Customer Reviews for GORILLA TREESTANDS Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

GORILLA TREESTANDS Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand

Silence, stability and spacious comfort. These are the best attributes of the Stealth HX. Pivoting arms and multiple adjustment points ensure a secure fit on almost any tree 8"-20" in diameter. Oversized HX slip-resistant platform and XPE zeroG™ dual-density seat with Mossy Oak® Treestand® camo ensure comfort on long hunts. Gorilla solid-steel construction endures the elements and years of hard use. XT-6 nylon bushings and washers at all contact points eliminate noise. High-density foam padding on climbing bar and upper arms. Fully adjustable padded backpack straps for easy carrying. Stand is tested to TMA standards. Includes a full-body safety harness with Suspension Relief System (SRS). Imported. Seat size: 18" x 22". Backrest size; 12-1/2" x 19-1/4". Platform size: 19-1/2" x 33". Weight: 27-1/2 lbs. Weight capacity: 300 lbs. Camo pattern: Mossy Oak® Treestand® . A Video Public Service Announcement from the TREESTAND MANUFACTURERS ASSOCIATION
Overall Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
5
10 out of 18(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Review 1 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Location: connecticut
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good starter tree stand

Date:June 30, 2010
Hey picked this tree stand up for my son to start off in id have to say it was a pritty good investment for him as a new hunter iv got up in it and its realy sterdy.
I have a new sumit viper wich gets the job done and is a lot more money but to start off i would hily recomend this to any one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Raleigh, NC
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Superb quality!

Date:July 17, 2010
This is the first climber type tree stand I have ever purchased, however I have used other models that friends and family members own, and this climber is by far the best i have ever used. It is extremely well made, the cables that go around the tree are very secure and the swing arms are awesome. I am able to climb very quickly and feel very safe while doing so, there is no movement what so ever once the teeth have sunk into the tree. There are only a few tiny issues, the seat is a little difficult to attach, and it is a little work to pack it up to use the back pack traps. I think this will become easier as I use the stand more, but other than that wonderful product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Media, PA
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Extremely disappointed

Date:August 21, 2010
I just purchased this tree stand as it was on sale, and with the Cabela’s shipping promotion; how could I go wrong? The first time I attached this stand to a tree the small D clip that retains the pin securing the tree cable attachments broke. This may seem like a seemingly small indiscretion, however it renders the entire unit unsafe, and raises questions of quality in the rest of construction. If I can’t trust this stand in my backyard, how am I supposed to have confidence in its performance in the woods? All of the idioms (ie: you get what you pay for, if it sounds too good to be true…) apply. I would not purchase this product again or recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: TN
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Deal

Date:August 25, 2010
Just got the stand put it on the tree and for some reason it just wont sit right plus if your a big guy like me this thing is way too small just not comfortable at all but you get what you pay for i guess you could say pay for something cheap and you get something cheap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Yakima Wa
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Overall Good

Date:September 9, 2010
I just used this tree stand this season and overall I like it. However, there are some things I'm not impressed with, such as, the pins used to hold the tree stand need to be changed. The retaining pin sometimes comes off, though the actually pin never did slip out it. It was just cause for alarm.
The weight of the tree is much more than others I've used in the past, but it does break down flat so transporting makes it much easier.
One other point to note: the bottom stand where your feet attach for the climb is so what troublesome. Getting your feet back into position when the hunt is done takes a little patience.
Overall I like this tree stand and would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Nashville, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Look Elsewhere

Date:November 7, 2010
I recently began bow hunting and purchased this climber after reading an article detailing it's comfort level. This is not a good climber. As other reviews noted, their are several places where the manufacturer "skimped" on quality. I"ve had to replace the pins that hold the climber to the tree, and the top and bottom tie-downs. Also, all of the straps and belts were fed backwords, so they were impossible to tighten and would slip out when they were supposed to hold. The seat is extremely uncomfortable, and it gets in the way while trying to climb. Finally, the stand does not fold or carry well, which makes it difficult to get in and out of the woods. I am 6'6" and weigh about 240lbs, and I would not recommend this climber to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: South Jersey
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad from the get go

Date:December 9, 2010
When I opened the box several pieces came out broken. They were D-Rings, cables (made from plastic) that hold the D-Rings to the stand. For me this was a red flag. If its broken before I even use it, chances are it wasn't designed and or manufactured very well. I returned it to Gorilla with out even using it. I would tell anyone who asks not to purchase this stand. At least it didn't break on me in the woods and get injured.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Ontario, Canada
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good First Time Buy

Date:April 19, 2011
This was my first ever climbing stand. The stand was very easy to use and assemble. Which is good, because the stand does not come with ANY instructions! I am very happy with the construction and comfort of the stand, however after 4 uses the foam needed to be re-glued in places. Practice lots before heading afield!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

nice stand

Date:October 3, 2011
this is a great climber, light and very comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great product after a couple mods

Date:October 9, 2011
This climber was the first treestand that I had used. Even though it came with little info on how to use it, it was very easy to set up, climb, and take down. I hunt with some friends that are 1/2 my age and I consistantly am up and down the tree at least twice as fast as any of them and they have the more "bells and whistles" climbers. I did have to change the plastic d-ring holders to steel cable but it is not a safety hazard as some have said (once they're in, they're in). The seat easily pushes up when needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: SoCal
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Better than some describe it.

Date:October 21, 2011
This is my first tree stand. I couldn't resist the price and I am not disappointed. Other reviewers claim broken D rings, seat in the way of climbing, straps in buckles wrong, too small for their size, no instructions, etc.
I can imagine a store return having been damaged and not inspected upon return, but I have never had a returned item sent to me when I order on the web, and this item had no defects. Besides, the D ring is a safety feature, but I can't imagine a pin coming out because it is a secondary safety feature. None the less, call them for a replacement. Mine did have a climbing strap missing on the safety harness and I called the 800 number and they are sending it out without a hassle. Some straps are in the buckles wrong but it was common sense to put them in correctly. The seat moves out of the way for climbing, again common sense. I'm 6 feet tall and 185lbs. I fit in this with room to grow. It is a bit heavy and cumbersome while packing it, but hunting is a challenge anyway, so not a big deal. Mine came with a 35 page manual for the stand and a 42 page manual for the safety strap. Since I haven't tried the more expensive climbers I can't give a comparison but this item will serve me very well and at half the price of others.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Indiana
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

TERRIBLE. DO NOT BUY

Date:September 25, 2012
this tree stand is the worst i have ever bought the teeth on the stand do not grip the tree at all. i have slid down the tree multiple times. i will never use the stand again it is now in the scrap pile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Nebraska
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Product

Date:November 12, 2012
This is a great climber stand I've had several others and this one out preformed all of them. The teeth dig in great I've never had it slip so whatever you 22hunter is one its messed up his brain. I mean I live in nebraska do you know how hard it is to find a straight enough tree to use a climber in and ever tree that is the bark is super thick and hard and the teeth dig in just fine. And it's comfortable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Kentucky
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Beware of the platform failing

Date:November 26, 2012
I've owned three of these stands, earlier versions. Each one of them had the welds that hold the wire mesh to the frame break free. One I sent back. The others I re-welded locally. Maybe they corrected the problem on this newer version.
I weigh 205 lbs. So I'm not pushing the rating of the stand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Minnesota
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

wow

Date:November 26, 2012
bought this for my son. he's an auto mechanic, it took 2 hours on the floor of the cabin to figure it out then 45 min. to climb a tree. when he got up there he could move. I returned and plan to get him a different one
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Does the job

Date:November 27, 2012
This climber works fine. I did have a problem with the little pin lock wires. They busted after only about 4 trips through the woods. I will need to be careful not to knock the pins out when climbing now.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Ohio
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

heavy

Date:May 31, 2013
I bought this stand after using several other stands thinking this stand would be nice to have as a cheap climber for my southern hunts which is on very hilly ground. first out of the package it took me almost an hour and a half to assemble then another 45min. to pack together. I got it to my tree after sweating due to its weight and the climb and the metal pieces clang a lot making way to much noise. I brought the stand back to camp and left it I will never use this stand aguin. I then bought a lighter more versatile stand which I have been using the past 2 seasons. you get what u pay for!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Gorilla Greyback™ Stealth HX Climber Treestand
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Country: United States
State: Georgia
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Good value for the price

Date:July 10, 2013
I have hunted whitetail deer for 50 years and have killed many during that time. I used to pack in all my deer hunting accessories, such as rifle, fanny pack full of accessories, climbing stand, etc., on my back. Then I would pack it all out again with a deer in tow. I am 64 year old and can no longer hunt like that. I now use a cart to haul in my accessories and the deer out. Works fine. That is why I tried the Gorilla Greyback Stealth HX Climber. I wanted some more comfort than the small, lightweight stands provided, but I wanted it at a bargain price. The Gorilla stand filled that bill. Yes, it is heavy (27.5 lbs) but I knew that when I bought it. It is very east to attach to the tree and climb with it. I feel very secure while I am in it. I only have one complaint and that is that the seat is a little too small. I fixed that by putting an old seat from one of my summit stands on it. It is now the best climbing stand on the market within it's price range. Anyone who has trouble attaching it to trees and climbing with it should stay out of the woods until they get more experience with climbing stands. If it had a more comfortable seat, I would have given it 5 stars simply because of the value -vs- price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.