Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

PRIMOS Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera

Zero photo or video capture noise and stealthy, nonvisible LEDs so you can capture photos and high-resolution videos without spooking game. It has an extended night-flash range of 50 ft. and a super-fast trigger speed of 1.3 seconds. Captures photos and videos at 7.0-megapixel resolution during the day and 5.0-megapixel resolution at night. One-second trigger speed. Supports up to a 32GB SD card (sold separately). Easy-to-read menu. Date, time, temperature and moon-phase stamps on each image and video. Runs on four D batteries (not included) or the Steroid Battery Pack (sold separately). Rugged case with security cable hole. Dimensions: 9"H x 6.5"W x 2"D.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
15 out of 22(68%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Review 1 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:September 2, 2011
I've had this camera for a few weeks now and i'm very happy with the results. I've yet to change the batteries yet and it has taken a couple thousand pictures already. The wildlife don't seem to notice the camera in the pictures, especially at night. It has great features and VERY easy to setup and use.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Nova Scotia
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied, highly recommend this Trail Camera

Date:August 20, 2013
The quality of the photos is excellent and it is very sensitive in even catching birds flying by. It captures at a great distance and the night photos are simply great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good camera

Date:July 2, 2013
I set this up in the backyard to test it out. I had read some of the reviews that the lights could be seen and it was not totally dark. I plan on using this for scouting and security, so I was looking for blackness. I could see the two lights and even the flash of the camera at night...BUT... I was looking directly at it, at close range and the right angle. I would say in the woods 99% of animals and people would not notice a thing. Therefore, I do recommend this camera. The pictures were nice as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

sad

Date:June 5, 2013
had to return this model cam twice due to indicator lights not working and video has split images and at times no image. Cam would take good photos then very poor photos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Good

Date:May 1, 2013
This is the second one of these we have used. Great pictures, infra red works good for night. Must be quiet-have pictures of deer licking it! Easy on batteries. We use one to see who comes up ranch lane. Well satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Outstanding camera

Date:February 15, 2013
My home was broke into so i bought this camera not knowing what to expect of it and i will say it is the best. I am buying another exact one. The picture quality is wonderful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:February 12, 2013
I've bought 5 camera's and had to return two. I was pleased with the help from Cabela's personel. I have about 140+ pictures a day and haven't changed battery's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed in Primos

Date:January 7, 2013
Got this as a Christmas gift and tried it for two weeks. The time and date would reset itself. The camera's LEDs still show through the blackout screen. The shutter sound scared the deer (had a big buck bolt so fast I couldn't even tell what the rack looked like). I walked in front of the camera to test it out and had no pictures of myself. The last day I checked the camera, the unit was off and could not get it to turn back on (batteries were a week old). Might as well take the strap off the camera and use it as a belt. Its the most reliable part of the camera. I will definitely be returning this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Primos is the way to go

Date:December 31, 2012
Bought this early summer and had over 300 pics in a weekend. I've never had a trail cam that took so many quality pics, it's so fast when taking pics that I managed to get a pic of my early season buck kill with a bow that when I shot it actually got a pic of the arrow in flight which was a little blurry but I also shoot lumenocks and that pic is know hanging underneath him in the trophy room. In fact the cam has went 2 months with battery life and is know up on our hill with a foot of snow on the ground here in the Appalachian Mountains of WV getting some nice pics of the bucks that are still around. If I was the one with a hunting show Primos trail cameras would be my #1 sponsor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Phantom bird

Date:November 28, 2012
We have had our Truth Cam about two years and we love it, but we have one issue with it. It will not take pictures of a roadrunner. It takes pictures of everything else...deer, coyotes, squirrels, the neighbors, birds and butterflies in flight...but it will not take a picture of a roadrunner. We can get him on our phone cameras and our regular camera, but not on our Truth Cam. We now call him our stealth roadrunner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worked great, when it worked

Date:November 23, 2012
Worked fine the fist time I put it out, took great pictures. But then.... Display said batteries were 60%, so I didn't change them, switched out memory cards and came back a week later, not one picture was taken. Changed batteries, installed newly formated memory card, checked a week later, same issue. Took it home for further testing, and called customer service, very nice and helpful people, walked me through the website and downloading a possible correction, but it didn't work. I exchanged it at the store and had the same problems with the second one. Maybe there was an issue they will work through. I own several other primos products, usually good quality/value, great customer service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera

Date:October 15, 2012
Easy set up, battery life great, deer don't notice led's near as much as regular non blackout. I would recommend, I now own 3 of them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

My second truth Cam Purchase

Date:August 21, 2012
I bought my Truth Cam Blackout 1 1/2yrs ago and its been outside ever since then. It has taken over 60,000 pictures then i stopped keeping track. In the fall, its keeped in the woods and in the spring/summer, I use it for home security outside my house. When its at my house it would take 500 pictures a day. Pictures were mostly cars and people walking in my subdivision. Good pictures day and night. fast trigger speed. easy to setup, external battery jack which I run a 6 volt rechargeable battery. I use a two 8Gb SD cards. I have it set to take 3 picture shots every 5 secs. Only drawback I wish it was smaller in size and had longer battery life. Overall its a very good quality trail cam, I will be buying another one soon.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

once u go black you'll never go back

Date:August 21, 2012
takes amazing pics day and night the animals dont even notice it best camera out there never going back to any other brand
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: N.Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Primos camera so far

Date:April 2, 2012
Initially had a cheap Stealth Cam for getting pics of deer and turkeys on our property. It had slow trigger speed when it did work. Then one day, our home was burglarized while we were at work. The ol' Stealth was able to get 1 pic with the license number. After that, I made it my mission to get a good trail camera. I've gone through 5 different brands, all have been returned for some reason or another, mainly for slow trigger speed, except the Primos. I've had a TC 60 for almost 2 years with no issues, and have had this one for about a year. These cameras have good battery life even in cold temps, take good pictures, and are dependable. And the all important trigger speed is exceptional. No more pics of deer butts! I did have an issue with a TC45 once, but Primos' customer service was excellent, and they had a replacement out to me in no time. I have 3 cameras around my place now and get pics of anyone or any critter snooping around.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:December 29, 2011
I got the camera at beginning of season. I tested it and found no shutter noise and a very minimal flash. Batteries have have lasted very well taking several thousand shots and still recording 50 plus % battery life. Deer in the pics show absolutely no sign of knowing the camera is there like they di on the flash cameras. Good product maybe when other makers start copying the price will come down some.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South, Duluth MN.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:November 15, 2011
I put this Camera out over a small food plot and 10 days later it had over 740 pics, still had enough battery to take a pic of me.Deer did not seem to be spooked at all.I can here it take a pic, noise is very min.I had purchased the steriod batt. pack it as well performed flawlesly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Youngstown, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not weather proof

Date:November 1, 2011
My truth cam 60 was in terrible condition after a year. Primos would not replace it. Buy something else.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Milton, VT
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Not as advertised

Date:September 17, 2011
Set this up yesterday in the back yard. Went out after dark and the flash is plainly visable from 25 feet. Not as strong as a regular IR camera but still visible. I definitely hear shutter noise but not for every picture - strange. Brought it out to the woods today and the real proof will be if deer react to it. If they do, it will go back. This is my second Priomos and it will be my last - they talk a good game but IMHO haven't delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Truth® Cam Blackout™ Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: South Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Issue with Blackout Camera

Date:September 11, 2011
Put new batteries in camera took a few pictures around the house then put it out went back 4 days later and camera had 13 pictures and batteries were dead. Also camera still has shutter noise that i can hear. NO noise and the concept of the blackout is why i orginally bought the camera. Returned to Cabela's. Leary of getting another Blackout for the price is too high not to perform as suggested. Primos Truth 35 cameras are great for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22