Customer Reviews for MUDDY OUTDOORS Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness

MUDDY OUTDOORS Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness

No other harness can match the Safeguard’s combination of safety, silence and light weight. The minimalist design has only a fraction of the surface area of competing vests – less fabric means less scent. Super-silent, rubber-coated parachute buckles ensure rock-solid connections and ultralightweight operation. The Safeguard uses the lightest and quietest cam buckles on the market. They are infinitely adjustable and lock without any noise. Integrated binocular straps take the weight of your binoculars off your neck and puts it on your harness. System includes everything you need to climb and hunt safely even a Suspension Relief System (SRS). Tested to TMA standards. Imported. Weight: 1.9 lbs. Weight capacity: 300 lbs. Size: Small/Medium ; max. height: 5’10", max. waist: 34" Large ; max. height: 6’3", max. waist: 40" X-Large ; max. height: 6’7", max. waist: 44" Color: Black. A Video Public Service Announcement from the TREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION >
Overall Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
19 out of 22(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Review 1 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Comfortable!

Date:September 30, 2014
This harness is very comfortable and allows for plenty of movement!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Harness I've Used!

Date:September 22, 2014
The directions are pretty simple and common sense will prevail. No question that it is reliable and light weight! My favorite harness and go to harness every season!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Prouct

Date:May 27, 2014
Used this recently for my first tree stand sit... fit is perfect and it comes with everything you need...couldnt ask for more, and thank you cabbalas for getting it to me on time
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

all day comfort

Date:October 15, 2013
Easily the most comfortable harness I have ever used.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muddy Safeguard

Date:December 27, 2012
Nice harness. Decent padding. Adjusts easily and it fits my son perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good Harness

Date:December 27, 2012
I work in safety and fall protection and want to clear up some things about this harness and any other harness.
This appears to be a good, well built harness. It fits well and removes the need for a lanyard to attach to the harness and tree, because it is built in. The instructions leave more to be desired. The harness is very "strappy" as has been mentioned.
I'm going to talk about some safety concerns that I have read in this chain of reviews
No fall harness is comfortable to hang in. Some are less irritating than others but you will pay hundreds more for those. I can see that this one won't be very comfortable as it has thin leg straps.
In the event of a fall you want to connect the suspension relief strap as soon as you fall (comes with harness). This will allow you to take the pressure off of your thigh/crotch region (which can kill you if you hang too long) and put it onto your shoulders (which will buy you a lot more time).
DO NOT test your harness out to see if it is comfortable to hang in. The harness has fall relief patches sewn into it. These tear as you fall, slowing your descent and relieving hundreds of pounds of pressure from your body. If you test your harness you risk tearing these, at which point you might as well throw your harness away.
Make sure everything on the harness is tight. If you can slip the strap off of one of your shoulders, you need to tighten it up or you will fall out of it. Same goes for the legs. Tighten them up. If they're loose or not buckled, you will either slip out of them or they will catch your legs in a low spot and cause you to do the splits (which won't feel good with the force of a man falling).
Overall: Good harness, decent instructions, too strappy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Delaware
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

wise purchase

Date:December 6, 2012
Recently purchased the harness and have used only once. Will use it again tomorrow. Since I know two hunters who have fallen out of trees, I thought it was about time that I made the investment, especially for safety reasons. The harness is easy to put on, not encumbering, and provides that ease of mind that I won't fall and break my back, or worse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Safety Harness

Date:December 5, 2012
Harness is a great design and easy to put on. Very satisfied with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

awesome harness

Date:November 26, 2012
Switched from hunter saftey system to muddy and love it. lighter and much quieter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Awesome

Date:October 20, 2012
Light and quiet. includes all the gear you need. I liked the wait strap that brings the hook up loops center to your shoulders instead of searching around the sides of your hips for them. The slid-able accessory clips on the shoulder straps were well thought out, perfect for hooking up a rangefinder. The instructions are a tad vague photo wise but it didn't take me long to figure everything out. Well worth the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best on the Market

Date:October 8, 2012
This is a super great harness. Lightweight, easy to get on,I like the binocular strap feature. I'm not sure what else you could ask for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Alberta
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent harness

Date:September 23, 2012
The Muddy Safeguard is extremely lightweight and easy to use - some of the other reviews said the instructions were vague. I don't know how it could be any simpler to figure out, unless you have never used a harness before. I want to be safe while in my stand but I hate bulky, heavy harnesses - this harness solves both of those issues. It also has several adjustments so you can ensure a great fit. The only thing I think they need to include on this harness is some type of system to contain the excess leg strap material - for some reason they made the leg straps very long and once you have it sized there is a lot of excess strap. Otherwise, its great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good harness

Date:January 11, 2012
Easy to put on in the dark, comfortable, silent, and light. Best one I have used so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: S. Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't BUY

Date:December 28, 2011
I agree with the review that says the directions are terrible. A good word to describe this harness is strappy. Once you figure out on your own how to get into it you have to deal with all the loose strap ends. This is not a harness you get into quickly. Spend the extra money and something other than the Muddy Harness. Not writing this to be mean, I just like to hunt and not have to spend so much time getting my gear on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pinckney, Mi
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muddy has a new fan

Date:December 18, 2011
This is my first Muddy product and I am very impressed. The harness is easy to wear with light or heavy gear, requiring slight adjustment either way.
The rubber coated buckles are extremely quiet and prevent those unexpected noises in the field.
I feel very safe in the harness and barely notice it while I'm in the tree. The linemans rope was also very useful when hanging my treestand this year.
Overall, this is a great harness for a great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Virginia
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Leg Straps to Thin

Date:October 31, 2011
I anchored this harness to trusses in my basement and gradually eased off a step ladder. The thin leg straps nearly cut into your skin and were extremely uncomfortable. Even with thick layering I could not imagine hanging from a tree in the event of a fall with this harness.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

poor instructions

Date:October 18, 2011
Never used a harness before, this one may be OK, if you can figure out how to use it. This includes the use of the linemans rope. The instructions are very vague, pictures blurry, instructional video not product specific. Could not find more info on line. Waiting for response from manufacturer on issue, will return if not resolved soon. I would expect safety equipment to have highly detailed information...not this one. Very disappointed!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Upstate NY
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get One

Date:October 15, 2011
If you like the idea of putting a harness on and literally forgetting you're wearing it then this is the one for you. Like everything muddy makes this is a quality item and I wouldn't even consider wearing another. Also, it comes with a quality tree strap, a prusiks knot, and a lineman's belt. Chose this one based solely on how impressed I am with my Muddy sticks hoping this would be of the same quality. It is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: tri state area, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Muddy harness

Date:September 19, 2011
I've had my harness for three years now and would not hunt without it. I've never had any problems with it and consider it one of the most important purchases I've made. I also like that it is very quiet. The only negative is that if you use the bino strap it seems constricting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Muddy Outdoors Safeguard Harness
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Richmond, Va
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simple to use ...Great price

Date:August 14, 2011
I recently decided to replace my safety harness so i ordered just about every one cabelas sales to see the differences and select a harness. I am making reviews so hopefully no one else has to do the same thing. I will list the negatives and positives of each harness. Feel free to check out my other reviews when shopping for a harness this season.
Positives. Very light. Great locking carbiner clip, Has very small leg buckles . Bino system made into vest. I am 6'2 300 lbs and the xl fit me i was worried it would not.
Negatives. It got tangled a couple of times taking it off putting it on . The material itself struck me as a little cheap on intial look . It reminded me of the harnesses that come free with the summit stands , if they still do that. Bino straps seemed as if they may have trouble holding heavy binoculars , they had alot of give right out of box .
Overall. This was my second favorite harness. Its light simple and has all the extras good value for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 22