Customer Reviews for MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

MOULTRIE Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera

A redesigned version of the best-selling D-55IR, the D-55IRXT blends feature-rich details with a smaller, compact size for easier handling, concealment and performance. Three operational modes: use it as an IR-triggered game camera with a night range up to 50 ft.; program it to function as a plot camera by day and an IR camera at night; set it to Hybrid time-lapse Plot Stalker mode and capture images at preset intervals, plus images triggered by game. Take up to 3,600 images in one day. FastFire continuous shooting mode captures up to three photos per second. Bright, clear 5MP color pictures and video by day. Black-and-white infrared pictures and video at night. Picture delay can be set for 15 or 30 seconds over one to 60 minutes. Three picture resolutions, two video resolutions. Stamps temperature, moon phase, time, date and Camera ID on each photo. SD memory card slot (card not included) can expand memory up to 32GB. External power port for Moultrie Power Panel® (sold separately). Operates on six C batteries (not included). Includes a weather-resistant camo casing and mounting strap. Dimensions: 6"H x 4-1/2"W x 3-1/2"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
15 out of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disposable camera

Date:May 15, 2013
Purchased the Game Spy I-40 (not from Cabela's) and with in 3 months the display stopped working. Moultrie replaced the display and said they had a "new and improved" display. Within 10 months it stopped working again. Sent it back and they fixed it. Now 15 months after receiving it back and maybe about 8 months of use it stopped working. Each time it costed me shipping and no use of the camera. Now Moultrie says I have to pay to get it fixed or they will give me a discount on another camera. Are you kidding me!? Consider this a disposable camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

D-55IRXT 5.0MP GAME CAMERA

Date:November 27, 2012
First set of batteries drained in only a few days. Next set of batteries and thing wouldn't power up. Once it did it would shut itself down in a few minutes. I am sending back for warranty service. Hopefully their service is acceptable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

This Camera is Junk!

Date:September 30, 2012
This camera is junk! Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. With brand new batteries, it shuts itself off. I can walk in front of it and many times it doesn't even take my picture. It never works at night; even though the infra red lights go off, no picture. I hope I can get my money back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Pick Something Else

Date:July 25, 2012
I bought this camera because it was cheap enough, figured how bad could it be. I wish now I had sprung for the extra hundred buck or whatever it would have taken to get some quality. Videos are very choppy and poor quality. So choppy in fact I couldn't even make out the size deer racks on slow motion. The trigger speed is very poor as well as I learned while testing it out. A lot of blurred photos. Also, the software with this one is very poor. I wouldn't consider myself a computer wiz but I'm not technology challenged either. It took me every bit of 30 minutes to get the program set up properly to even view photos. Once it was set up, it was so cruddy I just use the TV and an AUX chord. So much for the features. Do yourself a favor and buy something better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good camera, horrible b/c of straps

Date:July 30, 2012
Moultrie got rid of the perfect fastening system that was on the Moultrie Game Spy D-55IR. It had the 4 eye hooks which bungee cords easily attached to. Now they moved to the strap. The strap is absolutely the worst part of any game camera. Bring back the bungee hole things!!! The camera itself, works excellently. But, save $20 and lots of effort by getting the D-55IR instead of the IRXT.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Game Pictures

Date:November 20, 2012
Pleased with pictures and results to date. Camera has been running since day of arrival with excilent day and night photos of deer, turkey, bobcats, squirrels, etc.
Already helped in harvesting a nice eight point buck.
Would recommend this product.
TN Longbeardhunter
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Oklahoma
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Trail Camera

Date:October 10, 2012
I had previously purchased another camera which was to say the least disappointing. I returned it to Cabela's in exchange for the D-55 IRXT. Man, what an improvement. Day photos are excellent. Night photos are not the best I have seen but are acceptable. Triggering mechanism is the best I have used on any trail cam. Trigger times and modes are easily configurable. I will be purchasing more of these.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Pic, Easy battery pack.

Date:August 21, 2012
Takes good clear pictures; I have mine set at a low or medium. I own two and the pic distance is great also. I really enjoy the battery pack. It makes it easier in changing out the batteries while in the field. Would like to see an extra battery packs sold for convenient replacement, but it is still better than others cameras I have owned where I had to juggle the batteries in the camera.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Solid Camera

Date:August 20, 2012
Great camera. An excellent choice for the money. Photos are quality. Camera is fairly compact and easy to use. Only gripe would be the buckle on the strap. When tightening strap to secure to tree/post/whatever, the buckle broke. I purchased two of these camera's and they both have this same issue. Not too big of a deal since you can still tie the strap or use bungees to secure it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:December 5, 2012
First game camera I've used, bought it based on features and price value. Had good reviews and they were right. It is a good quality camera, easy to use and takes great daylight photos and decent night photos. Great value and well made. HD SD cards will work in it; bought a 32GB card and it has more than enough storage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Mississippi
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera for the money.

Date:December 5, 2012
The highest price is not always the best product, especially in this camera. I set this unit up on one of my green fields in north ms. and it has produced some great photo's. very easy to get set up and just remove one SD card and replace with another so you don't have to spend unnecessary time when retrieving your photo's. I highly recommend this trail cam for any hunter or if you are just someone who loves wildlife photos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:December 5, 2012
I was so satisfied with this camera I ordered another one. Pictures are clear and very reliable. I have purchased several items from Cabela's and have only had to return one item. It was faulty and they were very happy to exchange or refund. I got an exchange and there was no problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera For The Price !!!

Date:November 19, 2012
The D-55IRXT 5.0MP is a Awesome camera, I've had it going now for 3 months and getting 150-200 pictures a night and still has the same batteries I started out with, and they're regular Energizers. The picture quality is Awesome as well, Day or Night, I'm very pleased with Moultry products and would buy anything they have in a heartbeat !!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I love this cam!

Date:October 24, 2012
I bought this cam mainly to prove who was stealing stuff from my property and doing vandalism. Seeing the wildlife is an added bonus. I liked this cam so much that I bought a second one a week later. I am attaching a photo so you can see how good the night shots are. Daytime ones are very good and clear also.
My name was on the time/date stamp so I blackened it out. Day and night photos are excellent!
It is also very easy to set up. Even I could do it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Purchase Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP

Date:October 15, 2012
My first trail camera, I have to say I am very happy with this unit and would recommend this camera. Good clear sharp pictures even at night. Easy set up. Lot of camera options from video to still to choose from. Price was right. But get two SD Cards keep the pictures coming so you don't miss that Buck. Great Camera for the money!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great so far

Date:October 2, 2012
Camera took great pictures the first 2 weeks out. Time will tell how long it will last but so far clear pictures and great trigger speed. Would buy another one.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cam for the $$!

Date:September 6, 2012
I bought this cam to monitor some game trails. The initial setup was mostly painless. I put it out at 7:30 pm and checked it the next day at 5pm to make sure it was still working right. And I hoped it might have captured some movement overnight. I found a pic of one of the nicest bucks I've seen on my property. Even my wife is excited about checking the card to see what has been photographed. I'll edit this review if I have any issues with the longevity of the unit. Good luck!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent value for the purchase price

Date:September 4, 2012
Best camera for the value on the market, I have many other brands. This camera takes sharp day time pics and okay night pics. Didn't purchase this for the video option, though may try out the plot option later this year. I have 2 Moultries that are 3+ years old and still working fine.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great buy

Date:August 21, 2012
This is the best trail cam I have ever bought great pics and amazing battery life. It has taken over 2000 pics and still has 65% battery life left.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy D-55IRXT 5.0MP Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product good price

Date:August 17, 2012
takes good pics for the price.works excellent.have had more issues with my expensive camera than my 2 moultries
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.