Customer Reviews for TIMBERLINE Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cabela's.

TIMBERLINE Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera

Clear images and video of game activity are possible day and night with this camera. 46 LEDs give it an extended night flash range of 50-ft. Enjoy hundreds of images and dozens of videos when you install an 8GB SD card (SD cards sold separately). Use the card to transfer images to your computer or viewer. Snap multiple images with one-, three- and five-shot burst modes. Still image resolution is 5.0 megapixels during the day and 3.1 megapixels at night. Video 640x480-pixel resolution at 340 frames-per-second for up to 1 minute at a time. Moon phase, date, time and temperature stamped on each image and video. Camera wake-up time to image capture is 1.5 seconds. Simple menu settings make it easy to set up and program. Rugged Matrix® Camo case has a security cable hole. Runs on four D batteries (not included). Mounting strap included. Camo pattern: Matrix® Camo.
Overall Customer Rating:
3.025 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 80 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
14
1 Star
23
41 out of 80(51%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Review 1 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Nothern MN
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

very nice

Date:June 18, 2010
I only had it out for a week, had 186 pictures, every one turned out good, except one day in the rain, water on camera, onlya few were very white, I get that on my other cameras also, internal battery so no need to reset the date each time new batteries are added, temp. stamped on it, easy to use, a place to put a cabull threw it so it can be locked, night pictures are quite good, so far the only down side it makes a little click when it takes a picture. FINALLY a good inforred camera at a decent price. I think I'll try the 35 led camera next, I hunt on public property and had stuff taken so it's bound to happen again. It's all about the price when ya hunt puplic lands. Good Camera
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: pittsburgh,PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

primos 46 trail cam

Date:June 19, 2010
This is my first trail cam so I don't have a comparison but I could not be more pleased.Lots of guys use them around camp...each with a different set of problems.Finally a trail cam that is easy to set up (I also bought the swival base),takes great Ir pictures,has a sd card that is easy to remove,and is reasonably priced.I have used alot of primos products over the years and have never been disappointed yet.I also bought the little sd card reader.Just plug in your sd card and view pics on computer.This whole set up is extremely easy to use and I've already got hundreds of pics of deer...lots of big bucks that I haven't seen before , and it's only been set up for a few days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: plato, mo
Age: 46-55
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

good camera

Date:July 17, 2010
this trail cam is the best for the buck. picture quality is good. battery life is exceptional. month and a half, several hundred pictures and still haven't changed the batteries. highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Sandridge,SC.
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Truth Cam46

Date:July 25, 2010
Camera is very easy to use.Well worth the money.Bought 2 and getting great pics from both.Takes a great daytime pic.Battery life is better than average.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Won't Stay On

Date:July 26, 2010
I own 3 other cameras and love them. Thought I would try a cheaper camera. Thought Primos name would speak for itself. Only thing that happened was I missed two weeks of pictures with this camera. Checked every other day and had to turn camera on each time i returned. very dissapointing!!! Got 400 to 500 pics a day with others. The most a got with this one was 18 after 3 days. It didn't even take pictures of the squirrels and raccoons. Do not recommend if you want to see everything in the area.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Camera

Date:July 27, 2010
This is a solid camera that takes great pictures. So far, the pictures are not blurry, I have not had any white-out pictures, and almost every picture has an animal centered in it. I was expecting the trigger speed to be a little slower, but it's actually pretty good. It does make a little noise when it takes a picture, but it doesn't seem to bother anything. I will most likely buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Denton, TX
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Trail Camera

Date:August 1, 2010
This is the second trail camera I have purchased. I have had it over a month now and on the first set of duracell batteries took 1400+ photos. The other camera I own would have been dead in two weeks or about 500 photos. All the daytime photos are very clear and good. Nighttime photos are good for the most part but a few are blurry because deer jerked at the time of the photo. Not sure if click from camera or flash. This is the only reason I gave it only 4 stars instead of 5. Camera has three resoultion settings for daytime photos, three sensitivity settings, and two IR flash settings, and is still easy to set up and opperate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Newark, OH
Age: 25 and under
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Price/Value = D

Date:August 3, 2010
This Trail Cam has been pretty much a joke! Pics of moving deer are just a blur and even when they are not moving I still cannot make out any characteristics of deer, THAT ARE 10 YARDS OR CLOSER! They have to be completely still in exactly the perfect spot to get a nighttime photo. The only pros are the trigger speed is OK and the battery life is exceptional, but none of that matters when you can't make out whats walking by. My old, cheap camera was 10x better than this thing! It will be going back.
Price/Value = D
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great Value

Date:August 8, 2010
Picture quality day and night is great. Trigger speed much quicker than expected. Over 2000 pics on one set of battieries. Great camera for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: WY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Truth Cam 46

Date:August 18, 2010
Only problem i see so far is the fact that this cam will sporadicaly take pictures and miss too much for bateries that say 50%. I'd recomend changing them at this point and throw em in the old mag light for a couple months. Other than the batery meter, great pictures, great product... Critters know its there but stay for 3 or 4 hours so must not bother them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Primos 46

Date:August 22, 2010
This camera takes good pictures in the day and not so good in the night. Infared will not make a clear picture at night. Think about it.....Bucks move at night and with the pictures this takes you cant even tell how many points it has.So whats the point of having it. My recommendation is to spend a little more and get a cuddeback capture Flash version. Perfectly clear pictures day and night. Flash has no effect on the deer...I have gotten 20+ pictures of the same deer in the same night.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Knox, PA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Great camera!

Date:August 27, 2010
I purchased this camera this past weekend and also purchased another brand to compare them. This camera outshined the other hands down! I hope it lasts as long as my 6 year old Cudde. Very easy to set up, takes great night time pictures. I recommend this product highly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location: Iowa
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

TC46 - Good but not excellent

Date:August 29, 2010
I have 2 TC46s and 1 TC35 and have had them in the woods for right at a month now.
The pros:
* Great battery life
* Easy setup
* EXCELLENT daytime photos
* Casing is great for locking capabilities with the master lock cable suggested
The cons:
* Is weather resistant, but not weather proof (particularly moisture)
* Photo noise is above average, but doesn't seem to make a lot of difference for does, but has spooked a few of the bucks that I've had come in
* Nightime photos are average
The ultimate question for any good review is whether you would purchase another and I would, but I would be hard pressed to buy a couple one TC46 over a couple of the TC35s for a little more money the next go round.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Wisconsin
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Bad Egg

Date:August 30, 2010
This cam seemed to have issues from the start. When I tried to download files or view them on my camera, many said "corrupt file" and were not visible. Then, after leaving it out in the woods for three weeks, it malfunctioned completely. I opened it up and it said "NO SD". I knew I had put an SD in but I checked it anyways. There was one there, a 2 GB card. The card wasn't locked either. I fiddled with it for a bit and the display changed to "0010", as if 10 pics were taken. I turned it off and back on again. Then it said "SD FUL". I was hoping this was true. Upon checking the SD, I found that 10 pics had been taken and it worked initially. Then it stopped working completely. 2 of the 10 pics were corrupt. I tested the cam with a few different SDs after and none worked. I tried formating them with no succes. The cam always displayed "NO SD". I will be taking it back.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Hayden Id
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

very loud

Date:September 1, 2010
this camera attracts more bears than my bait does! I bought this camera first and boy what a mistake. I noticed the shutter making noise every time it took a picture. I didnt think it would matter. After checking the camera I saw it was on the ground, but had 1221 pictures. The first 3 were of the bear looking at the camera, then walking to the camera then tearing it off the tree. The other 1,218 were of the tree canopy. I replaced the batteries and made sure I sprayed the camera down to remove any human odor. I put the camera in a different tree, but had the same results except this time he destroyed the camera. The noise is a big deal dont kid yourself. Primos will help either, so dont count on them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: kansas
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

buckmaster 69##

Date:September 2, 2010
Just purchased my second Primos cam; these a great cams for the money, lots of pics, long battery life, would take one othese over my trophy cam any day. I have several brands and I lke this one the best, lots and lots of pictures, seems to be a very reliable camera, easy to operate, and uses D batteries. Only used it for a couple months but I am still on the same set of batteries, taken wellover 1000 pics and still going. I will only give 4 stars just because of how trigger happy tjis camera is! One of the best ones I have ever used. It does produce white outs if put under the canopy of big timber, but is very reliable. Almost 400 pics last week less than a dozen were white out/black out the rest had deer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Location: Wasilla, AK
Age: 56-65
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

So Far, So Good

Date:September 6, 2010
I've only had my camera for two weeks but within that time frame I've used it extensively. Here's what I"ve experienced. The camera senses movement , wakes up quick and takes great daytime pictures. It takes good pictures at night, at least out to 63 ft. I've left it outside the whole time I've had it and it's endured many rainy days and continues to function flawlessly. It is easy to program and has many features I"ll probably never use. I don't see the need to spend money on a higher end unit at this time. This one seems to do it all. I"m thinking about purchasing another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location: Pulaski, TN
Age: 26-35
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Too bad...

Date:September 6, 2010
Primos did not work on the sound the Primos Truth Cam 46 makes when taking pictures. The camera takes excellent pictures. I have used many different cameras and it ranks with the best I have used. However, the sound it makes does spook deer. I have several pictures, where, in the first picture the deer is looking at the camera and the next it is running away. Great picture quality, but sound ruined it for me. I will be returning the camera.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? Yes

Why shutter sounds?

Date:September 6, 2010
Set up is real joy not a long drawn out deal as well as mounting and locking not a pain to do. I have got many good pictures but what is with the shutter sounds???? MR PRIMOS what are you guys thinking. I seen many deer looking clearly at camera after two and three shot bursts, all in all a real good camera.You also will find that checking cards are easy too with out unlocking the whole thing from tree and having to set up again .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Primos® TruthCam 46 Trail Camera
Overall Customer Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location: Uniontown, KS
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
Would you recommend this product to a friend? No

Primos cams

Date:September 7, 2010
Bought 5 of these cameras a few weeks ago and put on my KS farm near feeders. I got suspicious about the amount of pics I was getting because the numbers did not match the sign around the feeders. Most of the time, the Primos cam would not even take my pic when coming or leaving the area, either. So, I put up some other (brand) cameras that I knew would not miss many deer over the same spots. Upon checking the cams, the competing brand cams took pics TEN TO ONE over the Primos brand.. This was true with four out of five cams. I will be returning these to exchange for another brand, and would strongly discourage anyone from buying Primos cams.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
ReviewQuestion 1-20 of 80