Customer Reviews for SUMMIT TREESTANDS Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand

SUMMIT TREESTANDS Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand

It weighs in at a mere 15 lbs., but hunts solid. The QuickDraw™ trigger system quickly secures the stand to the tree. RapidClimb™ Stirrups are easy to slip your feet into – no straps to mess with. Fold-up seat makes climbing easy and allows for leaning against the tree with a padded buffer. Expanding foam lines critical platform parts for excellent noise reduction. Extruded-aluminum Summit Lokt™ construction locks all joints before welding for extra strength. Stand is tested to TMA standards. Includes a full-body safety harness with Suspension Relief System (SRS) and carrying straps. Made in USA. Seat size: 18" x 12". Platform size: 20" x 24-3/4". Weight: 15 lbs. Weight capacity: 300 lbs. Camo pattern: Realtree AP™ . A Video Public Service Announcement from the TREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
Overall Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Review 1 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Climber for Archery Hunters!

Date:January 8, 2014
This stand is light and very quiet to setup and climb a tree. It's not as comfortable as some of the larger summit treestands but it does give maximum maneuverability for archery hunters. This stand does require a little more upper body strength compared to the sit and climb style climbers. I would recommend the razor for those that are concerned about their ability to support themselves with there arms are raising the floor part of the stand while climbing.
A great stand that meets an archery hunters needs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Pretty good

Date:January 7, 2014
My first climber. I'm using it in the late season. The upper part could be a little wider. I barely fit between the upper part and it gets caught on my jacket and harness when climbing. I wish the bottom part was just a couple inches longer too. There is just enough room for my feet when sitting. It grips well when climbing and is quiet too. The seat is very comfortable even when sitting a long time. There is no great way that I've discovered to put the two sections together to carry it. Overall it's just a little small for me and I'm only 5' 7" and 160 lbs. Maybe it will be better in the fall with fewer clothes or for a teenager with a slimmer build.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great stand!

Date:December 12, 2012
Very comfortable,lightweight,and quiet! Can sit several hours on this stand. Dead metal tech is amazing,does not "clank" like my trusty ol' Viper does. Highly recommended for anyone having to hike a long way or bowhunters!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Canada
Province: Ontario
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great buy

Date:December 5, 2012
I had a chance to use this product during this years deer season. Great product! Easy to pack and carry. The seat was very comfortable for long sits and provided good insulation from the metal frame. Only fault, clumsy body harness. Otherwise I am very pleased with this climbing stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

worth the money

Date:October 2, 2012
light,easy to use
i would buy a harness the one that comes is ok but bulky
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Easy Climber

Date:September 4, 2012
I purchased this stand to take advantage of the urban and early antlerless seasons in VA. I needed to be highly mobile and be able to pack further in than other hunters. This stand nests together easily, packs light, and is easily carried through the thickest brush. This is my first climber and was easy to master after watching the video on YouTube. I ordered on Monday and got it on Thursday. Great stand.
NOTE:
Replace the included shoulder straps with military style ALICE pack straps or similar.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Buyer beware

Date:August 20, 2012
Summit has a limited number of parts they will sell you. I purchased several of their climbers and a very expensive ladder stand from them. They will not sell any ladder stand replacement parts. Also I will say on all their climbers the stands have no "bite" into the tree. This causes the stands to be less stable than other brands that have an aggressive bark interface. I'm pretty much done with Summit after my experience with the ladder stand. There are some manufacturers out there that support their products. Summit doesn't seem to be one of them in my opinion.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Light and easy but watch the seat

Date:January 16, 2012
I bought an OpenShot after doing quite a bit of research. I also have a Summit Viper and use each for different conditions (OpenShot for long walks and Viper for short walks)
A lot of reviews for this stand and other hand climbing stands say that they are hard to climb with. While the 'sit and climb' stands (e.g. Viper) are easier, the OpenShot is not hard enough to warrant the amount of negative reviews that I found in my research. You need to be in reasonable shape and my abs are sore after the first couple climbs but that is well worth the trade-off in weight in my opinion.
The stand is very light weight and easy to get through the woods with. I found it also to be very stable and quiet.
The fold up seat is nice as I much prefer to shoot standing over sitting. HOWEVER, at least for me, the seat as it comes is very difficult to use. The front of the seat sticks so far out that my feet need to be poking off the front of the platform several inches to make room to flip it up. Also the foam padding is ridiculously thick which also inhibits folding the seat up with any grace. I normally sit until I see something coming from a distance but I definitely would not want to try to flip the seat up with a dear anywhere in sight - even 100 yds away. This season I just stood the whole time with the seat folded up but I will modifying the seat before next season. There are some do-it-yourself instructions online from others that have had similar complaints. I am sure that the seat is so big and the foam so thick to make it comfortable but I would happily sacrifice a little comfort for a good hunt. Modifying the stand surely voids the warranty and is absolutely not recommended by Summit but I would feel safer with a seat that doesn't stick out so far as to push me that close to the front of the platform.
All-in-all I would recommend this stand for anyone who is looking for a lightweight climber so they can get off the beaten path.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Buffalo
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great

Date:November 5, 2011
Light,quiet,quick and affordable.Bought this because i wanted a light stand to go out hunting after work with.Not a stand i could sit in all day but great for 3 to 4 hour hunts which is what I needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Summit OpenShot™ SD Climbing Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great stand

Date:October 21, 2011
i purchased a lone wolf a couple months before the summit the l.w. was hard to climb, loud, could not lift seat to lean against tree. the summit is so easy to climb lots of room , the seat folds up the only thing i can say bad is they claim 15 lbs. it is 16 1/2 lbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.