Customer Reviews for ON TIME On-Time Buck Boiler

ON TIME On-Time Buck Boiler

Save money on your next European mount by doing it yourself with this clean, hassle-free system. Just fill with water and a bit of dish detergent, add your caped deer head and plug in to any standard 110 volt outlet. In less than eight hours, your trophy will be clean and ready to hang. No more slaving over a boiling pot or running out of propane halfway through. Tough, four-gallon container accommodates deer, bear, hogs or similar-sized skulls. Built-in ground fault circuit for safety. Imported.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.435 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
4
1 Star
11
29 out of 46(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for On-Time Buck Boiler
Review 1 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Alabama
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

It is a good idea but...

Date:February 24, 2015
I used this item to boil out 2 deer heads after the 13/14 deer season and it worked well.
However, when I pulled it out to use it during the 14/15 deer season it did not work anymore. The element no longer heats the water enough to separate the flesh from the skull. Don't waste your money, this is not a reliable product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Not so much

Date:January 20, 2015
This was my first time to use and maybe it has a learning curve or my expectations were to high. It worked but took longer than expected and did not clean as well as expected. All and all not bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Massachusetts
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buck Boiler, pretty good!

Date:January 6, 2015
After reading all the - reviews I pulled the trigger anyways and thought I'd try it out. I didn't have any issues what so ever, I set it up in the garage, added water, powder soap and skull, let it run for 20hrs. After 20hrs I ran the hose over and through the skull and it was nice and clean. The only - was the 8hrs the directions said (HECK NO), Plan on 15 to 20hrs and make sure you add water at the10hr mark and maybe a little more of your own Liquid Detergent. The powder pack they give you isnt the best.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

works great

Date:January 3, 2015
I'm not sure I understand the negative reviews. This buck boiler works great!!
I've been a taxidermist for several years so I have plenty of experience in this field. I must say this boiler is a ton better than the alternative methods. Does it take a long time for a skull to be done?? Absolutely!! But that's kind of the point! Does the water actually boil?? Absolutely not!!! But again....that's the point. Literally "boiling" a skull can damage a skull and cause the cartilage that holds the bones together to separate. This buck boiler is made to heat up just shy of the boiling point to keep damage from happening. Sure you can boil a skull and get the meat off in no time flat but what's the point if you now have a skull that may not last?? My skulls usually take about 10 hours to finish in the boiler but the fact that you can set it up and leave it alone for the most part makes the waiting part easy. I set the skull in and let set for about 2-4 hours. I then remove the skull and carve away any loose meat and set back in the boiler. I repeat this process until finished. If you don't carve away loose meat and help the process along I'm sure it would take much much longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Follow the directions

Date:December 30, 2014
I've used this on two whitetail heads now and it is fantastic! I used to use propane, but all you get done is babysit the flame. This is easy, fill the bucket with hot water, add 1/2 tablespoon of Cascade dish soap, and let it simmer. I do the first bucket for about six hours, pull the head out and scrape all the loose off, refill bucket with fresh water, and go 12 hours on the second time. Keep the bucket full, cause the water will evaporate. After the second time, scrape, power wash, and you are good to go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

trophy time

Date:November 25, 2014
The pot works follow the instructions and pay attention to the trophy and you can have a nice euro mount in . A day or two. First skull I did I cleaned as much hide and meat off or it and set it up for boiling it was done in about 10 hours. The second one that I did I did not prep the skull put it in the pot intact it took about 16 hours to complete and much easier. Just takes a little longer to cook.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Better off with a taxidermist

Date:January 21, 2014
The product will work if you do 95% of the work. Get everything cut off and out of the inside of the skull and it works in 18 hours or so. Stinky, messy and worth the $ to have a taxidermist do it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: West Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

OK if you have ALOT of time and warm space to use

Date:December 21, 2013
Used it to do my first european mount. It was OK at best. did a decent job of defleshing but never did get to any kind of a boil. Had to bring into heated garage and surround with aluminum foil to get any kind of decent heating. Took almost 48 hours in bucket and pulling out after 24 hours and picked off what I could and then finished after 8 hours. Liked idea of not having to babysit propane boiler but wish it had worked quicker as advertised. Took so long, bolts on heating element housing were well on their way to rusting off by after 48 hours. Returned for refund. Wish it worked but didn't. Maybe I just got a defective one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buck boiler

Date:November 30, 2013
Used this with great outcome. I used it when it was cold and covered the bucket with tin foil. Helped speed up the process. Outcome was amazing. Would definately reccommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Virginia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Buck Boiler

Date:November 20, 2013
I am working on my second whitetail skull of the season after getting my Buck Boiler. I have had no problems with the unit heating up the water or kicking out the circuit breaker. My only problem is the bucket is just to danged small to fit the skull into. That must have been one little whitetail in the picture of this product. I didn't think the whitetails here in SE Virgina were all that big but my two this year obviously were above average.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Tennessee
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Disappointing

Date:November 17, 2013
While this may work for some in 8 hours...it must have been in perfect conditions...and used more than advertised prep work. I have tried on multiple occassions (even took one unit back) and have had the same results. It takes between 36-48 hours at 60 degree outdoor temperature. It may take a week at 40 degrees outdoor. It does (finally) clear the skull, but takes more than spraying off with a water hose to get it clean. Just too much time invested. I'd rather spend a few bucks on propane and get this done in 3-4 hours. Again, it works...but disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product!!!!!

Date:October 31, 2013
I have ordered 2 of these last year. I cant tell you how well this system works. I did 9 deer skulls last year, and had both being used at one time. I'm ordering a third. They key to having this work great, is to use it where the temp is around 65-70 degrees. I have a shop inside my house, and use it indoors, even though they recommend it for outdoor use. I start off by adding the hottest tap water possible. I do however end up using more detergent that what is called, and I have never had a problem. MOST IMPORTANT...... clean all the hide off the skull, and remove large chunks of meat. Some skulls that I have done have finished in 6 hours, but most are 6-8 hours. I do throughout the process, shake the skull a bit too. IF it is taking you more than 8 hours to complete the process, you are either leaving too much on the skull or you are doing it in an area that is too cold. If you follow what I have written, I know you will be impressed! HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Idaho
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works Perfectly

Date:September 29, 2013
I bought this yesterday and used it yesterday and it worked perfect. After 30 min, the water wasn’t boiling so as the instructions stated I added 1 packet of the detergent and it started working. After 8 hours it was done. I do have to caution people though, the smell is just nasty!! If you have a neighbor you don’t like, wait till the wind is blowing in their direction :)…. This product will take a lot of work out of future mounts.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buck boiler

Date:May 8, 2013
They said it takes up to 8 hours, it really takes 16 hours up to 24 hours. The thing is that nasty smell when you boil on a burner, with this the smell is not so bad. Just remember the more you have on the skull the more time it takes to boil off. I would recommend this product,sure it is not done in 8 hours like box says,but it really works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Short of expectations

Date:February 12, 2013
Followed directions on unit to a T. Could not get unit to maintain a boiling temp. Unit was on for several days instead of listed 6-8 hrs. Will remove skull debris with knife. Plan to return for refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Amazing tool

Date:January 8, 2013
I bought this on a whim because my wife accidentally neglected my dermistid beetles and they all died. I needed a way to clean skulls that didn't involve constantly buying propane for my burner. At first I dropped in a couple of whitetail skull caps and in just a few hours, they were clean with just a few wipes with a stiff brush. Next I dropped in a whole deer skull and after adding water a couple of times over a day, everything melted off. Clean water and another day in the bucket with soap and it was ready for the bleaching. I've done several deer and coyote skulls now. I haven't had mine come anywhere close to a boil, but moving it out of the cold and into my shed definitely made a difference in water temperature and time. I probably went overboard by letting them sit in the boiler for more than a day, but not like I'm gonna kill the animal. This thing works great and doesn't stink up my shed like my beetles did. I'm probably going to buy another so I can do more than one skull at a time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Florida
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

more like buck crock pot

Date:January 3, 2013
I do not have the time to waste the 4 days it takes the buck boiler (boil it does not, barely steams) to get the job done. Has ended up being a waste of money. Should have gone with a regular electric single burner and aluminum pot....would have been cheaper and more effective. Not impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maine
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buck boiler works

Date:January 3, 2013
I was worried given the mixed reviews. It said 8-12 hours for the product to clean the trophy. It actually took 24 but worked really well. I took a little time to remove ears and some hide. Read the directions and don't leave it on the concrete floor put it up on a block of wood to avoid heat loss.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: California
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product!!

Date:December 26, 2012
We purchased the buck boiler and were able to use if for six or so heads! Love this product!!! The only complaint is the smell but it is not a problem with the bucket. We have used it with the peroxide solution and without and it worked well both ways. We found that the water level does drop so it is important to keep the level up but really pleased with this product!!!!!!!!!!! Our brother in law had a quote on a buck he had taken this year from a local taxidermist and it would have cost him over $200 to have done what this bucket can do multiple times for half the price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for On-Time Buck Boiler
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent Product

Date:December 20, 2012
I have done euros by many different ways. Short of beetles, this is the easiest and fastest way out there. By end of process, the BB produces a clean skull that only needs spraying off with a garden hose.
It works perfectly as long as you follow the instructions to the T. I have already ran many skulls through it and never once has it tripped its breaker. Course, I do not deviate from the instructions.
Only misinformation in the advertising is that it takes longer than advertised to clean the skull. Many have mentioned this. I let mine run for a total of 14 hours to make sure it's good and cleaned.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 46