Customer Reviews for BIMINI BAY Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

BIMINI BAY Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit

Swing the hunting odds in your favor with this innovative plug-and-play trail camera. Camera takes high-resolution color images during the day and infrared images at night, as well as video/audio option. The Dual Sensor Technology™ (DST™) 10.0-megapixel camera has a 54-degree lens, 48 infrared LEDs with the option of 10 degrees of sensing coverage out to 90 ft. Dual Sensor Technology gives you the option to have the 45-degree sensor and the 10-degree sensor active at the same time. Includes a silent, digital shutter, blink of an eye (less than one second trigger speed), and operates on eight AA lithium batteries or alkaline batteries (not included). Durable, ABS/polycarbonate frame. The Controller/Viewer is required for programming and customizing your camera step-by-step. Control multiple cameras, download/view/edit photos in the field and align the camera in real-time. Customize image file type/size, picture quality, time lapse, operation hours and separate day/night settings. Trail Camera System includes: camera, controller/viewer, 12-volt cable, car adapter, home adapter, USB cable, AA battery pack cartridge tray (batteries not included), lithium-ion battery (for the controller/viewer), six hex standoffs for mounting, a mounting strap and a lock-down security plate and screws. Megapixels: 10.0. Camera lens angle: 54°. PIR sensor angle: 45/10 Dual Sensor. Maximum trigger range: 45 feet/90 feet. Infrared LEDs: 48 or 36. Video/Audio: Yes/Yes. Barometric Pressure: Yes. Trigger Speed: Less than one second. Lock-Down Security Plate: Included.
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
11
13 out of 26(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Review 1 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Learn From My Mistake

Date:September 16, 2012
I bought 2 kits with plans to buy more. I read a magazine a few months ago that rated the Leupold RCX2 highly. I thought with a name like Leupold I couldn't go wrong. What a mistake these cameras do not work as advertised. After calling Tech Support several times I made all the adjustments they suggested. The RCX2 cameras still don't function correctly. To this day I still can't get them to work above 77 degrees. I put a 10 year old film type camera on a post next to the other cameras and it takes more pictures than the RCX2. My testing of these cameras is over. I put a note on the camera that says if you steal these cameras I hope you can get them to work. I emailed Leupold and asked for my money back they have ignored me.
My hats off to their Tech Support they are very knowledgeable about the RCX series cameras.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

excellent quality

Date:August 20, 2012
excellent photos and video but only gave it four stars because I was really looking forward to using the viewer for my other cameras but apparently it is not compatible with cuddeback cameras
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:August 3, 2012
Don't know why so many bad reviews? This is an excellent camera. I will be purchasing another!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Junk

Date:July 22, 2012
have three sending one back for second time lots of problems with others as well. would not recomend at all. many cameras out there that are far better and cheaper. leoupld will repair but it's not worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Quality Camera

Date:June 12, 2012
FIrst thing is first, dont go rate this camera badly instead read the manual and if the camera still doesnt work give Leupold a call any weekday 8am to 4pm and their associates will gladly help you out. I had some spaces in the name and it messed the camera up but the Leupold associate walked me through it and the camera worked flawlessly. I prefer the camera on video mode so I have it set up to take 30 second 8 megapixel videos and they are amazingly clear and I find videos teach me more about the deer than pictures. The camera is incredibly easy to use and set up due to the nicely set up controller. Every thing that you can ask for in a camera is here except maybe a light or screen on the camera to let you know the camera is on ,that is my only complaint. I hope that my review was helpful and good luck this upcoming fall to all you hunters out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Worst Trail Camera

Date:April 14, 2012
I purchased this trail camera last August 2011. Had all kinds of electronic issues. Got a second camera a few months later. I was in my tree stand and watched as the camera missed an 8 point buck and 19 turkeys! Sent it back and got my third camera. Had a buck stand in front of camera for 10 minutes and got 1 poor quality picture. Then the comtroller jammed. I couldn't take it any more and received a refund. Leupold obviously should stick to scopes and rangefinders. This camera is not ready for prime time. I had many blank pictures because the trigger is too slow. I can only imagine what I missed for deer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: the Ozarks
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera system

Date:February 29, 2012
Not sure why so many negative reviews, but this system is great.
The naming problem (can't have any spaces) was offsetting, but a quick call to Leupold set me straight (Leupold should have bolded that info in the instructions).
The camera is silent, sensitive and fast.
The preview camera function makes it easy to aim.
The optics quality is better than anything else I've used in the past...after all, it is a Leupold product, with settings from 10 megapixels down to 3 and you can tailor the number of LEDs to suit youself for night time use.
The trip angles, 10, 45 and zero (DST) degrees ensure you'll capture whatever comes into view depending on angle of approach and how you set it.
You should know, if you use the DST setting and set the camera for multiple exposures you'll get a lot of pictures because of the sensitivity.
The first night I set it up I, I had it set up for 3 exposures and no delay and ended up with 1200 pictures in a 10 hour period.
Changing it to 10 degrees with a 5 second delay was simple (took about 20 seconds to change) and made it much more manageable.
Downloading photos to the controller is quick and easy and allows you to review activity in the field while sitting in your hide.
All in all, this is a great system, easy to use and manage, and though pricier than some of the other offerings out there, IMO, well worth the money and I'll be buying more cameras before the next season.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Potsdam ,NY
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit - JUNK JUNK

Date:February 9, 2012
Sorry to say Boys, this camera is JUNK. I purchased this camera at Cabela's in WV on my way to hunt White Tail in Ky. I wanted to use this camera as a hunting tool on my 9 day trip. The camera caused me more aggravation and took away from my trip. The camera set up and function seemed to be pretty straight forward, I tried everything and I could not get the camera to take 1 picture. I returned home and set the camera up in my house and still no pictures. I went on to Cabela's web site and read the reviews and I was not surprised in what I read. I believe the camera could work if Leupold had the set up right before they sent the cameras out for retail sales. A name like Leupold, you would think they would know about Quality Control. I returned my camera and bought a different brand Spy M-100 game camera, I love it and it works great. My fault, I guess it does pay to read the product reviews. Good Luck!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: Bismarck, ND
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Needs improvement

Date:February 9, 2012
The directions need improvement as well as the camera. When naming the camera the name can not have any apces in it, which is not covered in the directions.
The camera will miss taking pictures of deer that are standing 25 feet in front of it. At times it will take a picture and then an hour later it will not. Some nights I see deer feeding right in front of the camera and the camera has no pictures on the card. Then the next night it takes pictures of some of the deer but not all.
I can not recommend this camera other than it is extremely well made and by far more solid than any of the others out there! The security plate is a great idea as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Western Massachusetts
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Does not take infrared video

Date:January 27, 2012
3 out of 3 RCX-2 cameras did not take night infrared video. Many phone calls to Leupold could not fix the problem. I was exicited about the features of this camera (controller is a great idea), but totally disappointed because it would not work in the IR video mode on any of the 3 cameras. If you plan to use this camera for nightime video - don't bother - it will be a frustrating experience. There is a defect that Leupold is not able to fix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrendous...

Date:December 17, 2011
I can say without any hesitation that these cameras are relatively speaking..junk! I run multiple different cameras every year from several of the top makers. The single worst thing any cam can fail to do is to simply take pictures...exactly what the RCX-2's do the majority of the time.
Anyone that is recomending this product as "5 stars" either does not own many of them, (I have 5 of them, two of which have already been repaired by the factory once), or they simply do not realize that the cams are malfunctioning.
What is the problem? You name it, these cams have it. Power failures, battery pack issues, controller malfunctions, failure to detect movement, failure to take night picures, etc etc.
I put several of my RCX-2's on the same tree as my 3 year old Reconyx. Not one of the RCX-2's captured a fraction of the deer standing in front of the cams eating on a bait pile that the Reconyx did despite the fact all of the cams were set on similar settings.
Moral of the story....these are not quality cams with a few problems. These are very poor quality cams that are capable of taking great pics...on the rare occasion that work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

A couple Gotcha's......

Date:December 1, 2011
I set up the device while following the instructions to the letter. It worked on the initial test and made about 10 photos of me in my workshop. After that, I had a horrible time getting it to either take pictures/video, or even have the controller recognize the SD card in either the camera or the controller. I put the SD card into a laptop and could see the photos on the card. Nothing I tried seemed to work.
I called Leupold Customer Service and got a couple of quick, easy and effective fixes. In the "custom settings" screen (Camera Set-Up, in tab II (Roman numeral II)), ensure that the 'camera name" does not have any spaces in the name you use. The Customer Service rep said their "firmware" has a glitch that kicks in if you have a space in the name. The other change was to set the "sensitivity" (tab I) to "High". That is sensitive enough. He said when it was set to "Auto" it didn't trigger when it should have and on"super high" he got a 1000 photos of grass blowing in the wind.
Try it...it worked. I'm sold at least while testing it. have to see if it works in the field.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Where is the Brand Promise?

Date:November 28, 2011
The trail camera operating system would not work at all. Batteries, SD cards, been there done that. Looks like another quality control miss. Wait for the factory reconditioned ones to hit the bargain cave or wait for Leupold to fix the issues. The 2012 models coming out next summer more than likely will be just fine. Cabela's Customer Service is the Industry best!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: West Texas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leupold RCX-2 - Did not work

Date:November 26, 2011
I really liked the idea of having a controller with a screen to set up the camera and review pictures/video. There must be some quality control issues with these cameras, as some reviews were excellent and others were poor. My issue started with the controller, which locked up when I attempted to set up the "Camera Name". It also would randomly lock up when I turned it on. It required me to unscrew the battery port and disconnect the battery to restart. Initially I set it up in "Best Picture Mode" and it wouldn't take any pictures at all. I then set it up with custom settings and it took a few pictures, and the picture quality was grainy--even in day pictures. I purchased this model in-store, at Cabelas. I normally read reviews (as I purchase almost everything online from Cabelas), but probably wouldn't have purchased this if I had read the reviews on it. I'm returning. I have 3 Reconyx cameras that work great, but they are so expensive--I was hoping the Leupold camera would be an alternative--it is not. I love Leupold products, and I think they are a great company! They just have some bugs to work out on this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent product

Date:October 5, 2011
I Purchased the Leupold RCX-2 Trail Camera a few weeks ago and it has worked flawlessly. The unit does everything it is advertized to do and it is simple to use!
To those considering purchasing these, make sure you use the recommended batteries or the unit will not work properly. Also, remember to set aside a few extra bucks for two good quality SD cards which are not included.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Mobile, AL
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointed in Leupold

Date:September 24, 2011
I bought this camera system and an extra camera and have had tremendous trouble with both cameras. One camera took pictures for 2 weeks, then quit and the other one only took 3 pictures of me setting it up and then nothing. They both worked fine in my house when I tested the setups, but once I put them outside, they quit functioning. I expect much more from a high end expensive camera and from a Leupold. I contact Leupold Customer Service 2 times and didn't receive a response. Sending them back to cabela's in exchange for a Reconyx.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RCX-1 & 2 Kits

Date:September 12, 2011
Not sure about the bad reviews on these Leupold camera kits, I have three that I used for elk and boy can these things take a beating!!! Not to mention great pictures and battery life. We had these things screwed and strapped to the trees and the elk ripped the screws out and trampled them in the mudd. Every time I checked them, just had to wipe them off, reset and download the pics. If you are using for elk, I would recommend the RCX-2 because it has the cable lock. We started off using a 12 volt battery for long life, but found the batteries about 100 yards off, due to the elk playing with them. Started using the standard AA batteries and the life has been great. Like I mentioned, these things are tough and I give them props. Mine have all taken great pictures and trigger time is terrific. Some folks must have gotton a bad unit. Here's a visual for you.......Imagine 200 head of elk coming through and chewing on your camera and ripping it from the tree. Then throwing it around and stopping on it. I would get about 500-1300 pictures every week and these cameras are still going strong. Can't say enough about them. This is all in 90-100 degree summer heat, where we also had a stealth cam go bonkers and quit working from the heat. I know this sounds like a sales pitch, but this is first had experience with three units in a tough environment. Hope this helps.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Rockford, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buyer Beware

Date:September 5, 2011
I love leupold products so when I was this I thought it would live up to the leupold name. I couldn't have been more wrong. The camera was easy to set up, from programming it to mounting it, it has some great features that we easy to navigate with the controller. All that doesn't mean squat though if it won't do what it is supposed to and that is take pictures of deer. I had it out for a week and got zero pictures on it and yes it was turned on. I figured I had just messed something up when I set the camera up, so I went through all the settings again, however this time I left one of my older field cams out there to see which camera would take better pictures. One week later the leupold had zero pictures of deer, my older trail camera had 35 pictures of deer and both cameras were centered on the same spot. Not what I would have expected from leupold.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Beach, Oregon
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

I got the RCX-2 kit and 2 of the RCX-1 cameras

Date:September 5, 2011
These cameras are very easy to set up and yet you can customize them meet your individual needs. I have set all three of them up and the picture quality is good and even the night pictures are good. The camera viewer idea is awesome, not like many other cameras that you have to close up the housing take a picture then see if you need to adjust it. You can see on the viewer what the camera will be taking pictures of. if you want to keep the cameras out just plug in the viewer download the pictures and view them and upload to your computer. Works great. I would strongly recommend this camera to the serious outdoors enthusiast.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Leupold® RCX-2 Trail Camera System Kit
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: North Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Camera

Date:August 30, 2011
Could not get pictures at first but called Leupold Tech Support.When I named my camera in the custom setting I had 2 words.Had to be all caps and no spaces is what the tech told me.Then I had to format both of the sd cards It fixed the problem and now it works great.Yes it takes 2 cards one in the camera and one in the cotroller.I used San Disk 16gb class 6 SDHC cards.Day and night pics and fast trigger.The controller is pretty easy after you play with it.The view screen is great and easy to save or delete photos.The directions that come with the camera could be better. But overall I like it so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 26