Customer Reviews for PRIMOS Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call

PRIMOS Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call

Pre-loaded with six sets of Expert™ Hunts calling sequences and 75 professionally recorded individual sounds, the Alpha Dogg lets the experts from Primos do the calling for you. Powerful, 180° rotating speakers with dual 25-watt amps for realistic, dynamic sound projection without distortion. Easy-to-use 200-yd. remote operates on three AA batteries (not included). Easy-to-read 2-1/2" full-color, high-resolution LCD screen. Game-changing configurable hot buttons let you pause all sounds, change to pre-defined volumes and sounds, recall previously played sounds and more. Holds up to 1,000 sounds on 2GB memory. USB port lets you download and store sounds and newly released Expert™ Hunts. Speaker system operates on eight AA batteries (not included). Imported. Camo pattern: Realtree MAX-1® .
Overall Customer Rating:
4.304 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
40 out of 46(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer Reviews for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Review 1 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 23, 2016

Calling all predators

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Great call. First tried the crow call. Within 5 minutes had over 25 crows swarming. Looking forward to trying other calls.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2016

Great Product

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I used the Alpha dog before purchasing. One of the reasons I did buy the Alpha dog is because when using it before I found it very easy to use, especially for a non techy person. The controller is modern and easy to navigate. The system is transportable and durable from what I've seen. It is not the cheapest one on the market but with the dual speakers and finding one on sale I think it is worth the investment.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 2, 2016

Handy unit

By
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Been out calling mostly to get used to the caller and remote which functions fine by the way. Seems to sound better on lower volumes or it sounds like it's in a barrel. Distance from remote to caller is awesome if caller not obscured too much by brush. Haven't called anything in yet but been in some pretty high pressure areas.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2016

Very good unit with excellent sound quality.

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Compact unit with a good design with easy portabiliy. Sound quality is excellent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2016

Towjon

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
First time user of electrict call having pre programed call series had two comming in and down easy to set up and use
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 16, 2015

2nd year with this caller

By
Country: United States
State: Montana
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
This is my 2nd year using this. Just 2 things I can complain about, when you set the volume to the max, it will crackle and distort. Max volume is 75, but at 65 it won't and thats ear piercing loud. When the batteries start to get weak, the remote will have to be inline of sight to work properly. Other than that, i love this e-call. Its easy to download sounds to and easy to use.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 17, 2015

HARD TO BEAT

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I've used this unit for several years. Overall this call is pretty hard to beat. It does not have the volume for use in windy conditions (I use the Boss Dog in the wind). But with little or no wind it works great and the sounds are of good quality. It is light and easy to carry...I just wished they made a carrying case for it. I use or have used 7 different electronic calls over many years and this one is my favorite.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 3, 2015

Very good call

By
Country: Canada
Province: Quebec
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought the Alpha Dogg call in Fébruary 2015.This call is very easy to use. Ave many choices of greats sounds. The remote worked well and is easy to read. I bought différants sounds right from Primos in fews minutes. This call is awesome.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Ray

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Works great so far only used once and did what it was suppose to do.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2015

Great Product!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
This was a Christmas present for my dad. That night we took it out into the woods to see if we could get anything to respond and sure enough a coyote started yipping a minute into the call. The sound tracks in the Alpha Dogg sound crisp and clear!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:March 14, 2014

great product

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Absolutely love this call. First time, first set out, 1 coyote down. Temps around 15, wind blowing 20mph+. must have been loud enough because the coyote came from upwind. Used the cottontail expert hunt the first set. made my own copying the expert hunt with a pig, mad cat, and dog. Only tip I will give is to buy this call during the off season. Must be very popular as it was on backorder for 1 1/2 months
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 3, 2014

I tried two and both have failed me

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I purchased my first Alpha Dogg in Jan 2013. I used it twice. After the last hunt, I wanted to show a friend how it worked and the until would not play. The remote would not sync to the caller. I was able to return it for a new unit since I was within the 90 return window.
The new replacement unit work until Feb 2014. I used the caller for less than 5 hunts during the 9 months I had it. The unit played OK and after a couple of minutes it locks up. I would have to power off & back on for it to work again, though it would be only for another couple of minutes.
I have contacted Primos and will need to ship it off to them for service/replacement. I am very concerned on the reliability of this caller. If I was able to return it to Cabelas, I would not replace it with another Primos. I would look at the Foxpro line for replacement.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 11, 2014

Don't waste your money

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The call when using Pro featured calls or high volumes makes strange crackling noises that simply scare away the animals instead of calling them in. Thank you Mia from Primos for saying over and over again to just put in new batteries. Finally after a year of being told to put those new batteries Primos had me send in to Bushnell for service, where it has been returned stating all noises are with in "standards" for the call. "Standards" must be your not calling in any animals just scaring them away. Don't waste your time and money...choose any other call but Primos.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 19, 2014

Get this instead of another brand

By
I went through the hassle of creating an account on Cabellas just so I could write a review. I did extensive research and decided to purchase the Primos Alpha Dog instead of the more expensive competitor. This call was LOUD, clear, and was very easy to operate. It also took less batteries than the competitor. Save yourself a few hundred bucks and get this call instead of a more expensive brand or a cheap knockoff. I am a beginning coyote hunter and want others to know of my experience. Very happy with this call and will last a long time. The hot buttons are great and are super for beginning hunters such as myself. My first time using at night in my neighborhoood had dogs barking at the call from a distance.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 13, 2014

Good for the money

By
Country: United States
State: North Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I’ve used this over a year now. This call has good sound quality for most sounds. The only issue I’ve had is with high-pitched coyote howls when the volume is above 70 and the batteries are starting to wear down. There can be some distortion.
There was one reviewer that said it only works above 20 degrees (F). I live in ND, and I can tell you that I’ve personally used this well below 0 (F) without issue, but you NEED to use Lithium batteries. Regular alkaline do not hold up in the cold. The same is true of my brothers Foxpro.
The remote is far better than any Foxpro one I’ve seen. You can tell they actually thought about usability and menu-layout.
My only real regret is that it is not made in the USA…
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2014

You Get What You Pay For

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I went against my gut on this purchase and thought I'd save money and buy this call after I read so many positive reviews online and in publications. I had hunted numerous times with guys that had high end Fox Pro and Wildlife Technologies calls but I wasn't interested in spending that much money when I only call a handful of days out of the year. I'm a stickler for quality so I was hesitant when I saw the price; however, I bought this call anyway. I'm returning it after using it for only a day. The sound quality and clarity was very poor...especially anything above level 50 (of 100). The sounds were so distorted that they were almost unrecognizable. I will say, though, that I really like the remote for this call and the way the menus on the screen are set up. I also appreciated the portability (size and weight) of the call and how you can adjust the speakers to get more of a "surround sound" effect. I realize it's possible I just received a defective call and had a speaker blow right away etc, however, I will now be looking to buy a reputable, higher-priced call where I know I'll be getting quality and peace of mind.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2013

Good call.....bad location

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
First I want to say that this is a good call. The sound quality is good, the volume is great, and the design is well thought out. The reason I gave this product a two is that I live in Northern Wisconsin, and the temperatures during the winter are usually below 20 degrees. When I bught this call I did not realize the operating temparture is 20 degrees and up. Below that the batteries drain very quick and the sound is terrible. If you live in a state that gets warmer weather than us in Wi, buy this call you won't be dissappointed and if not buy a Foxpro.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 17, 2013

Compact, but puts out great sound

By
Country: United States
State: Washington
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I ordered online, so the unit was surprisingly smaller than I expected, but that's a good thing. The unit has fold up legs and moveable speakers so you can tailor the sound direction to your situation.
It does take a bunch of batteries, so I'd recommend a case of some sort so you can keep a spare set handy.
The default sound selection is good, with useful "Expert" compelations. I did have to purchase a few calls from Primos to add in prey species common here, but otherwise it was good to go out of the box.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:August 28, 2013

Alpha Dogg

By
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I purchased this unit to add the deer and moose calls supposedly available from Primos. I followed the instructions to the letter and the sounds did not transfer. I called Primos (3 times) and still no success. Then the unit would not sync with the remote. I returned the unit to Cabela's. If you wish to purchase this unit, I recommend you ensure all the sounds you want are entered into the unit before you accept it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® Alpha Dogg™ Electronic Call
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2013

AWESOME!!!

By
Only issue is it crackles when the batteries start to get low.
Pack extra batteries. 11 AA total.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 46