Customer Reviews for BARNETT Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package

BARNETT Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package

Lightweight, compact and powerful, featuring a sleek military-style stock with a divided forend for comfortable hand placement. Its quad-limb assembly teams with smooth, high-energy wheels and a Crosswire® string and cable assembly to shoot bolts at speeds up to 315 fps. The anti-dry-fire/MIM trigger has a pull of 3-1/2 lbs. A Picatinny/Weaver rail accepts a variety of accessories. All these features for this price makes the Jackal an exceptional value. Shoots 20" bolts. Power stroke: 12". Length: 32-1/2". Width: 26-1/2". Weight: 7 lbs.; with accessories: 8.7 lbs. Camo pattern: Realtree APG™ . Jackal Crossbow Package includes: crossbow, quiver, three 20" bolts and a red-dot sight.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
27 out of 33(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good buy

Date:August 11, 2012
works great and would highly recomend it. every thing that i would expect
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Horrible

Date:August 25, 2012
Honestly i dont like this crossbow. Even 10 shots of sighting it in, but damage on it. Once it shoots straight, the next arrow is way off. And that plastic pieCe that holds your arrow down broke which made the arrow fly everywhere. I would go look for a better crossbow. And barnet crossbos are the number 1 crossbows that get returned to people who have problems like them
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Look out, Robin Hood!

Date:September 1, 2012
My dad and I each have one of these bows. 3 days after bringing mine home, I split a 20" easton carbon bolt with another at 35 yards. The 1st arrow hit a quarter-sized dot. The 2nd is still buried deep in the back end of the 1st and they are now hanging on my wall. This bow is loud and slower than some, but a great entry level bow that is deadly accurate out to 55 yards. It is user friendly and a joy to shoot. Like most crossbows it is front-heavy, but overall it is fairly light and narrow. If you like to turkey hunt without sitting in a blind, this is the weapon for you. I can sit on the ground against a tree and prop my elbows on my knees and punch the bullseye at 25 yards with no problem. I think I would shoot farther more comfortably with a trigger stick. 1" groups are the norm for this bow out to 35 yards. Our package included a multi-reticle scope and those are my optics of choice. This is a great value. Worth every cent.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Crossbow!!

Date:September 17, 2012
This thing is so cool! It has alot of power. It is easy to cock with a rope device. My first shot sighting it in missed my block and went right through my solid wood fence. Once sighted in it is as accurate as a rifle while solidly bench shooting. The groups are so tight if you shoot more than one arrow you take the chance of hitting each other and ruining them. With a range finder I can hit the bullseye nearly every time. Can;t wait to go hunting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Barnett Jackal

Date:October 16, 2012
Very fast and accurate. This bow is built tough. Assembly was easy and fast. It took only 3 shots to be zeroed at 20 yards. The other two dots were on at 30 yards and 40 yards.
For the price, this bow cannot be beat. Fast, accurate, and tough are adjectives that describe the Jackal best.
I also purchased the rope cocking device at the same time as I bought the bow. After a few times using it, I found I prefer to just cock it by hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

safety

Date:November 6, 2012
I have owned this bow for 3yrs. It shoots ok but , when I cock it the safety goes back so far that it locks up and wont slide forward with my fingers pushing it. I have to use a key to lift the spring to slide the safety forward to the safe position or fire po.
If you have one you like i would invest in a good scope. That would make it a better bow, I think,
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

great crossbow

Date:December 12, 2012
this is a great crossbow for the money.no problem sighting in or putting together.this will be my last one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Cant beat it for the money

Date:January 7, 2013
My wife bought me the Jackel for christmas 2012. It shoots great. Pretty fast to. There are a bunch of bows that are faster but they also cost two to three times more. The only problem with it was it was a little out of time and the serving was starting to seperate a little but the Staff at the Wheeling Cabelas got everything fixed fast. they also put my string leeches on it for free while they had it. The entire process only took the about 30 min. I am Very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

This bow is sweet

Date:January 8, 2013
This bow is easy to sight in very fast and accurit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Excellent crossbow!

Date:September 7, 2013
I took my first deer of the season this morning with the Jackal and I couldn't be anymore pleased with this crossbow. I sighted it in last week and the bolt was spot on with a shoulder shot that passed cleanly through. The deer ran and dropped after maybe 25 yards. Very quick kill. I have read that this is an "entry level" bow but I just don't get that. 315 fps... tight groups at 30 yards... very comfortable to hold... awesome to shoot. For the money, you will not go wrong with this crossbow. It was easy to assemble and easy to sight in. Even though the red dot scope is accurate and works very well, I think I will get a variable cross-hair scope just so I can see a little better.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great purchase

Date:October 8, 2013
This shot great right right out of the box. With about 5 shots we had it sighted in and it has held true ever since. We have put over 50 shots down range so far, so it is still relatively new but doesn't seem to be slowing down and is still spot on out to 50 yards (the farthest out we have tried). The kids love it! It is a bit top heavy so we use shooting sticks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Satisfied customer

Date:October 22, 2013
Recently purchased the Jackal crossbow from Cabela's. I might add that the sales person was very knowledgable and professional. answered all my questions, and never rushed the sale. Felt very comfortable with bow ,and used indoor range. decided on Barrett Jackal for two reasons. price was in my range,and overall weight was deciding factor. 12 shots at 20 yards inside coffee cup. going to woods this weekend, in search of trophy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Crossbow for the money

Date:January 14, 2014
This is my second purchase of a Barnett Jackal crossbow package, this one is for my wife. They are easy to assemble if you want to do it yourself. They are very high quality craftsmanship. The owners manual is very informative about necessary bow, arrow, & tip/broad head specifications. They are very accurate from my experience to 40+ yards and will take wild game from squirrels to deer without any problems. I started with the Jackal and will finish with it, there is no reason for me to change when it meets all my needs. The weight is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars, it could be a little lighter if possible without sacrificing dependability. Thanks for a great crossbow.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 21-33 of 33