Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call

PRIMOS Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call

Pre-loaded with six sets of Expert™ Hunts calling sequences and 75 professionally recorded individual sounds, the Alpha Dogg lets the experts from Primos do the calling for you. Powerful, 180° rotating speakers with dual 25-watt amps for realistic, dynamic sound projection without distortion. Easy-to-use 200-yd. remote operates on three AA batteries (not included). Easy-to-read 2-1/2" full-color, high-resolution LCD screen. Game-changing configurable hot buttons let you pause all sounds, change to pre-defined volumes and sounds, recall previously played sounds and more. Holds up to 1,000 sounds on 2GB memory. USB port lets you download and store sounds and newly released Expert™ Hunts. Speaker system operates on eight AA batteries (not included). Imported. Camo pattern: Realtree MAX-1® .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
30 out of 36(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 100 Answers
Customer Reviews for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Review 1 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great product

Date:March 14, 2014
Absolutely love this call. First time, first set out, 1 coyote down. Temps around 15, wind blowing 20mph+. must have been loud enough because the coyote came from upwind. Used the cottontail expert hunt the first set. made my own copying the expert hunt with a pig, mad cat, and dog. Only tip I will give is to buy this call during the off season. Must be very popular as it was on backorder for 1 1/2 months
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

I tried two and both have failed me

Date:March 3, 2014
I purchased my first Alpha Dogg in Jan 2013. I used it twice. After the last hunt, I wanted to show a friend how it worked and the until would not play. The remote would not sync to the caller. I was able to return it for a new unit since I was within the 90 return window.
The new replacement unit work until Feb 2014. I used the caller for less than 5 hunts during the 9 months I had it. The unit played OK and after a couple of minutes it locks up. I would have to power off & back on for it to work again, though it would be only for another couple of minutes.
I have contacted Primos and will need to ship it off to them for service/replacement. I am very concerned on the reliability of this caller. If I was able to return it to Cabelas, I would not replace it with another Primos. I would look at the Foxpro line for replacement.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Don't waste your money

Date:February 11, 2014
The call when using Pro featured calls or high volumes makes strange crackling noises that simply scare away the animals instead of calling them in. Thank you Mia from Primos for saying over and over again to just put in new batteries. Finally after a year of being told to put those new batteries Primos had me send in to Bushnell for service, where it has been returned stating all noises are with in "standards" for the call. "Standards" must be your not calling in any animals just scaring them away. Don't waste your time and money...choose any other call but Primos.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Get this instead of another brand

Date:January 19, 2014
I went through the hassle of creating an account on Cabellas just so I could write a review. I did extensive research and decided to purchase the Primos Alpha Dog instead of the more expensive competitor. This call was LOUD, clear, and was very easy to operate. It also took less batteries than the competitor. Save yourself a few hundred bucks and get this call instead of a more expensive brand or a cheap knockoff. I am a beginning coyote hunter and want others to know of my experience. Very happy with this call and will last a long time. The hot buttons are great and are super for beginning hunters such as myself. My first time using at night in my neighborhoood had dogs barking at the call from a distance.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good for the money

Date:January 13, 2014
I’ve used this over a year now. This call has good sound quality for most sounds. The only issue I’ve had is with high-pitched coyote howls when the volume is above 70 and the batteries are starting to wear down. There can be some distortion.
There was one reviewer that said it only works above 20 degrees (F). I live in ND, and I can tell you that I’ve personally used this well below 0 (F) without issue, but you NEED to use Lithium batteries. Regular alkaline do not hold up in the cold. The same is true of my brothers Foxpro.
The remote is far better than any Foxpro one I’ve seen. You can tell they actually thought about usability and menu-layout.
My only real regret is that it is not made in the USA…
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

You Get What You Pay For

Date:January 8, 2014
I went against my gut on this purchase and thought I'd save money and buy this call after I read so many positive reviews online and in publications. I had hunted numerous times with guys that had high end Fox Pro and Wildlife Technologies calls but I wasn't interested in spending that much money when I only call a handful of days out of the year. I'm a stickler for quality so I was hesitant when I saw the price; however, I bought this call anyway. I'm returning it after using it for only a day. The sound quality and clarity was very poor...especially anything above level 50 (of 100). The sounds were so distorted that they were almost unrecognizable. I will say, though, that I really like the remote for this call and the way the menus on the screen are set up. I also appreciated the portability (size and weight) of the call and how you can adjust the speakers to get more of a "surround sound" effect. I realize it's possible I just received a defective call and had a speaker blow right away etc, however, I will now be looking to buy a reputable, higher-priced call where I know I'll be getting quality and peace of mind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Good call.....bad location

Date:December 30, 2013
First I want to say that this is a good call. The sound quality is good, the volume is great, and the design is well thought out. The reason I gave this product a two is that I live in Northern Wisconsin, and the temperatures during the winter are usually below 20 degrees. When I bught this call I did not realize the operating temparture is 20 degrees and up. Below that the batteries drain very quick and the sound is terrible. If you live in a state that gets warmer weather than us in Wi, buy this call you won't be dissappointed and if not buy a Foxpro.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Compact, but puts out great sound

Date:December 17, 2013
I ordered online, so the unit was surprisingly smaller than I expected, but that's a good thing. The unit has fold up legs and moveable speakers so you can tailor the sound direction to your situation.
It does take a bunch of batteries, so I'd recommend a case of some sort so you can keep a spare set handy.
The default sound selection is good, with useful "Expert" compelations. I did have to purchase a few calls from Primos to add in prey species common here, but otherwise it was good to go out of the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Alpha Dogg

Date:August 28, 2013
I purchased this unit to add the deer and moose calls supposedly available from Primos. I followed the instructions to the letter and the sounds did not transfer. I called Primos (3 times) and still no success. Then the unit would not sync with the remote. I returned the unit to Cabela's. If you wish to purchase this unit, I recommend you ensure all the sounds you want are entered into the unit before you accept it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

AWESOME!!!

Date:February 19, 2013
Only issue is it crackles when the batteries start to get low.
Pack extra batteries. 11 AA total.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than any foxpro

Date:February 12, 2013
This call is nice and compact, yet has all the features. Just the remote alone makes it worth buying over any other E-caller I've seen. It has nice big buttons that stick out and you don't have to wonder if you actually hit it or not. The menus are simple and intuitive. The expert hunts are cool too. You can't beat Randy Anderson.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

i have both the turbodogg and alfa dogg

Date:February 12, 2013
best Ive used......
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very satisfied

Date:February 12, 2013
Amazing call. Like surround sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arizona
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great call

Date:February 12, 2013
I have used this call on about 20 sets so far and have called in 9 coyotes, 1 bobcat and 1 fox. Almost half of those sets were during some pretty windy conditions and I still had predators coming in. Love the Expert hunts that are included. Just hit play and sit back and wait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Priced right

Date:January 22, 2013
I like the camo, features, remote and speaker positions. What I don't like is unless you use quality batteries (lithium) you may have speaker noise or remote turning on/off. Also no battery level "yet" display maybe later in update?? So I will meter mine after each days hunt. Good loud volume and "some" sounds are super crisp and clear but not all, crow could be better and some others. Downloading sounds "can" be a real hassle and Primos has tips on this procedure. Remote range is very good. Why no remote lanyard included?????
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Dont waste your money

Date:January 13, 2013
the alpha dog makes strange noises that scare predators. I have tried 2 of them and returned them for a refund. I am going to buy a Fox Pro
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good caller

Date:December 11, 2012
Called in yote on third set Pro calls on alpha dog work well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Almost everything I expected from Primos

Date:November 23, 2012
Have used it heavily for over a year. Lost the remote once, called primos and received a replacement in a few days for a VERY reasonable price. Outstanding customer service.
It's much louder than I need, so I adjust the speaker settings to use only the outer/side speakers, or just the cone. This adds to battery life, which is pretty good anyway, if you use good batteries to start with. I also like that the side speakers fold out and can be "aimed" to throw sound in multiple directions.
It comes with a good selection of calls, but for this price, I wish they would give you ALL of them. Others are available for purchase on their website.
There is also a plug to attach a motion decoy, but I don't think it's available yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Alpha Dog game call by Primo

Date:May 16, 2012
Great investment. Have used it now for 4 months and bagged 5 cayote, one fox, and one bobcat. Have also used it to call in crow and turkey while scouting for that big gobbler. Called in 5 big gobblers on the first day of spring gobbler season. Professional hunts are great and I have used several of the prerecorded as well as downloading others. Would highly recommend this to anyone who needs another reason to go hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Western PA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best out there

Date:March 20, 2012
This thing sound just like the real thing, when I hit the bark or the howl, the sound coming back is identical. First day out with this thing we had a Coyote in our lap in 20 minutes of setting up. Its range of volume is also great.
The only downside I have about it is the controler. It has a white light background so at night you need to put it in your pocket or cover it up. Its not good when you have one rush in and need to turn the volume down quickly and basicly pull out a flashlight shining yourself with it. I am going to try to put a red cover over it somehow to eliminate the problem. Other than that it is the best call out there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 36