Customer Reviews for THETFORD Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

THETFORD Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera

This mini camera has the same great features as its full-size counterpart in a manageable unit that’s smaller than your hand. The 5.0-megapixel camera has a low profile for covert recording of game activity, but still encompasses big features, like its 16:9 widescreen picture and video capturing. Its Illumi-Night sensor uses a brighter infrared technology for clearer image capture in low-light conditions. Delay the picture capturing by 15 seconds, 30 seconds or one to 60 minutes. Easy-to-read photo strips display temperature, moon phase, time, date and the camera ID stamp. Video mode also captures sound. Other features include a battery-life calculator, Plot Stalker time-lapse mode for use with the included software and an external power port for optional Moultrie Power Panel (sold separately). Memory-card slot for use with SD memory cards up to 32GB (memory card sold separately). Powered by four or eight AA batteries (not included). Includes USB cable, mounting strap and Plot Stalker software CD for image stitch assist. Imported. Dimensions: 5.12"H x 4"L x 3.25"D. 
Overall Customer Rating:
3.831 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
40
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
5
1 Star
13
53 out of 71(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Review 1 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Iowa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

for sure buy

Date:September 15, 2012
cameras great put camera out in june and still have over 3/4 battery life yet and its september pictures are good too
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: Australia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent

Date:August 19, 2012
No issues what so ever.
Batteries last 4 months easy at a average of 20 photo's a night.
Easy to set up and total weather proof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Vermont
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:July 7, 2012
Best camera I've owned yet and I'll be buying some more. I've had the camera out for 3 weeks with 8 regular "AA" Duracells and gotten alot of pics. and videos and it still shows a battery life of 88% (175 Days), my last camera took 4 "C" cell batteries and had to be replaced once a week. This camera is sensetive enough to pick up small critters like rabbits and large animals such as moose with good quality in both pics. and videos. Living in Vermont the true test will be when the temp. drops but right now I couldn't be happier with this camera.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Wont even turn on

Date:June 26, 2012
Opened the box, and put in batteries---no power. Ok so maybe the batteries are bad, new batteries, same thing. Wont turn on at all. Sent back for refund. Pitiful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: New Hampshire
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very very pleased

Date:June 17, 2012
This is my first trail camera and I just ordered another. With so many options out there for cameras I researched by reviews from users. Everywhere I looked this camera consistently scored high. It is very easy to set up and use. The photo quality is is very good, night and day. The battery life is excellent. The compact size makes detection by others a little more difficult. Buy it, you will not be disappointed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Maryland
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Cam

Date:June 2, 2012
I bought the m80 in march 2012 and love it so far! It has been in the woods since i got it and has taken over 600 pics and about 100 videos and still has 55% battery life with just duracells. The day pics and videos are very clear! Night pics sometimes have a blur if deer are moving close to the cam. My only complaint so far is that the cams sensor has a wider veiw than the cam itself so it takes some empty pics or gets a head or butt on very edge but i dont mind it just switch cards and delete the few empty pics. Overall this is a very nice cam for the money! Hopefully i will be getting another soon! Also bought the moultrie security box and it fits and works very well also!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Buy, and Good to Go!!

Date:May 21, 2012
This is my first game camera, and it has not disappointed.
Battery life is excellent, and all the features seem very helpful. I'm a novice hunter (and scout), so all the advanced features (video mode, etc) are not useful to me yet. Probably venture into that soon.
This camera produces excellent pics for both day and night. I'm very happy with this buy.
*the only thing I can think of is that the sensor recognizes a deer before it is actually in the view of the camera. So usually I'll get a series of 3 pics (in 3 shot mode) that have nothing on it. Then the next series, 1 minute later, has the deer on it. This is the case if deer approach from the right or left of the camera.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Rhode Island
Age: 56-65
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Moultree M80 Game Camera

Date:May 17, 2012
This is a great little camera that functions well and is reliable. I have had issues with Moultrie in the past, but they got it right with this one. Long battery life, okay pictures and easy to set up. I have had cameras stolen before, so prefer the M100 with password protection, but the M80 does the job just fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall Good Camera

Date:April 26, 2012
For the money you cannot beat this camera. Per the instructions I use the lithium battery's (Energizer Ultimate Lithium),. This camera has now been in the woods for 4 months and still shows 100% battery life, even after taking over 10,000 pics. Daytime pictures are good, with the black & white night photos of average quality. Only complaint is that pictures are blurry if an animal is moving when the photo is taken. Other than that one of the best cameras I have owned. I have attached some great daytime photos along with the sometime blurry photos.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

well worth it!

Date:April 23, 2012
bought this camera christmas 2011. great trigger speed! just now having to replace the batteries for the first time after four months!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Yorkville, Ga.
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

tricks played

Date:April 23, 2012
The sd card cannot be viewed in a digital camera. As a matter of fact when I contacted Moultrie they said swapping the sd cards could mess up a digital camera. (No such warnings found in owners manual) So with that said... be prepaired to spend extra for one of Moutries view finders or tote your computer in the woods with ya.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grant County, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

First Trail Cam Purchase

Date:April 10, 2012
I had this cam out for the last two months, with cold evenings and the battery seems to hold up pretty well. I left it out for three week periods and the 8AAs still had between 35 - 50% battery life. Picture quality was terrific and only a couple "missed" pics out of 70-80 pics. Could have been birds flying by for all I know. Definitely going to purchase another late in the summer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: CENTRAL PLATTE RIVER
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

MOULTRIE m-80

Date:March 18, 2012
purched the m-80 in november of 2011.put in energizer ultimate lithium batteries.Camera has taken 2800 pics and still reads 100% on batteries after 5 months of continuese use in the field.Great pics day and night.Easyto set up and to retreive pics. This is my first moultrie camera and will buy more!! GREAT LITTLE TRAIL CAMERA!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

best trail camera I have owned

Date:March 1, 2012
Still has shortcomings. Battery life is still not good enough, I get about 2000 pics per set, I really need about 10000. Can't put the SD card from your camera into this thing, but there is a software update for that. Mounting screw is not standard 1/4 20 camera tripod size, so none of your existing mounts will work, you have to use strap only, really annoying, why would they do this? PLOT mode DRINKS batteries, will last 2-3 days max.
I have 4 of these cameras, one was bad (color off) took it back to Cabelas and got a replacement. All 4 still working fine.
Night time shots are great, unit size is really nice. This is a great camera for the money, especially compared to every other unit I have owned. Programming is the easiest and most intuitive of any camera on the market.
Its really 4 stars, but for the price and considering every other camera I have bought has been junk, I'm compelled to rate this a 5.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wesphilia, MO
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Snap Shot

Date:February 26, 2012
This camera is amazing. i have had it sitting out for about 2 weeks now and still have over 85% battery life (thats a lot better then other cameras ive had). i takes great day and night photos. only kind of down side that a deer running by is kinda blurry but im not to worried about it. Great camera and will be buying more for sure soon. Great product Moultrie!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cornwall, NY
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great for the Money and Size

Date:February 22, 2012
i have used these for the past 2 months. i put the settings on trail cam, enhanced pictures, and leave them for a few weeks at a time. i get great pictures and i have not changed the batteries yet averaging about 20 images a week using 8 AA batteries for power.
day time photos are excellent and i can get over 1000 on a 2 gig SD card which i have not come close to.
night time photos are not great but they are relatively clear and you can identify the game, i have 5 pictures of a deer bedded down in front of the camera, taken one right after another on a 5 minute delay , so the trail cam did not scare this particular deer which i thought was pretty good
they are very small and the security box fits them perfectly. they install on trees with a cable lock very easily if you use the security box. you then have a pad lock as extra protection for the camera which is nice for changing out SD cards.
i now own 4 for the same price i would have owned two if i bought the more expensive versions with lock boxes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Colorado
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Battery Life = 0 days

Date:February 14, 2012
I bought the M80 in August and set it up immediately on a game trail that has deer, mountain lions, and more. It seemed to work fine although the pictures were often blurred, especially the IR. The original batteries lasted about a month. I replaced them. The new batteries lasted only a couple of weeks. In short, I've tried lithium, alkaline, rechargeable, but no batteries last more than a week. I returned the camera, they installed new software (I had already done that). I tried the camera inside my house - no battery problem I live in Colorado at 8,000' and it's cold out. If you live in the cold, I don't recommend this camera as the batteries don't last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Lancaster, Pa
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Purchase

Date:February 11, 2012
I bought this camera a couple weeks ago and have had it out with a lick in front just to test. So far it has taken all great pictures and I am loving it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Menno, SD
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:February 7, 2012
I got this as a gift, it was my first game camera. The settup is easy and the batteries are awesome. Mine last about 100 days on picture only mode.
The size is hard to beat and the strap makes it easy to hang on a tree, although they could be a little heavy dutier.
Mine captured great pictures of visiting deer and coyotes that were passing though. Im really happy to have this camera and I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Moultrie Game Spy® M-80 Game Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: mineral wells tx
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

not worth the money

Date:January 24, 2012
dont waste your time and money on these cameras
i had to buy 3 of these cameras before i could get one that worked and i had to download the upgrade software online just to get it to work the first one got it home took it out of box would not even come on took it back got another one it came on but blank could not program it or anything took it back and got the third one and it worked after downloadng software on sd card and putting it in the camera so it could be downloaded on to the camera then it worked for about a month and it quit took really good pictures when it was working but just to much of a hassle to get it to work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 71