Customer Reviews for MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera

A versatile, 5MP-resolution game camera packed with innovative features and three operational modes. Use it as an IR-triggered game camera with a night range of up to 60 ft. Program it to function as a plot camera by day and an IR camera at night. The hybrid time-lapse plot camera Plot Stalker mode captures images at preset intervals, as well as images triggered by game. Plot Stalker mode captures up to 3,600 images in one day and uses software to stitch them into a high-definition video so you can view a full day’s worth of activity in a few minutes. The camera’s long-range view offers maximum coverage of your field. Illumi-Night sensor provides the brightest and clearest nighttime infrared pictures you’ve ever seen, and motion-freeze technology reduces infrared nighttime blur. The FastFire continuous shooting mode captures up to three pictures per second. Picture delay can be set for five, 15 or 30 seconds over one to 60 minutes. Videos are recorded with sound. Images can be programed to be stamped with temperature, moon phase, time, date and camera ID. An SD memory-card slot (card not included) can expand memory up to 32GB. Power is supplied by four or eight AA batteries (not included). External power port for Moultrie Power Panel® (sold separately). Includes a weather-resistant casing, USB cable for computer interface, mounting strap and Plot Stalker software CD.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.742 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
4
1 Star
4
23 out of 31(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome!!

Date:July 10, 2013
If the trigger speed were just a touch faster, I'd definitely give this camera 5 stars. Easily fixed by using over a mineral site. Not good for tight trails in the timber. Both Day and Night photos are clear as a crystal. Long night range as well. Used with lithium batteries for a year now and the battery still reads 100%. NUTS! Also very easy to operate and I love the aim feature. Cant go wrong with this camera especially when its on sale!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alaska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compromise

Date:March 14, 2013
This camera has some great capabilities, with Lithium batteries it takes pictures at minus 40F, however the cameras thermometer seems unreliable after -20F. New to trail cams, i was disappointed with the red glow that emanates in low light and darkness...it was a deal breaker as a surveillance camera...but it does take great pictures and seems fairly sensitive to side to side traffic, however direct approach it fails to notice my pickup trucks arrival at 30 feet in 0F temps.. But when the door opens and I step out, the camera begins shooting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Camera!!! Best Night Pics

Date:March 1, 2013
I have 4 M-80XT, and 2 M-80 black outs that I leave out year round. Recently one of the cameras started to take fuzzy pictures so I called Moultrie and someone picked up on the 2nd ring had me try a few things that didn’t work and then told me to send it in and they will take care of it. I sent the camera into get serviced and I had a new camera in my hands in less than 2 weeks!!! I have had Bushnell, Scoutgaurd, & Stealth Cam cameras at my property and Moultrie is by far the Best and they are leaps and bounds ahead of companies like Bushnell on customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Happy so far, best for larger animals

Date:January 8, 2013
This camera seems to have a great mix of options and functionality. I'm very happy with it so far. The one issue I had was that it missed some pictures of motion that I know occurred because of changed location of items. I believe the animals were smaller like cat or racoon size and about 30 feet away. It seems the motion sensor didn't pick up and trigger photos. I moved the location of the camera closer and lower to the ground and was able to capture the images.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty Good Camera

Date:December 9, 2012
Well I got this camera about a year ago and really it's been great, haven't had much trouble with it at all besides when I broke it but that was my fault. The only thing I ever use it on is the motion picture setting. I don't see a need to use it on video. It takes clear pictures but one thing I don't understand is why it takes so many blank photos. Besides that it's good, I like how it gives you time and date when the picture was taken. If you're considering it I'd go for it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Camera

Date:December 6, 2012
I have had 3 of these cameras...one was stolen. The 2 that I still have are working great. One of them has been in the woods for over a year and is still working fine day and night and I've only replaced the batteries once. I only gave it 4 stars because the directions could give much better explanations of the different modes and settings and what each thing changes. Great camera though, and gets excellent pictures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

dont buy

Date:November 26, 2012
Don't by this. It eats batteries and quit taking night shots after 1 week. Also hard to flow instructions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Getting better

Date:November 22, 2012
This is my third different moultrie camera and it's the best one yet. I previously had the 50 and 55 series cameras. The other ones were flash cameras but the IR series is definitely an improvement for the night time pics. The flash range is very very good. Trigger speed is exceptional and has only created a small handful of blurred pics out of roughly 5,000+ pics this season. Battery life with the AA's is also very good lasting almost 2 months averaging 2,500-3,000 pics. The only reason I didnt give this a 5 is the early morning light pics sometimes are to dark to see when it switches from IR to daytime. Once there's enough light, the pics are crystal clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Pictures

Date:November 19, 2012
I have gotten great pictures off the cameras. I bought 2 and placed one at a feeder the other is on a trail. I have not tried the video yet. I've had them out for about 6 weeks the one at the feeder has captured over 3500 pictures with battery life still at 49%. The other has 93% battery life with a several hundred pics. I think I made the right choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Value

Date:November 13, 2012
I purchased this camera at the same time as the Day 6 Plotwatcher, fully expecting to take one of them back. However, I have had such success with them that I kept them both and may add another of these to my camera arsenal. I did have some trouble with it not capturing any images, but finally realixed that a defective memory card was the issue. I used lithium batteries in the camera (installed 7/2012) and they are currently reading 95% power. This is after the unit capturing several thousand images! The picture quality is very good. The only negative for the camera is the software that comes with the unit for the plot watcher is on a mini-dvd. My Macbook computer only has a slot to insert discs, not a tray like many computers. This caused me to be unable to utilize the dvd or the programs on it. In turn, this make the "plotwatcher" feature on the unit useless. It is still a great camera though for capturing trigger shots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Dont buy

Date:November 9, 2012
I have owned this camera for about 16 months. The battery life is currently about 6 DAYS. It takes a LOT of blanks, and there are times it will take a picture every minute for 12-15 hours. Needless to say it is dissapointing getting your camera only to find you have 4,000 blank pictures. I now have to pay to send it in, they said they would let me know in 6 weeks what they could do, not exactly speedy service which makes me believe that a lot of people are sending them in.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not worth it

Date:November 8, 2012
Bought two of these in the spring. One worked out of box, one didn't. Problem is, didn't try them til a few months after purchased. Get to ship it back to Moultrie at my expense, if it qualifies to be fixed. The one that does work, only takes pictures up to about 12 yards away, not the 20 advertised. My Bushnell takes them out to 40 yards, more than they advertised. Kind of a no brainer to me to spend the extra $30 and get a good reliable camera
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:October 29, 2012
I've had this camera for about a month and it has taken over 1000 pictures and out performed what I had expected for a camera of this price. Shutter speed is excellent and the distance it reaches out at night is much further than I the two other cameras I have that are similar in price. This is the first camera I've owned that is small and compact. I really like this style. This is a very good camera for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good!

Date:October 23, 2012
I really like this little camera. It is small compact and easy to transport in and out of the woods. It is very easy to operate. It takes really good pic's however It does hv a slower reaction time than some of the other camera's on the market resulting in some blank photos. Overall I feel that is is a good camera for the money. I have had mine for approx. one year and plan on buying another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

M-80XT

Date:October 15, 2012
The PlotStalker is the only bad part of my experience with this product. It eats battery life and the file format cannot be read by most if any card readers.
The trail mode for the camera though serves the same function as the plotstalker and is very high quality.
I am extremely pleased with this trail camera and own two now. They are far superior to my other cheaper trail cameras. Battery life is great with the trail mode, weather resistance is superb, quality of photos is amazing, there are no blurred images at all with the motion stop technology, night shots are clear and crisp, makes no noise, flash is red but it doesn't bother the animals.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent trail cam

Date:October 13, 2012
I have three and they are great for the price. I leave my cams out nearly year round and I have not had a problem yet like I have with another brand. Excellent camera for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Connecticut
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

so so

Date:September 18, 2012
I bought this because of the sound with the video..I'm a video person and I like tt see the game movement and where they are coming from and going and others that maybe entering the picture.. still pictures are great...night time video is very good..but the day time video has that digital effect and some of the night time pictures are taken with no follow up video picture speed is great. But if your a video person like me...this cam is not that great..I'm bring it back and trying another Brand
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

SOMEWHAT DISSAPOINTED

Date:September 17, 2012
I have six of these cameras, 3 of them in their second year have shaky or distorted video images, the trail cam still shot works good. If you asked me a year ago, I would have said they worked great, they seem to have problems as they get older.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excelent Pictures

Date:September 11, 2012
Perfect pictures day or night
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy M-80XT Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Armenia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

sweeet camera

Date:September 7, 2012
This camera is outstanding!
Trigger speed is fast
Pics are clear
I own cheaper cameras & they cant come close to this one.
I will own a few more of these!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 31