Customer Reviews for RECONYX Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera

RECONYX Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera

Incorporates a wide, 50-ft. nighttime flash range with Lo-Glow™ Semi-Covert infrared emitters that lessen the chance of spooking game. RapidFire™ near-video speed fires at up to two fames per second. 1,080P high-definition resolution and 3.1-megapixel quality. Color day/monochrome night images. Time, date, moon, phase and temperature stamp on all images. 1/5-second trigger speed. SD or SDHC card slot accepts up to 32GB memory card (SD cards sold separately). Includes BuckView™ Advanced software with Google Maps®. CodeLoc® pass-code protection. Uses six or 12 AA Alkaline, NiMH rechargeable or 1.5-volt lithium batteries (not included). Made in USA.
Overall Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
45 out of 46(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer Reviews for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Review 1 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: South Central Lower Michigan
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

hyperfire 500

Date:June 10, 2010
have had this trail camera for 2 weeks. Takes excellent pictures and is easy to set up. Monocrome nighttime pics are also of good quality. Better than color at night as more light is needed for those. Does not spook deer as infrared flash does not frighten and makes no noise when shutter fires.
If things change over time I will re-evaluate but for now it's a five. I have a Moultrie which after one season is acting up and not working.
The reconyx is expensive but seems to be a good example of "you get what you pay for"
I intend on getting a second one for another plot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: MN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

HC500

Date:August 7, 2010
I have used Reconyx for the past couple of years. Reconyx is a tremendous game camera and this years model is a noted improvement in a smaller profile.
I have used this model for approximately 4 months and it has taken about 3000 pictures. It reads 99% batteries on 12 lithium AAs. Not a bad start!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Barberton, Oh
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

love it

Date:August 10, 2010
I've had this cam for about 2 months and no issues thus far. The battery life is amazing. Over 10000 pics on 12 duracell batteries and still at 74% battery life. Pics look great, days are sharp and clear. Night pics are clear enough to make out antlers which is good enough for me. I have an older covert reconyx, which i still use, and this camera blows it out of the water. I have 2 moultries, which i will never buy again. To slow and the shutter makes a noise and spooks deer. Which both of my reconyxs don't do. If you are in the market for a quality camera, then a reconyx is the way to go. Spend the extra money and it will pay for itself in the end with cost of batteris and very low frustration. Very simple to use. Trigger speed is great also. Caught a coyote running at full speed in the first 2 out of the 3 pics it took.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Acton Maine
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reconyx HC 500

Date:September 3, 2010
Have had camera for 9 days and 3214 picture so far with 84% battery left on 12 rechargeable batteries. Takes great day and night pictures. Tried 7 trail camera's this spring and summer. Took 5 of them back but not this one. It is the greatest camera ever and the price is high but well worth it. Made well, easy to use, fantastic battery life,great pictures day and night,not one whiteout picture yet,once you try one you will not want to go back too an other.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Acton Me
Age: 65 and over
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Reconyx 500

Date:October 2, 2010
Have had this camera for five and a half weeks now. Wow what a camera!!!! Took over 22, 000 pictures on one set of 12 rechargeable batteries. Yes that is over twenty two thousand pictures.Had it set to take ten pictures at a time with no delay between ten sets of pictures. Took all the pictures without a hitch. No whiteouts or dark pictures. If you want a camera that takes great pictures day or night with all kinds of adjustments one can make,get this camera. It is well made and worth the extra money. You will never regret getting one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Healdton, OK
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Go ahead and buy it. You'll be glad you did.

Date:October 25, 2010
I have tried multiple brands and no one comes even close. It simply does not miss any event that happens in front of it. I know that others miss pictures because I have been in a stand and watched deer walk by only to find that they missed the shot. This is simply not acceptable in my book. This is not going to happen with a Reconyx.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Southeastern Mountain Trout Rivers
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only Trail Cam That Actually Works

Date:December 4, 2010
This made in the USA camera may be expensive, but you will never regret buying it. This camera works flawlessly and takes incredible pictures both day and night. The warranty return rate on these is near zero.
The shutter is so fast that you need to be careful of your setting. The first time I used the camera, I set in to trail on a feeder location and took 2400 pics that night. It was like watching in the movie mode.
2400 pics used only a fraction of an 8gb card and nothing of the battery power at 20 degrees.
Works great on a true trail setting, capturing anything that passes by. Feeder setting works great, just doesn't record the deer chewing.
Great detail on night photos, and no spooking game. Pics are absolutely clear enough to almost score antlers.
You will never regret this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Grant City, MO
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

RECONYX: BEST ON THE MARKET

Date:January 22, 2011
After purchasing nearly every trail cam in production - I was disappointed with all. After spending hundreds of dollars on batteries to have blurry photos, I finally sent them back and bought the Reconyx HC500. The picture quality and battery life are both amazing. For example, I set up a camera trap over soybean meal and cracked corn. Over a 2 week period of time the 4GB SD card was full with 15,000 crisp pictures, with no phantom shots, yet the batteries were still at 85%. A second unit is on order.
AMAZING!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Big Rapids, MI
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

One of the best on the market

Date:March 28, 2011
I bought this cameral last September. I put the camera out the first part of October 2010 with 12 rechargable batteries. Just went and checked the camera in March 2011. Had over 15,000 pictures on the camera and 78% battery life left. If it can sit through a michigan winter and still have that battery life left after all those pictures, it is one heck of a camera. Would not buy any other camera on the market!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Texas
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Works. Period.

Date:April 23, 2011
Flat out works. You will get 3 pics of any animal that walks by, not just one like some of the others. Day time pics are great, night are good. Very easy to use, small, very good battery life. The fastest trigger speed out there! Save your money and by one of these. It will save you time and frustration.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Kansas
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Very good game camera

Date:April 23, 2011
I am using this camera for the past several months and very happy with it. I tried Moultrie cameras in the past and always had something malfunctioning. I like quality, easy set up and battery life. I checked today my camera and noted that battery is 99 % full and it already took more than 3000 images. It is expensive but taken everything together it is okay.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: DeSoto, WI
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Best Camera on the Market!

Date:May 13, 2011
Reconyx is easily the best brand of camera on the market today... and its not a close second. I bought 2 of the HC 500 models last fall and they are absolutely incredible. Fastest trigger speeds on the market, and they have more than enough resolution to identify and track whatever game you desire. I've actually got (multiple) photos of coyotes chasing deer at full speed -- ask youself how many other cameras on the market would be able to trigger that quickly and take multiple pictures? The answer is NO OTHER CAMERA can do it... buy a Reconyx and save yourself some headaches.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: NE Kansas
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The King of the trail cameras...

Date:May 17, 2011
Head and shoulders above all the others, bar none. I can't add anything except secure your camera with the python lock and make sure you program your camera with the optional camera security code. Register your camera with Reconyx.
Two of these cameras is easily worth 4 of the cheap-o's...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

The Best Trail Camera !!!

Date:August 15, 2011
I have several commercial trail cameras and my new Reconyx 500 is the best by far. If you’re looking for quality pictures and a camera that performs when you need it Reconyx is your answer. I know they cost a lot more but you get what you pay for when it comes to trail cameras.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: High Point, North Carolina
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

By far the best I've ever used.

Date:August 18, 2011
I've owned several different trail camera's and can honestly say, that this is the best one I have ever used. Does not miss a thing and highly customizable. The only negative thing I can say is that after having this camera for a couple of months now, is that I want to replace all of my trail cams with these.....and sadly cannot afford to do so.......Highly recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Auburn, KS
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Simply the best

Date:September 8, 2011
I've owned 2 of these cameras for a year and a half... by far the best cameras I've purchased. I wouldn't consider buying anything else, and I've owned them all thru out the years. These cameras have taken 10's of thousands of pictures on one set of Lithium batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Roseau , mn
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Don't spend your hard earned money on anything els

Date:September 10, 2011
This camera is awesome. I did a review on attack ir and said it was awesome and then the problems started. Went threw 3 in a week so I returned the other and got the reconyx and this is what I wanted for a trail cam. I tried to change my review on the cuddeback but could not. Do your self a favor and buy a reconyx. 3000 pics and 99%battery. Will be buying another
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Only way to go !

Date:September 26, 2011
A good friend told me not to make the mistake of trying all the other cameras before I bought a Reconyx. Well I did not listen and have tried six other brands before I broke down and bought a Reconyx. I now own three and am slowing replacing all my cameras with Reconyx. There is simply NO comparison. When I go to check cameras I know the Reconyx will be working and the others may or may not. Price may have you making the same mistake but i bet you end up at the same place!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great pictures .... but

Date:September 28, 2011
As an owner of 8 trail cams, both old and new, I was excited about getting my first Reconyx. I had seen them in use and read all the reviews, so I deemed the extra money was worth it.
First the positives - great trigger speed, very good pictures, excellent battery life
Now the negative - after 3 weeks on a trail, I returned to find the cameras LCD display no longer functioned (thought he cam was still taking pictures)
I spoke to the company and was advised that they were aware that this happens with the 500 series and that I should "dry it out" for a few days and it will work again. I was also advised that a new seal was developed for that model and that I could send it in "after the season" for a seal and software update.
While I'm pleased that it was not a terminal issue, I am now hesitant to place the camera out in a remote location (where I can't check on it at least weekly to ensure its functioning) and I am more than a little disheartened by the fact that my new $500 camera couldn't last more than a few days in the woods. Specifically, I'm disappointed that there was a known issue with the model which was not disclosed prior to my purchase. While I'm sure it will all work out, it’s definitely not what I expected from the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Reconyx Hyperfire™ HC 500 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Michigan's Upper Peninsula Deer Camp
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Tried, Tested and Terrific for 3 years...

Date:November 9, 2011
I have had owned my Reconyx trail camera for 3 years and it has NOT had one problem. The camera has flawlessly taken well over 50,000 pictures and it still operates like it was new. The battery life is great even in the very cold weather in Michigan's Upper Peninsula . I know when I go to check the pictures that I will not be dissapointed. The trigger speed is incredibly fast and accurate too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 46