Customer Reviews for BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BEAR ARCHERY Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package

Heavy on features, not on weight – the Encounter is more bow at a great price. Machined-aluminum riser with thin grip minimizes hand torque for greater accuracy. Adjustable draw length in 1⁄2" increments from 27" to 32" without a bow press or draw modules. Dual-sealed stainless steel ball bearings and the E2-Cam provide a smooth draw and top-end speed. Bear Flared Quad Limbs in zero-tolerance limb pockets offer consistent power. Integrated string suppressor eliminates string vibration and quiets the bow. Camo pattern: Realtree APG™ . Encounter RTH package includes: bow, Trophy Ridge Whisker Biscuit®, Trophy Ridge three-pin sight, Trophy Ridge stabilizer and sling, Trophy Ridge quiver, wheel peep sight and nock loop. RTH package available in right or left hand.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Review 1 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Smooth draw and very fast

Date:November 25, 2013
for the price it blows mathews way out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Package

Date:October 20, 2013
First, I had never shot a compound bow until purchasing this one. Joel and the rest of the Cabela's staff was not only very helpful but they had great attitudes and lots of knowledge and explained everything to me. They assisted with everything including letting me shoot different bows and once I decided on the Bear Encounter they got everything ready for me and helped me sight it in.
I am very happy with this package. I did add the Trophy Ridge React 5 pin sight and it's great! This bow shoots very nice and I'm glad I made this purchase. I read a lot of reviews before purchasing this bow and I'm glad I did.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Bow !!!!!

Date:October 9, 2013
This the first bow I have shot in almost 30 yrs. With just a few adjustments I was hitting center mass every shot. This is a very light, easy to shot bow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

new bow

Date:September 27, 2013
it is very accurate and fast
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear quality

Date:September 8, 2013
This bow replaced my 30 year old Brown Bear. Have been practicing with the new bow for the last month. Easy to shoot, holds adjustments and accurate. Great bow for the money. Consistent with Bear's legendary quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great bow, some questionable accessories

Date:July 27, 2013
Let me start off by saying that I love the bow itself, the ability to adjust both draw length and peak draw weight is wonderful, made getting the bow to feel right for me a snap. The built in string silencer works pretty good and overall the bow feels good in the hand.
However, two of the accessories leave a little to be desired.
The rest is noisy on the draw and the material is so thick that it greatly affected my arrow speed and accuracy.
I found the stabilizer to be inadequate and immediately replaced it.
One thing that I think many may want to know is that drop away rests may or may not work perfectly with this bow depending on the brand you buy. In my case the cable guide bar comes into contact with the sight making your vertical movements limited, and the flywheel comes into contact with the quiver making it just milliseconds to slow to allow the arrow total clearance, and that's with the extra spacer installed.
I did have enough movement to align the vertical axis properly, but I had to build an aluminum plate to go in between the sight and the quivers mounting slide to allow good clearance.
Of course unless you are very similar to the person that built your bow, you will likely have to change the position of the peep sight.
Other than that I installed some extra silencing and vibration reduction accessories to my taste and was blasting center target at 20 yards within a few adjustments of the sight, which is great sight.
Overall a good buy if you don't mind doing some work or taking it to the pro shop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Priced Right

Date:July 25, 2013
I went into the Cabela's in Richfield, WI with the goal to buy a new bow. I didn't have a lot of money, so I was on a tight budget. I started by browsing multiple bows and then I asked to shoot three different models. The Encounter was the first one I shot and then I came back to it at the end. Justin in the archery department worked with me as we got it sited in perfectly. I'm extremely happy with what I got for the price I got it at.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Illinois
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase.

Date:June 20, 2013
Ordered this bow online two days ago with the 3-6 business days option. Haven't even tracked it because I thought that it didn't even process yet but to my surprise I got a call from ups today that they are waiting downstairs with a package which was my bow. The bow itself came out the box with everything already on and by on I mean really tightly on. Shot bullseye on 15 yds no problem almost splitting arrows and I haven't touched a bow in 5 years. Going to a pro shop to get it tuned and ill be ready for fall deer season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Compound Bow

Date:May 28, 2013
I have used other people's bows for shooting for some time. While not setup for me specifically, I have shot custom crafted bows all down to whatever was around. Without a doubt, this bow immediately felt far more natural the second I picked it up.
Before doing anything, I was putting 3 inch groups downrange. After some adjustments to the sight, and to the arrow rest, I was shooting even tighter groupings.
All of the included accessories are excellent, and nothing is anything that you would have to replace before considering taking this out for a hunt.
While I might upgrade to a 4 or 5 pin Trophy Ridge Sight in the near future, as it is, I might keep the packaged 3 pin sight with me to hunt Whitetail this season. The packaged sight does have a level to prevent canted shots, something that I think is a must.
The only reason for wanting to upgrade the sight is because I use several stands that cover a range of distances, so the extra pins would be nice.
As for the bow itself, the overall action is smooth, and at full draw I feel I can take some time to ensure a clean shot. The power on release is excellent, and I would recommend this bow to anyone new or seasoned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bearlent bow

Date:March 19, 2013
Stopped bow hunting when I joined the army 18 years ago. Went Cold turkey had not even touched a bow in that long. Picked this bow up at the store spent 30 min with the employee going over the bow. How to sight it, change draw length and draw weight. Took me back to basics on hold and release. Let me tell you it came back so fast and this bow made it so easy. I was placing 3 arrows in a 1/2 dollar size area with in 10 mins. I'm a lefty and this bow is great for us weird people. I had tried to find other bows for the same price and not happening. They wanted double the money with less or same type add ons. I am hooked again on bows and this bow does it all. I shoot every day 30 shots a day for a month and have no problems it is a strong durrable bow that has been a joy to have. I'm hooked on Bear and see no reason to pay a lot more for a bow when this does exactly what I need it to do which is to put arrows where I want them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buy this bow!

Date:March 13, 2013
I bought this bow to set up and get ready for the next year deer season. It was easy to set up and sight in. It has a very smooth pull, is accurate and quite! I will take smooth, quiet and shoot ability over speed any day! I am getting older and I had to step down from 60-70lbs to 50-60lbs. What a difference it made in my arrow placement. This bow does better out to 40 yards that my old bow. The technology is such that my arrows fly faster and straighter with less poundage, so it is easier to stay on target. When I was looking at bows, I tried all the big name bows. The reason I chose the bear encounter is because is the smooth draw and my ability to stay on target. It works for me. I highly recommend this bow if you like me have to reduce the poundage because of age. I didn’t want to go to a crossbow, because I enjoy the quick second shot you get with the compound bow. I have had a second shot at deer that I missed several times as I have been hunting for 40+ years, and once even got two deer within about 30 seconds of one another with my old bow, so this bow is for me!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:February 26, 2013
6'6" tall and the bow fits great. Easy to shoot out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Encounter Package

Date:December 5, 2012
Purchased this package as an economical means of getting a compound hunting set-up and I'm extremely pleased. Has everything needed (except arrows and release) and has proven to be smooth-shooting, quiet, and accurate. Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

cant beat this bow

Date:November 20, 2012
was ready to hunt with this bow in about an hours time, had to adjust sights right to left a couple times, super quiet and very fast, highly recommend, killed my best buck to date third day out with new bow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

3 shots 3 deer

Date:November 8, 2012
This bow is awesome. i recently moved to nebraska and wanted to get back into bow hunting. with getting married and having kid's i took a 5 year dry spell from bow hunting and needless to say when i pulled the PSE Nova out of the closet i decided it was time to get something a little more up to date. i found this Bear Encounter and decided to try it out. i can honestly say that it is the absolute best buy for the money. the Archery hunt here in Nebraska started in September and since then i have taken 2 very nice bucks and 1 doe. like i said 3 shots 3 deer it has been an awesome year and can't wait for next hunting season to roll around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Shoots awesome

Date:November 3, 2012
I tried a bunch of bows, most much more expensive, and this bow was much smoother and quieter than all of the bows I tried so I got this one. Lighter and shorter than bows that cost double.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good bargain package

Date:October 15, 2012
This is a very nice low priced bow package for hunters that need a complete well rounded system for hunting. I was quite happy with the purchase and the overall quality of the components. You should obviously remember to sight in the system, and dial in the poundage you are comfortable with, and you will be putting tight groups together in very short time. Highly recommended.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear Encounter Bow

Date:October 15, 2012
This bow more than met my expectations. Quiet, light weight, fully furnished at a very reasonable price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

GREAT DEAL!!

Date:September 18, 2012
I've always been a cheap skate, so I've bought my last few bows used from private sellers using the local internet selling sight. But the rave reviews of the new encounter and the low price broke my used buying habit. At first I was going to buy just the bare encounter bow...but after adding up the cost of accessories I decided in the end to get the RTH that way I could sell my old bow with everything on it.. The bow is AMAZING. It is super quiet with nothing but the included string silencer. The included accessories work great for me, except maybe the included peep, but that is cheep to upgrade. I didn't tell my wife that I bought a new bow, and the bow was so easy to set up I was able to sneak the box in the garage and be sighted on target before she suspected anything! She might have thought I was shooting my old bow, but I knew I wasn't shooting my old bow, this thing is so much quieter and faster it is amazing! I love the narrow grip, lightweight, but most of all the quiet shot, and sick accuracy. Only an hour after opening the box I was shooting 1-2" groups of three arrows from 25 yards. Accessories come installed, but not properly adjusted, you'll need to check rest alignment and adjust the sights etc. If you're on the fence...just do it, it is awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Bear® Archery Encounter RTH Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Bear encounter

Date:September 18, 2012
light weight and very accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 29