Customer Reviews for BARNETT Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package

BARNETT Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package

View the line of Barnett Crossbows products. Lightweight, compact and powerful, featuring a sleek military-style stock with a divided forend for comfortable hand placement. Its quad-limb assembly teams with smooth, high-energy wheels and a Crosswire® string and cable assembly to shoot bolts at speeds up to 315 fps. The anti-dry-fire/MIM trigger has a pull of 3-1/2 lbs. A Picatinny/Weaver rail accepts a variety of accessories. All these features for this price makes the Jackal an exceptional value. Shoots 20" bolts. Power stroke: 12". Length: 32-1/2". Width: 26-1/2". Weight: 7 lbs.; with accessories: 8.7 lbs. Camo pattern: Realtree APG™ . Jackal Crossbow Package includes: crossbow, quiver, three 20" bolts and a red-dot sight.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.051 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
5
32 out of 39(82%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Review 21 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 11, 2012

good buy

By
works great and would highly recomend it. every thing that i would expect
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 25, 2012

Horrible

By
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Honestly i dont like this crossbow. Even 10 shots of sighting it in, but damage on it. Once it shoots straight, the next arrow is way off. And that plastic pieCe that holds your arrow down broke which made the arrow fly everywhere. I would go look for a better crossbow. And barnet crossbos are the number 1 crossbows that get returned to people who have problems like them
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 1, 2012

Look out, Robin Hood!

By
Country: United States
State: North Carolina
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
My dad and I each have one of these bows. 3 days after bringing mine home, I split a 20" easton carbon bolt with another at 35 yards. The 1st arrow hit a quarter-sized dot. The 2nd is still buried deep in the back end of the 1st and they are now hanging on my wall. This bow is loud and slower than some, but a great entry level bow that is deadly accurate out to 55 yards. It is user friendly and a joy to shoot. Like most crossbows it is front-heavy, but overall it is fairly light and narrow. If you like to turkey hunt without sitting in a blind, this is the weapon for you. I can sit on the ground against a tree and prop my elbows on my knees and punch the bullseye at 25 yards with no problem. I think I would shoot farther more comfortably with a trigger stick. 1" groups are the norm for this bow out to 35 yards. Our package included a multi-reticle scope and those are my optics of choice. This is a great value. Worth every cent.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 17, 2012

Great Crossbow!!

By
Country: United States
State: South Dakota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This thing is so cool! It has alot of power. It is easy to cock with a rope device. My first shot sighting it in missed my block and went right through my solid wood fence. Once sighted in it is as accurate as a rifle while solidly bench shooting. The groups are so tight if you shoot more than one arrow you take the chance of hitting each other and ruining them. With a range finder I can hit the bullseye nearly every time. Can;t wait to go hunting.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 16, 2012

Barnett Jackal

By
Country: United States
State: Louisiana
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Very fast and accurate. This bow is built tough. Assembly was easy and fast. It took only 3 shots to be zeroed at 20 yards. The other two dots were on at 30 yards and 40 yards.
For the price, this bow cannot be beat. Fast, accurate, and tough are adjectives that describe the Jackal best.
I also purchased the rope cocking device at the same time as I bought the bow. After a few times using it, I found I prefer to just cock it by hand.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:November 6, 2012

safety

By
Country: United States
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
I have owned this bow for 3yrs. It shoots ok but , when I cock it the safety goes back so far that it locks up and wont slide forward with my fingers pushing it. I have to use a key to lift the spring to slide the safety forward to the safe position or fire po.
If you have one you like i would invest in a good scope. That would make it a better bow, I think,
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:December 12, 2012

great crossbow

By
Country: United States
State: Michigan
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
this is a great crossbow for the money.no problem sighting in or putting together.this will be my last one.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 7, 2013

Cant beat it for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
My wife bought me the Jackel for christmas 2012. It shoots great. Pretty fast to. There are a bunch of bows that are faster but they also cost two to three times more. The only problem with it was it was a little out of time and the serving was starting to seperate a little but the Staff at the Wheeling Cabelas got everything fixed fast. they also put my string leeches on it for free while they had it. The entire process only took the about 30 min. I am Very pleased.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 8, 2013

This bow is sweet

By
This bow is easy to sight in very fast and accurit.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2013

Excellent crossbow!

By
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
I took my first deer of the season this morning with the Jackal and I couldn't be anymore pleased with this crossbow. I sighted it in last week and the bolt was spot on with a shoulder shot that passed cleanly through. The deer ran and dropped after maybe 25 yards. Very quick kill. I have read that this is an "entry level" bow but I just don't get that. 315 fps... tight groups at 30 yards... very comfortable to hold... awesome to shoot. For the money, you will not go wrong with this crossbow. It was easy to assemble and easy to sight in. Even though the red dot scope is accurate and works very well, I think I will get a variable cross-hair scope just so I can see a little better.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2013

Great purchase

By
Country: United States
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
This shot great right right out of the box. With about 5 shots we had it sighted in and it has held true ever since. We have put over 50 shots down range so far, so it is still relatively new but doesn't seem to be slowing down and is still spot on out to 50 yards (the farthest out we have tried). The kids love it! It is a bit top heavy so we use shooting sticks.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 22, 2013

Satisfied customer

By
Country: United States
State: Missouri
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Recently purchased the Jackal crossbow from Cabela's. I might add that the sales person was very knowledgable and professional. answered all my questions, and never rushed the sale. Felt very comfortable with bow ,and used indoor range. decided on Barrett Jackal for two reasons. price was in my range,and overall weight was deciding factor. 12 shots at 20 yards inside coffee cup. going to woods this weekend, in search of trophy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 14, 2014

Best Crossbow for the money

By
Country: United States
State: Arkansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
This is my second purchase of a Barnett Jackal crossbow package, this one is for my wife. They are easy to assemble if you want to do it yourself. They are very high quality craftsmanship. The owners manual is very informative about necessary bow, arrow, & tip/broad head specifications. They are very accurate from my experience to 40+ yards and will take wild game from squirrels to deer without any problems. I started with the Jackal and will finish with it, there is no reason for me to change when it meets all my needs. The weight is the only reason I didn't give 5 stars, it could be a little lighter if possible without sacrificing dependability. Thanks for a great crossbow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:August 17, 2014

Barnett Jackal Crossbow pkg.

By
Country: United States
State: Texas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Very simple set-up. Scope was easy to mount and 4 shots later, dead on at 20 yards. A little noisy even after adding silencing kit, but overall a good product.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 17, 2014

good buy====great bow so far

By
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Bought at Wheeling Cabelas- I picked a time when it wasn"t crowded because I have never picked up anykind of bow before and didn't know what to expect. "Tim" was the man to help me. I am 65 years oldd and have parkinsons. Tim walked me through the whole gambit. What a good feeling to be back in the woods. 3 days of hunting and waiting for my shot. Love it. Thanks cabelas
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:December 11, 2014

Best Bow for the Money

By
Went together in a snap. I was going to complain about the scope, but as a package it delivers. The dots are a little blurry, but once dialed in will drill a sparrow at 25yds. The power is amazing and will drive a bolt through a 2x4 (and your block) so keep in mind when shooting!
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:July 1, 2015

Very impressed

By
Country: United States
State: Pennsylvania
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
I've had this crossbow for over a year now and have loved it everyday! It's a tough lightweight crossbow that can get the job done. Just apply the wax conditioner every 10 shots and this crossbow will shoot where you aim and last you a long time. It also takes anything down from a rabbit to a buck, which makes for good eating
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:November 24, 2015

For the most part a great first crossbow

By
Country: United States
State: New Jersey
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Female
I've hunted with a compound bow for several years but wanted to try something new this deer season, so I picked up this crossbow over the summer. Shot great right out of the box. Only about 6 in away from the center of the target on the first shot at 10 yds. Few adjustments and it was spot on at 10, 20, and 30 yds out. I like the feature of having two scope light colors - red and green. Red is great for daytime shooting and green comes in handy when I need to discharge an arrow in dim lighting after an afternoon in the stand. I also like having the ability to adjust the brightness of the scope pins. It makes them easier to see under different light conditions. A cocking rope is a definite must. There's no way I can pull this thing back without one. There are a few issues i have with it. The first is that its relatively heavy. There is a significant weight difference between the Jackal and the Barnett Recruit that a buddy of mine hunts with, which is much lighter. Its weight makes it a bit difficult to hold the pin steady on a target without the use of a shooting stick or a shooting rail on the treestand. It also makes it difficult to haul it up into a tree while sitting in the stand. The second issue I have is that after a few target sessions the center serving started to separate. Not enough to cause a problem shooting, but just enough to be bothersome. Complaints aside, this is a very good first crossbow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Barnett Jackal™ Crossbow Package
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 31, 2016

Bad scope

By
Country: United States
State: New York
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
A weapon is as good as its sights, and this one's scope is miserable. When received, the "dots" on the scope were not even vertical. I contacted Barnett & they replaced it, but the replacement had the same exact manufacturing flaw! Plus, the dots are so big that they block your sight picture.
If I were rating the crossbow alone, I'd probably give it a 4, but the scope brings it down. Similar to what another reviewer suggested, I recommend an actual, quality scope with crosshairs rather than the red-dot scope that comes with this crossbow.
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Viewing 21-39 of 39