but was intrigued by the black LEDs. Bottom line is that his Cuddeback takes much more crisp pictures. I have had many blurry pictures in the day time and frankly the night pictures are very grainy unless the deer are very close. It definately does not seem to scare the deer - no clicking sound and flash. The Cuddeback has a flash even at night and it is nice to have crisp color pictures even at night...the question is do deer remember the flash and avoid the area after a while? It would have also been nice if they gave you an idea of what size SD card is practical. I bought 16GB but frankly think 8GB would have been enough as I have had as many as 600 pictures in a week and still lots of room. Final comment is that you can set it for EITHER video or still shots. Would have been nice to set it for both and then maybe would need the larger cards.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost great camera

Date:October 16, 2012
I purchased one of these cameras this year and have taken both photos and video. I like the video can be programmed to 60 secs. I have gotten more bucks in the frame with this feature. My only complaint is that the night pics are a bit grainy, both video and pics. I thought it might be from the black flash, but I actually got a wildgame view camera with black flash, [which was less then half of what I paid for this camera], and the night pics came out crystal clear. That aside, the day pics are great, I like the barometric stamp along with the moon stamp, and long battery life. Also, despite the night shots being a bit grainy, this camera does night spook deer. I hunt deer in a heavily pressured area, and go as far to hang the cameras in trees, and these animals turn inside out when the infared goes off. With this camera, nothing! they just go about there buisness. I would recommend this camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very Good Camera

Date:October 20, 2012
I have two Reconyx 600's that are very dependable and provide excellent pictures. Several months ago I decided to purchase a camera that would give me high quality video too. This Bushnell camera has HD video and HD sound that will make you feel you are there filming the wildlife yourself. The video and sound are crystal clear. I have found two drawbacks. The clasps that keep the camera closed are too flat and when the camera is secured to the tree it's hard to get your fingers under the clasps to open it. I busted my fingernails several times before I got smart and took a little screwdriver with me. The other issue I have is my camera has started to make an internal noise like a running motor when making nighttime videos. The wildlife don't seem to hear it but it's unexceptable to me. I like the camera so much I'm not hesitating with getting a replacement. Cabela's return policy is terrific and immediately said they would replace it with a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HD max

Date:November 26, 2012
marginal photos without detection by wildlife
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

POOR SETUP INSTRUCTIONS

Date:November 27, 2012
I PURCHASED THE BUSHNELL TROPHY CAM HD MAX CAM, AND I ALSO GOT A SECOND ONE AS A GIFT (I NEEDED 2) THAT WAS 2/3 WEEKS AGO AND I STILL CAN'T GET IT PROGRAMED TO WORK. ONLY 2 MORE WEEKENDS LEFT IN DEER SEASON, IT DOESNT LOOK LIKE I WILL BE USING IT THIS SEASON.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bushnell® Trophy Cam HD Max Cam
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Holding final comment

Date:December 27, 2012
This camera worked great when I first got it. I noticed it wasn't taking pictures and checked the batteries and couldn't get the display to come on, even with new batteries. I liked it initally and will have it replaced and see what happens.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 23