Customer Reviews for ON TIME On-Time Buck Boiler

ON TIME On-Time Buck Boiler

Save money on your next European mount by doing it yourself with this clean, hassle-free system. Just fill with water and a bit of dish detergent, add your caped deer head and plug in to any standard 110 volt outlet. In less than eight hours, your trophy will be clean and ready to hang. No more slaving over a boiling pot or running out of propane halfway through. Tough, four-gallon container accommodates deer, bear, hogs or similar-sized skulls. Built-in ground fault circuit for safety. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.314 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 51 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
4
1 Star
14
31 out of 51(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for On-Time Buck Boiler
Review 1 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2016

buck boiler

By
Country: United States
State: Wisconsin
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Well I Started A-bout 2;00AM I used Cascade Put Half Teaspoon
First Hour And Half Then Put My Skull In Checked 2;00 Hours Later And It Was Boiling Good Then Started To Take Off meat
About Every Half Hour Added Another Two Half teaspoons All Done In 6Hours Skull Was A Little dull but friend said I should use
Bleach And Water In Pail Soak for One hour. Let Dry Repeat Tell Whiteness Is Achieved.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:April 26, 2016

Buyer Beware !

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
I have owned 2 of these in the last 4 years....4 years ago I used the first one I purchased to boil 1 deer skull followed all directions and it turned out great ! Washed it out with Dawn dish soap and a good rinse and stored it away for another day. Well last year I got it out to use it again and it would not work. I took it a part and the element was just a pile of dust and crust . So it was useless. ...... I purchased another to do a nice 8 point my son got it worked fine. Then a week later I shot a nice buck my self and used it again. Well all went well for about 2 hours it started to boil and then stopped. So I took it apart and the element was so corroded that it could not carry the electrical current to operate properly. Enough said ..I removed the electrical units and plugged the holes with silicone sealer . Got myself a couple expensive buckets ! I see this Item listed as NEW ? Maybe changes have been made to correct the problem ? Buyer Beware !
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:March 15, 2016

buck boiler

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Does not get hot enough to boil anything, let alone a buck skull.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:December 29, 2015

Works but not exactly as advertised

By
Country: United States
State: Colorado
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
The Buck Boiler got the job done but it took approximately 20 hours to strip my mule deer skull. And that is after skinning and getting 75% of the remaining flesh off the skull before putting it in the bucket. Also, be careful if your home has old wiring--it kept tripping the circuit breaker in our 1960s era detached garage. After you pull out your skull, expect another 30-45 minutes of trim work.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:November 19, 2015

72 hours later and a browned skull

By
I skinned and fleshed the skull the best I could before letting the bucked to its thing. Took over 72 hours to cook the remaining gristle off it, and left the skull with a deep yellowish brown color to it. Even after a bleaching. I've never had these kinds of results in the over a dozen I've done with my propane burner and pot.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 24, 2015

It is a good idea but...

By
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I used this item to boil out 2 deer heads after the 13/14 deer season and it worked well.
However, when I pulled it out to use it during the 14/15 deer season it did not work anymore. The element no longer heats the water enough to separate the flesh from the skull. Don't waste your money, this is not a reliable product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:January 20, 2015

Not so much

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
This was my first time to use and maybe it has a learning curve or my expectations were to high. It worked but took longer than expected and did not clean as well as expected. All and all not bad.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 6, 2015

Buck Boiler, pretty good!

By
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
After reading all the - reviews I pulled the trigger anyways and thought I'd try it out. I didn't have any issues what so ever, I set it up in the garage, added water, powder soap and skull, let it run for 20hrs. After 20hrs I ran the hose over and through the skull and it was nice and clean. The only - was the 8hrs the directions said (HECK NO), Plan on 15 to 20hrs and make sure you add water at the10hr mark and maybe a little more of your own Liquid Detergent. The powder pack they give you isnt the best.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 3, 2015

works great

By
I'm not sure I understand the negative reviews. This buck boiler works great!!
I've been a taxidermist for several years so I have plenty of experience in this field. I must say this boiler is a ton better than the alternative methods. Does it take a long time for a skull to be done?? Absolutely!! But that's kind of the point! Does the water actually boil?? Absolutely not!!! But again....that's the point. Literally "boiling" a skull can damage a skull and cause the cartilage that holds the bones together to separate. This buck boiler is made to heat up just shy of the boiling point to keep damage from happening. Sure you can boil a skull and get the meat off in no time flat but what's the point if you now have a skull that may not last?? My skulls usually take about 10 hours to finish in the boiler but the fact that you can set it up and leave it alone for the most part makes the waiting part easy. I set the skull in and let set for about 2-4 hours. I then remove the skull and carve away any loose meat and set back in the boiler. I repeat this process until finished. If you don't carve away loose meat and help the process along I'm sure it would take much much longer.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 30, 2014

Follow the directions

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I've used this on two whitetail heads now and it is fantastic! I used to use propane, but all you get done is babysit the flame. This is easy, fill the bucket with hot water, add 1/2 tablespoon of Cascade dish soap, and let it simmer. I do the first bucket for about six hours, pull the head out and scrape all the loose off, refill bucket with fresh water, and go 12 hours on the second time. Keep the bucket full, cause the water will evaporate. After the second time, scrape, power wash, and you are good to go.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 25, 2014

trophy time

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
The pot works follow the instructions and pay attention to the trophy and you can have a nice euro mount in . A day or two. First skull I did I cleaned as much hide and meat off or it and set it up for boiling it was done in about 10 hours. The second one that I did I did not prep the skull put it in the pot intact it took about 16 hours to complete and much easier. Just takes a little longer to cook.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:January 21, 2014

Better off with a taxidermist

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
The product will work if you do 95% of the work. Get everything cut off and out of the inside of the skull and it works in 18 hours or so. Stinky, messy and worth the $ to have a taxidermist do it.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:December 21, 2013

OK if you have ALOT of time and warm space to use

By
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Used it to do my first european mount. It was OK at best. did a decent job of defleshing but never did get to any kind of a boil. Had to bring into heated garage and surround with aluminum foil to get any kind of decent heating. Took almost 48 hours in bucket and pulling out after 24 hours and picked off what I could and then finished after 8 hours. Liked idea of not having to babysit propane boiler but wish it had worked quicker as advertised. Took so long, bolts on heating element housing were well on their way to rusting off by after 48 hours. Returned for refund. Wish it worked but didn't. Maybe I just got a defective one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 30, 2013

Buck boiler

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Used this with great outcome. I used it when it was cold and covered the bucket with tin foil. Helped speed up the process. Outcome was amazing. Would definately reccommend.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:November 20, 2013

Buck Boiler

By
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I am working on my second whitetail skull of the season after getting my Buck Boiler. I have had no problems with the unit heating up the water or kicking out the circuit breaker. My only problem is the bucket is just to danged small to fit the skull into. That must have been one little whitetail in the picture of this product. I didn't think the whitetails here in SE Virgina were all that big but my two this year obviously were above average.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2013

Disappointing

By
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
While this may work for some in 8 hours...it must have been in perfect conditions...and used more than advertised prep work. I have tried on multiple occassions (even took one unit back) and have had the same results. It takes between 36-48 hours at 60 degree outdoor temperature. It may take a week at 40 degrees outdoor. It does (finally) clear the skull, but takes more than spraying off with a water hose to get it clean. Just too much time invested. I'd rather spend a few bucks on propane and get this done in 3-4 hours. Again, it works...but disappointed.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 31, 2013

Great Product!!!!!

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
I have ordered 2 of these last year. I cant tell you how well this system works. I did 9 deer skulls last year, and had both being used at one time. I'm ordering a third. They key to having this work great, is to use it where the temp is around 65-70 degrees. I have a shop inside my house, and use it indoors, even though they recommend it for outdoor use. I start off by adding the hottest tap water possible. I do however end up using more detergent that what is called, and I have never had a problem. MOST IMPORTANT...... clean all the hide off the skull, and remove large chunks of meat. Some skulls that I have done have finished in 6 hours, but most are 6-8 hours. I do throughout the process, shake the skull a bit too. IF it is taking you more than 8 hours to complete the process, you are either leaving too much on the skull or you are doing it in an area that is too cold. If you follow what I have written, I know you will be impressed! HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 29, 2013

Works Perfectly

By
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I bought this yesterday and used it yesterday and it worked perfect. After 30 min, the water wasn’t boiling so as the instructions stated I added 1 packet of the detergent and it started working. After 8 hours it was done. I do have to caution people though, the smell is just nasty!! If you have a neighbor you don’t like, wait till the wind is blowing in their direction :)…. This product will take a lot of work out of future mounts.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2013

buck boiler

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
They said it takes up to 8 hours, it really takes 16 hours up to 24 hours. The thing is that nasty smell when you boil on a burner, with this the smell is not so bad. Just remember the more you have on the skull the more time it takes to boil off. I would recommend this product,sure it is not done in 8 hours like box says,but it really works great.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 12, 2013

Short of expectations

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Followed directions on unit to a T. Could not get unit to maintain a boiling temp. Unit was on for several days instead of listed 6-8 hrs. Will remove skull debris with knife. Plan to return for refund.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 1-20 of 51